Access and Benefit-Sharing (ABS) in the World

Spice Market - Photo: © R. Khalil, Bioversity InternationalAccess to genetic resources and sharing of the benefits arising from their utilization (ABS) is the third objective of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) which was open to signature at the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development held in Rio de Janeiro in 1992. The CBD entered into force the following year and now has 193 Parties.

In 2002, the Conference of the Parties (COP) to the CBD adopted the Bonn Guidelines on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of the Benefits Arising from their Utilization which further clarifies concepts pertaining to ABS such as prior informed consent (PIC), mutually agreed terms (MAT) and Benefit-sharing.

At the 2002 World Summit on Sustainable Development (WSSD) held in Johannesburg, Heads of States called for action to "negotiate within the framework of the Convention on Biological Diversity, bearing in mind the Bonn Guidelines, an international regime to promote and safeguard the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising out of the utilization of genetic resources" and for action to promote "the wide implementation of and continued work by the Parties to the Convention on the Bonn Guidelines on Access to Genetic Resources and Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits arising out of their Utilization, as an input to assist the Parties when developing and drafting legislative, administrative or policy measures on access and benefit-sharing as well as contract and other arrangements under mutually agreed terms for access and benefit-sharing".

From 2004 to 2010, Parties to the CBD negotiated the international regime in the Ad-hoc Open-ended Working Group on Access and Benefit-sharing (ABSWG) of the CBD. At the Tenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity, held in Nagoya (Japan), in 2010, Parties adopted by consensus the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and Fair and Equitable Sharing of the Benefits Arising out from their Utilization which will, when in force, be a core element of the international regime on ABS.

This legally-binding instrument will require signatory Parties to implement domestic legislative, administrative or policy measures to manage access to genetic resources and aiming at ensuring the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from their utilization. The Protocol also contains provisions in order to share the benefits arising from the utilization of traditional knowledge associated with genetic resources with the indigenous and local communities holding such knowledge.

Internationally, some countries have already developed or are in the process of implementing national measures on ABS. Over 35 countries world wide including both developed and developing countries (among others : Australia, South Africa, The Philippines, The Andean Community) have regulation and/or policies in place. These domestic systems vary in nature and scope and reflect the unique environmental, social, and legal circumstances of countries when it comes to the management of genetic resources.

Other International ABS Models

The International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture

ABS is also a component of the Food and Agriculture Organization's (FAO) International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (ITPGRFA). Canada signed and ratified the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources in 2002. Through the Treaty, countries agree to establish a Multilateral System to facilitate access to plant genetic resources for food and agriculture, and to share the benefits in a fair and equitable way in harmony with the Convention on Biological Diversity.

Discussions in Other International Forums

Issues related to access and benefit-sharing are also discussed in a number of other international forums:

For example, Parties to the World Intellectual Property Organization, including Canada are currently negotiating an international legal instrument, or instruments, relating to intellectual property, genetic resources, traditional knowledge and folklore. The relationship between the Agreement on Trade Related-Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) and the CBD is also being discussed at the TRIPS Council of the World Trade Organization (WTO).

There are also related international discussions going on under the framework of the World Health Organization and in forums such as the Antarctic Treaty System and the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea.

Date modified:

Accès et partage des avantages (APA) dans le monde

Marché épices - Photo : © R. Khalil, Bioversity InternationalL'accès aux ressources génétiques et le partage des avantages (APA) découlant de leur utilisation est le troisième objectif de la Convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB) qui a été ouverte à la signature lors de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'environnement et le développement tenue à Rio de Janeiro en 1992. La CDB est entrée en vigueur dès l'année suivante et elle compte maintenant 191 Parties.

En 2002, la Conférence des Parties (CdP) à la CDB a adopté les Lignes directrices de Bonn sur l'accès aux ressources génétiques et le partage juste et équitable des avantages résultant de leur utilisation, qui clarifient plusieurs notions liées à l'APA, notamment le consentement préalable donné en connaissance de cause (CPCC), les conditions convenues d'un commun accord (CCMA) et le partage des avantages.

Lors du Sommet mondial sur le développement durable (SMDD), tenu à Johannesburg en 2002, les chefs d'état ont lancé un appel à l'action afin de « négocier, dans le cadre de la Convention sur la diversité biologique et en gardant à l'esprit les Lignes directrices de Bonn, un régime international pour promouvoir et garantir un partage juste et équitable des bienfaits découlant de l'utilisation des ressources génétiques.» Ils ont aussi lancé un appel pour promouvoir la « large mise en œuvre et la poursuite des travaux de la Convention relatifs aux Lignes directrices de Bonn sur l'accès aux ressources génétiques et le partage équitable des bienfaits découlant de leur utilisation, qui doivent aider les parties à la Convention lors de l'élaboration et de la formulation de mesures législatives, administratives ou de politiques concernant l'accès et le partage des bienfaits, ainsi que lors de contrats et d'autres arrangements conclus à des conditions établies d'un commun accord concernant l'accès et le partage des bienfaits. »

De 2004 à 2010, les Parties à la CDB ont négocié un régime international au sein du Groupe de travail spécial à composition non-limitée de la CDB. Lors de la dixième rencontre de la Conférence des Parties à la Convention sur la diversité biologique qui s'est tenue à Nagoya (Japon) en 2010, l'année internationale de la biodiversité de l'ONU, les Parties ont adoptées par consensus le Protocole de Nagoya sur l'Accès aux ressources génétiques et le partage juste et équitable des avantages découlant de leur utilisation qui, lorsqu'il sera en vigueur, constituera un élément central du régime international sur l'APA.

Cet instrument légalement contraignant exigera des Parties signataires qu'elles mettent en œuvre des mesures législatives, administratives ou de politique générale au niveau national afin d'administrer l'accès aux ressources génétiques et d'assurer un partage juste et équitable des bénéfices provenant de leur utilisation. Le Protocole contient aussi des dispositions visant à assurer le partage des bénéfices provenant de l'utilisation des connaissances traditionnelles associées aux ressources génétiques avec les communautés autochtones et locales qui détiennent de telles connaissances.

Au niveau international, certains pays ont déjà élaboré ou mettent actuellement en place des mesures nationales sur l'APA. Plus de 35 pays industrialisés ou en développement, notamment l'Australie, l'Afrique du Sud, les Philippines et la Communauté andine, ont déjà établi des règlements ou des politiques. Ces régimes internes sont de nature et de portée variées, ce qui reflète le contexte unique de chaque pays sur les plans environnemental, social et juridique au sujet de la gestion des ressources génétiques.

Autres modèles internationaux sur l'APA

Traité international sur les ressources phytogénétiques pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture

L'APA fait aussi partie intégrante du Traité international sur les ressources phytogénétiques pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture de l'Organisation des Nations unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO) que le Canada a signé et ratifié en 2002. Par ce traité, les pays s'entendent pour établir un système multilatéral visant à faciliter l'accès aux ressources phytogénétiques pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture et pour partager les avantages de façon juste et équitable, dans le respect de la Convention sur la diversité biologique.

Discussions dans d'autres forums internationaux

Les questions liées à l'APA sont aussi traitées dans plusieurs autres forums
internationaux :

Par exemple, les Parties à l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle, dont le Canada, négocient présentement un ou plusieurs instruments juridiques internationaux en lien avec la propriété intellectuelle, les ressources génétiques, les connaissances traditionnelles et le folklore. La relation entre l'Accord sur les Aspects des droits de propriété intellectuelle qui touchent au commerce (ADPIC) et la CDB est aussi discutée au sein du Conseil des ADPIC de l'Organisation mondiale du Commerce (OMC).

Des négociations internationales reliées à l'APA se déroulent également sous les auspices de l'Organisation mondiales de la Santé ainsi que dans certains forums tels que le Système du Traité sur l'Antarctique et la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer.

Date de modification :