Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Article Title

May / June 2009

May / June 2009

 

Science Notes

Environment Canada Launches Exciting New Scientist Profile System

Promoting Integrated Monitoring and Research in the Great Lakes

  • Satellite image of the Great Lakes | Credit: Environment CanadaDisruption of natural food webs as a result of human activities is becoming a commonplace occurrence. Ecological tracers that provide insights into the movement of energy, nutrients and contaminants through food webs are needed to provide the knowledge to effectively and efficiently restore and maintain the integrity (chemical and biological) of the Great Lakes basin ecosystem. A consortium of scientists from Environment Canada (EC), the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO), the Ontario Ministry of the Environment (OME), the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR), and academia (University of Windsor, Queens University, Trent University) is actively promoting multimedia integrated science related to ecological tracers in monitoring and research within the Great Lakes basin. Currently, the following people are involved:  Dr. Michael Arts (EC), Dr. Satyendra Bhavsar (OME), Dr. Ken Drouillard (Great Lakes Institute for Environmental Research [GLIER]-Windsor), Dr. Aaron Fisk (GLIER-Windsor), Dr. Craig Hebert (EC), Dr. Tim Johnson (OMNR), Dr. Marten Koops (DFO), Dr. Gord Paterson (Trent), Dr. Linda Campbell (Queens), Sean Backus (EC) and Daryl McGoldrick (EC).

Acid Rain in Western Canada – New Data

  • The Acid Rain Task Group of the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME-ARTG) partnered recently with two multi-stakeholder groups from Alberta (the Terrestrial Environmental Effects Monitoring Committee and the NOx-SOx Management Working Group) to examine sulphur and nitrogen deposition issues in western Canada.  Dr. Dean Jeffries reported on results from surveys demonstrating that many of the western Canada data sets available for evaluation in the 2004 Acid Deposition Science Assessment were biased towards insensitive lake ecosystems. New data from Manitoba, Saskatchewan and British Columbia have an extremely acid sensitive component that is often downwind of significant S and N emission sources.

Environment Canada Hosts Training Session for CALA Assessors

  • Atlantic Laboratory for Environmental TestingThe Atlantic Laboratory for Environmental Testing (ALET) in Moncton, NB, hosted a 2-day training session for Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation (CALA) assessors from across Canada to bring them up-to-date on the latest changes in toxicology test methods and statistical analysis.  The session consisted of a series of talks, as well as discussion of issues raised by the assessors on a wide variety of topics.  Results of discussions will be communicated to CALA for action.  Lab demonstrations were given for the new echinoderm embryo sediment toxicity test and for the three procedures used in pH maintenance for the rainbow trout toxicity test for municipal wastewaters. Feedback from participants was very positive.

  • For more inforation, contact Ken Doe (506-851-3486), Emergencies, Operational Analytical Laboratories and Research Support

Peace-Athabasca Delta Ecological Monitoring Program Workshop

  • In Fort Smith, Northwest Territories (June 16-18, 2009), First Nations, provincial, territorial, and federal government departments and invited guests participated in the Peace-Athabasca Delta Ecological Monitoring Program (PAD-EMP) Workshop organized by Parks Canada staff from Wood Buffalo National Park to continue the process of developing a comprehensive, jointly funded, long-term monitoring program for the Peace-Athabasca Delta. The goals of this program are to co-produce knowledge using traditional ecological knowledge and western science "systems of knowing," and to use that knowledge to inform policy and regulation to sustain and protect the Delta and the heritage of indigenous peoples. David Donald gave well-received presentations on the Northern Rivers Ecosystem Initiative, Wood Buffalo National Park water quality monitoring, and Ecological Indicators/State of the Aquatic Environment in the PAD (2002). Dorothy Lindeman provided valuable contributions to discussions on future efforts.  Discussions are underway regarding participation on the PAD-EMP steering and technical committees and briefings to the Superintendent and staff of Parks Canada.

Science Solutions for Improved Pulp and Paper Mill Effluents

  • Ontario based kraft pulp & paper mill | Photo: M. HewittRegulations implemented in 1992 have led to significant improvements in the downstream impacts of pulp mills across Canada. In spite of improvements and ongoing efforts to comply by the pulp and paper industry, monitoring carried out under the Environmental Effects Monitoring (EEM) Program has identified continuing negative impacts on fish and benthic communities. Drs. Mark Hewitt, Mark McMaster and Joanne Parrott are partnering with other leading researchers in the field from FPInnovations-Paprican, the University of Guelph, the University of Prince Edward Island, and Wilfrid Laurier University to identify the cause and solutions for fish reproductive impairment. The Canadian EEM Program is unprecedented in the world for its magnitude and mandatory requirements, and it provides the mechanism to bring researchers and decision makers together to solve complex, real-world problems. Science Solutions for Improved Pulp and Paper Mill Effluents, written by Mark Hewitt and Michael Forbes, has been published recently as part of Science and Technology into Action to Benefit Canadians, a research impact study series that pinpoints where EC’s S&T has informed decision making and yielded tangible environmental, social and economic benefits.

Environment Canada and La Mauricie National Park – Sharing Water Quality Data

  • Environment Canada has signed a memorandum of understanding with La Mauricie National Park to install and operate a water quality reference station at a site with little or no impact by pollution and human activities, and to share resulting data. This station will be equipped with an auto-sampler and multisensor probes to monitor the physicochemical parameters of Rivière à la Pêche. Spot samples will be taken twice a month during the flood period and subsequently on a monthly basis. The analyses include pesticides, heavy metals, mercury and interpretative parameters. Results will support interpretation of water quality in the context of monitoring or surveillance projects, such as the Toxics Management Plan, the Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network (CABIN), or the Clean Air Regulatory Agenda Mercury Science Program (CARA-Hg).

  • For more information, contact Louis-Filip Richard (514-496-6236) or Alain Armellin (514-283-3253), Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance

Niagara River Update for the International Joint Commission (IJC)

  • Paul Klawunn and Brad Hill gave presentations on the Niagara River to the IJC’s Water Quality and Science Advisory Boards. This joint meeting was held in Niagara Falls, New York, as part of the Centennial Celebration of the 1909 Boundary Waters Treaty. Paul Klawunn provided an update on the status and trends of the “Priority 18” chemicals on behalf of the Niagara River Secretariat. Overall, the concentration of these contaminants has decreased over the last 20 years, but some contaminants, notably PAHs, have demonstrated an increasing trend recently. Brad Hill provided an update on the near-shore effect of the Niagara River to Lake Ontario. While there is some evidence that Niagara River influences near-shore contaminant concentrations, there is a definite information gap that prevents drawing firm conclusions.

Communities Monitor Invasive Plant Species – St. Lawrence River

  • Monitoring the invasive plant species of the St. Lawrence River is one of the indicators included in the State of the St. Lawrence Monitoring Program. This activity is performed in collaboration with riverside communities distributed over a large portion of the freshwater St. Lawrence in Quebec. Initiated in 2004 at the beginning of the project, training is organized annually so that the participating groups will be well prepared to produce an annual inventory of the eight targeted vascular plant species (Lythrum salicaria, Butomus umbellatus, Hydrocharis morsus-ranae, Fallopia japonica, Phalaris arundinacea, Myriophyllum spicatum and Trapa natans). The training is given to the six groups currently involved in monitoring, and who work between Lake St. Francis and the St. Lawrence estuary. The training program includes an update on the problem and the severity of the invasion by the monitored species, discussions on selection of sites to be visited for the year, practical activities on the sampling procedure, identification of the species present in the wetlands, and data capture. Results contribute to decisions on the status of the river.

  • For more information, contact Martin Jean (514-496-6573), Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance

Papers and Reports

New Book on Lipids in Aquatic Ecosystems

  • Lipids in Aquatic Ecosystems has just been published by Springer, New York. The book was edited by Michael Arts (EC), Michael Brett (University of Washington), and Martin Kainz (WasserKluster, Lunz, Austria). It features 14 chapters (~370 pages), written by world experts, on the multifaceted roles that lipids play in aquatic ecosystems. The book will be of interest to a wide range of scientists from the fields of marine and freshwater plankton ecology, algal physiology, fisheries management, nutritional science, food web ecology, aquaculture, toxicology, and environmental science.

Aquatic Osteoporosis

  • Regional changes in lake-water pH and calcium concentration across Ontario, Canada (Click for larger view) | Image: Science.comResearchers working on a collaborative project in the Canadian Shield have revealed a new environmental concern. Using the term aquatic osteoporosis, the team documented declining calcium concentrations in softwater boreal lakes. One of many factors causing the decline is the long-term leaching of calcium from drainage basin soils by acid rain. Calcium is an essential nutrient for many lake-dwelling organisms, including Daphnia (or “water flea”). The researchers examined crustaceans preserved in lake sediment cores to document declining lake-water calcium and the simultaneous near disappearance of Daphnia. A large proportion of the lakes examined showed a calcium concentration approaching or below the threshold at which laboratory Daphnia suffer reduced survival and reproduction. The ecological impacts of environmental calcium loss are likely to be widespread and pronounced.

  • Jeziorski, A., N.D. Yan, A.M. Paterson, A.M. DeSellas, M.A. Turner, D.S. Jeffries, B. Keller, R.C. Weeber, D.K. McNicol, M.E. Palmer, K. McIver, K. Arseneau, B.K. Ginn, B.F. Cumming and J.P. Smol. 2008. The widespread threat of calcium decline in fresh waters. Science 322 (5906): 1374-1377.

About this e-news

To forge better links between water science and water policy, this free newsletter produced by S&T Liaison provides timely information on the research activities of Environment Canada's Water Science and Technology Directorate to water professionals, policy and decision makers, governments, and other groups involved with managing water resources effectively.

Privacy – Environment Canada will not sell or trade your email address.

Contact – Please send questions and comments to Leah Brannen, Science and Technology Liaison.

Subscribe | Unsubscribe

To sign up for email notification of new issues, send an email message with subject and body left blank.

S&T Liaison | Tel 905 336-4780 | Fax 905 336-4420

Environment Canada | 867 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington, ON Canada L7R 4A6

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Titre d'article

Mai / juin 2009

Mai / juin 2009

Dans le présent numéro :

Notes sur la science

Documents et rapports

Au sujet de ces nouvelles en direct

 

Notes sur la science

Environnement Canada lance un nouveau répertoire de profils de scientifiques

Promotion de la surveillance et de la recherche intégrées dans les Grands Lacs

  • Image des Grands Lacs | Credit : Environnement CanadaLa perturbation des réseaux alimentaires naturels causée par les activités humaines devient un phénomène courant. Les traceurs écologiques, qui nous informent au sujet des mouvements de l’énergie, des nutriments et des contaminants à travers les réseaux alimentaires, nous transmettent les connaissances nécessaires pour restaurer de manière efficace et efficiente l’écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs et préserver son intégrité chimique et biologique. Un consortium de scientifiques d’Environnement Canada, du ministère des Pêches et des Océans, du ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario et du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario et de chercheurs de l’Université de Windsor, de l’Université Queens et de l’Université Trent promeut activement une science intégrée incorporant le multimédia et utilisant les traceurs écologiques pour la surveillance et la recherche dans le bassin des Grands Lacs. Les personnes suivantes participent actuellement au projet : Dr  Michael Arts (EC), Dr Satyendra Bhavsar (MEO), Dr Ken Drouillard (GLIER – Windsor), Dr Aaron Fisk (GLIER – Windsor), Dr  Craig Hebert (EC), Dr Tim Johnson (MRNO), Dr Marten Koops (MPO), Dr Gord Paterson (Trent), Dre Linda Campbell (Queens), Sean Backus (EC) et Daryl McGoldrick (EC).

Les pluies acides dans l’Ouest canadien – nouvelles données

  • Le Groupe de travail sur les pluies acides du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’Environnement (GTPA-CCME) a établi récemment un partenariat avec deux groupes multipartites de l’Alberta (le Terrestrial Environmental Effects Monitoring Committee et le NOx-SOx Management Working Group) pour examiner les problèmes liés aux dépôts de soufre et à la fixation de l’azote dans l’Ouest canadien. Le Dr Dean Jeffries a exposé les résultats d’enquêtes démontrant qu’un grand nombre des données de l’Ouest canadien présentées pour examen dans l’Évaluation scientifique 2004 des dépôts acides au Canada sont biaisées par les écosystèmes peu sensibles des lacs. De nouvelles données du Manitoba, de Saskatchewan et de Colombie-Britannique font état de zones extrêmement sensibles aux acides, souvent situées en aval des sources importantes d’émission de soufre et d’azote.

Environnement Canada accueille les évaluateurs de CALA pour une séance de formation

  • Laboratoire des essais environnementaux de l'AtlantiqueLe Laboratoire des essais environnementaux de l'Atlantique (LEEA) à Moncton, N.-B., a accueilli des évaluateurs de l’Association canadienne pour l’accréditation des laboratoires (CALA) de partout au Canada pour une séance de formation de deux jours sur les récents changements dans les méthodes d’évaluation et les analyses statistiques en toxicologie. La séance consistait en une série d’exposés et de discussions à propos des enjeux soulevés par les évaluateurs sur une grande variété de sujets. Les résultats de ces discussions seront communiqués à la CALA pour que des mesures soient prises. Le nouveau test de toxicité de sédiment pour les embryons d’échinodermes et les trois procédures utilisées pour le maintien du pH pendant le test de toxicité des eaux usées municipales pour la truite arc-en-ciel ont fait l’objet de démonstrations en laboratoire. Les réactions des participants ont été très positives.

  • Pour plus d'info. : Ken Doe (506-851-3486), Urgences, des laboratoires d’analyses opérationnelles et du soutien à la recherche

Atelier sur le Programme de surveillance écologique du delta Peace-Athabasca

  • À Fort Smith, Territoires du Nord-Ouest (16-18 juin), les Premières Nations, les ministères provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéraux de même que plusieurs invités ont participé à un atelier sur le Programme de surveillance écologique du delta Peace-Athabasca organisé par le personnel de Parcs Canada du parc national Wood Buffalo afin de poursuivre le processus d’élaboration d’un programme complet de surveillance à long terme, financé conjointement, pour le delta Peace-Athabasca. Les objectifs de ce programme sont de coproduire des connaissances à partir du savoir écologique traditionnel et des « méthodes d’acquisition du savoir » de la science occidentale et d’utiliser ces connaissances pour renseigner les politiques et réglementations afin de protéger le delta et le patrimoine des peuples indigènes. Les présentations de David Donald portant sur l’Initiative des écosystèmes des rivières du Nord, la surveillance de la qualité de l’eau au parc national Wood Buffalo et les Indicateurs écologiques/État de l’environnement aquatique du delta Peace-Athabasca (2002) ont été bien reçues. Dorothy Lindeman a apporté de précieuses contributions aux échanges sur les efforts à venir. Des discussions sont en cours au sujet d’une participation du directeur et du personnel de Parcs Canada au comité directeur, au comité technique et aux réunions du Programme de surveillance écologique du delta Peace-Athabasca.

Des solutions scientifiques pour des effluents d’usines de pâtes et papiers améliorés

  • Usine du pâte kraft et de papier située en Ontario | Photo : M. HewittLa réglementation mise en œuvre en 1992 a conduit à des améliorations importantes dans les répercussions en aval des usines de pâtes et papiers partout au Canada. Malgré ces améliorations et les efforts suivis de l’industrie des pâtes et papiers pour se conformer à cette réglementation, la surveillance effectuée dans le cadre du Programme de suivi des effets sur l’environnement a permis de constater une persistance des répercussions négatives sur les communautés benthiques et de poissons. Les Drs Mark Hewitt, Mark McMaster et Joanne Parrott travaillent en partenariat avec d’autres éminents chercheurs du domaine chez FPInnovations-Paprican, à l’Université de Guelph, à l’Université de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier pour déterminer les causes de l’altération de la reproduction chez les poissons et trouver des solutions à ce problème. Par son ampleur et ses exigences obligatoires, le Programme canadien de suivi des effets sur l’environnement est sans précédent dans le monde et fournit les mécanismes nécessaires pour réunir les chercheurs et les décideurs dans la résolution des problèmes complexes du monde réel. Des solutions scientifiques pour les effluents des usines de pâtes et papiers améliorés, écrit par Mark Hewitt et Michael Forbes, a été publié récemment dans La science et la technologie au service des canadiens, une collection d’études d’impact qui montrent comment la science et la technologie d’Environnement Canada contribuent aux processus décisionnels et apportent des avantages environnementaux, sociaux et économiques tangibles 

Environnement Canada et le parc national de la Mauricie – partage des données sur la qualité de l’eau

  • Environnement Canada a signé un protocole d’entente avec le parc national de la Mauricie pour l’installation et l’exploitation d’une station de référence sur la qualité de l’eau sur un site où l’impact de la pollution et des activités humaines est très faible, voire nul, et le partage des données qui y seront recueillies. La station sera dotée d’un échantillonneur automatique et de sondes multi-capteurs pour surveiller les paramètres physicochimiques de la Rivière-à-la-Pêche. Des échantillons ponctuels seront prélevés deux fois par mois en période d’inondation et une fois par mois par la suite. On analysera les pesticides, les métaux lourds, le mercure et des paramètres d’interprétation. Les résultats contribueront à l’interprétation de la qualité de l’eau dans le contexte de projets de suivi ou de surveillance comme le Plan de gestion des toxiques, le Réseau canadien de biosurveillance aquatique (RCBA) ou le Programme réglementaire sur la qualité de l’air, dans son suivi sur les dépôts de mercure.

  • Pour plus d'info. : Louis-Filip Richard (514-496-6236) ou Alain Armellin (514-283-3253), Surveillance de la qualité de l'eau

Mise à jour sur la rivière Niagara pour la Commission mixte internationale (CMI)

  • Paul Klawunn et Brad Hill ont fait des présentations sur la rivière Niagara devant le conseil sur la qualité de l’eau et le conseil consultatif scientifique du CMI. Cette réunion mixte a eu lieu à Niagara Falls, New York, dans le cadre des célébrations du centenaire du Traité des eaux limitrophes de 1909. Paul Klawunn a présenté les informations les plus récentes sur l’état et les tendances des produits chimiques « Priority 18 » au nom du Niagara River Secretariat. Dans l’ensemble, la concentration de ces contaminants a diminué au cours des vingt dernières années, mais certains contaminants, notamment les HAP, ont montré récemment une tendance à la hausse. Brad Hill a fait le point sur l’effet de la rivière Niagara sur le littoral du lac Ontario. Alors qu’il existe certaines preuves nous permettant de déduire que la rivière Niagara aurait une influence sur les concentrations de contaminants sur le littoral du lac, il manque encore trop d’informations pour que nous puissions tirer des conclusions à cet effet.

Les collectivités font le suivi des espèces végétales envahissantes – fleuve Saint-Laurent

  • Le suivi des espèces végétales envahissantes du fleuve Saint-Laurent compte parmi les indicateurs environnementaux du Programme Suivi de l’état du Saint-Laurent. Cette activité est menée en collaboration avec des collectivités riveraines distribuées sur un vaste territoire de part et d’autre du Saint-Laurent, dans sa portion parcourue par de l’eau douce au Québec. Initiée en 2004 au début du projet, une formation est organisée tous les ans afin que les groupes participants soient bien préparés à la production d’un inventaire annuel des huit espèces végétales vasculaires ciblées (Lythrum salicaria, Butomus umbellatus, Hydrocharis morsus-ranae, Fallopia japonica, Phalaris arundinacea, Myriophyllum spicatum et Trapa natans). La formation est donnée aux six groupes qui participent actuellement au suivi et travaillent entre le lac Saint-François et l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. Le programme de formation comprend une mise à jour sur la problématique et la sévérité de l’invasion par les espèces surveillées, des discussions sur une sélection de sites qui seront visités au cours de l’année, des activités pratiques sur la procédure d’échantillonnage, l’identification des espèces présentes dans les terres humides et la collecte de données. Les résultats sont pris en considération dans les décisions sur l’état du fleuve.

  • Pour plus d'info. : Martin Jean (514-496-6573), Surveillance de la qualité de l'eau

Documents et rapports

Un nouveau recueil sur les lipides dans les écosystèmes aquatiques

  • « Lipids in Aquatic Ecosystems » vient tout juste d’être publié chez Springer, New York. Ce recueil a été édité par Michael Arts, Michael Brett (Université de Washington) et Martin Kainz (WasserKluster, Lunz, Autriche). Il comprend 14 chapitres (environ 370 pages), rédigés par des spécialistes du monde entier, sur les rôles polyvalents que jouent les lipides dans les écosystèmes aquatiques. Ce recueil intéressera un vaste éventail de scientifiques dans les domaines de l’écologie du plancton marin et d’eau douce, de la physiologie des algues, de la gestion des pêches, des sciences de la nutrition, de l’écologie des réseaux alimentaires, de l’aquaculture, de la toxicologie et des sciences de l’environnement.

 

Ostéoporose aquatique

  • Changes regionale du pH et concentration de calcium dans les eaux des lac de l'Ontario (Cliquer pour agrandir) (en anglais) | Image : Science.comDes chercheurs collaborant à un projet dans le Bouclier canadien ont mis en lumière un nouveau problème environnemental. Utilisant le terme ostéoporose aquatique, cette équipe a montré que les concentrations de calcium diminuent dans les lacs d’eau douce boréaux. La lixiviation de longe date du calcium des sols du bassin hydrographique par les pluies acides est l’un des nombreux facteurs à l’origine de cette diminution. Le calcium est un élément nutritif essentiel pour de nombreux organismes lacustres, y compris la daphnie (ou « puce d’eau »). Les chercheurs ont examiné les crustacés préservés dans des carottes de sédiments lacustres pour recueillir des données sur la diminution du calcium de l’eau des lacs et la quasi-disparition simultanée de la daphnie. Dans une grande proportion des lacs examinés, la concentration en calcium approchait du seuil en deçà duquel la survie et la reproduction des daphnies de laboratoire sont réduites, ou était inférieure à ce seuil. La perte du calcium dans l’environnement aura vraisemblablement des incidences écologiques étendues et marquées.

  • Jeziorski, A., N.D. Yan, A.M. Paterson, A.M. DeSellas, M.A. Turner, D.S. Jeffries, B. Keller, R.C. Weeber, D.K. McNicol, M.E. Palmer, K. McIver, K. Arseneau, B.K. Ginn, B.F. Cumming et J.P. Smol. 2008. « The widespread threat of calcium decline in fresh waters ». Science 322 (5906): 1374-1377.

Au sujet de ces nouvelles en direct

Pour tisser de meilleurs liens entre la science et la politique de l’eau, ce bulletin d’information gratuit produit par Liaison en sciences et technologie fournit aux professionnels de l’eau de l’information d’actualité sur les activités de recherche de la Direction des sciences et de la technologie de l’eau d’Environnement Canada aux professionnels de l’eau, aux décideurs et aux responsables des politiques, aux gouvernements, et aux autres groupes impliqués dans la gestion efficace des ressources en eau.

Respect de la vie privée – Environnement Canada ne fera pas la vente ni le commerce de votre adresse de courriel.

Contact – Veuillez faire parvenir vos questions et vos commentaires à Leah Brannen, Liaison avec la science et la technologie.

Abonner | Désabonner

Pour recevoir l'avis par courriel annonçant les nouvelles publications, envoyez un courriel et laissez l'objet et le corps du message en blanc.

Liaison S-T | Tél 905 336-4780 | Téléc 905 336-4420

Environnement Canada | 867 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington (Ontario) Canada L7R 4A6