Spill results in $125,000 penalty for Canadian Natural Resources Limited

March 18, 2015 – Edmonton, Alberta

Canadian Natural Resources Limited was sentenced to pay $125,000 on March 13, 2015, in Alberta Provincial Court after pleading guilty to an offence under the Fisheries Act, related to the release of a substance harmful to fish into fish-bearing waters.

The offence stems from a crude oil spill from an emergency overflow tankon May 23, 2010, at a Canadian Natural Resources Limited site near the town of Spirit River. In total, an estimated 6,000 litres of crude oil was released, of which approximately 750 litres entered Sneddon Creek, a tributary to the Peace River.

Environment Canada enforcement officers attended the scene and initiated an investigation, which concluded that the spill was caused by valves that were left open. The company also failed to ensure that operational procedures were followed.

Of the $125,000 penalty, $113,000 will be directed to the Environmental Damages Fund (EDF). The remaining $12,000 will be paid as a fine. The EDF is administered by Environment Canada. It was created in 1995 to provide a mechanism for directing funds received as a result of fines, court orders, and voluntary payments to projects that will benefit our natural environment.

As a result of this conviction, the company’s name will be added to the Environmental Offender’s Registry.

Quick Fact

  • The Environmental Offenders Registry contains information on convictions of corporations registered for offences committed under certain federal environmental laws. The Registry contains convictions recorded for offences committed since June 18, 2009--when the Environmental Enforcement Act received Royal Assent.

Associated Links

Fisheries Act

Environmental Offenders Registry

Environmental Damages Fund

Contacts

Media Relations
Environment Canada
819-934-8008

Date modified:

La société Canadian Natural Resources Limited est tenue de payer une pénalité de 125 000 dollars en raison d’un déversement 

Le 18 mars 2015 – Edmonton (Alberta)

Le 13 mars 2015, la société Canadian Natural Resources Limited a été condamnée à payer 125 000 dollars devant la Cour provinciale de l’Alberta, après avoir plaidé coupable à une infraction à la Loi sur les pêches, concernant le rejet d’une substance nocive pour le poisson dans des eaux où vit celui-ci.

L’infraction résulte d’un déversement de pétrole brut provenant d’un réservoir de trop-plein d’urgence, survenu le 23 mai 2010, sur l’un des sites de Canadian Natural Resources Limited près de la ville de Spirit River. Au total, une quantité approximative de 6 000 litres de pétrole brut a été rejetée, dont environ 750 litres se sont déversés dans le ruisseau Sneddon, un affluent de la rivière Peace.

Les agents d’application de la loi d’Environnement Canada se sont rendus sur les lieux et ont lancé une enquête. Cette enquête leur a permis de conclure que des valves restées ouvertes étaient la cause du déversement. La société avait également omis de veiller à ce que les procédures opérationnelles soient suivies.

De la pénalité de 125 000 dollars, une somme de 113 000 dollars sera versée au Fonds pour dommage à l’environnement, et les 12 000 dollars restants seront payés sous forme d’amende. Ce fonds, créé en 1995 et administré par Environnement Canada, constitue un mécanisme qui sert à diriger les sommes reçues à la suite d’amendes, d’ordonnances du tribunal et de règlements volontaires vers des projets qui bénéficieront à notre environnement naturel.

En raison de cette condamnation, le nom de la société sera ajouté au Registre des contrevenants environnementaux.

Fait en bref

  • Le Registre des contrevenants environnementaux contient des renseignements sur les condamnations prononcées contre des sociétés qui ont commis des infractions à certaines lois fédérales sur l’environnement. Depuis le 18 juin 2009, date à laquelle la Loi sur le contrôle d’application de lois environnementales a reçu la sanction royale, les condamnations pour ces infractions sont consignées dans ce registre.

Liens connexes

Loi sur les pêches

Registre des contrevenants environnementaux

Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement

Personnes-ressources

Relations avec les médias
Environnement Canada
819-934-8008

Date de modification :