Canadian Atlas of Bird Banding

Acknowledgements

This atlas evolved over several decades and could not have been completed without the help of dozens of contributors. The original manuscript, which covered banding data up to 1976, benefited from the help of Suzanne Blain, Anne Lambert, Colleen Hyslop, Tony Salvadori, and Linda Prywezcki. Heather Trueman helped Eric Woodsworth significantly with the data thinning and mapping programs, while Glen Atkinson and Richard Aylesworth contributed to the development of base maps and projection methods. Major word-processing assistance was provided by Manon Vincent and Lorraine Tomkewich.

After a decision was made to extend coverage through 1995, additional people provided help. These included Kathy Meeres, Lucie Métras, Louise Laurin, Ann Demers, Peter Blancher, Danny Bystrak , and Christine Eberl. Mary Gustafson of the U.S. Bird Banding Laboratory kindly checked the original data to answer many queries. In tracing Canadian encounters of foreign-banded birds, the authors were greatly helped by officers of the banding schemes in Greenland (Denmark) (Kaj Kampp), Iceland (Aevar Petersen), the United Kingdom (the late Chris Mead), and Europe as a whole (R.D. Wassenaar of the European Union for Bird Ringing).

Other contributions to Volume 1 were as follows: Audrey Heagy updated a large number accounts, and other reviews or new accounts were contributed by A.J. Erskine (Band-tailed Pigeon through Belted Kingfisher, Horned Lark, and Black-billed Magpie), Doug Collister (flycatchers and vireos), Nat Wheelwright (Savannah Sparrow), and Nicolaas Verbeek (Northwestern Crow). Laurie Hohban, Jeremy Hussell, and Beverly McBride provided clerical help. We especially thank David Hussell and Danny Bystrak for their thorough reviews of the manuscript, as well as Jane Whitney for her meticulous editing, all of which greatly improved the final document. The first edition was produced by the Scientific and Technical Documents Division of the Canadian Wildlife Service. Environment Canada Internet and database specialists prepared this second (online) edition in collaboration with Environment Canada editors. This edition was translated into French thanks to the Scientific and Technical Communications Section of the Canadian Wildlife Service and the Translation Bureau, which has also participated in the translation process.

Other contributions to Volume 2 were as follows: Bev McBride edited many accounts and cross-checked maps and encounter details, and new accounts or revisions of old accounts were contributed by Gary Kaiser (Rhinoceros Auklet, Western Gull, Laysan Albatross) and Gilles Chapdelaine (Razorbill). Many thanks are extended to those who commented on parts of the document: John Chardine, Jean-François Rail, and Chip Weseloh. Finally, we want to acknowledge the uncountable hours of effort that hundreds of banders have put into amassing the database on which this summary is based. This atlas is for you.

Several additional people made contributions to Volume 3. We especially thank the late Bruce Duncan and C. Stuart Houston for reviewing the manuscript, which greatly improved the final document.

Finally, we want to acknowledge the uncountable hours of effort that hundreds of banders have put into amassing the database on which this summary is based. This atlas is for you.

Date Modified:

Atlas des oiseaux bagués ou repris au Canada

Remerciements

Cet atlas, qui a évolué sur plusieurs décennies, n'aurait jamais vu le jour sans l'aide de dizaines de collaborateurs. Le manuscrit original, qui regroupait les données de baguage jusqu'à 1976, a bénéficié du concours de Suzanne Blain, Anne Lambert, Colleen Hyslop, Tony Salvadori et Linda Prywezcki. Heather Trueman a prêté main-forte à Eric Woodsworth pour ce qui est des programmes de réduction et de cartographie des données, tandis que Glen Atkinson et Richard Aylesworth ont participé à l'élaboration de cartes de base et de méthodes de projection. Manon Vincent et Lorraine Tomkewich ont apporté une aide considérable quant au traitement de texte.

D'autres personnes ont apporté leur soutien après qu'une décision a été prise d'inclure les données de baguage jusqu'à 1995. Ces personnes comprennent notamment Kathy Meeres, Lucie Métras, Louise Laurin, Ann Demers, Peter Blancher, Danny Bystrak et Christine Eberl. Mary Gustafson du U.S. Bird Banding Laboratory a gentiment accepté de vérifier les données originales afin de répondre à de nombreuses questions. Des agents des programmes de baguage au Groenland (Danemark) (Kaj Kampp), en Islande (Aevar Petersen), au Royaume-Uni (feu Chris Mead) et dans l'ensemble de l'Europe (R.D. Wassenaar, de la European Union for Bird Ringing [EURING]) ont apporté une aide considérable aux auteurs dans le traçage des oiseaux bagués à l'étranger observés au Canada).

D'autres personnes ont contribué au volume 1. Audrey Heagy a mis à jour un grand nombre de données, alors que d'autres révisions ou de nouvelles données ont été assurées par A.J. Erskine (Pigeon à queue barrée, Martin-pêcheur d'Amérique, Alouette hausse-col et Pie bavarde), Doug Collister (moucherelles et viréons), Nat Wheelwright (Bruant des prés) et Nicolaas Verbeek (Corneille d'Alaska). Laurie Hohban, Jeremy Hussell et Beverly McBride ont offert un soutien administratif. Nous tenons tout particulièrement à remercier David Hussell et Danny Bystrak qui ont révisé le manuscrit de manière approfondie, ainsi que Jane Whitney pour son travail d'édition méticuleux. Tous ces efforts ont grandement contribué à améliorer le document final. La première édition anglaise a été produite par la Division des publications scientifiques et techniques du Service canadien de la faune. Les spécialistes d'Internet et de bases de données d'Environnement Canada ont travaillé avec les rédacteurs d'Environnement Canada pour préparer cette deuxième édition (offerte en ligne). Cette édition a été traduite en français grâce à la Section des communications scientifiques et techniques du Service canadien de la faune ainsi qu'au Bureau de la traduction, qui est également intervenu dans la traduction.

D'autres personnes ont contribué au volume 2. Bev McBride a révisé de nombreux comptes rendus et contre-vérifié les cartes et des détails concernant les reprises, alors que la rédaction des nouveaux comptes rendus et la révision des anciens ont été assurées par Gary Kaiser (Macareux rhinocéros, Goéland d'Audubon, Albatros de Laysan) et Gilles Chapdelaine (Petit Pingouin). Nous remercions chaleureusement les personnes qui ont commenté des parties du présent document : John Chardine, Jean-François Rail et Chip Weseloth. Enfin, nous tenons à remercier les centaines de bagueurs qui ont passé d'innombrables heures à alimenter la base de données sur laquelle ce résumé est fondé. Cet atlas vous est dédié.

Plusieurs autres personnes ont contribué au volume 3. Nous remercions particulièrement feu Bruce Duncan et C. Stuart Houston, qui ont révisé le manuscrit, ce qui a grandement amélioré le document final.

Enfin, nous tenons à remercier les centaines de bagueurs qui ont passé d'innombrables heures à alimenter la base de données sur laquelle ce résumé est fondé. Cet atlas vous est dédié.

Date de modification :