This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Why it matters

Departments and agencies subject to the Federal Sustainable Development Act have a significant operational presence across Canada, with more than 28,000 buildings owned or leased, over 16,000 on-road vehicles, and more than 200,000 employees. In delivering services to Canadians, these departments generate a considerable environmental footprint as consumers of natural resources and producers of air emissions and waste products.

While federal environmental impacts represent a relatively small portion of Canada's overall footprint, Canadians expect their government to find more sustainable ways to deliver results and lead by example. As custodian, fleet manager, procurer of goods and services, and employer, the government has demonstrated a commitment to greening its operations. The Federal Sustainability Development Strategy (FSDS) includes targets in the areas of green buildings, GHG emissions, electronic waste, printing units, paper consumption, green meetings and green procurement. Public Works and Government Services Canada provides technical and policy support to departments in greening their operations.

Departments have laid the groundwork to reduce their environmental footprint, based upon 11 targets aimed at greening government operations. Departments subject to the Federal Sustainable Development Act have provided further information on their specific implementation strategies in their 2012–2013 Reports on Plans and Priorities, which was the basis for the information contained in this progress report. For more information on the applicability of greening government operation targets, please see Annex D.

For more information please consult the Greening Government Operations supplementary tables to the 2012-2013 Report on Plans and Priorities:

  • Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Canada Border Services Agency
  • Canada Revenue Agency
  • Canadian Heritage
  • Canadian International Development Agency
  • Citizenship and Immigration Canada
  • Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions
  • Environment Canada
  • Finance Canada
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
  • Health Canada
  • Human Resources and Skills Development Canada
  • Industry Canada
  • Justice Canada
  • National Defence
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Parks Canada
  • Public Health Agency of Canada
  • Public Safety Canada
  • Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • Transport Canada
  • Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
  • Veterans Affairs Canada
  • Western Economic Diversification

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pourquoi est-ce important?

Les ministères et organismes assujettis à la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable ont une grande présence opérationnelle à travers le Canada, possédant ou louant plus de 28 000 bâtiments, avec plus de 16 000 véhicules routiers et plus de 200 000 employés. En matière de prestation de services aux Canadiens, ces ministères génèrent une empreinte écologique importante en tant que consommateurs des ressources naturelles et producteurs d'émissions atmosphériques et de déchets.

Bien que les répercussions environnementales fédérales représentent une part relativement petite de l'empreinte globale du Canada, les Canadiens s'attendent à ce que leur gouvernement trouve des manières plus durables de produire des résultats et qu'il donne l'exemple. En tant que gardien, gestionnaire de parc automobiles, procureur de biens et services et employeur, le gouvernement a démontré son engagement à écologiser ses opérations. La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) comprend des objectifs dans les domaines de la construction écologique, des émissions de GES, des déchets électroniques, des unités d'impression, de la consommation de papier, des réunions écologiques et de l'approvisionnement écologique. Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada fournissent une assistance technique et un soutien stratégique aux ministères qui écologisent leurs opérations.

Les ministères ont jeté les bases afin de réduire leur empreinte écologique, en se fondant sur 11 cibles visant l'écologisation des opérations gouvernementales. Les ministères assujettis à la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable ont fourni de plus amples renseignements sur leurs stratégies de mise en œuvre particulières dans leurs rapports sur les plans et les priorités de 2012-2013, qui ont servi de fondement pour les renseignements contenus dans ce rapport d'étape.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les tableaux sur L'écologisation des opérations gouvernementales ajoutés au Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2012-2013 :

  • Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
  • Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada
  • Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique
  • Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
  • Agence du revenu du Canada
  • Patrimoine canadien
  • Agence canadienne de développement international
  • Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada
  • Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec
  • Environnement Canada
  • Finances Canada
  • Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
  • Santé Canada
  • Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada
  • Industrie Canada
  • Justice Canada
  • Défense nationale
  • Ressources naturelles Canada
  • Parcs Canada
  • Agence de la santé publique Canada
  • Sécurité publique Canada
  • Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada
  • Transports Canada
  • Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor de Canada
  • Anciens Combattants Canada
  • Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Date de modification :