Mining company ordered to pay penalty for Fisheries Act violations at Wabush Mines

December 20, 2016 – Wabush, Newfoundland and Labrador – Environment and Climate Change Canada

On December 16, 2016, Wabush Mines pleaded guilty, in the Provincial Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, to two offences under the Fisheries Act in violation of the Metal Mining Effluent Regulations. The offences took place in May 2015. Following an investigation by enforcement officers the company was charged with violations of subsections 14(1) and 24(1), including failing to perform acute-lethality sampling (of effluent) and failing to notify an inspector following a deposit out of the normal course of events.

The Court ordered the company to pay a total penalty of $30,000, of which $25,000 will be directed to the federal Environmental Damages Fund (EDF). As a result of this conviction, the company’s name will be added to the Environmental Offenders Registry.

Quick facts

  • Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the pollution-prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act, which prohibit the deposit of deleterious substances into water frequented by fish.
  • The Metal Mining Effluent Regulations impose limits on concentrations of specific deleterious substances in the effluent released from mining operations and sets out measures to be taken if these concentrations are exceeded. This is why regular testing and reporting is required under the regulations.
  • Created in 1995, the EDF is a Government of Canada program administered by Environment and Climate Change Canada. The Fund follows the “polluter pays” principle and ensures that court-awarded penalties are used for projects with positive environmental impacts.

Contacts

Media Relations
Environment and Climate Change Canada
819-938-3338 or 1-844-836-7799 (toll free)

Date modified:

Une entreprise minière est condamnée à payer une amende pour avoir enfreint la Loi sur les pêches aux mines de Wabush

Le 20 décembre 2016 – Wabush (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) – Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Le 16 décembre 2016, l’entreprise Wabush Mines a plaidé coupable devant la Cour provinciale de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador pour avoir commis deux infractions aux termes du Règlement sur les effluents des mines de métaux, en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches. Les infractions ont été commises en mai 2015. À la suite d’une enquête effectuée par les agents de l’autorité, l’entreprise a été condamnée pour avoir contrevenu aux paragraphes 14(1) et 24(1), notamment en omettant d’effectuer des essais de détermination de la létalité aiguë sur des échantillons (de l’effluent) et en négligeant d’aviser un inspecteur d’un rejet irrégulier.

La Cour a ordonné à l’entreprise de payer une amende totale de 30 000 dollars, dont 25 000 dollars seront versés au Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement du gouvernement fédéral. En raison de cette condamnation, le nom de l’entreprise sera ajouté au Registre des contrevenants environnementaux.

Faits saillants

  • Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est chargé de l’administration et de l’application des dispositions relatives à la prévention de la pollution de la Loi sur les pêches, en vertu de laquelle il est interdit de rejeter des substances nocives dans des eaux où vivent des poissons.
  • Le Règlement sur les effluents des mines de métaux impose des limites aux concentrations de certaines substances nocives dans les effluents rejetés à la suite d’activités minières et établit des mesures qui doivent être prises lorsque ces concentrations sont dépassées. Par conséquent, le Règlement exige des essais et des rapports réguliers.
  • Créé en 1995, le Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement est un programme du gouvernement du Canada qui est administré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Fondé sur le principe du « pollueur-payeur », le Fonds permet d’acheminer les amendes imposées par les tribunaux vers des projets qui seront avantageux pour notre environnement naturel.

Personnes-ressources

Relations avec les médias
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
819-938-3338 ou 1-844-836-7799 (sans frais)

Date de modification :