Synthesis Report: Public Consultations
Draft Sustainable Development Strategy

Available in PDF; 29 KB.

General Overview

On July 12, 2010, the 120-day consultation period, as required by subsection 9(3) of the Federal Sustainable Development Act (FSDA), closed. The draft Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) was released for public consultation from March 15 to July 12, and comments were received from a number of key sources such as the House and Senate Parliamentary Committees, the Sustainable Development Advisory Council, and the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development, according to provisions in the FSDA.

As well, at the closure of the 120-day consultation period on July 12, 2010, through its inbox email, Environment Canada received a total of 91 submissions from the general public, industry, professional associations and environmental non-governmental organizations (ENGOs). 

Respondents were very supportive of the whole-of-government approach. In a letter to the Minister of the Environment, the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development noted:

“An overarching strategy is welcome both to help set Canada on a sustainable development pathway and to ensure policy coherence.” (Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development Comments on the FSDS, 2010)

Respondents were also supportive of the linking of sustainable development into the government’s planning and reporting processes, the focus on the transparency of decision-making outcomes rather than the process, the use of environmental indicators to measure progress in the FSDS, and the decision to use SMART (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant and Time-bound) criteria for the targets in the FSDS

On the quality of goals, targets and implementation strategies, many respondents suggested the targets may not be aggressive enough to meet current environmental challenges. Also noted was the fact that many of the targets and implementation strategies do not meet the SMART criteria outlined in the FSDS.

On improving transparency and accountability of decision-making, respondents were supportive of making environmental decision-making more transparent through the FSDS, but wanted further details on how transparency and accountability would be strengthened.

A number of respondents also commented on the need to collaborate with provincial, territorial and First Nations governments to achieve the goals and targets of the FSDS, to engage more frequently with civil society, and to formulate an overall vision for sustainable development.

Specific Findings

Comments and recommendations are grouped into five themes:

  1. the approach to the FSDS;
  2. the scope of the FSDS;
  3. goals, targets and implementation strategies;
  4. transparency and accountability; and
  5. other concerns.

Comments and recommendations have been carefully reviewed and taken into consideration in the preparation of the final FSDS.

Approach to the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy

Many respondents were supportive of the Government of Canada for adopting a whole-of-government approach to sustainable development with common federal goals that would replace the previous system for sustainable development. The approach to linking the FSDS to the government-wide Expenditure Management System for planning and reporting was also well received. 

Respondents were also supportive of the commitment to transparency and accountability of environmental decision-making, particularly with a focus on the transparency of environmental outcomes rather than the decision-making process.

The commitment to use environmental indicators for measuring, monitoring and reporting progress on the FSDS was well-received, as well as the commitment to benchmark and use the SMART (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant and Time-bound) criteria to set targets. 

Scope of the FSDS

Respondents made suggestions regarding the scope of the FSDS in two main areas:

  • the focus on environmental sustainability; and
  • the number of federal departments specifically referenced in the draft FSDS.

Although the purpose of the Act is to improve the transparency of environmental decision-making, many respondents suggested that the FSDS should reflect the three pillars of sustainable development (environment, economy and society) and draw links between them. Examples were cited where goal areas could include economic and social dimensions of sustainable development, such as linking sustainable water use planning to its importance for economic growth--some respondents went further in suggesting that this could inform an overall vision for a future sustainable Canada. 

Respondents also noted that a limited number of federal departments were specifically referenced in the draft FSDS. Respondents wanted further details on how departments, particularly the central agencies, would contribute to the FSDS, and suggested targets be assigned to specific minister(s) and department(s).

Quality of FSDS Goals, Targets and Implementation Strategies

In the view of many respondents, several of the targets did not meet the SMART criteria outlined in the FSDS. In particular, respondents noted that some of the targets were not time-bound. Some respondents were concerned that targets were not aggressive enough to meet current environmental challenges. 

Respondents also had many comments on the specific goals, targets and implementation strategies for each of the four theme areas (Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality, Maintaining Water Quality and Availability, Protecting Nature, and Shrinking the Environmental Footprint – Beginning with Government). A summary is presented below.

On Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality
There were diverse opinions expressed regarding Canada’s approach to climate change. Some respondents were in favour of alignment with the United States and others were opposed. 

Some expressed concern that the target to reduce greenhouse gas emissions was not aggressive enough to meet the challenges posed by climate change, and that the draft FSDS did not have a sense of urgency in prioritizing the issues appropriate to their assessment of the threat it poses to Canadians. Others, however, noted that the climate change goal should be re-cast by focusing on reducing global greenhouse gas emissions and contributing to international efforts on climate change.

Respondents also expressed concern about whether there was a sufficient monitoring system in place capable of tracking actual greenhouse gas emissions reductions relative to each of the policy measures found in the government’s climate change plans.

Many noted that the targets for air quality need to be better defined. For both climate change and clean air, many respondents suggested a variety of additional or alternative targets and programming.

On Maintaining Water Quality and Availability
Respondents expressed the view that some of the targets were not aggressive enough to reflect the importance of improving drinking water quality for all Canadians, particularly First Nations. There were many suggestions for revising the wording of the target to reflect the importance of improving drinking water quality in First Nations communities.

Some respondents suggested that the management of individual drainage basins in Canada be included in the implementation strategies under the water quality and availability targets. They cited international examples and practices regarding water management by drainage basins, which they suggested should be added to the FSDS.

Many respondents suggested additional programming for improving water quality and availability in different regions of Canada.

On Protecting Nature
Respondents noted that protecting nature needs to include aquatic ecosystems as well as terrestrial ecosystems, and that implementation strategies need to draw upon the linkages between the conservation of suitable habitat and the maintenance of species populations. 

Some respondents requested more details on specific targets in the FSDS, such as which areas would be protected and which areas were priorities. Numerous respondents also suggested a variety of areas in ecosystem management that were viewed as missing from the FSDS, such as sustainable forestry, plans for wetland protection, terrestrial species and curbing urban sprawl.   

On Shrinking the Environmental Footprint – Beginning with Government
Respondents were supportive of the inclusion of this goal, but many wanted details on how progress on the targets would be measured, monitored and reported, particularly for reducing the Government of Canada’s greenhouse gas emissions. Some also suggested additional implementation strategies for consideration, such as the deployment of new technology, involving government employees and land-use planning. 

Improving Transparency and Accountability of Environmental Decision-Making

While Canadians responded favourably to the commitment to improve transparency and accountability around environmental decision-making, there were also requests for further details of how this would take place and how transparency and accountability would be defined. 

Some respondents expressed a desire for the transparency and accountability of environmental decision-making to focus on outcomes, not processes. Some respondents wanted details on how sustainable development principles referenced in the Act (such as the ecologically efficient use of natural, social, and economic resources, and the precautionary principle) would be put into practice.

Many respondents mentioned the importance of integrated decision-making in sustainable development, and wanted further details on how this would be put into practice through the FSDS. In particular, some mentioned that the Cabinet Directive on Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals was not reflected in the FSDS along with details on how it would align with the goals, targets and implementation strategies. 

Respondents were also concerned about measurement and reporting of progress on the goals and targets. Many suggested that reporting occur more frequently than once every three years. In particular, respondents requested the inclusion of more detail and information on the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators initiative and how it would be used to measure progress in the final strategy. Some also noted that future reports produced could include emerging issues and challenges to the goals and targets.  

Accountability was also a theme expressed by respondents. Respondents wanted more information on how accountability would be put in place to encourage progress on the goals, targets and implementation strategies. 

Respondents commented on the connection between costs, and the targets and implementation strategies. Some recommended strengthening the FSDS by including a financing plan that relates expenditures to targets. 

Other Concerns

Respondents offered a number of other suggestions including:

  • directing additional resources to sustainable development;
  • increasing engagement on and promoting the FSDS with citizens, NGOs and private industry;
  • aligning the federal climate change strategy with provincial and territorial strategies as well as international agreements;
  • linking sustainable development strategies and plans at the provincial, First Nations and community levels with the FSDS;
  • establishing cooperative partnerships between the federal and provincial governments;
  • acknowledging the underlying consumption and production patterns that affect climate change and loss of biodiversity; and
  • developing inter- and intra-governmental data-sharing policy models that would encourage and allow the free exchange of geospatial data by data agencies with other government departments, other levels of government and external stakeholders.
Date modified:

Rapport de synthèse sur les consultations publiques en ligne concernant la version provisoire de la stratégie de développement durable

Disponible en PDF, 30 Ko.

Résumé

Le 12 juillet 2010, la période de consultation de 120 jours, tel que requis par l'article 9(3) de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable (LFDD), à pris fin. La version provisoire de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) a été publiée pour consultation publique du 15 mars au 12 juillet et des commentaires ont été reçus de la part d'un certain nombre de sources clés telles que des comités parlementaires de la Chambre et du Sénat, le Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable, et le commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable, conformément aux dispositions de la LFDD.

De plus, à la clôture de la période de consultation de 120 jours le 12 juillet 2010, par la voie du courrier électronique, Environnement Canada a reçu un total de 91 soumissions provenant de la population, de l'industrie, d’associations professionnelles et d’organisations environnementales non gouvernementales (ONG).

Les répondants se sont montrés très favorables à l’approche pangouvernementale. Dans une lettre adressée au ministre de l’Environnement, le commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable (CEDD) à noté :

“Nous nous réjouissons de cette stratégie d’ensemble, car elle aidera à mettre le Canada sur la voie du développement durable et assurera aussi une cohésion en matière de politiques.” (Commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable, Commentaires sur la SFDD, 2010)

Les répondants se sont également montrés très favorables au lien entre le développement durable et les processus de planification et de production de rapports du gouvernement, à l'accent mis sur la transparence des résultats décisionnels plutôt que sur le processus, à l'utilisation d'indicateurs environnementaux pour mesurer les progrès dans la SFDD et à la décision d'utiliser des critères SMART (spécifique, mesurable, réalisable, pertinent, limité dans le temps) pour les cibles de la SFDD.

Pour ce qui est de la qualité des objectifs, des cibles et des stratégies de mise en œuvre, les répondants ont laissé entendre que les cibles n’étaient pas assez ambitieuses pour faire face aux problèmes environnementaux actuels. Ils ont également souligné que bon nombre de cibles et de stratégies de mise en œuvre ne remplissaient pas les critères SMART exposés dans la SFDD.

Pour ce qui est d'améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation de la prise de décision, les répondants ont manifesté leur soutien à un processus décisionnel plus transparent en matière d’environnement au moyen de la SFDD, mais voulaient en connaître davantage sur la façon dont la transparence et la responsabilisation seraient renforcées.

Les répondants ont également formulé des commentaires sur le besoin de collaborer avec les provinces, les territoires et les Premières nations pour atteindre les objectifs et les cibles de la SFDD, de s’engager plus fréquemment au côté de la société civile et de formuler une vision globale du développement durable.

Résultats spécifiques

Les commentaires et les recommandations sont regroupés en cinq thèmes :

  1. L’approche de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable;
  2. La portée de la SFDD;
  3. Les objectifs, cibles et stratégies de mise en œuvre;
  4. La transparence et la responsabilisation;
  5. Autres préoccupations.

Les commentaires et les recommandations ont été examinés et considérés attentivement dans la préparation de la version finale de la SFDD.

Approche de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable

Bon nombre de répondants se sont montrés favorables envers l'adoption par le gouvernement du Canada d'une approche pangouvernementale du développement durable, dotée d'objectifs fédéraux qui remplaceront l'ancien système de développement durable. Ils ont également bien reçu l’approche visant à lier la SFDD au Système de gestion des dépenses pangouvernementales pour la planification et la production de rapports dans le cadre de l'approche pangouvernementale.

Les répondants ont également montré leur appui à l'engagement envers la transparence et la responsabilisation du processus décisionnel environnemental, en mettant l’accent sur la transparence des résultats environnementaux plutôt que sur le processus décisionnel.

L'engagement à utiliser des indicateurs environnementaux pour mesurer, contrôler et rapporter les progrès réalisés en lien avec la SFDD a également été bien reçu, de même que l'engagement à établir des repères et à utiliser les critères SMART pour définir des cibles.

Portée de la SFDD

Les répondants ont formulé des commentaires concernant la portée de la SFDD en ce qui concerne deux domaines :

  • l'accent sur la durabilité de l'environnement;
  • le nombre de ministères fédéraux mentionnés directement dans la version provisoire de la SFDD.

Bien que l'objectif de la Loi soit d'améliorer la transparence des prises de décisions environnementales, bon nombre de répondants ont suggéré que la SFDD devrait tenir compte des trois piliers du développement durable (environnement, économie et société) et établir des liens entre les trois piliers. Des exemples ont été cités où les objectifs pourraient inclure des liens avec les dimensions économiques et sociales du développement durable, comme le lien entre la planification de l'utilisation durable de l'eau et l'importance de cette planification pour la croissance économique. Certains répondants ont même noté que ceci pourrait éclairer la vision globale d'un Canada durable dans l'avenir.

Des répondants ont également signalé que le nombre de ministères fédéraux directement mentionnés dans la SFDD provisoire n'était pas assez élevé. Les répondants voulaient obtenir plus de détails sur la façon dont les ministères contribueraient à la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les organismes centraux, et ont suggéré que des cibles soient attribuées à des ministre(s) et ministère(s) en particulier.

Qualité des objectifs, des cibles et des stratégies de mise en œuvre de la SFDD

D'après les répondants, bon nombre de cibles ne répondaient pas aux critères SMART figurant dans la SFDD. Notamment, les répondants ont indiqué que certaines des cibles n'étaient pas inscrites dans le temps. Certains ont dit craindre que les cibles ne soient pas assez ambitieuses pour faire face aux problèmes environnementaux actuels.

Les répondants se sont également exprimés sur les objectifs, les cibles et les stratégies de mise en œuvre précis pour chacun des quatre thèmes (Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l’air, Maintenir la qualité et disponibilité de l'eau, Protéger la nature et Réduire l'empreinte environnementale – En commençant par le gouvernement). Leurs commentaires sont brièvement rapportés ci-dessous :

Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l’air :
Il s'agit de diverses opinions exprimées sur l'approche du Canada au changement climatique. Certains répondants se sont montrés favorables à l'harmonisation avec les États-Unis et d'autres s'y sont opposés.

Certains ont exprimé des préoccupations sur le fait que la cible de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre n'était pas assez ambitieuse pour faire face aux difficultés posées par le changement climatique, et que la SFDD provisoire ne présentait pas un sens d'urgence en priorisant les enjeux en fonction de la menace qu'ils posent pour les Canadiens. D'autres, cependant, ont indiqué qu’il fallait remodeler l'objectif du changement climatique, mettre l'accent sur la réduction des émissions globales de gaz à effet de serre et contribuer aux efforts internationaux sur le changement climatique.

Les répondants se sont également dits préoccupés par la capacité du système de surveillance de faire le suivi des réductions d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour chacune des mesures politiques des plans gouvernementaux sur le changement climatique.

Bon nombre ont indiqué que les cibles pour la qualité de l’air devaient être définies. En ce qui a trait au changement climatique et à l'air pur, bon nombre de répondants ont suggéré divers programmes et cibles additionnels ou de rechange.

Maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau
Les commentateurs ont indiqué que certaines des cibles n'étaient pas assez ambitieuses pour tenir compte de l'importance d'améliorer la qualité de l'eau potable pour tous les Canadiens, particulièrement les Premières nations. Ils ont fait de nombreuses suggestions visant à réviser la formulation de la cible pour tenir compte de façon précise de l'importance d'améliorer la qualité de l'eau potable dans les communautés autochtones.

Certains commentateurs ont également suggéré que la gestion des bassins versants du Canada soit incluse dans les stratégies de mise en œuvre dans la cible de la qualité et la disponibilité de l’eau. Ils ont cité des exemples et des pratiques concernant la gestion par bassin versant, lesquels, devraient être ajoutés à la SFDD.

Bon nombre de commentateurs ont suggéré d’autres programmes pour améliorer la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau dans différentes régions du Canada.

Protéger la nature :
Les commentateurs ont noté que la protection de la nature devait inclure les écosystèmes aquatiques d'eau douce ainsi que les écosystèmes terrestres, et que les stratégies de mise en œuvre devaient s'inspirer des liens entre la conservation des habitats favorables et le maintien des populations d'espèces.

Les observateurs voulaient en savoir davantage sur les cibles précises de la SFDD, notamment les aires qui seraient protégées et celles qui constituent une priorité. De nombreux répondants ont également formulé des commentaires sur diverses aires de gestion écosystémique qui étaient considérées comme manquantes à la SFDD, notamment la foresterie durable, les plans de protection des zones humides, les espèces terrestres et la limitation de l'étalement urbain.

Réduire l'empreinte environnementale - En commençant par le gouvernement
Les répondants se sont montrés favorables à l'inclusion de cet objectif, mais bon nombre voulaient des détails sur la façon dont le progrès relatif aux cibles serait mesuré, surveillé et rapporté, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre du gouvernement du Canada. Certains ont également suggéré des stratégies additionnelles de mise en œuvre, comme le déploiement de nouvelles technologies, la mise à contribution des employés gouvernementaux et la planification relative à l'utilisation du territoire.

Améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation du processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement

Les Canadiens ont manifesté leur soutien à l'engagement visant à améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation du processus décisionnel environnemental. Cependant, certains ont demandé des détails additionnels sur la façon dont cet objectif serait réalisé et la façon dont la transparence et la responsabilisation seraient définies.

Certains répondants ont dit vouloir que la transparence et la responsabilisation du processus décisionnel environnemental mettent l'accent sur les résultats et non pas sur les processus. Certains répondants voulaient obtenir des détails sur la façon dont les principes de développement durable cités dans la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable (comme l'utilisation écologique des ressources naturelles, sociales et économiques et le principe de précaution) seraient mis en application.

Bon nombre de répondants ont mentionné l'importance du processus décisionnel intégré pour le développement durable, et ils ont demandé à obtenir plus de renseignements sur l'application de cet élément au moyen de la SFDD. Notamment, certains ont mentionné que la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes ne figurait pas dans la SFDD, tout comme certains détails sur son harmonisation avec les objectifs, les cibles et les stratégies de mise en œuvre.

Les répondants ont également exprimé des craintes sur la façon dont le progrès relatif aux objectifs et aux cibles était mesuré et rapporté. Bon nombre ont suggéré que la production de rapports devrait avoir lieu plus fréquemment qu’une fois aux trois ans. Notamment, les répondants ont dit vouloir obtenir plus de détails et de renseignements sur l’initiative des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement (ICDE) et sur la façon dont elle serait utilisée pour mesurer le progrès. Certains ont également indiqué que les rapports produits permettraient aussi d'évaluer les enjeux et les problèmes émergents relatifs aux objectifs.

Les répondants se sont également exprimés sur la responsabilisation. Ils voulaient obtenir plus de renseignements sur la façon dont la responsabilisation serait mise en œuvre pour encourager le progrès relatif aux objectifs, aux cibles et aux stratégies de mise en œuvre.

Les répondants ont formulé des commentaires sur les liens entre les frais, les cibles et les stratégies de mise en œuvre. D'autres ont recommandé de renforcer la SFDD en intégrant un plan financier qui établit des liens entre les dépenses et les cibles.

Autres sujets

Les répondants ont soulevé un certain nombre d'autres enjeux, notamment :

  • Fournir des ressources additionnelles pour le développement durable.
  • Accroître la mobilisation des citoyens, des ONG et de l'industrie privée relativement à la SFDD et au profil de cette dernière.
  • Harmoniser la stratégie fédérale du changement climatique avec les stratégies provinciales et territoriales ainsi qu'avec les ententes internationales.
  • Établir des liens entre la SFDD et les stratégies et plans de développement durable des provinces, des Premières nations et des collectivités.
  • Établir des partenariats de coopération entre les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux.
  • Reconnaître les habitudes de consommation et de production non durables sous-jacentes qui causent le changement climatique et la perte de biodiversité.
  • Développer des modèles politiques de mise en commun des données intergouvernementales et intragouvernementales qui encourageraient et permettraient le libre-échange de données géospatiales entre les organismes de collecte de données et les autres ministères gouvernementaux, les autres ordres de gouvernement et les intervenants de l'extérieur.
Date de modification :