Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Environmental Occurrences Notification Agreements and Notification Regulations

1. Notification Agreements

Federal, provincial and territorial laws require, in most cases, notification of the same environmental emergency or environmental occurrence, such as an oil or chemical spill. In order to reduce duplication of effort, Environment Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada entered into Environmental Occurrences Notification Agreements (“Notification Agreements”) with the Governments of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario and Saskatchewan, as well as with the Governments of the Northwest Territories and Yukon.

The purpose of the Notification Agreements is to establish a streamlined notification system for persons required to notify federal and provincial/territorial governments of an environmental emergency or environmental occurrence (spill, release, etc.). An environmental occurrence includes the release, or the likelihood of a release, of a substance into the environment in contravention of regulations referred to in section 95, 169, 179 or 212 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999), an environmental emergency under section 201 of CEPA, 1999, or an unauthorized deposit of a deleterious substance, in water frequented by fish, or a serious and imminent danger of such an occurrence  under subsection 38(5) of the Fisheries Act.

Under these Notification Agreements, 24-hour authorities operating for the provinces and territories receive notifications of environmental emergencies or environmental occurrences and transfer this information to Environment Canada. In the majority of jurisdictions, an authority within the respective provincial or territorial government provides this notification service. In the Atlantic Provinces, the Canadian Coast Guard serves in this capacity, and, in Nunavut, the Government of the Northwest Territories does so. In Quebec, Environment Canada receives notifications directly from the regulated community and the public.

Notifications of environmental emergencies or occurrences and the transfer of information to the appropriate 24-hour authorities are essential for timely and effective oversight of the response, as may be warranted.

CEPA Environmental Registry:

2. Notification Regulations

The Release and Environmental Emergency Notification Regulations, and the Deposit Out of the Normal Course of Events Notification Regulations (“Notification Regulations”), apply to verbal notification requirements under CEPA, 1999 and the Fisheries Act, respectively.

In order to reduce notification burden and duplication of effort, the Notification Regulations support and complement the Notification Agreements by providing the regulated community and the public with the name and telephone number of the 24-hour authorities operating for the respective province or territory to which notifications are to be made, enabling them to receive notifications on behalf of Environment Canada.

In the case of the master of a vessel, the authorized representative of a Canadian vessel, the owner of any other vessel or the operator of an oil handling facility (to whom the Vessel Pollution and Dangerous Chemicals Regulations (VPDCR)  under the Canada Shipping Act, 2001 apply), the Notification Regulations designate the marine safety inspector or the marine communications and traffic services officer referred to in the VPDCR to receive notification under CEPA, 1999 on behalf of Environment Canada. This reduces the duplicate reporting obligation for these persons. Notification procedures to the marine safety inspector or the marine communications and traffic services officer  can be found in Transport Canada’s Guidelines for Reporting Incidents Involving Dangerous Goods, Harmful Substances and/or Marine Pollutants.

The Notification Agreements came into effect on the day on which the Notification Regulations came into force (March 25, 2011).  The Notification Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on April 13, 2011, and the Notification Agreements were published on the CEPA Environmental Registry on April 16, 2011.

Canada Gazette

Justice Canada’s website

CEPA Environmental Registry

Who to Call in an Emergency

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Accords et Règlements sur les avis d’événements environnementaux

1. Accords sur les avis

Dans la plupart des cas, une urgence ou un événement environnemental, tel un déversement de produits pétroliers ou chimiques doit faire l'objet d'un avis en vertu des lois fédérales, provinciales et territoriales. Afin de minimiser le dédoublement d’efforts, Environnement Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada ont conclu des Accords sur les avis d'événements environnementaux (« Accords sur les avis ») avec les gouvernements de l'Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique, du Manitoba, de l'Ontario et de la Saskatchewan, ainsi qu'avec les gouvernements des Territoires du Nord‑Ouest et du Yukon.

Le but principal des Accords sur les avis est d’établir un système d’avis simplifié pour les personnes tenues d’aviser les gouvernements fédéraux et provinciaux/territoriaux d'une urgence ou d’un événement environnemental (déversement, rejet, etc.). Un événement environnemental inclut un rejet – effectif ou probable – d’une substance dans l’environnement en violation d’un règlement mentionné à l’article 95, 169, 179 ou 212 de la LCPE (1999), une urgence environnementale en vertu de l’article 201 de la LCPE (1999), ou un rejet ou une immersion – effectif, ou fort probable et imminent – d’une substance nocive dans des eaux où vivent des poissons qui n’est pas autorisé, en vertu du paragraphe 38(5) de la Loi sur les pêches.

Selon ces Accords sur les avis, une autorité opérant 24 heures sur 24 pour une province ou un territoire reçoit les avis d’urgences ou d’événements environnementaux et transfère l’information à Environnement Canada.  Dans la plupart des compétences provinciales et territoriales, une autorité du gouvernement respectif fournit ce service. Dans les provinces de l'Atlantique, la Garde côtière canadienne remplit ce rôle, et au Nunavut, le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest agit à ce titre. Au Québec, Environnement Canada reçoit les avis directement de la communauté réglementée et du public.

Les avis d’urgences ou d'événements environnementaux et le transfert d’information aux autorités opérant 24 heures sur 24 sont essentiels à la surveillance appropriée des interventions, le cas échéant.

Registre environnemental de la LCPE :

2. Règlements sur les avis

Le Règlement sur les avis de rejet ou d'urgence environnementale et le Règlement sur les avis de rejet ou d'immersion irréguliers (« Règlements sur les avis ») s’appliquent aux exigences d’avis verbaux en vertu de la LCPE (1999) et de la Loi sur les pêches, respectivement.

Afin de minimiser le dédoublement d’efforts, les Règlements sur les avis appuient et complètent les Accords sur les avis en procurant à la communauté réglementée et au public, le nom et le numéro de téléphone des autorités opérant 24 heures sur 24 qui doivent être avisées pour la province ou le territoire en question, leur permettant de recevoir les avis au nom d’Environnement Canada.

En ce qui a trait au capitaine d’un bâtiment, au représentant autorisé d’un bâtiment canadien, au propriétaire de tout autre bâtiment ou à l’exploitant d’une installation de manutention d’hydrocarbures (à qui le Règlement sur la pollution par les bâtiments et sur les produits chimiques dangereux (RPBPCD) en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada s’applique), les Règlements sur les avis désignent l’inspecteur de la sécurité maritime ou le fonctionnaire chargé des services de communications et de trafic maritimes lui permettant de recevoir les avis en vertu de la LCPE (1999) au nom d’Environnement Canada. Cela minimise le dédoublement des exigences d’avis pour ces personnes. Les procédures d'avis à un inspecteur de la sécurité maritime ou à un fonctionnaire chargé des services de communications et de trafic maritimes se trouvent dans les Lignes directrices concernant la notification des incidents mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses, des substances nuisibles et/ou des polluants marins de Transports Canada.

Les Accords sur les avis sont entrés en vigueur le jour de l’entrée en vigueur des Règlements sur les avis (le 25 mars 2011). Les Règlements sur les avis furent publiés dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada, le 13 avril 2011, et les Accords sur les avis furent publiés sur le Registre environnemental de la LCPE le 16 avril 2011.

Gazette du Canada

Site internet du Ministère de la Justice

Registre environnemental de la LCPE

Qui appeler en cas d'une urgence