L'Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Photo of Greater Snow Geese
Photo: © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Greater Snow Geese.

L'Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located on the south shore of the St. Lawrence Estuary, in the municipality of L'Islet. The majority of the sanctuary is in the St. Lawrence River, while its terrestrial part encompasses the wharf, as well as part of the wharf's road.

The site was established in 1986 to protect Greater Snow Geese and other species of waterfowl. This 59 hectare protected area is characterized by wetlands and brackish water. The sanctuary consists mainly of muddy sediment, rocky outcrops and herbaceous meadows. The latter is by far the most abundant (60 % of the MBS) and is predominantly vegetated by American Bulrush. The tide has a major impact on shoreline movement and on the area's vegetation.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

L'Islet MBS is recognized as an important migration area for Greater Snow Geese and many species of duck. Surveys conducted during fall migration have counted nearly 2000 pairs of Greater Snow Geese, several dozen dabbling ducks, Spotted Sandpipers, Killdeer and over 1800 Sandpipers, including more than 300 individual Semipalmated Sandpipers. The site also supports colonial species, among them the Double-crested Cormorant, the Common Eider and the Razorbill. The Ring-billed Gull, Herring Gull and Great Black-backed Gull are other species observed in the area in the summer season.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to L'Islet MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited, and dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access denial or restrictions imposed by the owners of land within the MBS may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in s, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of L'Isle-Verte Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec, L'Isle-Verte, Île Verte, Baie de L'Isle-Verte National Wildlife Area and the St. Lawrence River. The map shows the boundaries of sanctuary, which overlaps with a section of the Baie de l'Isle-Verte National Wildlife Area and extends into the water. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. L'Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary table for L'Islet Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude47° 7' 49" N 70° 22' 28" W
Size in hectares (ha)59 ha
Date created ( Gazetted)1986
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIII - Natural Monument or Feature
Additional designationsL'Islet Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeAmerican Bulrush dominated herbaceous meadow
Key bird speciesGreater Snow Goose, Semipalmated Sandpiper, and Spotted Sandpiper.
Other speciesBirds: Sandpipers spp., Killdeer, Ring-billed Gull, Herring Gull and Great Black-backed Gull Plants: American Bulrush, Victorin's Water–hemlock, Eastern Wild Rice (dwarf variety)
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de L'Islet

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photo Partie du Paruline azurée
Photo : © Thinkstockphotos.ca. Oies des neiges.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de L'Islet se situe sur la rive sud de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, dans la municipalité de L'Islet. Étant en grande partie dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, ce refuge englobe dans sa partie terrestre le quai, de même qu'une partie de la route du quai.

Ce territoire a été créé en 1986 dans le but de protéger la Grande Oie des neiges et d'autres espèces de sauvagine. D'une superficie de 59 hectares, cette aire protégée se caractérise par la présence de milieux humides d'eau saumâtre. On retrouve dans ce refuge principalement des dépôts vaseux, des affleurements rocheux ainsi que des herbaçaies. Ces dernières sont de loin les plus abondantes (60% du refuge) et sont dominées par le scirpe d'Amérique. La marée exerce une influence majeure sur l'évolution des rives et sur la végétation du territoire.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de L'Islet est reconnu comme étant une aire de migration importante pour la Grande Oie des neiges et de nombreuses espèces de canards. Des inventaires effectués lors des migrations automnales ont déjà permis de dénombrer près de 2000 Grandes Oies des neiges, plusieurs dizaines de canards barboteurs, des Chevaliers grivelés, des Pluviers kildir et plus de 1800 Bécasseaux, dont plus de 300 individus de Bécasseaux semipalmés. Le site abrite également des espèces coloniales comme le Cormoran à aigrettes, l'Eider à duvet et le Petit Pingouin. D'autres espèces comme le Goéland à bec cerclé, le Goéland argenté ainsi que le Goéland marin sont observés en période estivale dans ce secteur.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s’appliquent au ROM de L’Islet : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d’armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté

Des interdictions ou des restrictions d'accès par le propriétaire des terres (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada) incluses dans ce ROM peuvent également s'appliquer.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Isle-Verte par rapport au Québec, à l'Isle-Verte, à l'île-Verte, à la Réserve nationale de faune de la Baie de l'Isle-Verte et au golfe du Saint-Laurent. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui chevauche une section de la Réserve nationale de faune de la baie de l'Isle-Verte et s'étend dans l'eau. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de L'Isle-Verte (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de L’Islet
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l’aire protégéeRefuge d’oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude47° 7' 49" N 70° 22' 28" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)59
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1986
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)III - Monument ou élément naturel
Désignations supplémentairesZone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux L'Islet
Type d’habitat principalHerbaçaie à dominance de scirpe d'Amérique
Espèces clés d’oiseauxGrandes Oies des neiges, Bécasseau semipalmé, et Chevalier grivelé.
Autres espècesOiseaux : Bécasseaux spp., Pluvier kildir, Goéland à bec cerclé, Goéland argenté et Goéland marin Plantes: scirpe d'Amérique, cicutaire maculée variété de Victorin, zizanie à fleurs blanches variété naine
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :