Federal Guidelines for Landfarming Petroleum Hydrocarbon Contaminated Soils

cover of publication

The Federal Guidelines for Landfarming Petroleum Hydrocarbon Contaminated Soils provide introductory information in Sections 2 through 4, sections on health and safety considerations (Section 5), general landfarming applicability (Section 6) and the applicable standards (Section 7). The guidelines themselves are provided in Section 8, where subsections take the user through the landfarming process starting from determining if landfarming is best suited to the particular contaminated site (Sections 8.1); followed by siting (Section 8.2); design and construction (Section 8.3); and operations, maintenance, monitoring and closure (Section 8.4). The landfarming process, from the contaminated site environmental assessment to landfarm closure, is depicted in a flowchart (see Figure 1-1).

Landfarming is an ex-situ contaminated soil bioremediation technique that involves excavating and spreading contaminated material either in beds consisting of a thin, uniformly thick layer or in windrows. Remediation results from the manipulation of various conditions that stimulate aerobic microbial activity, such as:

•  aeration (e.g., tilling);

•  moisture content (e.g.,  irrigation or spraying);

•  pH (e.g., buffering or neutralizing by adding lime);

•   soil conditioning (e.g., addition of amendments such as bulking agents, nutrients, etc.)

Available Formats:

Accessible PDF (900 KB)

Environment Canada produces a wide variety of publications in various print and electronic formats. Some formats may not be accessible to screen readers. Alternate accessible formats are available upon request. Please contact enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Author: Government of Canada, Environment Canada
  • Language of Document: Separate English/French
  • Document Type: Guide
  • ISBN: 978-1-100-22284-4
  • Size: 21.59 x 27.94 cm
  • Pages: 27
  • Year: 2013
Date modified:

Lignes directrices fédérales pour l’épandage contrôlé de sols contaminés par des hydrocarbures pétroliers

photo couverture de la publication

Les Lignes directrices fédérales pour l'épandage contrôlé de sols contaminés par des hydrocarbures pétroliers fournissent des renseignements préliminaires de la section 2 à la section 4, des sections sur les considérations de santé et de sécurité (section 5), sur l'utilisation générale de l'épandage contrôlé (section 6) et sur les normes applicables (section 7). Les lignes directrices elles-mêmes sont énoncées à la section 8. Des sous-sections permettent aux lecteurs de comprendre le processus d'épandage contrôlé en déterminant d'abord si cette méthode convient bien au site contaminé en question (sous-section 8.1) puis en examinant la sélection d'un emplacement (sous-section 8.2), la conception et la construction (sous-section 8.3) et les mesures opérationnelles, la maintenance, la surveillance et la fermeture du site (sous-section 8.4). Enfin, un organigramme illustre le processus d'épandage contrôlé, depuis l'évaluation environnementale du site contaminé jusqu'à la fermeture du site d'épandage (voir figure 1 1).

L'épandage contrôlé est un procédé de bioassainissement ex situ utilisé pour le traitement des sols contaminés. Il consiste à excaver le sol d'un site contaminé, puis à l'épandre en minces couches d'épaisseur uniforme ou en andains. La bioassainissement des contaminants résulte de la manipulation de diverses conditions qui stimulent l'activité microbienne aérobie, dont :
- l'aération (p. ex., le travail du sol);
- la teneur en eau (p. ex., l'irrigation ou l'irroration);
- le pH (p. ex., tamponner ou neutraliser par l'ajout de chaux);
- l'amendement des sols (p. ex., ajout d'amendements comme des agents gonflants, des nutriments, etc.)

Formats disponibles :

PDF accessible (900 Ko)

Environnement Canada produit une grande variété de publications de différents formats électroniques et imprimés. Certains formats peuvent ne pas être accessibles pour des lecteurs d'écran. Des médias substituts accessibles sont disponibles sur demande. Veuillez communiquer avec enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Auteur : Gouvernement du Canada, Environnement Canada
  • Langue du document : anglais/français séparé
  • Type de document : Guide
  • ISBN : 978-0-660-20899-2
  • Taille : 21,59 x 27,94 cm
  • Pages : 30
  • Année : 2013
Date de modification :