This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

3. Roles and responsibilities

The Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) provides a whole-of-government view of activities that contribute to environmental sustainability. Each participating department and agency has a role to play in supporting the implementation of the FSDS and reporting on progress. This makes managing the FSDS highly complex. The following section provides an overview of the roles and responsibilities of the various departments and agencies bound by the Federal Sustainable Development Act (the Act, FSDA), central agencies, FSDS committees and stakeholders, as well as those departments and agencies that are participating voluntarily in meeting the requirements of the FSDS.   

3.1 Environment Canada

3.1.1 Minister

The Minister of the Environment has specific responsibilities under the Act. The Act requires the Minister to:

  • establish a Sustainable Development Office (SDO) within Environment Canada (EC) [(FSDA, 7(1)];
  • establish a Sustainable Development Advisory Council (SDAC) [(FSDA, 8(1)];
  • develop a Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) every three years [FSDA, 9(1)];
  • consult with the SDAC, the appropriate Parliamentary committees and the public on the draft strategy [FSDA, 9(3)];
  • submit the draft FSDS to the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development (CESD) for review and comment [FSDA, 9(4)];
  • seek the Governor in Council’s approval of the official FSDS [FSDA, 10(1)]; and
  • table the FSDS [FSDA, 10(2)], and the Progress Report on the federal government’s progress in implementing the FSDS, in both Houses of Parliament [FSDA, 7(2)]. 

As with all other ministers of departments and agencies subject to the FSDS, the Minister of the Environment is also responsible for developing a departmental sustainable development strategy [FSDA, 11(1)]. 

3.1.2 Sustainable Development Office

The Sustainable Development Office (SDO) is responsible for developing and maintaining systems and procedures to monitor progress on implementing the FSDS [FSDA, 7(1)]. Specifically, it must, at least once every three years, provide the Minister with a Progress Report on implementation of the FSDS [FSDA, 7(2)].    

In addition, the SDO:

  • provides overall leadership and coordination on matters related to the FSDS;
  • supports the Minister in developing an FSDS once every three years and in meeting other requirements of the Act;
  • implements and maintains the FSDS Management Framework, including tracking and reporting on risks and performance measures;
  • develops and coordinates reporting on the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators;
  • acts as a key interlocutor on behalf of EC with the CESD, Parliamentarians, other government departments (OGDs), key stakeholders and citizens;
  • reaches out across government, international agencies and to stakeholders to build awareness of the FSDS and its contribution to progress on sustainable development;
  • contributes to the development of guidance and direction to departments/agencies on meeting the requirements of the FSDA; and, 
  • is responsible for reviewing and/or responding to the comments received from, and/or audits conducted by, the CESD with respect to implementation of the FSDA

The SDO is housed in the Strategic Policy Branch of EC under the responsibility of the Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) of the Branch and the Director General (DG) of the Sustainability Directorate. 

3.2 Public Works and Government Services Canada

In the context of the FSDS, the Office of Greening Government Operations at Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) works with other government departments and agencies to improve the environmental performance of the federal government's operations, including: 

  • lead the development of greening government operations content for each FSDS and associated Progress Report, including reviewing comments related to greening government operations received during the legislated FSDS public consultation process;
  • consult and build consensus with departments and agencies on the development of greening government operations targets, implementation strategies and performance measures;
  • provide greening government operations-related guidance to departments and agencies to support target establishment, implementation and reporting;
  • monitor and compile results on progress for the greening government operations goals, targets for inclusion in the FSDS Progress Reports; and
  • co-chair the Interdepartmental FSDS DG and ADM Committees with EC’s SDO

As with all other ministers of departments and agencies subject to the FSDS, the Minister of PWGSC is responsible for developing a departmental sustainable development strategy [FSDA, 11(1)]. 

3.3 Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) is responsible for the Government of Canada’s annual reporting processes, and provides advice on the integration of FSDS-related reporting in support of the Reports on Plans and Priorities (RPPs) and Departmental Performance Reports (DPRs). TBS releases guidance, developed in collaboration with EC’s SDO and PWGSC’s Office of Greening Government Operations, to departments and agencies so they may meet their requirements for planning and reporting on sustainable development activities through the RPP and DPR reporting processes.

As with all other ministers of departments and agencies subject to the FSDS, the Minister of TBS is responsible for developing a departmental sustainable development strategy [FSDA, 11(1)] for the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (the department).

3.4 Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency

The Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency (CEAA) supports the Minister of the Environment by promoting the application of strategic environmental assessment (SEA) to federal government policy, planning and program proposals by providing departments and agencies with SEA guidance and training. The Guidelines for Implementing the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (the Guidelines) were updated with the tabling of the first FSDS in Parliament in 2010. In addition to considering potential positive or negative environmental impacts, the Guidelines instruct departments to consider a proposal’s impact on the achievement of the FSDS goals and targets when undertaking an SEA. In order to make environmental decision-making more accountable and transparent to Parliament, which is one of the purposes of the FSDA, public statements of SEAs should include a description of a proposal’s important environmental effects and potential impacts on the goals and targets of the FSDS

3.5 Government departments or agencies

As Section 11(1) of the FSDA mandates, departments and agencies listed in Schedule I of the Financial Administration Act, and any others listed in the Schedule of the FSDA must “prepare a sustainable development strategy containing objectives and plans for the department or agency that complies with and contributes to the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy, appropriate to the department or agency’s mandate”.

Those departments and agencies required to produce DSDSs are listed in Appendix 1. Departments meet this requirement by integrating their sustainable development activities and reporting into their core departmental annual planning and performance processes.

For example, this includes integrating FSDS commitments into RPPs and DPRs with additional details on their respective contributions to sustainable development on departmental and agency websites. 

In addition, departments and agencies covered by the Act:

  • participate in the FSDS DG/ADM Committees and working groups;
  • provide the necessary approvals/consensus on FSDS work products;
  • implement guidance developed by EC, TBS, PWGSC, Privy Council Office and/or CEAA in support of the FSDS;
  • select and/or use indicators that will monitor, measure and report on progress of the goals and targets to which they contribute or lead;
  • track progress toward completion of their respective implementation strategies [FSDA, 9(2)];
  • provide access to advance FSDS information in support of RPPs and DPRs so that this material may be reflected in FSDS progress reports;
  • identify departmental activities that could support future iterations of the FSDS;
  • respond to requests for information in support of the FSDS Performance Measurement Framework; and
  • assist organizations within ministerial portfolios that are not subject to the Act in identifying and reporting on FSDS-related activities.   

3.6 Voluntary departments or agencies

In support of the purpose of the FSDS, which is to improve transparency and accountability, departments and agencies that do not fall under the FSDA are encouraged to contribute to the FSDS.

The FSDA strives to improve the transparency and accountability of environmental decision-making by providing a whole-of-government picture of actions and results to achieve environmental sustainability. Federal departments or agencies that are not listed under the FSDA are encouraged to participate in order to ensure that all relevant federal actions on environmental sustainability are reflected in the FSDS and subsequent progress reports.

Organizations not subject to the FSDA can contribute targets, indicators, and/or implementation strategies to the FSDS. In support of transparency and consistency with departmental reporting, such organizations commit to the full three-year cycle of the FSDS and to reporting information and results annually through existing organizational reporting processes. This will ensure the robustness and completeness of data when aggregated results are reported.

3.7 Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development

The Commissioner of The Environment and Sustainable Development (CESD) provides Parliamentarians with objective, independent analysis and recommendations on the federal government’s efforts to protect the environment and foster sustainable development.  As required under the FSDA [section 9(4)], the CESD is legally mandated to review the draft FSDS and comment as to whether the targets and implementation strategies can be assessed. The CESD is also legally required, under the Auditor General Act [section 23(3)], to review and comment on all FSDS progress reports, focusing particularly on the fairness of performance information. The CESD conducts audits of DSDSs, looking at various aspects of the DSDS. Recent departmental audits have focused on the implementation of the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals and its related guidelines.

3.8 Governance--FSDS committees and working groups

3.8.1 Interdepartmental Assistant Deputy Minister Committee

The Interdepartmental ADM Committee, co-chaired by the ADM of the Strategic Policy Branch at EC, and by the ADM of Policy, Planning and Communications Branch at PWGSC, provides strategic direction, advances thinking, and makes decisions on key issues associated with implementing the FSDAADMs provide advice to ministers on key issues including, for example, the Management Framework, goals and targets, and the content and structure of the FSDS and Progress Reports.   

The committee is composed of an ADM from each of the departments/agencies bound by the FSDA as well as those participating on a voluntary basis. Representatives are expected to brief their respective ministers on a variety of decisions including final decisions related to the FSDS or Progress Reports. The committee is supported by the SDO

3.8.2 Interdepartmental Director General Committee

The Interdepartmental DG Committee, co-chaired by the DG of the Sustainability Directorate at EC and the DG of the Office of Greening Government Operations at PWGSC, provides operational direction and guidance. It also discusses key issues including, for example, the implementation of the FSDA and development of goals, targets and implementation strategies for the FSDS. The DG Committee is a venue for the SDO and Office of Greening Government Operations to share information related to the FSDS and/or the Progress Reports, including such items as audits by the CESD, communication plans and environmental indicators. The committee plays additional roles as necessary. The committee is composed of a DG from each of the departments/agencies bound by the FSDA as well as those departments and agencies participating on a voluntary basis. Representatives are expected to brief their ADMs in preparation for FSDS ADM Committee meetings. The committee logistics are managed by the SDO.

3.8.3 Greening Government Operations Community of Practice

Led by the Office of Greening Government Operations, the Greening Government Operations Community of Practice is a forum for federal sustainability managers and operational staff to share best practices and information on the planning, implementation and reporting of sustainable practices in line with the targets and implementation strategies identified in Theme IV of the FSDS. The Office of Greening Government Operations will work through an advisory panel consisting of volunteers from at least five departments and agencies to identify and prioritize topics that the Community of Practice could address.  Participation in the advisory panel would rotate yearly.

3.8.4 Other working groups

As required, other working groups may be established and led by SDO or the Office of Greening Government Operations to carry out certain tasks and facilitate inter-departmental engagement. These may be established at any level, for example, at the director or working level. 

3.8.5 Key operating principles for committees

  1. Decision-making: Committees operate, to the extent possible, on a consensus basis. The decision-making process is practical, transparent, inclusive, and in the interest of meeting the requirements of the FSDA while balancing the needs of departments/agencies.  As appropriate, information is presented to relevant DM Committees (e.g., Public Service Management Advisory Committee [PSMAC]) for issues management. In the event that consensus cannot be reached, EC will make decisions that uphold the requirements of the FSDA as the highest priority. 
  2. Frequency of meetings: The DG Committee meets at least quarterly and more frequently when required prior to the tabling of each FSDS and Progress Report. ADM Committee meetings will be on an ad-hoc basis at the recommendation of the DG Committee.   

3.9 Parliamentarians

The FSDA requires that the FSDS be tabled in both the House of Commons and the Senate. The FSDA also requires that a committee from the House and/or the Senate review the development and implementation of the FSDS. The House Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development (ENVI) and the Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources are the principal venues for review of the FSDS by Parliamentarians. In compliance with the FSDA, both committees receive the draft FSDS at the start of the legislated 120-day public consultation period.   

3.10 Sustainable Development Advisory Council

In compliance with the FSDA, the SDAC is created and chaired by the Minister of the Environment. The SDAC is responsible for providing advice to the Minister of the Environment on drafts of the FSDS. Members are appointed by, and report directly to, the Minister of the Environment as prescribed under the FSDA [section 8(1)]

3.11 Stakeholders and Canadians

Stakeholders, which include Parliamentarians, SDAC, the CESD, non-governmental organizations, academia, associations and Canadians, play a major role in developing the FSDS by providing input and feedback on the draft FSDS. As mandated by the FSDA, the SDO must consult with stakeholders and Canadians for feedback and input into the FSDS for a period of 120 days. Comments received from stakeholders and Canadians are summarized in a Consultation Synthesis Report produced and posted to the Web by the SDO, and inform the final FSDS and subsequent Progress Reports.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

3. Rôles et responsabilités

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) fournit un portrait pangouvernemental des activités qui contribuent à la durabilité de l’environnement. Chaque ministère et organisme participant a un rôle à jouer dans le soutien de la mise en œuvre de la SFDD et l’établissement de rapports d’étape. Cela rend la gestion de la SFDD un processus très complexe. La section suivante présente un aperçu des rôles et responsabilités des divers ministères et organismes assujettis à la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable (ci-après la Loi ou la LFDD), des organismes centraux, des comités et des intervenants de la SFDD, ainsi que des ministères et organismes qui participent volontairement à l’observation des exigences de la SFDD.

3.1 Environnement Canada

3.1.1 Ministre

Le ministre de l’Environnement doit assumer des responsabilités particulières en vertu de la Loi, dont les suivantes :

  • constituer, au sein d’Environnement Canada (EC), un bureau du développement durable [LFDD, 7(1)];
  • constituer un Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable (CCDD) [LFDD, 8(1)];
  • élaborer une stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) au moins une fois tous les trois ans [LFDD, 9(1)];
  • consulter le CCDD, les comités parlementaires compétents et les membres du public au sujet de la version préliminaire de la stratégie [LFDD, 9(3)];
  • transmettre la version préliminaire de la SFDD au Commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable (CEDD) pour qu’il en fasse l’examen et présente ses observations [LFDD, 9(4)];
  • demander au gouverneur en conseil d’approuver la SFDD officielle [LFDD, 10(1)];
  • déposer la SFDD [LFDD, 10(2)] et remettre le rapport sur le progrès réalisé par le gouvernement fédéral dans la mise en œuvre de la SFDD, devant chaque chambre du Parlement [LFDD, 7(2)].

Comme tous les autres ministres responsables de ministères ou d’organismes assujettis à la SFDD, le ministre de l’Environnement est également responsable d’élaborer une stratégie ministérielle de développement durable [LFDD, 11(1)].

3.1.2 Bureau du développement durable

Le Bureau du développement durable (BDD) est chargé d’élaborer et de maintenir des systèmes et des procédés permettant de contrôler la progression de la mise en œuvre de la SFDD [LFDD, 7(1)]. Plus particulièrement, il doit, au moins une fois tous les trois ans, remettre au ministre un rapport sur le progrès réalisé dans la mise en œuvre de la SFDD [LFDD, 7(2)].

En outre, le BDD :

  • fournit un leadership et assurer la coordination des activités dans les dossiers liés à la SFDD;
  • aide le ministre à élaborer une SFDD au moins une fois tous les trois ans et à répondre aux autres exigences de la Loi;
  • met en œuvre et tient à jour le cadre de gestion de la SFDD, notamment le suivi et l’établissement de rapports sur les risques et les mesures de rendement;
  • élabore des Indicateurs canadiens de la durabilité de l’environnement (ICDE) et coordonne l’établissement de rapports sur ceux-ci;
  • agit comme principal interlocuteur au nom d’EC auprès du CEDD, des parlementaires, des autres ministères (AM), des intervenants clés et des citoyens;
  • sensibilise l’ensemble du gouvernement, des organismes internationaux et des intervenants à la SFDD et à sa contribution aux progrès sur le développement durable;
  • fournit des conseils et une orientation aux ministères et aux organismes sur l’observation des exigences de la LFDD;
  • est  responsable d’examiner les commentaires reçus du CEDD ou de répondre à ceux-ci ou d’examiner les vérifications menées par le CEDD en ce qui concerne la mise en œuvre de la LFDD.

Le BDD se trouve au sein de la Direction générale de la politique stratégique d’EC. Il relève de la responsabilité du sous-ministre adjoint (SMA) de la Direction générale et du directeur général (DG) de la Direction de la politique en matière de durabilité.

3.2 Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

Dans le contexte de la SFDD, le Bureau de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) collabore avec d’autres ministères et organismes afin d’améliorer le rendement environnemental des opérations du gouvernement fédéral, notamment ce qui suit : 

  • diriger l’élaboration du contenu de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales pour chaque SFDD et chaque rapport d’étape connexe et examiner les commentaires liés à l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales reçus dans le cadre du processus de consultation publique sur la SFDD prévue par la Loi;
  • consulter les ministères et les organismes sur l’établissement de cibles, les stratégies de mise en œuvre et les mesures de rendement relatives à l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales et parvenir à un consensus;
  • fournir une orientation sur l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales aux ministères et aux organismes afin d’appuyer l’établissement et la mise en œuvre des cibles, ainsi que l’établissement de rapports sur celles-ci;
  • contrôler et compiler les résultats sur les progrès réalisés vers l’atteinte des objectifs et des cibles en matière d’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales afin de les inclure dans les rapports d’étape sur la SFDD;
  • coprésider le comité interministériel des DG et des SMA de la SFDD avec le BDD d’EC.

Comme tous les autres ministres et organismes assujettis à la SFDD, le ministre de TPSGC est responsable d’élaborer une stratégie ministérielle de développement durable [LFDD,11(1)].

3.3 Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) est responsable des processus d’établissement de rapports annuels du gouvernement du Canada et fournit des conseils sur l’intégration de rapports liés à la SFDD en vue d’appuyer les Rapports sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) et les Rapports ministériels sur le rendement (RMR). Le SCT émet des lignes directrices, rédigées en collaboration avec le Bureau du Développement Durable d’Environnement Canada et le Bureau de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, pour aider les ministères et les organismes à respecter leurs exigences en matière de planification d’activités de développement durable et d’établissement de rapports sur celles-ci par l’entremise des processus d’établissement de RPP et de RMR existants.

Comme tous les autres ministres responsables de ministères ou d’organismes assujettis à la SFDD, le ministre du Secrétariat du Trésor est responsable d’élaborer une stratégie ministérielle de développement durable [LFDD, 11(1)] pour le Conseil du Trésor du Canada, le Secrétariat (le département).

3.4 Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale

L'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale (ACEE) soutient le ministre de l’Environnement en favorisant l’application d’évaluations environnementales stratégiques (EES) aux projets de politique, de plan et de programme du gouvernement fédéral et en fournissant une orientation et une formation sur les EES aux ministères et aux organismes. Les Lignes directrices sur la mise en œuvre de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (les Lignes directrices) ont été mises à jour à la suite du dépôt de la première SFDD devant le Parlement en 2010. En plus de considérer les répercussions positives et négatives éventuelles sur l’environnement, les Lignes directrices indiquent aux ministères qu’ils doivent tenir compte des objectifs et des cibles de la SFDD dans leur EES. Afin de rendre le processus décisionnel en matière d’environnement plus transparent et faire en sorte qu’on soit tenu d’en rendre compte devant le Parlement, ce qui représente l’un des objectifs de la LFDD, les déclarations publiques liées aux EES doivent inclure une description des effets environnementaux importants du projet et de ses répercussions éventuelles sur les objectifs et les cibles de la SFDD.

3.5 Ministères et organismes du gouvernement

En vertu du paragraphe 11(1) de la LFDD, les ministères et les organismes inscrits à l’annexe I de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP) et tous les autres inscrits à l’annexe de la LFDD doivent élaborer « une stratégie de développement durable qui comprend les objectifs et les plans d’action du ministère ou de l’agence, qui est conforme à la stratégie fédérale de développement durable et contribue à la réalisation des objectifs de celle-ci, et qui tient compte du mandat du ministère ou de l’agence ».

Ces ministères et organismes tenus de produire des SMDD sont énumérés à l’annexe 1. Les ministères devront satisfaire à cette exigence en intégrant leurs activités de développement durable et d’établissement de rapports dans leurs processus ministériels de base annuels liés à la planification et au rendement.

À titre d’exemple, cela comprend l’intégration des engagements envers la SFDD dans les RPP et les RMR en fournissant d’autres détails sur leurs contributions respectives au développement durable sur le site Web du ministère ou de l’organisme.

En outre, les ministères et les organismes assujettis à la Loi devront faire ce qui suit :

  • participer aux comités des DG et des SMA et aux groupes de travail de la SFDD;
  • fournir les approbations et les consensus nécessaires pour les produits de travail de la SFDD;
  • mettre en œuvre des lignes directrices fournies par EC, le SCT, TPSGC, le Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP) ou l’ACEE à l’appui de la SFDD;
  • sélectionner et utiliser des indicateurs qui peuvent servir à surveiller, à mesurer et à signaler les progrès des objectifs et des cibles auxquels ils contribuent où qu’ils dirigent;
  • suivre les progrès qu’ils ont accomplis en vue de réaliser leurs stratégies de mise en œuvre respectives [LFDD, 9(2)];
  • fournir à l’avance un accès aux renseignements sur la SFDD à l’appui des RPP et des RMR, de sorte que ces données puissent être intégrées dans les rapports d’étape sur la SFDD;
  • déterminer les activités qui pourraient soutenir des versions ultérieures de la SFDD;
  • répondre aux demandes de renseignements à l’appui du cadre de mesure du rendement de la SFDD;
  • aider les organismes qui font partie d’un portefeuille ministériel et qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi à déterminer des activités liées à la SFDD et à établir des rapports sur celles-ci.

3.6 Ministères et organismes volontaires

À l’appui de la SFDD, qui a pour objet d’accroître la transparence et la responsabilisation, les ministères et les organismes qui ne relèvent pas de la LFDD sont invités à contribuer à la SFDD.

La LFDD vise à accroître la transparence du processus décisionnel en matière d’environnement et la responsabilisation à cet égard en dressant un portrait pangouvernemental des mesures prises et des résultats obtenus afin d’assurer la durabilité de l’environnement. Les ministères ou les organismes fédéraux qui ne sont pas inscrits à la LFDD sont encouragés à participer afin de s’assurer que toutes les mesures fédérales pertinentes relatives à la durabilité environnementale sont prises en considération dans la SFDD et les prochains rapports d’étape.

Les organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la LFDD peuvent contribuer aux cibles, aux indicateurs ou aux stratégies de mise en œuvre de la SFDD. Pour appuyer la transparence et la cohérence des rapports ministériels, ces organismes s’engagent à la SFDD pendant un cycle de trois ans et à la déclaration annuelle de renseignements et de résultats dans le cadre de processus d’établissement de rapports organisationnels existants. Cela permettra d’assurer le caractère rigoureux et complet des données lorsque les résultats regroupés sont signalés.

3.7 Commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable

Le Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable (CEDD) fournit aux parlementaires des analyses et des recommandations objectives et indépendantes sur les efforts du gouvernement fédéral pour protéger l’environnement et favoriser le développement durable. Conformément au paragraphe 9(4) de la LFDD, le CEDD dispose d’un mandat prévu par la Loi l’autorisant à réviser l’ébauche de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable et à décider si les cibles et les stratégies de mise en œuvre peuvent être évaluées. Le CEDD a également l’obligation légale, en vertu du paragraphe 23(3) de la Loi sur le vérificateur général (LVG), d’examiner et de commenter tous les rapports d’étape sur la SFDD en se concentrant particulièrement sur l’équité des renseignements sur le rendement. Le CEDD mène des vérifications des SMDD et examine les divers aspects de celles-ci. Les vérifications ministérielles récentes ont porté sur la mise en œuvre de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes et de ses lignes directrices connexes.

3.8 Gouvernance -- Comités et groupes de travail de la SFDD

3.8.1 Comité interministériel des sous-ministres adjoints

Le Comité interministériel des sous-ministres adjoints (SMA), coprésidé par le SMA de la Direction générale de la politique stratégique d’EC et le SMA de la Direction générale des politiques, de la planification et des communications de TPSGC, fournit une orientation stratégique, encourage la réflexion et prend des décisions au sujet des questions clés qui se rattachent à la mise en œuvre de la LFDD. Les SMA fournissent des conseils aux ministres sur de grands enjeux comme le cadre de gestion, les objectifs et les cibles ainsi que le contenu et la structure de la SFDD et des rapports d’étape.

Le Comité se compose d’un SMA de chacun des ministères et organismes liés par la LFDD ainsi que ceux participant de façon volontaire. Les représentants doivent fournir à leurs ministres un exposé sur diverses décisions, y compris les décisions définitives liées à la SFDD ou aux rapports d’étape. Le Comité est appuyé par le BDD.

3.8.2 Comité interministériel des directeurs généraux

Le Comité interministériel des directeurs généraux (DG), présidé par le DG de la Direction de la politique en matière de durabilité d’EC, et coprésidé par le DG du Bureau de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales (BEOG) de TPSGC fournit une orientation opérationelle et des lignes directrices. Le Comité anime également la discussion sur la mise en œuvre de la LFDD et l’élaboration des objectifs, cibles et stratégies de mise en œuvre de la SFDD. Le Comité des DG constitue également une tribune où le BDD et le Bureau de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales peuvent échanger des renseignements sur la SFDD ou sur les rapports d’étape, par exemple les vérifications par le CEDD, les plans de communication et les indicateurs environnementaux. Il exerce au besoin d’autres fonctions. Le Comité est composé d’un directeur général de chaque ministère et organisme liés par la LFDD, ainsi que de ceux participant de façon volontaire. Les représentants doivent fournir à leur SMA un exposé en vue de la préparation des réunions du Comité des SMA de la SFDD. Le Comité est géré par le BDD.

3.8.3  Communauté de pratique sur l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales

Dirigés par le Bureau de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales, la Communauté de pratique sur l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales est un forum pour les gestionnaires fédéraux en développement durable et le personnel opérationnel afin de partager les meilleures pratiques et de l’information sur la planification, la mise en œuvre et la communication des pratiques durables en conformité avec les cibles et les stratégies de mise en œuvre identifiés dans le Thème IV de la SFDD.  

3.8.4  Autres groupes de travail

Au besoin, d’autres groupes de travail peuvent être mis sur pied et dirigés par le BDD ou le Bureau de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales dans le but d’exécuter certaines tâches et de faciliter la collaboration entre les ministères. Ces groupes de travail peuvent être établis à tout niveau, par exemple au niveau de la direction ou au niveau du travail.

3.8.5 Principes directeurs clés à l’intention des comités

  1. Processus décisionnel : Les comités fonctionnent, dans la mesure du possible, sur la base d’un consensus. Le processus de prise de décision est pratique, transparent et inclusif et les décisions doivent être prises conformément aux exigences de la LFDD, tout en tenant compte des besoins des ministères et organismes. L’information est présentée au besoin aux comités de sous-ministres compétents (p. ex., le Comité consultatif sur la gestion de la fonction publique [CCGFP]) pour les enjeux de gestion. Dans les cas où un consensus n’aura pu être atteint, EC prendra une décision qui tiendra compte des exigences de la LFDD à titre de la plus haute priorité.
  2. Fréquence des réunions : Le Comité des DG se réunit au moins tous les trimestres et plus souvent, au besoin, avant la présentation de chaque SFDD et de chaque rapport d’étape. Les réunions du Comité des SMA se tiendront sur une base ponctuelle, à la recommandation du Comité des DG.

3.9 Parlementaires

En vertu de la LFDD, la SFDD doit être déposée à la Chambre des communes et au Sénat. La LFDD exige également qu’un comité de la Chambre des communes ou du Sénat examine l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de la SFDD. Le Comité permanent de l’environnement et du développement durable de la Chambre des communes (ENVI) et le Comité sénatorial permanent de l’énergie, de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles sont les principales tribunes utilisées par les parlementaires pour reviser la SFDD. Conformément à la LFDD, les deux comités reçoivent l’ébauche de la SFDD au débit de la période de consultation publique de 120 jours prévue par la Loi.

3.10 Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable

En vertu de la LFDD, le Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable (CCDD) est un conseil créé et présidé par le ministre de l’Environnement. Le CCDD doit fournir des conseils au ministre de l’Environnement concernant les ébauches de la SFDD. Les membres sont désignés par le ministre de l’Environnement et relèvent directement de lui comme le prescrit le paragraphe 8(1) de la LFDD.

3.11 Intervenants et Canadiens

Les intervenants, qui comprennent des parlementaires, le CCDD, le CEDD, les organismes non gouvernementaux, le milieu universitaire et les associations, entre autres, et les Canadiens, jouent un rôle important dans l’élaboration de la SFDD en faisant part de leurs commentaires et rétroactions concernant l’ébauche de la SFDD. Comme il est mandaté par la LFDD, le BDD doit consulter les intervenants et les Canadiens afin d’obtenir leur rétroaction et leurs commentaires concernant la SFDD pendant une période de 120 jours. Les commentaires reçus des intervenants et des Canadiens sont résumés dans un Rapport de synthèse des consultations établi et publié sur le Web par le BDD et orientent la version finale de la SFDD et les rapports d’étape ultérieurs.


Date de modification :