This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Improving water and wastewater treatment in First Nations communities

Target 3.10: Drinking water quality – Increase the percentage of First Nation communities with acceptable water and wastewater facility risk ratings by 2013.

Comparing the results of the 2011 National Assessment with the 2012 Annual Performance Inspections, the risk rating of First Nations water and wastewater systems is improving.

The percentage of water systems: low-risk systems increased from 25.2% to 34.5% and high-risk systems have decreased from 34.8% to 26.7%.

The percentage of wastewater systems: low-risk systems increased from 31.2% to 45.1% and high-risk systems have decreased from 13.3% to 11.2%.

Access to safe drinking water is a crucial requirement for all Canadians. The federal government has taken action to improve access to safe water in First Nation communities and to protect the health of all Canadians by working with the provinces to develop health-based water guidelines. Between 2006 and 2013, the Government of Canada will have invested $2.5 billion in water and wastewater infrastructure in First Nations.

Investments have included the development of new water and wastewater systems, upgrades to existing systems, system repairs, feasibility studies, and other related activities. The government is committed to providing safe, clean drinking water in all First Nations communities, and to ensuring that wastewater services meet acceptable effluent quality standards. The goal of these efforts is to improve the management of water and wastewater systems in First Nations communities.

Between 2009 and 2011, the government conducted the National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems for 571 participating First Nations. These systems were rated based on inspections of their management of water and wastewater systems (e.g., operation, design, operator certification, reporting and source water quality). This assessment was followed up in 2011–2012, when 771 water systems and 519 wastewater treatment systems were inspected in 545 First Nations communities.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following websites: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, Environment Canada, and Health Canada.

Progress towards Target 3.10: First Nation communities with acceptable water and wastewater facility risk ratings

In June 2012, systems assessed as part of the Annual Performance Inspection were compared to those of the 2011 National Assessment. Improvements in ratings were found.

For water systems, the percentage of high-risk systems has decreased from 34.8% to 26.7%, and the percentage of low-risk systems has increased from 25.2% to 34.5%.

For wastewater systems, the percentage of high-risk systems has decreased from 13.3% to 11.2%, and the percentage of low-risk systems has increased from 31.2% to 45.1%.

For more information, please consult the following website: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

 


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Améliorer le traitement de l'eau et des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières nations

Cible 3.10 : Qualité de l'eau potable – Augmenter le pourcentage des collectivités des Premières nations présentant des notations acceptables quant aux risques des réseaux d'assainissement et des réseaux d'eau d'ici 2013.

En comparant les résultats de l'évaluation nationale de 2011 avec les inspections de performance annuelles de 2012, on peut noter une amélioration au niveau du risque des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égouts des Premières Nations.

Le pourcentage d'aqueduc : les systèmes à faible risque sont passés de 25,2 % à 34,5 % et les systèmes à risque élevé sont passés de 34,8 % à 26,7 %.

Le pourcentage de systèmes de traitement des eaux usées : les systèmes à faible risque sont passés de 31,2 % à 45,1 % et les systèmes à risque élevé ont diminué de 13,3 % à 11,2 %.

L'accès à une eau potable saine est une exigence cruciale pour tous les Canadiens. Le gouvernement fédéral a pris des mesures pour améliorer l'accès à un approvisionnement en eau salubre dans les collectivités des Premières nations et pour protéger la santé de tous les Canadiens tout en travaillant avec les provinces en vue d'élaborer des lignes directrices sur l'eau axées sur la santé. Entre 2006 et 2013, le gouvernement du Canada aura investi 2,5 milliards de dollars en systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout dans les Premières nations.

Ces investissements incluent la mise au point de nouveaux systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout, la mise à niveau des systèmes existants, la réparation des systèmes, des études de faisabilité et d'autres activités connexes. Le gouvernement s'est engagé à offrir une eau potable saine et propre dans toutes les collectivités des Premières nations et à s'assurer que les services de traitement des eaux usées respectent les normes acceptables sur la qualité des effluents. L'objectif de ces efforts est d'améliorer la gestion des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout dans les collectivités des Premières nations.

Entre 2009 et 2011, le gouvernement a effectué l'évaluation nationale des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égouts des Premières nations desservant 571 Premières nations participantes. Ces systèmes ont été classés en fonction de l'inspection de leur gestion des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout (p. ex. l'exploitation, la conception, la certification de l'exploitant, la déclaration et la qualité de l'eau de source). Cette évaluation a été suivie jusqu'en 2011-2012, lorsque 771 systèmes d'aqueduc et 519 systèmes d'égout ont été inspectés dans 545 collectivités des Premières nations.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, Environnement Canada,et Santé Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 3.10 : Collectivités des Premières nations présentant des notations acceptables quant aux risques des réseaux d'eau et des réseaux d'assainissement

En juin 2012, les systèmes qui ont été évalués dans le cadre de l'Inspection annuelle de la performance des systèmes ont été comparés à ceux de l'évaluation nationale de 2011. On a noté des améliorations aux niveaux des évaluations.

Pour les systèmes d'eau, le pourcentage de systèmes à haut risque a diminué passant de 34,8 % à 26,7 % et le pourcentage de systèmes à faible risque est passé de 25,2 % à 34,5 %.

Pour les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées, le pourcentage de systèmes à haut risque a diminué de 13,3 % à 11,2 % et le pourcentage de systèmes à faible risque est passé de 31,2 % à 45,1 %.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des Affaires autochtones et Développment du Nord Canada.


Date de modification :