This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Planning for a Sustainable Future:
A Federal Sustainable Development Strategy for Canada

Sustainable Development Office
Environment Canada

November 2013

Annex 2: List of departments

The following departments and agencies are required to table sustainable development strategies under the Federal Sustainable Development Act:

  1. Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  2. Canada Border Services Agency
  3. Canada Revenue Agency
  4. Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern DevelopmentFootnote1
  5. Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  6. Department of Canadian Heritage
  7. Department of Citizenship and Immigration
  8. Department of Employment and Social DevelopmentFootnote2
  9. Department of the Environment
  10. Department of Finance
  11. Department of Fisheries and Oceans
  12. Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and DevelopmentFootnote3
  13. Department of Health
  14. Department of Industry
  15. Department of Justice
  16. Department of National Defence
  17. Department of Natural Resources
  18. Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  19. Department of Public Works and Government Services
  20. Department of Transport
  21. Department of Veterans Affairs
  22. Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec
  23. Parks Canada Agency
  24. Public Health Agency of Canada
  25. Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
  26. Western Economic Diversification Canada

While not bound by the Federal Sustainable Development Act, the following organizations have contributed implementation strategies to the 2013–2016 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy:

  1. Canadian Food Inspection Agency
  2. Correctional Service of Canada
  3. National Energy Board
  4. National Research Council
  5. Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  6. Standards Council of Canada
  7. Statistics Canada


Footnote 1

The Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development was previously known as Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The Department of Employment and Social Development was previously known as Human Resources and Skills Development Canada.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

In 2013 the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade and the Canadian International Development Agency were amalgamated to form the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Date modified: