This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Improving health of national parks

Target 6.2: Terrestrial ecosystems and habitat – Park protected habitat: maintain or improved the overall ecological integrity in all national parks from March 2008 to 2013.

Of the 102 ecosystems that Parks Canada has assessed, 92% (94) are reported to be in good or fair condition. Trends are more difficult to assess, but of the 81 ecosystems with reported trends, 46 (57%) are stable or improving.

As steward of Canada's national parks, Parks Canada has a legal obligation to maintain or improve ecological integrity while providing benefit and enjoyment for present and future generations of Canadians. Parks Canada regularly monitors the state of ecological integrity and publishes the results for each national park every five years.

Each ecosystem is assessed for its ecological condition (good, fair or poor) and the trend in that condition (improving, stable or declining). Collectively, these assessments provide a basis for understanding the overall ecological integrity of a national park.

In 2011–2012, the Action on the Ground initiative entered its third year, addressing key ecological integrity issues in targeted national parks. Examples of actions are: enhancements to improve the ability of wildlife to move between watersheds in Gros Morne, Terra Nova and Kejimkujik National Parks; control of invasive species in Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site and Gros Morne National Park; restoration of habitat for species at risk in Point Pelee National Park and Pacific Rim National Park Reserve; and, improvement to water quality in aquatic ecosystems in Riding Mountain National Park.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following websites: Environment Canada, Natural Resources Canada and Parks Canada.

Progress towards Target 6.2: Percentage of national parks with maintained or improved overall ecological integrity

The government is working to monitor the ecological integrity in 42 of Canada's national parks. As of 2011, 35 parks had reported on the ecological integrity of at least some of their ecosystems. Of the 102 ecosystems that Parks Canada has assessed, 92% (94) are reported to be in good or fair condition. Trends are more difficult to assess, but of the 81 ecosystems with reported trends, 46 (57%) are stable or improving, as shown in Figure 4.8.

Figure 4.8: Ecological integrity status and trends of national parks, Canada, 2011

Ecological integrity status and trends of national parks, Canada, 2011

Long Description

The stacked bar chart shows whether ecological integrity of ecosystems in Canada's national parks is "good", "fair" or "poor" as of 2011. Each stacked bar status provides the number of ecosystems where the trend in ecological integrity is classified as "undetermined", "declining", "stable" or "improving". The majority of the 102 ecosystems assessed (94 ecosystems) from 35 of Canada's national parks are reported to be in good or fair condition. Eighty-one of the 102 ecosystems reported trends, 46 of which are stable or improving.

Figure 4.9 shows ecological integrity status and trends by province or territory, national park and ecosystem. For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 4.9: Ecological integrity status and trends of 42 national parks, Canada, 2011

 Ecological integrity status and trends of 42 national parks, Canada, 2011

Long Description

The table shows whether ecological integrity of ecosystems in Canada's 41 national parks is "good" (green), "fair" (yellow), "poor" (red), "not rated" (grey) or "not applicable" (no fill) as of 2011 for each park by province or territory. The ecosystems include: forests, lakes, streams/rivers, wetlands, tundra/barrens, coastal, glaciers, grasslands, marine/subtidal and other (includes badlands, Peace Athabasca Delta, intertidal zones, islets, native biodiversity, non-forest and shrublands). Trends, when available, are also provided indicating whether the ecological integrity of the ecosystem is "improving", stable/no change" or "declining". The majority of the 102 ecosystems assessed (94 ecosystems) from 35 of Canada's national parks are reported to be in good or fair condition. Eighty-one of the 102 ecosystems reported trends, 46 of which are stable or improving.

 


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Améliorer la santé des parcs nationaux

Cible 6.2 : Écosystèmes et habitats terrestres – Habitats protégés dans un parc : maintenir ou améliorer l'intégrité écologique globale dans tous les parcs nationaux entre mars 2008 et 2013.

Sur les 102 écosystèmes dans 35 parcs évalués par Parcs Canada, 92 % (94) sont signalés comme étant en bon état ou dans un état passable. Les tendances sont plus difficiles à évaluer, mais sur les 81 écosystèmes pour lesquels les tendances ont été indiquées, 46 (57 %) ont des conditions stables ou en amélioration.


En tant qu'intendant des parcs nationaux du Canada, Parcs Canada a l'obligation juridique de maintenir ou d'améliorer l'intégrité écologique tout en offrant aux générations actuelles et futures de Canadiens des avantages et du plaisir. Parcs Canada surveille régulièrement l'état de l'intégrité écologique et publie les résultats tous les cinq ans pour chaque parc national.

Les conditions écologiques (bon, passable ou médiocre) et la tendance de cette condition (amélioration, stable ou en déclin) de chaque écosystème sont évaluées. Collectivement, ces évaluations servent de base pour comprendre l'intégrité écologique globale d'un parc national.

En 2011-2012, l'initiative Agir sur le terrain traitait pour la troisième année les principales questions sur l'intégrité écologique dans les parcs nationaux ciblés. Voici des exemples de mesures prises : amélioration de la capacité des espèces sauvages à se déplacer entre les bassins versants des parcs nationaux du Gros-Morne, de Terre-Neuve et de Kejimkujik; contrôle des espèces envahissantes dans la réserve du parc national Gwaii Haanas, le site du patrimoine haïda et le parc national du Gros-Morne; restauration de l'habitat pour les espèces en péril dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée et dans la réserve du parc national Pacific Rim; amélioration de la qualité de l'eau dans les écosystèmes aquatiques du parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la mise en œuvre des stratégies à l'appui de cette cible, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants : Environnement Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada et Parcs Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 6.2 : Pourcentage de parcs nationaux avec une intégrité écologique générale mise à jour ou améliorée

Le gouvernement travaille à la surveillance de l'intégrité écologique dans 42 des parcs nationaux du Canada. En 2011, 35 parcs présentaient un rapport sur l'intégrité écologique d'au moins une partie de leurs écosystèmes. Sur les 102 écosystèmes que Parcs Canada a évalués, 92 % (94) sont signalés comme étant en bon état ou dans un état passable. Les tendances sont plus difficiles à évaluer, mais sur les 81 écosystèmes pour lesquels les tendances ont été indiquées, 46 (57 %) ont des conditions stables ou en amélioration, comme le montre la figure 4.8.

Figure 4.8: Statut et tendance de l’intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux, 2011

Statut et tendance de l’intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux, 2011

Description longue

Le diagramme à barres empilées présente si l'intégrité écologique des écosystèmes des parcs nationaux du Canada est « bonne », « passable » ou « mauvais » en 2011. Chaque barre empilée indique le nombre d'écosystèmes où la tendance en matière d'intégrité écologique est classée comme « indéterminée », « en déclin », « stable » ou « en amélioration ». Pour la majorité des 102 écosystèmes évalués (94 écosystèmes) de 35 des parcs nationaux du Canada, il a été déclaré que l'intégrité écologique était bonne ou passable. Sur les 81 des 102 écosystèmes pour lesquels des tendances ont été indiquées, 46 ont des conditions stables ou en amélioration.

La figure 4.9 illustre l'état et les tendances de l'intégrité écologique par province ou territoire, par parc national du Canada et par écosystème. Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur ces indicateurs, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 4.9 : Statut et tendance de l'intégrité écologique de 42 des parcs nationaux, Canada, 2011

Statut et tendance de l'intégrité écologique de 42 des parcs nationaux, Canada, 2011

Description longue

Le tableau présente si l'intégrité écologique des écosystèmes des 41 parcs nationaux canadiens est « bonne » (vert), « passable » (jaune), « mauvais » (rouge), qu'elle est « non cotée » (gris) ou qu'elle est « non applicable » (pas de couleur de remplissage), en 2011, pour chaque parc, par province ou territoire. Les écosystèmes comprennent : les forêts, les lacs, les ruisseaux et les rivières, les milieux humides, la toundra ou les landes, les zones côtières, les glaciers, les prairies, les zones marines et infratidales et d'autres zones (y compris les bad-lands, le delta des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca, les zones intertidales, les îlets, la biodiversité indigène, les terres non boisées et les zones arbustives). Lorsqu'elles sont disponibles, les tendances sont également présentées. Elles indiquent si l'intégrité écologique de l'écosystème est « en amélioration », « stable » (aucun changement) ou « en déclin ». Pour la majorité des 102 écosystèmes évalués (94 écosystèmes) de 35 des parcs nationaux du Canada, il a été déclaré que l'intégrité écologique était bonne ou passable. Sur les 81 des 102 écosystèmes pour lesquels des tendances ont été indiquées, 46 ont des conditions stables ou en amélioration.


Date de modification :