Monitoring and Reporting

Tracking the amount of pollution in Canada's air is important to understanding how our air quality is changing, and the potential impacts on our health and the environment. Environment and Climate Change Canada, working with its partners in government and industry, collects measurements of air quality across Canada.  This information helps to determine the sources of air pollution in Canada, and how it affects our air quality. There are two major ways of collecting information on air quality:

Air Quality Monitoring

Environment and Climate Change Canada, working with the provinces and territories, monitors air pollution across Canada with networks of air quality measurement stations. Information from these networks is used by scientists and decision-makers to track and understand changes in our air quality, determine the effectiveness of air quality regulations, and identify new concerns.  Researchers also depend on these measurements to develop and test complex air quality models that can be used to produce air quality forecasts for major Canadian centers, or to understand the potential effects of proposed regulations, new technologies, and other changes in the environment.

Emissions reporting and inventories

Environment and Climate Change Canada collects information on air pollution produced by industrial activities when the pollutants are released from a single, identifiable source, such as a factory smokestack.   Industrial facilities report information on their pollutant releases once a year, as required by the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA 1999).  This information is compiled into emissions inventories, which are used to understand sources of industrial air pollution in Canada, and the effectiveness of regulations.

Date modified:

Surveillance et rapport

Le suivi de la quantité de pollution dans l'airau Canada est important afin de mieux comprendre  la façon dont notre qualité d 'air change et aident également à saisir  les impacts potentiels sur notre santé et sur l'environnement. À l'aide de ses associés gouvernementaux  et ceux dans le secteur de l'industrie, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada rassemble des mesures de la qualité de l'air à travers le pays . Ces informations aident à déterminer les sources de pollution atmosphérique et  démontrent la façon dont elles affectent notre qualité d 'air. Il y a deux manières majeures de collecter des informations sur la qualité de l'air :

Surveillance de la qualité de l'air

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, en travaillant avec les provinces et les territoires, surveille la pollution atmosphérique à travers le Canada avec des réseaux des stations de mesure de qualité de l'air. L'information de ces réseaux est utilisé par des scientifiques et des décideurs pour dépister et comprendre des changements de notre qualité de l'air, pour déterminer l'efficacité des règlements de qualité de l'air, et pour identifier de nouveaux soucis. Les chercheurs dépendent également de ces mesures pour se développer et examiner les modèles complexes de qualité de l'air qui peuvent être employés pour produire la qualité de l'air prévoit pour les centres canadiens importants, ou pour comprendre les effets potentiels des règlements proposés, de nouvelles technologies, et d'autres changements de l'environnement.

Emissions reporting and inventories

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada collecte de l'information sur la pollution atmosphérique produite par des activités industrielles quand les polluants sont libérés d'une source simple et identifiable, telle qu'une cheminée d'usine. Les installations industrielle produit des rapports sur leurs dégagements de polluant une fois par an, selon les exigences de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE 1999). Cette information est compilée dans les inventaires d'émissions, qui sont utiliseés pour comprendre des sources de pollution atmosphérique industrielle au Canada, et l'efficacité des règlements.

Date de modification :