Assessment of the Environmental Performance of Solar Photovoltaic Technologies

cover of publication

The Assessment of the Environmental Performance of Solar Photovoltaic Technologies has been developed by Environment Canada, in partnership with Natural Resources Canada's CanmetENERGY and with input from Task 12 "Photovoltaic Environmental Health and Safety" of the International Energy Agency's Photovoltaic Power Systems Programme and several Canadian researchers and industry stakeholders.

This initiative was funded under the $1 billion Clean Energy Fund announced by the Government of Canada in 2009. Part of Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Clean Energy Fund is investing in large-scale carbon capture and storage demonstration projects, smaller-scale demonstration projects of renewable and alternative energy technologies, and research and development projects, including related technology assessments like this one.

The assessment is designed to enhance the scientific and technical understanding of solar photovoltaic technologies in Canada and to help support development of effective public policy, regulations and federal investment decisions. Where possible, this assessment provides an understanding of the relative environmental impacts of various electrical power sources, which is essential for development of sound energy policy and allocation of funds to strategic research priorities.

Available Formats:

Accessible PDF; (2MB)

Environment Canada produces a wide variety of publications in various print and electronic formats. Some formats may not be accessible to screen readers. Alternate accessible formats are available upon request. Please contact enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Author: Environment Canada
  • Language of Document: Separate English/French
  • Document Type: Report
  • Cat. No.: En84-88/2012E
  • ISBN: 978-1-100-21268-5
  • Size: 21.6 X 28
  • Pages: 87
  • Year: 2013
Date modified:

Évaluation de la performance environnementale de la technologie solaire photovoltaïque

photo couverture de la publication

Le rapport Évaluation de la performance environnementale des technologies solaires photovoltaïques a été élaboré par Environnement Canada, en partenariat avec CanmetÉNERGIE de Ressources naturelles Canada et à l'aide des commentaires de la tâche 12 « Photovoltaic Environmental Health and Safety » (effets de la technologie photovoltaïque sur l'environnement, la santé et la sécurité) du programme portant sur les systèmes d'alimentation photovoltaïque de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie et de plusieurs chercheurs canadiens et intervenants de l'industrie.

L'évaluation a été financée dans le cadre du Fonds pour l'énergie propre de un milliard de dollars annoncé par le gouvernement du Canada en 2009. Le Fonds pour l'énergie propre, qui fait partie du Plan d'action économique du Canada, investit dans des projets de démonstration d'envergure sur le captage et le stockage du carbone, dans des projets de démonstration à plus petite échelle de technologies d'énergie renouvelable et d'énergie de remplacement et dans des projets de recherche et de développement, y compris dans des évaluations de la technologie comme celle-ci.

L'évaluation est destinée à améliorer la compréhension scientifique et technique des technologies solaires photovoltaïques et à aider à appuyer l'élaboration d'une politique publique, d'une réglementation et de décisions d'investissement fédéral efficaces. Dans la mesure du possible, cette évaluation permet de comprendre les répercussions relatives sur l'environnement des diverses sources d'énergie électrique, ce qui est essentiel pour l'élaboration d'une politique éclairée en matière d'énergie et pour l'affectation de fonds pour les priorités de recherche stratégiques.

Formats disponibles :

PDF Accessible; (2Mo)

Environnement Canada produit une grande variété de publications de différents formats électroniques et imprimés. Certains formats peuvent ne pas être accessibles pour des lecteurs d'écran. Des médias substituts accessibles sont disponibles sur demande. Veuillez communiquer avec enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Auteur : Environnement Canada
  • Langue du document : anglais/français séparé
  • Type de document : Rapport
  • N° de catalogue : En84-88/2012F
  • ISBN : 978-1-100-99779-7
  • Taille : 21,6 X 28
  • Année : 2013
Date de modification :