This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Introduction

Minister's message

I am very pleased to table the 2012 Progress Report of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS). This report showcases the Government of Canada's innovative approach to strengthening sustainable development that was established through the Federal Sustainable Development Act.

Based on the first FSDS, tabled in October 2010, this report brings transparency to environmental decision-making by presenting a whole-of-government view of progress being made within four key areas:

  • Addressing climate change and air quality;
  • Maintaining water quality and availability;
  • Protecting nature; and,
  • Shrinking the environmental footprint – Beginning with government.

The story that emerges from the most recent data available about the FSDS goals, targets and implementation strategies is both complex and encouraging. It is complex in that, clearly, the challenges are many and varied as we continue to learn more about ways to build a greener future while growing our economy and improving our quality of life. It is encouraging in that we also find progress being made in a number of key areas, as a result of efforts not only of the federal government, but also of provincial and municipal governments, as well as industry and individual Canadians. This progress includes:

  • Canada has begun to decouple greenhouse gas emissions from economic growth;
  • Canada is currently projecting to be about one half of the way towards meeting its 2020 greenhouse gas emissions reduction target under the Copenhagen Accord:
  • Air quality in Canada is among the best in the world and is improving for a number of pollutants;
  • The Great Lakes' Areas of Concern are being restored;
  • Since 1990, the protected area in Canada has nearly doubled; and,
  • The federal government has made significant strides in greening its operations.

This whole-of-government view of results also represents progress in making federal environmental decision-making more transparent and accountable to Parliament as required by the Federal Sustainable Development Act.

While this report focuses on the work of the Government of Canada, Canada is fortunate that governments at all levels, as well as industry, non-governmental organizations, and First Nations, are also contributing towards greater environmental sustainability. So in tabling this report, I want to thank my provincial and territorial colleagues, who have set their own ambitious programs and have partnered with many of our initiatives. Another thank-you must go to the private sector, non-governmental organizations, and First Nations communities who have worked with us to create new and practical solutions towards environmental sustainability.

Finally, I wish to thank the thousands of Government of Canada employees, throughout the 27 federal departments and agencies, for the passion and commitment they have shown towards helping to build a greener Canada. Our work is only beginning. Through this report, we have a clearer view of the way forward.

The Honourable Peter Kent, P.C., M.P.
Minister of the Environment
Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Foreword

The starting point for this report is the requirement to provide a whole-of-government picture to parliamentarians and Canadians about how the federal government supports environmental sustainability and what progress the federal government has made. This report takes into account the work of 27 federal departments and agencies on some 400 implementation strategies that contribute to 38 targets, which in turn support the 8 goals of the 2010 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS). This report shows how, as of 2012, the Government of Canada has contributed to the broad outcomes of the FSDS goals and targets. The reader is encouraged to explore online sources of information that are referenced throughout the report to obtain further details. These sources include the Departmental Sustainable Development Strategies of specific federal departments and agencies, where additional detail can be found on specific programs and activities, and the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators program, which provides additional information about the indicators included in this report. Together, these sources provide a full picture of the federal government's sustainable development activities.

Executive summary

This 2012 Progress Report of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) highlights the progress of 27 federal departments and agencies towards achieving the goals and targets set out in the first cycle of the FSDS (2010–2013). For parliamentarians and Canadians, it provides a whole-of-government picture of the actions the federal government has taken to support environmental sustainability and highlights what has been accomplished thus far.

This report looks at sustainable development through the lens of the Federal Sustainable Development Act (FSDA), which requires that an FSDS be developed and implemented to make environmental decision-making more transparent and accountable to Parliament.

The 2010 FSDS has improved transparency through stronger planning and reporting that provides:

  • An integrated, whole-of-government picture of actions and results to achieve environmental sustainability;
  • A link between sustainable development planning and reporting and the government's core expenditure planning and reporting system; and,
  • Effective measurement, monitoring and reporting to track and report to Canadians on progress made.

This report provides information on FSDS goals, targets and selected implementation strategies organized by four themes that represent key environmental priorities for Canadians:

  • Addressing climate change and air quality;
  • Maintaining water quality and availability;
  • Protecting nature; and,
  • Shrinking the environmental footprint – Beginning with government.

As the first progress report of its kind under the FSDA, this report is a key milestone showing, at a broad level, that the Government of Canada is making progress both towards greater transparency and towards the FSDS goals and targets.

This report also presents the most up-to-date information available using indicators from the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) program. The information presented includes:

  • Trends over time, such as emission levels of greenhouse gases and air pollutants, the release of pollutants into water, and the sustainability of biological resources, such as wood supply;
  • Current measures of status, such as of major fish stocks, species at risk and availability of water; and,
  • Baselines that have recently been established to track progress in key areas, such as exposures to chemicals.

This report is part of a whole reporting system that provides a comprehensive picture of progress against the FSDS goals and targets. It highlights key actions from selected implementation strategies of FSDS departments and agencies, and directs readers to more detailed information available on departmental websites. Additional links direct the reader to indicator information from the CESI website. Together these provide the reader with the means to review how the federal government works towards environmental sustainability and where more information can be found in specific areas. Through this report and these linkages, the FSDS makes environmental decision-making more transparent and accountable to Parliament.

In keeping with the approach of "plan-do-check-improve," this report also points to challenges and underscores the opportunities to further improve environmental sustainability. This is an important step as the Government of Canada develops the next cycle of the 2013–2016 FSDS and future progress reports.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Introduction

Mot du ministre

Je suis très heureux de déposer le rapport d'étape de 2012 sur la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD). Ce rapport présente l'approche novatrice du gouvernement du Canada, établie en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, visant à renforcer le développement durable.

S'appuyant sur la première SFDD, déposée en octobre 2010, ce rapport apporte de la transparence au processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement en présentant une perspective pangouvernementale des progrès réalisés dans quatre domaines clés :

  • Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air
  • Maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau
  • Protéger la nature
  • Réduire l'empreinte environnementale – En commençant par le gouvernement.

Les conclusions qui émergent des plus récentes données disponibles à propos des objectifs, cibles et stratégies de mise en oeuvre sont à la fois complexes et encourageantes. Complexes parce que, de toute évidence, les défis sont nombreux et variés alors que nous continuons d'en apprendre davantage sur les façons de construire un avenir plus vert tout en assurant la croissance de notre économie et l'amélioration de notre qualité de vie. Mais aussi encourageantes parce que des progrès sont réalisés dans plusieurs domaines clés, à la suite d'efforts non seulement du gouvernement fédéral, mais aussi des gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux, de l'industrie et des Canadiens. Entre autres :

  • Le Canada a commencé à dissocier les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de la croissance économique;
  • À l'heure actuelle, le Canada estime être à peu près à mi-chemin en vue d'atteindre sa cible de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre de 2020 requise en vertu de l'Accord de Copenhague;
  • La qualité de l'air du Canada est parmi les meilleures au monde;
  • Les secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs sont en cours de restauration;
  • Depuis 1990, l'aire protégée au Canada a presque doublé;
  • Le gouvernement fédéral a fait des progrès importants dans l'écologisation de ses activités.

Cette perspective pangouvernementale des résultats fait également état des progrès réalisés pour rendre le processus décisionnel fédéral en matière d'environnement plus transparent et plus responsable devant le Parlement, comme l'exige la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable.

Bien que le rapport mette l'accent sur le travail du gouvernement du Canada, le Canada a tout de même de la chance en ce sens que tous les ordres de gouvernement, de même que l'industrie, les organisations non gouvernementales et les Premières nations, contribuent également à une plus grande durabilité de l'environnement. Ainsi, en déposant ce rapport, je tiens à remercier mes collègues provinciaux et territoriaux, qui ont établi leurs propres programmes ambitieux et collaboré à un grand nombre de nos initiatives. Je tiens également à remercier le secteur privé, les organisations non gouvernementales et les collectivités des Premières nations, qui ont collaboré avec nous afin de créer de nouvelles solutions pratiques contribuant à la durabilité de l'environnement.

Enfin, je tiens à remercier les milliers d'employés du gouvernement du Canada, de l'ensemble des 27 ministères et organismes fédéraux, de la passion et de l'engagement qu'ils ont démontrés envers la création d'un Canada plus écologique. Notre travail ne fait que commencer. Grâce à ce rapport, nous avons une vision plus claire de la voie à suivre.

L'honorable Peter Kent, C.P., M.P.
Ministre de l'environnement
Ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Avant-propos

Le point de départ du rapport est l'obligation de fournir aux parlementaires, aux Canadiennes et Canadiens, un portrait pangouvernemental sur la façon dont le gouvernement fédéral appuie la durabilité de l'environnement et des progrès qu'a accomplis le gouvernement fédéral. Le rapport tient compte du travail de 27 ministères et organismes fédéraux sur quelque 400 stratégies de mise en œuvre, qui contribue à l'atteinte de 38 cibles, ce qui en retour vient appuyer les huit objectifs de la Stratégie fédérale de développement (SFDD) durable de 2010. Le rapport montre comment, depuis 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a contribué aux résultats généraux des objectifs et des cibles de la Stratégie. Le lecteur est invité à explorer les sources d'information en ligne qui sont citées dans tout le rapport afin d'obtenir plus de renseignements. Ces sources comprennent les stratégies ministérielles de développement durable de ministères et d'organismes fédéraux précis, où se trouvent des détails supplémentaires sur des programmes et des activités précises, ainsi que le programme sur les indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement, qui fournit des renseignements supplémentaires sur les indicateurs inclus dans le rapport. Ensemble, ces sources fournissent un aperçu complet des activités de développement durable du gouvernement fédéral.

Résumé

Ce rapport d'étape de 2012 sur la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) met en évidence les progrès des 27 ministères et organismes fédéraux vers l'atteinte des objectifs et des cibles prévus dans le premier cycle de la SFDD (2010-2013). Pour les parlementaires et les Canadiens, il permet d'obtenir un portrait pangouvernemental des mesures que le gouvernement fédéral a prises pour appuyer la durabilité environnementale, en mettant l'accent sur ce qui a été accompli jusqu'à présent.

Le présent rapport porte sur le développement durable du point de vue de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, qui exige que soit élaborée et mise en œuvre une SFDD afin d'améliorer la transparence et la reddition de compte du processus décisionnel environnemental au Parlement. La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable de 2010 est plus transparente grâce à un renforcement de la planification et de la reddition de comptes, qui assure :

  • un portrait et pangouvernemental intégré des mesures et résultats pour atteindre la durabilité environnementale;
  • un lien entre la planification et la production de rapports en matière de développement durable et le système de planification des dépenses de base et de production de rapports du gouvernement du Canada;
  • des mesures, des activités de surveillance et la production de rapports efficaces pour faire le suivi des progrès et en rendre compte à la population canadienne.

Ce rapport fournit des renseignements sur les objectifs, cibles et stratégies de mise en œuvre sélectionnées de la SFDD, organisés en quatre thèmes qui représentent les principales priorités en matière d'environnement pour les Canadiens :

  • relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air;
  • maintenir la qualité de l'eau et la disponibilité de l'eau;
  • protéger la nature;
  • réduire l'empreinte écologique, en commençant par le gouvernement.

En tant que premier rapport d'étape de son genre en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, ce rapport est une étape importante qui montre que le gouvernement du Canada fait des progrès à la fois vers une meilleure transparence et vers l'atteinte des objectifs et cibles de la SFDD.

Ce rapport présente également les renseignements les plus à jour disponibles en utilisant les indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement (ICDE). L'information présentée comprend :

  • les tendances au fil du temps, comme les niveaux des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et des polluants atmosphériques, les rejets de polluants dans l'eau et la durabilité des ressources biologiques, comme l'approvisionnement en bois;
  • les mesures actuelles de statut, telles que les principaux stocks de poissons, les espèces en péril et la disponibilité de l'eau;
  • des références qui ont récemment été établies afin de suivre les progrès réalisés dans les secteurs clés, tels que l'exposition à des produits chimiques.

Ce rapport fait partie d'un ensemble de rapports qui donne un tableau complet des progrès accomplis par rapport aux objectifs et cibles de la SFDD. Il met en évidence les principales mesures provenant de certaines stratégies de mise en œuvre des ministères et organismes de la SFDD, et dirige les lecteurs vers une information plus détaillée disponible sur les sites Web ministériels. D'autres liens dirigent le lecteur vers l'information sur les indicateurs à partir du site Web sur les ICDE. Ensemble ceux-ci fournissent au lecteur les moyens d'examiner la façon dont le gouvernement fédéral travaille vers un environnement durable et fournissant davantage d'informations dans des domaines précis. Par l'entremise de ce rapport et de ces liens, la SFDD rend le processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement plus transparent et fait en sorte qu'on soit tenu d'en rendre compte devant le Parlement. En conformité avec l'approche « planification-exécution-contrôle et amélioration », ce rapport met également en évidence les défis et souligne les possibilités dans le but d'améliorer davantage la durabilité de l'environnement. Il s'agit d'une étape importante à mesure que le gouvernement du Canada élabore le prochain cycle de la SFDD 2013-2016 et les futurs rapports d'étape.


Date de modification :