Analysis of Current and Historical Water Quality Monitoring Programs and Activities in the Athabasca Oil Sands Area

cover of publication

Component 2 of the Phase 1 water quality monitoring design is a bibliographic compilation of water-related monitoring programs and activities prior to the implementation of the Integrated Monitoring Plan for the Oil Sands (Environment Canada and Alberta Environment 2011c). It comprises an information table of parameters sampled by the most relevant ongoing and historical programs and activities, annotated abstracts and descriptions of relevant programs and studies, notes on particularly relevant organizations, and maps of monitoring locations and other information, up to July 2011. This document is a bibliographic tool for locating sources of water quality information, providing a general roadmap to "who has measured what, when, and where?". It was not intended to collect or contain data.
The terms of reference included: "current and historical Government of Canada water quality and quantity monitoring programs (such as those of Environment Canada, Pulp and Paper Environmental Effects Monitoring, and Parks Canada Agency), the Province of Alberta and relevant stakeholder monitoring organizations (such as RAMP), and the most relevant University-based studies on surface water quality" (chemical and physical). Current programs (to 2011) were reviewed, inorganic and organic chemical constituents/contaminants were assessed, and toxic compounds identified by several sources were examined. Some analytical challenges and constraints that should be taken into consideration were included.
In addition, a preliminary analysis of the current permit- and regulatory-related surface water quality monitoring in the Lower Athabasca oil sand region being performed by industry was conducted. This analysis was intended to identify the core surface and groundwater water quality parameters and effects-based endpoints that must be monitored by industry to meet licensing/permitting requirements.

Available Formats:

Accessible PDF; 9.17 mb

Environment Canada produces a wide variety of publications in various print and electronic formats. Some formats may not be accessible to screen readers. Alternate accessible formats are available upon request. Please contact enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Author: Government of Canada, Environment Canada
  • Language of Document: Separate English/French
  • Document Type: Report
  • Cat. No.: En84-95/1-2013E-PDF
  • ISBN: 978-1-100-22541-8
  • Size: 21.6 x 28 cm
  • Pages: 108
  • Year: 2013
Date modified:

Analyse des activités et des programmes passés et actuels de surveillance des eaux de surface dans la région des sables bitumineux d'Athabasca.

photo couverture de la publication

Le deuxième volet de la phase 1 de la conception de la surveillance de la qualité de l'eau est une compilation bibliographique des programmes et activités de surveillance de l'eau au sein de l'étendue géographique élargie préalablement à la mise en oeuvre du plan de surveillance intégré des sables bitumineux (Environnement Canada et ministère de l'Environnement de l'Alberta, 2011c). Il comprend un tableau de données sur les paramètres échantillonnés dans le cadre des activités et des programmes actuels et historiques les plus pertinents, des abrégés annotés et des descriptions des études et des programmes pertinents, des notes sur les organismes particulièrement pertinents, ainsi que des cartes des sites de surveillance et d'autres renseignements, couvrant la période allant jusqu'en juillet 2011. Le présent document est un outil bibliographique qui permet de localiser les sources de données sur la qualité de l'eau; c'est un peu comme une feuille de route générale indiquant « qui a mesuré quoi, quand et où? » au sein de l'étendue géographique élargie. Il n'avait pas pour but de recueillir ou de contenir des données.
Le cadre de référence comprenait : « les programmes passés et actuels de surveillance de la qualité et de la quantité de l'eau réalisés par le gouvernement du Canada (comme ceux d'Environnement Canada [Programme de suivi des effets sur l'environnement dans le secteur des pâtes et papiers] et de Parcs Canada), les organismes de surveillance de la province de l'Alberta et des autres intervenants pertinents (comme le Programme régional de surveillance du milieu aquatique) ainsi que les études universitaires les plus pertinentes sur la qualité de l'eau de surface » (aspects chimiques et physiques). Les programmes actuels, (jusqu'en 2011) ont été passés en revue, les composés et les contaminants chimiques inorganiques et organiques ont été évalués, et les composés toxiques signalés par diverses sources ont été examinés. Certains défis et certaines contraintes analytiques dont il faut tenir compte ont été intégrés au présent rapport.
En outre, une analyse préliminaire des activités de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau de surface menées par l'industrie dans la région des sables bitumineux du cours inférieur de la rivière Athabasca liées à des permis et à des réglementations a été réalisée. Cette analyse visait à déterminer les principaux paramètres de qualité des eaux de surface et souterraines ainsi que les paramètres liés aux effets devant être surveillés par l'industrie en vue de respecter les exigences en matière de permis et de licences.

Formats disponibles :

PDF accessible; 9.03 mo

Environnement Canada produit une grande variété de publications de différents formats électroniques et imprimés. Certains formats peuvent ne pas être accessibles pour des lecteurs d'écran. Des médias substituts accessibles sont disponibles sur demande. Veuillez communiquer avec enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Auteur : Gouvernement du Canada, Environnement Canada
  • Langue du document : anglais/français séparé
  • Type de document : Rapport
  • N° de catalogue : En84-95/1-2013F-PDF
  • ISBN : 978-0-660-21118-3
  • Taille : 21,6 x 28 cm
  • Pages : 122
  • Année : 2013
Date de modification :