Newfoundland and Labrador Murre Hunter Receives Fine and Hunting Suspension

PORT AUX BASQUES, N.L. -- November 21, 2011 -- Kevin Hardy, age 59, of Burnt Islands, Newfoundland and Labrador, pleaded guilty in Provincial Court in Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador, to violations under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994

Hardy was fined $500 for hunting migratory birds, specifically murres, without a migratory bird hunting permit.  He is also prohibited for one year from hunting migratory birds, or from being in the company of anyone hunting migratory birds.

Murres, locally known as turrs, are protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994. It is illegal to sell, offer for sale, buy or trade any migratory bird. Environment Canada enforces federal wildlife legislation which protects plant and animal species throughout Canada. This is done in collaboration with other federal departments, provincial and territorial governments as well as international agencies and organizations.

Environment Canada has created a subscription service to help the public stay current with what the Government of Canada is doing to protect our natural environment. Subscribing to Environment Canada’s Enforcement Notifications is easy, and free. Sign up today.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations
Environment Canada
819-934-8008

Date modified:

Un chasseur de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador écope d’une amende, et son permis de chasse est suspendu

PORT AUX BASQUES, T.-N.-L. -- le 21 novembre 2011 -- Kevin Hardy, âgé de 59 ans, de Burnt Islands, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, a plaidé coupable devant la cour provinciale de Port aux Basques, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, d’avoir enfreint la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs.

M. Hardy a écopé d’une amende de 500 dollars pour avoir chassé, sans permis, des oiseaux migrateurs, notamment des guillemots. De plus, il lui est interdit de chasser des oiseaux migrateurs pour une période de un an ou d’être en présence d’une personne qui chasse des oiseaux migrateurs.

Les guillemots, connus localement sous le nom de marmettes, sont protégés en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs. Il est donc illégal de vendre, d’offrir en vente, d’acheter ou de faire le commerce des oiseaux migrateurs. Environnement Canada applique les lois fédérales sur les espèces sauvages qui protègent les espèces végétales et animales à l’échelle du pays, et ce, en collaboration avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi qu’avec des organisations et organismes internationaux.

Environnement Canada a créé un service de souscription pour permettre au public d’être tenu informé des mesures que prend le gouvernement du Canada en vue de protéger notre environnement naturel. S’inscrire aux notifications d'application de la loi d’Environnement Canada, c’est simple et gratuit. Inscrivez-vous maintenant.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec :

Relations avec les médias
Environnement Canada
819-934-8008

Date de modification :