This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Why it matters 

Ecosystems in areas such as Lake Erie, Lake Winnipeg and the St. Lawrence River remain under stress from excess nutrients and other effects of human activity.

Canada's rivers and lakes account for 7% of the world's renewable freshwater. Water is of major national environmental, social and economic value, as it protects ecosystem health, supplies drinking water and is critical for economic development, transportation, recreation and tourism. The manner in which water supplies are cared for and used affects both the quality and supply of this resource.

Multiple jurisdictions share responsibility for water quality and availability in Canada. Most responsibilities, including water management and protection, rest with the provinces and territories. The federal government works with the provinces and territories and other stakeholders to monitor the quality and supply of Canada's water in the areas of freshwater quality, marine water quality, drinking water quality, chemicals management and water resource management.

Water quality

According to the Yale and Columbia University 2010 Environmental Performance Index, Canada has the best water quality ranking in the Americas. However, numerous factors, such as increased urbanization, agricultural production and releases of pollutants from industrial facilities, can decrease the quality of our water. Water is never pure -- it picks up bits and pieces of everything it contacts, including minerals, silt, vegetation, fertilizers and agricultural run-off. This can lead to poor water quality and the consumption of poor-quality drinking water affects human health.

In addition, the quality of Canada's water can be compromised when chemicals and toxic substances are released in the environment. The harmful effects of the toxic substances are known to affect human health, biological diversity and the overall environment. Industrial facilities and wastewater treatment plants are the primary sources of toxic substances released to water in Canada.

Canadians rely upon high water quality. For example, the Great Lakes basin supports 33 million people, including 9 million Canadians and 8 of Canada's 20 largest cities. This region makes up 40% of Canada's economic activity and each year contributes $180 billion to Canada-U.S. trade. The waters are used by 1.5 million recreational boaters and fishers.

Water availability

Canada has relatively abundant access to freshwater, but the supply is not evenly distributed geographically or throughout the seasons. Water may not be abundant in the same areas where people live or work. For example, approximately 85% of Canadians live within 300 kilometres of the Canada-U.S. border, while 60% of Canada's freshwater drains to the north. In addition, groundwater provides up to 80% of the rural Canadian population's drinking water and is an essential component of ecosystem health.

Pressures on water availability include both natural causes such as weather cycles and human causes such as changes in land use, the building of dams and diversions, and industrial and individual use. According to a 2011 comparison by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Canada ranked fourth in the amount of water removed from the environment. This includes water that was removed permanently and temporarily.

Influencing factors on freshwater quality and availability

Tracking pressures on Canada's water quality and quantity over time provides a better understanding of how to improve freshwater quality and availability. Some of the pressures on water quality and availability that can be influenced directly by Canadians include land use, use of chemical pesticides and residential water use.

Land use

From 2007 to 2009, freshwater quality differed significantly according to land-use category as illustrated in Figure 3.1. Good and excellent freshwater quality was found more often in remote areas. Areas with more than one human development pressure (e.g., agriculture, mining) had more water quality monitoring stations with a poor or marginal freshwater quality ranking. For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 3.1: Freshwater quality by land-use category for the 2007 to 2009 period, Canada

Figure 3.1: Freshwater quality by land-use category for the 2007 to 2009 period, Canada

Long description

The bar graph presents the number of stations where freshwater quality for the protection of aquatic life is rated excellent, good, fair, marginal and poor in the four land use categories between 2007 and 2009. The four land use categories are agriculture, mining, mixed pressures and remote. Good and excellent freshwater quality was found more often in remote areas. Areas with mixed pressures had more stations with a poor or marginal freshwater quality ranking.

Household use of chemical pesticides and fertilizers

Since 1994, household use of chemical pesticide and fertilizer in Canada has declined.

In 2009, 15% of Canadian households with a lawn or garden used chemical pesticides, compared to 31% in 1994. The largest decrease occurred in Quebec, where household chemical pesticide use fell from 30% to 4%. The Prairie provinces, led by Manitoba, remained the region where household use of chemical pesticides was the most widespread. A 2006 cosmetic pesticide ban in Quebec and a similar 2009 ban in Ontario have likely contributed to the drop in pesticide use in these provinces between 1994 and 2009.

In 2009, 22% of Canadian households with a lawn or garden used chemical fertilizers, compared to 47% in 1994. The largest decreases occurred in Quebec and Ontario, while Quebec households were the lowest users of chemical fertilizers in 2009. Households in the Prairie provinces, led by Saskatchewan, used the most chemical fertilizer. For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 3.2: Percentage of households in Canada using chemical pesticides and fertilizers
on lawns and gardens, 1994, 2005, 2007 and 2009, and by province for 1994 and 2009

Figure 3.2: Percentage of households in Canada using chemical pesticides and fertilizers  on lawns and gardens, 1994, 2005, 2007 and 2009, and by province for 1994 and 2009

Long description

The graphic shows the percentage of Canadian households using chemical pesticides and fertilizers on lawns and gardens in 1994, 2005, 2007 and 2009. The graphic also shows the percentage of households in each Canadian province using chemical pesticides and fertilizers on lawns and gardens for both 1994 and 2009.

Residential water use

Urban growth, expanding industry and climate change put pressure on the ability of Canadian cities to supply water to households. Rising water demand, combined with the high costs of building and repairing water infrastructure, continues to make household water conservation a priority for many communities.

From 1991 to 2009, the average daily water use dropped from 342 L to 274 L per person, as illustrated in Figure 3.3. However, despite improvements in household water conservation, Canada remains one of the largest per capita users of fresh water in the world.

The second graph in Figure 3.3 illustrates that in 2009, 72% of Canadian households were equipped with water meters, an increase from 52% of households in 1991. In 2009, metered households on volume-based water pricing schemes used 39% less water per person than unmetered households on flatrate water pricing schemes. For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 3.3: Households on metered water systems and per capita residential water use, Canada, 1991 to 2009

Figure 3.3: Households on metered water systems and per capita residential water use, Canada, 1991 to 2009

Long description

The top line graph shows per capita residential water use in litres per day between 1991 and 2009 and the bottom line graph shows the percentage of households with water meters between 1991 and 2009. In 2009, 72% of Canadian households were equipped with water meters, an increase from 52% of households in 1991. Over the same period, average daily water use dropped from 342 litres per person per day in 1991 to 274 litres per person per day in 2009.

 

 


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pourquoi est-ce important?

Les écosystèmes dans des secteurs tels que le lac Érié, le lac Winnipeg et le fleuve Saint-Laurent, restent soumis à un stress causé par les éléments nutritifs excédentaires et autres effets de l’activité humaine.

Les rivières et les lacs du Canada représentent 7 % des réserves d'eau douce renouvelables du monde. L'eau possède une valeur nationale majeure au niveau environnemental, social et économique, car elle protège la santé des écosystèmes, l'approvisionnement en eau potable et elle est essentielle au développement économique, au transport, aux loisirs et au tourisme. La manière dont les réserves en eau sont entretenues et utilisées touche à la fois la qualité et l'approvisionnement de cette ressource.

Plusieurs juridictions se partagent la responsabilité de la qualité de l'eau et de la disponibilité de celle-ci au Canada. La plupart des responsabilités, y compris la gestion et la protection de l'eau, relève des provinces et des territoires. Le gouvernement fédéral travaille avec les provinces et les territoires et d'autres intervenants afin de surveiller la qualité et l'approvisionnement en eau du Canada dans les domaines de la qualité de l'eau douce, de la qualité de l'eau de mer, de la qualité de l'eau potable, de la gestion des produits chimiques et de la gestion des ressources en eau.

Qualité de l'eau

Selon l'indice de performance environnementale des universités de Yale et Columbia en 2010, le Canada présente le meilleur classement de la qualité de l'eau dans les Amériques. Cependant, de nombreux facteurs, tels que l'augmentation de l'urbanisation, la production agricole et les rejets de polluants provenant d'installations industrielles, peuvent diminuer la qualité de notre eau. L'eau n'est jamais pure – elle ramasse de petites particules de tout ce qu'elle touche, y compris les minéraux, le limon, la végétation, les engrais et le lessivage des terres cultivées. Cela peut résulter en une mauvaise qualité d'eau, donc à la consommation d'eau potable de qualité médiocre et ainsi affecter la santé humaine.

En outre, la qualité de l'eau au Canada peut être compromise lorsque des substances chimiques et toxiques sont rejetées dans l'environnement. Les effets néfastes des substances toxiques sont connus pour avoir des répercussions sur la santé humaine, sur la biodiversité et sur l'ensemble de l'environnement. Les installations industrielles et les usines de traitement des eaux usées sont les principales sources de rejets de substances toxiques dans l'eau au Canada.

Les Canadiens ont besoin d'une qualité d'eau élevée. Par exemple, le bassin des Grands Lacs alimente 33 millions de personnes, dont 9 millions de Canadiens et 8 des 20 plus grandes villes du pays. Cette région représente près de 40 % de l'activité économique du Canada et contribue chaque année à hauteur de 180 milliards de dollars au commerce entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Les eaux sont utilisées par 1,5 million de plaisanciers et pêcheurs.

Disponibilité en eau

Le Canada dispose d'un accès relativement grand à l'approvisionnement en eau douce, mais celui-ci n'est pas réparti de façon uniforme géographiquement ou au fil des saisons. L'eau n'est pas toujours abondante dans les mêmes secteurs où les gens vivent ou travaillent. Par exemple, environ 85 % des Canadiens habitent à moins de 300 kilomètres de la frontière canado-américaine, alors que 60 % de l'eau douce du Canada s'écoule vers le nord. En outre, les eaux souterraines fournissent jusqu'à 80 % de l'eau potable pour la population canadienne rurale et est une composante essentielle de la santé de l'écosystème.

Les pressions sur la disponibilité de l'eau sont provoquées à la fois par des causes naturelles, telles que les cycles climatiques, et des causes humaines, telles que des changements dans l'utilisation des terres, la construction de barrages et les dérivations, et l'utilisation industrielle et individuelle. Selon une comparaison de 2011 effectuée par l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, le Canada se classe au quatrième rang de la quantité d'eau retirée de l'environnement. Cela comprend l'eau qui a été retirée définitivement et celle qui a été retirée temporairement.

Facteurs influant sur la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau douce

Le suivi de la pression sur la qualité et la quantité de l'eau au fil du temps au Canada offre une compréhension plus approfondie sur la façon d'améliorer la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau douce. Parmi les pressions sur la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau qui peuvent être influencées directement par les Canadiens on note l'utilisation des terres, l'utilisation de pesticides chimiques et l'utilisation résidentielle de l'eau.

Utilisation des terres

De 2007 à 2009, la qualité de l'eau douce différait de manière significative selon la catégorie d'utilisation des terres, tel qu'il est illustré dans la figure 3.1. Ce sont le plus souvent les régions éloignées qui offraient une bonne et une excellente qualité de l'eau douce. Les stations de surveillance de la qualité des eaux des régions avec plus d'une pression exercée par l'activité humaine (p. ex. l'agriculture, l'exploitation minière) présentaient une mauvaise qualité de l'eau douce ou un classement médiocre de la qualité de l'eau douce. Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 3.1 : Qualité de l'eau douce selon l'utilisation du sol de 2007 à 2009, au Canada

Figure 3.1 : Qualité de l'eau douce selon l'utilisation du sol de 2007 à 2009, au Canada

Description longue

Le diagramme à barres présente le nombre de stations où la qualité de l'eau douce pour la protection de la vie aquatique est cotée excellente, bonne, satisfaisante, douteuse ou mauvaise pour les quatre catégories d'utilisation du sol entre 2007 et 2009. Les quatre catégories d'utilisation du sol sont les suivantes : agricole, mines, pressions mixtes et régions éloignés. On a plus souvent trouvé une qualité de l'eau douce excellente ou bonne dans les régions éloignés. Les régions avec des pressions mixtes avaient plus de stations dont la qualité de l'eau douce était cotée douteuse ou mauvaise.

Utilisation des engrais et des pesticides chimiques par les ménages

Depuis 1994, l'utilisation domestique de pesticides et d'engrais chimiques au Canada a diminué.

En 2009, 15 % des ménages canadiens ayant une pelouse ou un jardin ont utilisé des pesticides chimiques; ce pourcentage s'élevait à 31 % en 1994. La plus forte baisse s'est produite au Québec, où l'utilisation de pesticides chimiques par les ménages a diminué de 30 % pour s'établir à 4 %. Les provinces des Prairies, le Manitoba en tête, sont restées la région où l'utilisation de pesticides chimiques par les ménages était la plus répandue. Une interdiction des pesticides cosmétiques en 2006 au Québec et une interdiction semblable en 2009 en Ontario ont probablement contribué à la baisse de l'utilisation de pesticides dans ces provinces entre 1994 et 2009.

En 2009, 22 % des ménages canadiens ayant une pelouse ou un jardin ont utilisé des engrais chimiques, par rapport à 47 % en 1994. Les baisses les plus importantes se sont produites au Québec et en Ontario; les ménages québécois étaient les plus petits utilisateurs d'engrais chimiques en 2009. Les ménages des provinces des Prairies, la Saskatchewan en tête, ont utilisé le plus d'engrais chimiques. Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 3.2 : Pourcentage des ménages au Canada qui utilisent des pesticides et des engrais
chimiques sur les pelouses et les jardins, 1994, 2005, 2007 et 2009, et par province pour 1994 et 2009

Figure 3.2 : Pourcentage des ménages au Canada qui utilisent des pesticides et des engrais  chimiques sur les pelouses et les jardins, 1994, 2005, 2007 et 2009, et par province pour 1994 et 2009

Description longue

Le graphique montre le pourcentage de ménages canadiens qui utilisent des pesticides et des engrais chimiques sur les pelouses et les jardins en 1994, 2005, 2007 et 2009. Le graphique illustre également le pourcentage de ménages dans chaque province canadienne qui utilisent des pesticides et des engrais chimiques sur les pelouses et les jardins pour les années 1994 et 2009.

Consommation d'eau résidentielle

La croissance urbaine, l'expansion de l'industrie et les changements climatiques exercent une pression sur la capacité des villes canadiennes à fournir de l'eau aux ménages. La demande croissante en eau, associée aux coûts élevés liés à la construction et à la réparation de l'infrastructure de l'eau, continue de faire de la conservation de l'eau des ménages une priorité pour de nombreuses collectivités.

De 1991 à 2009, la consommation d'eau quotidienne moyenne a chuté de 342 litres à 274 litres par personne, tel qu'il est illustré dans la figure 3.3. Toutefois, en dépit des améliorations dans la consommation d'eau des ménages, le Canada reste l'un des plus grands consommateurs par habitant d'eau fraîche à l'échelle mondiale.

Le second graphique de la figure 3.3 illustre qu'en 2009, 72 % des ménages canadiens étaient équipés de compteurs d'eau, ce qui constitue une augmentation par rapport à 52 % des ménages en 1991. En 2009, les ménages dotés d'un compteur et dont la structure tarifaire était basée sur le volume utilisé ont consommé 39 % d'eau en moins par personne par rapport aux ménages qui n'ont pas de compteur et dont la structure était basée sur un forfait. Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 3.3 : Ménages disposant de systèmes d'alimentation en eau dotés de compteurs
et consommation d'eau résidentielle par habitant, Canada, 1991-2009

Figure 3.3 : Ménages disposant de systèmes d'alimentation en eau dotés de compteurs  et consommation d'eau résidentielle par habitant, Canada, 1991-2009

Description longue

Le premier graphique linéaire indique la consommation d'eau résidentielle en litres par jour entre 1991 et 2009 et le second graphique linéaire présente le pourcentage de ménages disposant de compteurs d'eau entre 1991 et 2009. En 2009, 72 % des ménages canadiens étaient équipés de compteurs d'eau, ce qui constitue une augmentation par rapport à 52 % des ménages en 1991. Pendant la même période, la consommation quotidienne moyenne d'eau a chuté de 342 litres par personne en 1991 à 274 litres par personne en 2009.


Date de modification :