Planning for a Sustainable Future: A Federal Sustainable Development Strategy for Canada 2013-2016

cover of publication

The second cycle of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) fulfills the requirement of the Federal Sustainable Development Act to develop an FSDS every three years that makes environmental decision making more transparent and accountable to Parliament. It builds on three key improvements made in the first cycle, which was tabled in Parliament in October 2010:

1. An integrated, whole-of-government picture of actions and results to achieve environmental sustainability;
2. A link between sustainable development planning and reporting and the government's core planning and reporting processes; and
3. Effective measurement, monitoring and reporting in order to track and report on progress to Canadians.

Like the first cycle, the second cycle of the FSDS includes four priority themes:
I. Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality;
II. Maintaining Water Quality and Availability;
III. Protecting Nature and Canadians; and
IV. Shrinking the Environmental Footprint - Beginning with Government.

Themes include aspirational, long-term goals, medium-term targets that are specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-bound, and concrete implementation strategies (actions to achieve the targets). The 2013-2016 FSDS includes 8 goals across 4 themes, supported by 34 targets. In total, the strategy includes 225 implementation strategies, which are programs and activities undertaken by departments across the federal government.

Available Formats:

PDF (3.19 MB) / HTML

Environment Canada produces a wide variety of publications in various print and electronic formats. Some formats may not be accessible to screen readers. Alternate accessible formats are available upon request. Please contact

  • Author: Environment Canada
  • Language of Document: Separate English/French
  • Document Type: Plan
  • Cat. No.: En4-136/2013E-PDF
  • ISBN: 978-1-100-22627-9
  • Size: 21.6 X 28
  • Pages: 100
  • Year: 2013
Date modified:

Planifier un avenir durable : Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013-2016

photo couverture de la publication

Le deuxième cycle de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) s'acquitte de l'obligation d'élaborer une SFDD tous les trois ans, imposée par la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, qui rend le processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement plus transparent et fait en sorte qu'on soit tenu d'en rendre compte devant le Parlement. Il repose sur trois grandes améliorations apportées dans le premier cycle, présentées au Parlement en octobre 2010 :

1. un tableau intégré des mesures et des résultats à l'échelle du gouvernement pour réaliser la durabilité de l'environnement;
2. un lien entre la planification et la production de rapports sur le développement durable et les processus principaux de planification et de production de rapports du gouvernement;
3. des processus efficaces de mesure, de surveillance et de production de rapports afin de suivre les progrès et de les communiquer aux Canadiens.

À l'instar du premier cycle, le second cycle de la SFDD comporte quatre thèmes prioritaires :
I. Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air;
II. Maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau;
III. Protéger la nature et les Canadiens;
IV. Réduire l'empreinte environnementale - en commençant par le gouvernement.

Les thèmes comprennent des objectifs à long terme et ambitieux, des cibles à moyen terme qui sont spécifiques, mesurable, atteignable, réaliste et limité dans le temps, ainsi que des stratégies de mise en oeuvre concrètes (mesures pour atteindre les cibles). La SFDD comprend 8 objectifs dans les 4 thématiques, soutenus par 34 cibles. En tout, la stratégie compte 225 stratégies de mise en oeuvre, qui sont des activités et des programmes exécutés par différents ministères fédéraux.

Formats disponibles :

PDF (3.36 MO) / HTML

Environnement Canada produit une grande variété de publications de différents formats électroniques et imprimés. Certains formats peuvent ne pas être accessibles pour des lecteurs d'écran. Des médias substituts accessibles sont disponibles sur demande. Veuillez communiquer avec enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Auteur : Environnement Canada
  • Langue du document : anglais/français séparé
  • Type de document : Plan
  • N° de catalogue : En4-136/2013F-PDF
  • ISBN : 978-0-660-21183-1
  • Taille : 21,6 X 28
  • Pages : 111
  • Année : 2013
Date de modification :