This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

7. Engagement and communications approach

Engaging and communicating with stakeholders and partners throughout the three-year cycle of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) is an important means to achieving the transparency mandate of the Federal Sustainable Development Act (FSDA). It also supports the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, Section 9: Consultation and Citizen Engagement.     

Based on the "Plan, do, check and improve" system outlined earlier, the government is committed to ensuring that each cycle of the FSDS builds on lessons learned, current best practices and the expertise of others. Accordingly, engagement plays an important role in the government’s commitment to considering stakeholder comments when planning and implementing the FSDS.

As mentioned previously in the Roles and Responsibility section, the Sustainable Development Office (SDO), in collaboration with Environment Canada's (EC) Communications Branch and other federal departments and agencies, leads the FSDS engagement approach.

7.1 Objectives of FSDS engagement

The SDO, with the support of all federal departments and agencies, undertakes a range of engagement activities, working towards providing information, building awareness and enhancing use of the FSDS amongst stakeholders. 

7.2 Target audiences and activities

Recognizing the importance of engagement and in accordance with the FSDA [section 9 (3)], the development of each new FSDS is informed by a 120-day public consultation period. The Minister of the Environment provides a draft of each new FSDS to the Commissioner of The Environment and Sustainable Development (CESD), the Sustainable Development Advisory Council (SDAC), parliamentarians and the Canadian public. In addition, the draft Strategy is provided to other key stakeholders such as other levels of government, Aboriginal groups, non-profit organizations, business and industry associations, and academia. The results of this engagement generate valuable feedback that informs the development and finalization of the FSDS, and is reported through a publicly-available Synthesis Report.   

Beyond the formal consultation period every three years, the SDO engages stakeholders on an ongoing basis by means of both web-based and traditional approaches. Activities include, for example, information and outreach sessions, and web and social media updates. The SDO will continue to proactively engage a range of stakeholders and partners as it implements the 2013–2016 FSDS and prepares the next draft FSDS, covering the 2016–2019 period.   

7.3 Strategic communications

Communicating about the FSDS, its progress reports, the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) and opportunities for public consultation are important for furthering the transparency and accountability of the Government of Canada’s environmental sustainability activities with stakeholders and the general public. The SDO, in collaboration with EC’s Communications Branch, leads communications activities for the FSDS. Related communications products and activities include:

  • maintaining the FSDS website;
  • maintaining a GCpedia site;
  • media releases; and
  • social media.

A strategic communications strategy is developed for each FSDS Strategy and Progress Report. The strategy includes such items as:

  • communications objectives and considerations;
  • analysis of public environment;
  • anticipated reaction;
  • storyline and core government messages;
  • announcement strategy;
  • supporting communications tools; 
  • evaluation methods; and
  • budget.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

7. Approche axée sur la participation et les communications

La participation des intervenants et des partenaires, et la communication avec ceux-ci tout au long du cycle triennal de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) constituent un important moyen de réaliser le mandat de transparence de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable (LFDD). Cette approche appuie également la section 9, Consultation et participation des citoyens, de la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada.

Selon le système de « planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration » mentionné précédemment, le gouvernement s’engage à s’assurer que chaque cycle de la SFDD tire profit des leçons apprises, des pratiques exemplaires actuelles et de l’expertise des autres. Par conséquent, la participation joue un rôle important dans l’engagement du gouvernement à tenir compte des commentaires des intervenants au moment de la planification et de la mise en œuvre de la SFDD.

Comme mentionné précédemment dans la section Rôles et responsabilités, le Bureau du développement durable (BDD), en collaboration avec la Direction générale des communications d'Environnement Canada (EC) et d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, dirige l’approche axée sur la participation à la SFDD.

7.1 Objectifs en matière de participation à la SFDD

À l’appui de tous les ministères et organismes fédéraux, le BDD exécute une variété d’activités de participation en vue de fournir aux intervenants des renseignements sur la SFDD, d’accroître leur sensibilisation à celle-ci et de les encourager à l’adopter.

7.2 Publics cibles et activités

Reconnaissant l’importance de la participation et en vertu du paragraphe 9(3) de la LFDD, l’élaboration de chaque nouvelle SFDD s’appuie sur une période de consultation publique de 120 jours. Le ministre de l’Environnement fournit une ébauche de chaque nouvelle SFDD au Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable (CEDD), au Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable (CCDD), aux parlementaires et au public canadien. En outre, l’ébauche de la SFDD est fournie à d’autres intervenants clés, tels que d’autres échelons du gouvernement, des groupes autochtones, des organismes sans but lucratif, des entreprises, des associations de l’industrie et le milieu universitaire. Cette participation permet de générer une rétroaction précieuse qui oriente l’élaboration et la mise au point de la SFDD et qui fait l’objet d’un rapport de synthèse accessible au grand public.

Au-delà de la période de consultation officielle ayant lieu tous les trois ans, le BDD sollicite régulièrement la participation des intervenants au moyen, à la fois, d’approches en ligne et traditionnelles. Les activités comprennent, entre autres, des séances d’information et de sensibilisation ainsi que des mises à jour sur le Web et les médias sociaux. Le BDD continuera à assurer de manière proactive la participation d’un vaste éventail d’intervenants et de partenaires à mesure qu’il met en œuvre la SFDD de 2013-2016 et prépare la prochaine ébauche de la SFDD couvrant la période de 2016-2019.

7.3 Communications stratégiques

La communication de renseignements sur la SFDD, des rapports d’étape connexes, les Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement (ICDE) et des occasions de consultation publique est importante pour le renforcement de la transparence des activités de durabilité environnementale du gouvernement du Canada et de l’obligation de rendre compte de ces activités aux intervenants et au grand public. En collaboration avec la Direction des communications d’EC, le BDD dirige les activités de communications relatives à la SFDD. Les produits et les activités de communications connexes comprennent les suivantes :

  • maintien du site Web de la SFDD;
  • maintien d’un site GCpédia;
  • communiqués de presse;
  • médias sociaux.

Une stratégie de communications stratégiques est élaborée pour chaque stratégie et rapport d’étape liés à la SFDD. Cette stratégie peut comporter les éléments suivants :

  • objectifs et considérations en matière de communications;
  • analyse de l’environnement public;
  • réaction prévue;
  • position et principal message du gouvernement;
  • stratégie d’annonce;
  • outils de communications à l’appui; 
  • méthodes d’évaluation;
  • budget.


Date de modification :