This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Conserving lands and waters

Goal 6: Ecosystem/habitat conservation and protection – Maintain productive and resilient ecosystems with the capacity to recover and adapt; and protect areas in ways that leave them unimpaired for present and future generations.

Progress towards Goal 6: Total protected area as proportion of national territory – includes land and marine area

Since 1990, the overall protected area in Canada has nearly doubled, with close to 10% of land now under protection. This is an area close to the size of Ontario.

 

The Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 report listed 20 key findings, on the health of Canada's ecosystems. Of these findings, some 22% were rated as "impaired," 50% were "of concern," 18% were "healthy," and 10% were undetermined.

Since 1990, the overall protected area in Canada has nearly doubled, with close to 10% of land now under protection. This is an area close to the size of Ontario. As of 2011, 9.9% (991 482 km2 ) of Canada's land area and about 0.70% (49 333 km2) of its marine territory, including the extended continental shelf, have been protected. Marine protected areas have doubled between 2002 and 2011.

Based on internationally recognized definitions, protected areas are classified according to their management objective. As of 2011, 94% of protected lands in Canada were classified as "strictly protected." In the remaining 6%, limited use such as logging, fishing or very limited non-renewable resource extraction is permitted even though nature conservation remains the major goal.

Achievements over the last few years include the expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve within the Dehcho region in 2009, increasing its size six-fold, and the establishment of Sable Island as a national park reserve in 2011. More recently, the government announced the establishment of Nááts'ihch'oh National Park Reserve in Northwest Territories, protecting 70% of the upper South Nahanni watershed.

Among the new protected areas under discussion is a national urban park in the Rouge Valley in Ontario. Progress is also being made towards establishing national parks in four unrepresented terrestrial natural regions, namely: East Coast Boreal (Mealy Mountains), Western High Arctic (Bathurst Island), Northwestern Boreal Uplands (Thaidene Nene in the East Arm of Great Slave Lake) and Manitoba Lowlands (Manitoba Lowlands).

Figure 4.3 demonstrates the increasing proportion of area protected in Canada between 1990 and 2011.

Figure 4.3: Trends in proportion of area protected in Canada, 1990–2011

Trends in proportion of area protected in Canada, 1990-2011

Long Description

The upper line of the graph shows the percent of terrestrial and freshwater area protected in Canada between 1990 and 2011. The lower line of the graph shows the percentage of marine area protected between 1990 and 2011. As of 2011, 9.9% (991 482 square kilometres) of Canada's land area and about 0.70% (49 333 square kilometres) of its marine territory have been protected. In the last 20 years, the total area protected has increased by 95%, and in the last 5 years it has increased by 19%.

Compared with 10 industrialized countries using international data, Canada ranked fourth in total land area protected, behind the United States, Russia and Australia. In the establishment of marine Protected Areas, Canada was ranked 70 out of 228 countries.

Figure 4.4 indicates the protected areas in Canada, by type.

For the most up-to-date information on these indicators, please visit CESI.

Figure 4.4: Protected areas in Canada, 2011

Protected areas in Canada, 2011

Long Description

The map of Canada shows the locations of Canada's protected areas. Terrestrial protected areas are well distributed across Canada. Northern regions have generally fewer but larger protected areas. Marine protected areas are found in the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic Oceans.

Progress towards Goal 6: Status of key findings related to the health of Canada’s ecosystems

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 reported the first ecosystem-level assessment of Canada's biodiversity and presented its results through key findings representing the most comprehensive compilation to date of the results of Canada's ecosystem-level biodiversity research and monitoring. Some findings reveal that much of Canada's natural endowment remains healthy, including large tracks of undisturbed wilderness, internationally significant wetlands and thriving estuaries, particularly in sparsely populated or less accessible areas. However, these key findings should not be interpreted as a direct and complete indicator of overall ecosystem health in Canada.

The Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010 report listed 20 key findings on the health of Canada's ecosystems. As shown in Figure 4.5, some 22% were rated as "impaired," 50% were "of concern," 18% were "healthy," and 10% were "undetermined."

Of the 20 key findings, 25% showed improvement or little change, with 58% getting worse, and 17% unknown.

For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 4.5: Status of key findings related to the health of Canada's ecosystems

Status of key findings related to the health of Canada's ecosystems

Long Description

The pie chart shows the status of key findings related to the health of Canada's ecosystems from the report entitled Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010. Of the report's 20 key findings covered by the Status of Canada's Ecosystems indicator, the pie shows that 22% were rated as impaired, 50% were rated as of concern, 18% were rated as healthy, and 10% were rated as undetermined.

 

Of the 20 key findings, 25% showed improvement or little change, with 58% getting worse, and 17% unknown.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Conserver les terres et les eaux

Objectif 6 : Conservation et protection des écosystèmes/des habitats – Conserver des écosystèmes productifs et résilients ayant la capacité de se rétablir et de s’adapter; et protéger les zones de façon à ce qu’elles ne soient pas altérées pour les générations actuelles et futures.

Progrès réalisés en vue d’atteindre l’objectif 6 : Aire protégée totale en pourcentage du territoire national – comprend les zones terrestres et marines

Depuis 1990, l'ensemble des aires protégées du Canada a pratiquement doublé; près de 10 % du territoire est maintenant sous protection. La superficie de cette aire est proche de la taille de l'Ontario.

Le rapport intitulé Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 présente 20 constatations clés relatives à la santé des écosystèmes du Canada. Parmi ces 20 constatations, 22 % ont été classées « altérées », 50 % sont ont été classées « préoccupantes », 18 % ont été classées « saines » tandis que l'état de 10 % n'a pas pu être déterminé.

Depuis 1990, l'ensemble des aires protégées du Canada a pratiquement doublé; près de 10 % du territoire est maintenant sous protection. À compter de 2011, 9,9 % (soit 991 482 Km2 ) du territoire du Canada et environ 0,70 % (49 333 Km2 ) de son territoire marin, y compris la prolongation de la plate-forme continentale, ont été protégés. Selon les définitions reconnues à l'échelle internationale, les aires protégées sont classées en fonction de leurs objectifs de gestion. Depuis 2011, 94 % des terres protégées au Canada sont classées comme étant « rigoureusement protégées ». Dans les 6 % restants, l'utilisation restreinte, telle que l'exploitation forestière, la pêche ou l'extraction de ressources non renouvelables très limitées, est autorisée, même si la conservation de la nature demeure le principal objectif.

Parmi les réalisations accomplies au cours des quelques dernières années, on peut citer l'agrandissement de la réserve du parc national Nahanni dans la région du Dehcho en 2009, augmentant six fois sa taille, et la création de l'île de Sable comme réserve du parc national en 2011. Plus récemment, le gouvernement a annoncé la création de la réserve du parc national Nááts'ihch'oh dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, protégeant 70 % de la partie supérieure du bassin versant de la rivière Nahanni Sud.

Parmi les nouvelles aires protégées faisant l'objet de discussions se trouve un parc urbain national dans la vallée de la Rouge, en Ontario. Des progrès sont également réalisés en ce qui concerne la création de parcs nationaux dans quatre régions terrestres naturelles non représentées, à savoir : la région boréale de la côte est (monts Mealy), l'ouest de l'Extrême-Arctique (île Bathurst), les bas-plateaux boréaux du Nord-Ouest (Thaidene Nene dans le bras Est du Grand lac des Esclaves) et les basses terres du Manitoba (Basses-Terres du Manitoba).

La figure 4.3 démontre l'augmentation de la proportion de l'aire protégée au Canada de 1990 à 2011.

Figure 4.3 : Tendances dans la proportion de superficie protégée au Canada, 1990-2011

Tendances dans la proportion de superficie protégée au Canada, 1990-2011

Description longue

La ligne supérieure dans le graphique indique le pourcentage de territoire terrestre ou d'eau douce protégé au Canada entre 1990 et 2011. La ligne inférieure du graphique indique le pourcentage d'aire marine protégée entre 1990 et 2011. Depuis 2011, 9,9 % (991 482 kilomètres carrés) du territoire terrestre du Canada et environ 0,70 % (49 333 kilomètres carrés) de son territoire marin ont été protégés. Au cours des 20 dernières années, la superficie totale protégée a augmenté de 95 %, et au cours des cinq dernières années, elle a connu une hausse de 19 %.

Comparativement à dix pays industrialisés utilisant des données internationales, le Canada se classait au quatrième rang au niveau de l’ensemble du territoire protégé, derrière les États-Unis, l’Australie et la Russie. Dans la création d’aires marines protégées, le Canada a été classé 70e sur 228 pays.

La figure 4.4 indique les aires protégées au Canada, par type.

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur ces indicateurs, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 4.4 : Aires protégées au Canada, 2011

Aires protégées au Canada, 2011

Description longue

La carte du Canada indique l'emplacement des aires protégées du Canada. Les aires protégées terrestres sont bien réparties à travers le Canada. Les régions nordiques ont généralement moins d'aires protégées, mais celles-ci sont plus grandes. On retrouve des aires protégées marines dans les océans Atlantique, Pacifique et Arctique.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre l'objectif 6 : État des résultats clés liés à la santé des écosystèmes du Canada

Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 a signalé la première évaluation de la biodiversité du Canada au niveau de l'écosystème et a présenté ses résultats par l'entremise de constatations clés représentant la compilation la plus complète à ce jour des résultats de la recherche et de la surveillance de la biodiversité au niveau de l'écosystème au Canada. Certains résultats révèlent qu'une grande partie des richesses naturelles du Canada demeure saine, y compris de grandes voies de nature sauvage intacte, des terres humides importantes à l'échelle internationale et des estuaires en plein développement, notamment dans les zones peu peuplées ou moins accessibles. Toutefois, ces constatations clés ne doivent pas être interprétées comme un indicateur direct et exhaustif de l'état de santé global des écosystèmes au Canada.

Le rapport intitulé Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 présente 20 constatations clés relatives à la santé des écosystèmes du Canada. Comme le montre la figure 4.5, environ 22 % ont été considérés comme « altérés », 50 % comme « préoccupants », 18 % comme « sains » et 10 % comme « indéterminés ».

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 4.5 : État des constatations clés relatives à la santé des écosystèmes du Canada

État des constatations clés relatives à la santé des écosystèmes du Canada

Description longue

Ce diagramme à secteurs montre l'état des constatations clés relatives à la santé des écosystèmes du Canada tirées du rapport intitulé Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010. Parmi les 20 constatations clés couvertes par l'indicateur de l'état des écosystèmes du Canada, 22 % ont été classées comme étant altérées, 50 % sont considérées comme étant préoccupantes, 18 % ont été classées saines tandis que l'état de 10 % n'a pu être déterminé.

Parmi les 20 résultats clés, 25 % ont montré une amélioration ou peu de changement, 58 % ont empiré et 17 % sont restés inconnus.

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez svp visiter le site des ICDE.


Date de modification :