Environmental Violations Result In $10,000 In Fines

April 2, 2015 – Pincher Creek, Alberta

Larry Saretzky, director of Prestige Cleaners, operating in Blairmore, Alberta, pleaded guilty on March 31, 2015, in the Alberta Provincial Court of Justice, for contravening the Tetrachloroethylene (Use in Dry Cleaning and Reporting Requirements) Regulations of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999).

Environment Canada enforcement officers discovered the offences during an inspection in August of 2013, which included improper storage and containment of tetrachloroethylene, commonly known as PERC.

Under the CEPA, 1999, as amended by the Environmental Enforcement Act, the director received two mandatory minimum fines of $5,000 each, to be paid to the Environmental Damages Fund (EDF). The EDF is administered by Environment Canada and awards funds received as a result of fines, court orders, and voluntary payments to projects that will benefit our natural environment. The mandatory minimum penalty is aimed at promoting compliance with federal environmental legislation.

Quick Facts

  • Tetrachloroethylene (PERC) is a commonly used dry-cleaning solvent, and is listed as a toxic substance under CEPA, 1999.
  • The Tetrachloroethylene (Use in Dry Cleaning and Reporting Requirements) Regulations aim to reduce PERC releases into the environment, where it has the potential to contaminate ground and surface water.
  • CEPA, 1999, is an important part of Canada’s body of federal environmental legislation. It is an Act respecting pollution prevention and the protection of the environment and human health in order to contribute to sustainable development

Associated Links

CEPA Environmental Registry

Environmental Damages Fund

Contacts

Media Relations
Environment Canada
819-934-8008

Date modified:

Des infractions de nature environnementale se traduisent par des amendes de 10 000 dollars

Le 2 avril 2015 – Pincher Creek (Alberta)

Larry Saretzky, directeur de  Prestige Cleaners, une entreprise qui exerce ses activités à Blairmore, en Alberta, a plaidé coupable le 31 mars 2015 devant la Cour de justice provinciale de l’Alberta pour avoir enfreint le Règlement sur le tétrachloroéthylène (utilisation pour le nettoyage à sec et rapports) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].

Les agents de l’autorité d’Environnement Canada ont constaté les infractions au cours d’une inspection qu’ils ont réalisée en août 2013. Ces infractions sont liées à l’entreposage et au confinement inadéquats de tétrachloroéthylène, communément nommé PERC.

En vertu de la LCPE (1999), telle que modifiée par la Loi sur le contrôle d’application des lois environnementales, le directeur a écopé de deux amendes minimales obligatoires de 5 000 dollars chacune, qui devront être versées au Fonds pour les dommages à l’environnement. Ce fonds, administré par Environnement Canada, sert à diriger les sommes reçues à la suite d’amendes, d’ordonnances de la cour et de règlements volontaires vers des projets qui bénéficieront à notre environnement naturel. L’amende minimale obligatoire vise à promouvoir la conformité aux lois fédérales sur l’environnement.

Faits en bref

  • Le tétrachloroéthylène (PERC), un solvant fréquemment utilisé dans le nettoyage à sec, est  inscrit sur la liste des substances toxiques de la LCPE (1999).
  • Le Règlement sur le tétrachloroéthylène (utilisation pour le nettoyage à sec et rapports) vise à réduire les rejets de PERC dans l’environnement, où il est susceptible de contaminer les eaux souterraines et de surface.
  • La LCPE (1999) est un maillon important de l’ensemble des lois fédérales du Canada sur l’environnement. Cette loi vise à prévenir la pollution et à protéger l’environnement et la santé humaine en vue de contribuer au développement durable.

Liens connexes

Registre environnemental de la LCPE

Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement

Personnes-ressources

Relations avec les médias
Environnement Canada
819-934-8008

Date de modification :