This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Managing electronic waste

Target 8.6: By March 31, 2014, each department will reuse or recycle all surplus electronic and electrical equipment (EEE) in an environmentally sound and secure manner.

Ninety-six percent (96%) of departments have plans in place to dispose of e-waste in an environmentally sound manner.

Every year, the federal government purchases large quantities of electronic and electrical equipment (EEE), including computer, laboratory, medical, security, telecomm, audio-visual and office equipment. Technological advances result in rapid obsolescence of equipment and drive the need to replace EEE. Federal departments and agencies must adopt environmentally sound and secure disposal practices for obsolete equipment.

Twenty-six federal departments (96%) have developed a plan for EEE disposal in accordance with the Guideline for the Environmentally Sound Disposal of Electronic and Electrical Equipment. These plans define roles and responsibilities with respect to disposal within the department, develop processes to track and report on EEE, and outline a departmental engagement strategy and the mechanisms to evaluate the plan's effectiveness. A standing offer has been put in place to facilitate the environmentally sound recycling of federal departments' EEE that is not eligible for reuse or recycling through provincial programs.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Gérer les déchets électroniques

Cible 8.6 : D'ici le 31 mars 2014, chaque ministère réutilisera ou recyclera tous les équipements électroniques et électriques excédentaires de façon écologique et sécuritaire.

Quatre-vingt-seize pour cent (96 %) des ministères ont mis en place des plans pour se débarrasser des déchets électroniques et électriques de manière écologique.

Chaque année, le gouvernement fédéral achète de grandes quantités d'équipement électronique et électrique (EEE), y compris des ordinateurs, du matériel de laboratoire, du matériel médical, du matériel de sécurité, du matériel de télécommunications, du matériel audiovisuel et du matériel de bureau. Les progrès technologiques entraînent l'obsolescence rapide de l'équipement et créent la nécessité de remplacer l'EEE. Les ministères et les organismes fédéraux doivent adopter des pratiques d'élimination écologiques et sécuritaires pour l'équipement obsolète.

Vingt-six ministères fédéraux (96 %) ont élaboré un plan d'élimination des EEE conformément aux lignes directrices sur l'élimination écologique d'équipement électronique et électrique. Ces plans définissent les rôles et les responsabilités du Ministère en ce qui a trait à l'élimination, élaborent des processus pour assurer le suivi et la production de rapports sur les EEE et donnent un aperçu d'une stratégie d'engagement ministériel et des mécanismes utilisés pour évaluer l'efficacité du plan. Une offre à commandes a été mise en place pour faciliter le recyclage écologique des EEE des ministères fédéraux lorsque ces EEE ne peuvent pas être, réutilisés ou recyclés par l'entremise de programmes provinciaux.


Date de modification :