Wallace Bay National Wildlife Area

Description | Management | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Common Tern perched on rock.Photo: Andrew Kennedy © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Wallace Bay NWA.

Related Documents

Description

Wallace Bay National Wildlife Area (NWA) is located 42 km east of Amherst at the upper limit of Wallace Harbour on the Northumberland Strait in northeastern Nova Scotia. It encompasses 783 hectares (ha) of marine and freshwater wetlands, forested uplands and fields. Wallace Bay NWA provides habitat for many species of birds and other wildlife and is particularly important for migrant and nesting waterfowl.

A road and aboiteau across the area divide the wetlands almost equally into marine and freshwater. The marine wetland is comprised of tidal channels and salt marsh. Impounded freshwater wetlands, in collaboration with Ducks Unlimited Canada, have also been developed over a large section of lands that were once drained and dyked for agriculture. Habitat management has resulted in significant increases in waterfowl production. Eight species of waterfowl, including Green-winged Teal, Black Duck, Northern Pintail, Blue-winged Teal, Northern Shoveler, American Wigeon, Ring-necked Duck and Hooded Merganser, regularly breed at the NWA . Wood Duck, Mallard and Redhead broods have also been recorded, but not annually. The first Redhead brood was recorded in 1979 and during three of the next five years broods were observed on the wildlife area.

The shallow wetlands afford nesting habitat for several species of marsh birds including the Pied-billed Grebe, American Bittern, Sora, American Coot and Wilson's Snipe which regularly breed at Wallace Bay NWA . Least Bittern, Virginia Rail, Marsh Wren, Osprey and Common Tern are among other species that have been observed occasionally and are presumably breeding irregularly. A list of 155 other bird species has been recorded as frequenting the NWA with many nesting in the surrounding uplands. Most common land and freshwater mammals of Nova Scotia occur at Wallace Bay NWA . Muskrat are particularly abundant. A pair of Bald Eagles usually can be seen nesting on the site.

More information on Wallace Bay NWA is provided in the summary table below.

Management

NWA are protected and managed according to the Wildlife Area Regulations under the Canada Wildlife Act. The primary purpose of NWAs is the protection and conservation of wildlife and their habitat. For this purpose, and according to the legislation, Environment and Climate Change Canada can prohibit all activities in a NWA that could interfere with the conservation of wildlife. Consequently, most NWAs are not accessible to the public and all activities are prohibited. Nonetheless, Environment and Climate Change Canada has the ability to authorize some activities, whether through public notice or the issuance of permits, as long as these are consistent with the management plan goals for the NWA . For more information, consult the NWAs Management and Activities section.

Access to Wallace Bay NWA is not restricted and activities may be permitted in accordance with the conservation objectives of the NWA management plan. Public notices listing the authorized activities within the wildlife area are posted at access points. Hunting, trapping and fishing are permitted at Wallace Bay NWA in accordance with specified conditions and federal and provincial regulations. Other authorized public activities that are compatible with the objectives of the NWA include wildlife observation, hiking and photography.

More information on access and permitting for Wallace Bay NWA , can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Map of the Area

Long description for the Map

Map showing the area near Wallace Bridge and Wallace Bay, Nova Scotia. The boundaries of the Wallace Bay NWA are indicated. The protected area is located to the north of Highways 6 and 368 and covers the western portion of Wallace bay as well as a portion of the surrounding land. The scale on the map is in kilometers (km). Permanent water, intertidal water, roads and highways are all indicated on the map. A small inset national map situates the NWA in Canada.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Wallace Bay NWA can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

This table provides summary information for the Wallace Bay NWA
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationNWA
Province/territoryNova Scotia
Latitude/longitude45°50' North / 63°34' West
Size783 ha
Reason for creation of protected areaConservation of coastal wetlands (waterfowl and waterbird habitat).
Date created (Gazetted)1980 - Legal description
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryVI - Protected area with sustainable use of natural resources.
Additional designationsNone
Keystone or flagship speciesRing-necked Duck, Bald Eagle, Hooded Merganser, Sparrows, Sora, Muskrat.
Main habitat typeWetland (75.5%), Forest (17.1%), Abandoned Farmland (2.4%), Farmland (5.0%)
Listed Species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None recorded
Invasive speciesNone recorded
Additional linksBirds: Green-winged Teal, American Black Duck, Northern Pintail, Blue-winged Teal, Northern Shoveler, American Wigeon, Wood Duck, Mallard, Redhead, Pied-billed Grebe, American Bittern, American Coot, Wilson's Snipe, Least Bittern, Virginia Rail, Marsh Wren, Osprey, and Common Tern.
Main threats and challengesIncreasing coastal development and adjacent land use.
Management AgencyEnvironment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service) in partnership with the Department of Lands and Forests, Nova Scotia, and Ducks Unlimited Canada.
Public access and usageHunting, trapping, fishing, wildlife observation, hiking and photography are permitted as posted at the entrance of the NWA .

Note: If there is a discrepancy between the information presented on this web page and any notice posted at the NWA site, the notice prevails as it is the legal instrument authorizing the activity.

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Atlantic Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville, New Brunswick
E4L 4N1
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Réserve nationale de faune de Wallace Bay

Description | Gestion | Carte de la réserve | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Sterne pierregarin perché sur un rocher.Photo : Andrew Kennedy © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. RNF de Wallace Bay.

Documents connexes

Description

La réserve nationale de faune (RNF) de Wallace Bay est située à 42 kilomètres (km) à l'est d'Amherst; soit à la limite supérieure de Wallace Harbour, sur le détroit de Northumberland et au nord-est de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Elle englobe 783 hectares (ha) de terres humides marines et d'eau douce, de zones sèches forestières et de champs. La RNF de Wallace Bay offre un habitat à de nombreuses espèces d'oiseaux et d'autres espèces sauvages, et elle est particulièrement importante pour la sauvagine migratrice et nicheuse.

Une route et un aboiteau traversant la région divisent les terres humides presque également entre les sources marines et d'eau douce. Les terres humides marines sont composées de chenaux de marée et de marais salés. En collaboration avec Canards Illimités Canada, des réservoirs de retenue ont également été mis au point pour l'obtention de terres humides d'eau douce, sur une importante partie des terres qui étaient autrefois drainées et endiguées pour l'agriculture. La gestion de l'habitat a entraîné une augmentation importante de la production de sauvagine. Huit espèces de sauvagine, y compris la Sarcelle d'hiver, le Canard noir, le Canard pilet, la Sarcelle à ailes bleues, le Canard souchet, le Canard d'Amérique, le Fuligule à collier et le Harle couronné, se reproduisent régulièrement dans la RNF de Wallace Bay. Des couvées de Canard branchu, de Canard colvert et de Fuligule à tête rouge ont également été répertoriées, mais pas à tous les ans. La première couvée de Fuligule à tête rouge a été enregistrée en 1979 et au cours de trois des cinq années suivantes, des couvées ont été observées dans la réserve de faune.

Les terres humides peu profondes confèrent un habitat de nidification pour plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux des marais, y compris le Grèbe à bec bigarré, le Butor d'Amérique, la Marouette de Caroline, la Foulque d'Amérique et la Bécassine de Wilson, qui nichent régulièrement dans la RNF de Wallace Bay. Le Petit blongios, le Râle de Virginie, le Troglodyte des marais, le Balbuzard pêcheur et la Sterne pierregarin font partie des espèces qui ont été observées occasionnellement et qui s'y reproduisent probablement de façon irrégulière. Une liste a été consignée comprenant 155 autres espèces d'oiseaux qui fréquentent la RNF, dont un grand nombre nichent dans les zones sèches environnantes. Les mammifères terrestres et d'eau douce les plus courants de la Nouvelle-Écosse sont répertoriés dans la RNF de Wallace Bay. Le rat musqué y est particulièrement abondant. On peut habituellement observer un couple de Pygargues à tête blanche pendant sa nidification dans la réserve faunique.

Pour plus d'information sur la RNF de Wallace Bay, consultez le tableau sommaire ci-dessous.

Gestion

Les RNF sont protégées et gérées conformément au Règlement sur les réserves d'espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada. Le but premier des RNF est la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leur habitat. À cet effet, et selon la législation, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à le pouvoir d'interdire toute activité dans une RNF qui pourrait nuire à la conservation des espèces sauvages. En conséquence, la plupart d'entre elles ne sont pas accessibles au public et toute activité y est interdite. Le Ministère peut cependant autoriser la tenue de certaines activités, soit par des avis publics ou par l'émission de permis, tant que ces activités sont compatibles avec les buts de conservation du plan de gestion pour la RNF. Pour plus d'information, consulter la section sur la gestion et activités de la section Web des RNF.

L'accès à la RNF de Wallace Bay n'est pas restreint et on n'y autorise que les activités conformes aux objectifs de conservation inscrits dans le plan de gestion de la RNF. Des avis publics énumérant les activités autorisées dans la réserve sont affichés aux points d'accès menant à la réserve. La chasse, le piégeage et la pêche sont autorisés pourvu qu'ils respectent les règlements provinciaux et fédéraux et les conditions spécifiées. Les autres activités autorisées, lesquelles sont compatibles avec les objectifs de la RNF, incluent l'observation de la faune, la randonnée pédestre et la photographie.

De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l'émission de permis pour la RNF de Wallace Bay peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.

Carte de la réserve

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte montrant la région près de Wallace Bridge et de la baie Wallace en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les limites de la RNF de la baie-Wallace sont indiquées. L'aire protégée est située au nord des autoroutes 6 et 368 et recouvre la partie ouest de la baie Wallace ainsi qu'une partie des terres environnantes. L'échelle de la carte est en kms. Les eaux permanentes, les zones intertidales, les routes ainsi que les autoroutes sont indiquées sur la carte. Un petit encart montre l'emplacement de la RNF dans le Canada.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer la RNF de Wallace Bay. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire affichant diverses données sur la RNF de Wallace Bay
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRNF
Province/territoireNouvelle-Écosse
Latitude/longitude45°50' Nord / 63°34' Ouest
Superficie en ha (ha)783 ha
Raison pour la désignation de l'aire protégéeConservation des terres humides côtières (habitats pour la sauvagine et les oiseaux aquatiques).
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1980 - Description légale
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)VI - Aire protégée avec utilisation durable des ressources naturelles
Désignations supplémentairesAucune
Espèces vedettes ou pharesFuligule à collier, Pygargue à tête blanche, Harle couronné, bruants, Marouette de Caroline et rat musqué.
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune enregistrée
Type d'habitat principalTerres humides (75,5%), forêt (17,1%), terres agricoles abandonnées (2,4%), terres agricoles (5,0%).
Espèces envahissantesAucune enregistrée
Liens additionnelsOiseaux: Sarcelle d'hiver, Canard noir, Canard pilet, Sarcelle à ailes bleues, Canard souchet, Canard d'Amérique, Canard branchu, Canard colvert, Fuligule à tête rouge, Grèbe à bec bigarré, Butor d'Amérique, Foulque d'Amérique, Bécassine des Wilson, Petit blongios, Râle de Virginie, Troglodyte des marais, Balbuzard pêcheur et Sterne pierregarin.
Défis et pressionsAugmentation des activités d'aménagement du littoral et de l'utilisation des terres adjacentes.
Organisme de gestionEnvironnement et Changement climatique Canada (Service canadien de la faune) en partenariat avec le Ministère des terres et forêts de la Nouvelle-Écosse et Canards Illimités.
Accès public et utilisationChasse, piégeage, pêche, observation de la faune, randonnée pédestre et photographie, tels qu'affichés à l'entrée de la RNF.

Remarque : En cas d'incompatibilité entre les renseignements présentés sur cette page web et l'avis affiché sur le site de la RNF, l'avis prévaudra à titre d'instrument juridique autorisant l'activité.

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Atlantique
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
17, rue Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 4N1
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :