D. & L. Estates Limited Fined for Violating the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – December 2, 2013 – D. & L. Estates Limited was sentenced Monday, November 25, 2013, to pay $25,000 in Ontario Provincial Court for an offence under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, (CEPA, 1999) related to non‑compliance with the PCB Regulations (SOR/2008-273). The offence took place at the former NORAD radar station in Armstrong Station, Ontario, close to the north shore of Lake Nipigon, now owned by D. & L. Estates. 

On April 19, 2012, enforcement officers from Environment Canada issued an Environmental Protection Compliance Order (EPCO) to Mr. Bert Lundstrom (owner) and Mr. John Lundstrom (then an owner) of D. & L. Estates Limited. The EPCO required that specific measures related to sections of the PCB Regulations under CEPA, 1999, be taken no later than May 17, 2012. A follow-up inspection revealed that none of the measures outlined in the EPCO had been implemented. As a result, D. & L. Estates was charged on April 22, 2013, for failing to comply with an EPCO.  

In addition to the fine, and prior to pleading guilty, D & L Estates Limited retained the services of a licensed PCB contractor to remove all of the PCB contaminated equipment from the property and to have the PCBs destroyed.

EPCOs are orders that Environment Canada’s enforcement officers may issue to put an immediate stop to a CEPA, 1999, violation, prevent a violation from occurring in the first place, or require action to be taken to correct a violation. These orders are one of the tools under CEPA, 1999, that allow handling of offences without formal court prosecution.  

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations
Environment Canada
819-934-8008

Date modified:

La société D. & L. Estates Limited a été condamnée à payer une amende pour une infraction à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – le 2 décembre 2013 La société D. & L. Estates a été condamnée, le lundi 25 novembre 2013, à payer 25 000 dollars devant la Cour provinciale de l’Ontario pour une infraction à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] relativement à la non-observation du Règlement sur les BPC (DORS/2008-273). L’infraction s’est produite à l’ancienne station radar du NORAD à Armstrong Station, en Ontario, près de la rive nord du lac Nipigon, maintenant propriété de D. & L. Estates

Le 19 avril 2012, des agents de l’autorité d’Environnement Canada ont délivré un ordre d'exécution en matière de protection de l'environnement (OEPE) à M. Bert Lundstrom (propriétaire) et à M. John Lundstrom (un des propriétaires à l’époque) de D. & L. Estates. L’OEPE ordonnait que des mesures particulières concernant des articles du Règlement sur les BPC applicable en vertu de la LCPE (1999) soient prises au plus tard le 17 mai 2012. Une inspection de suivi a révélé qu’aucune de ces mesures n’avait été appliquée. Le 22 avril 2013, D. & L. Estates a donc été accusée de ne pas s’être conformée à un OEPE.

En plus de se voir imposer une amende et avant de plaider coupable, D. & L. Estates Limited a recouru aux services d’un entrepreneur agréé pour retirer de la propriété tout le matériel contaminé aux BPC et éliminer ces substances.

Un OEPE est un ordre qu’un agent de l’autorité d’Environnement Canada peut délivrer pour faire cesser immédiatement une infraction à la LCPE (1999), prévenir une infraction ou imposer la prise de mesures pour remédier à une infraction. C’est l’un des outils créés en vertu de la LCPE (1999) afin de traiter les infractions sans le recours à une poursuite judiciaire.  

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquer avec :

Relations avec les médias
Environnement Canada
819-934-8008

Date de modification :