This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Enhancing water quality

Goal 3: Water quality – Protect and enhance the quality of water so that it is clean, safe and secure for all Canadians and supports healthy ecosystems.

Progress towards Goal 3: Freshwater quality indicator for the protection of aquatic life (Water Quality Index)

Overall, the national freshwater quality indicator has remained stable between 2003 and 2009.

For the period 2007 to 2009, freshwater quality was rated as excellent or good at 41% of stations, fair at 39% and marginal at 17%.

Overall, the national freshwater quality indicator remained stable between 2003 and 2009. For the period from 2007 to 2009, freshwater quality in rivers in populated regions of Canada was rated excellent or good at 71 monitoring stations (41%), fair at 67 stations (39%), marginal at 30 stations (17%) and poor at 5 stations (3%). Figure 3.4 demonstrates the freshwater quality ratings for the 2007 to 2009 period.

Factors affecting freshwater quality include the amount of pollution released directly into water and the amount of pollution from land and air that reaches water. Human activities, like urban growth, agricultural activities and industrial development, change how water moves across the land and can also directly pollute water. Freshwater quality is also affected by natural changes in rain and snowfall. These precipitation changes vary the amount of water runoff from the land and the pollutants transported to rivers, lakes and reservoirs. For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 3.4: National freshwater quality indicator for 2007 to 2009, Canada

National freshwater quality indicator for 2007 to 2009, Canada

Long description

The bar graph presents the status of freshwater quality for the period 2007 to 2009 at 173 river monitoring stations selected to be representative of 16 drainage regions in Canada where human activities are most intense. The bars show the number of stations where freshwater quality for the protection of aquatic life was rated excellent (9), good (62), fair (67), marginal (30) and poor (5).

Drinking water advisories

The government has been working to expand the adoption of a realtime, secure alerting and surveillance system that allows jurisdictions to track drinking water information, particularly boil-water advisories and their root causes. The system is fully developed and continues to adapt to meet the needs of drinking-water oversight agencies. Work continues with Canadian jurisdictions to support and enhance its use and provide expert assistance in this area. The system respects jurisdictional ownership of the information, but will provide Canada-wide information on the context and numbers of drinking-water advisories on a national basis, and will help characterize the needs of the drinking-water systems and communities affected. To date, six provinces/territories and two First Nations Regions have either fully implemented the system or are currently preparing to do so.

Information for this indicator will be available on the CESI website at a later date.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Améliorer la qualité de l'eau

Objectif 3 : Qualité de l'eau – La qualité de l'eau est protégée et améliorée pour qu'elle soit propre, saine et sécuritaire pour tous les Canadiens et qu'elle soutienne des écosystèmes sains

Progrès vers l'objectif 3 : Indicateur de la qualité de l'eau pour la protection de la vie aquatique (indice de la qualité des eaux)

Dans l'ensemble, l'indicateur de la qualité de l'eau douce à l'échelle nationale est demeuré stable entre 2003 et 2009.

En ce qui concerne la période de 2007 à 2009, la qualité de l'eau douce était considérée comme étant excellente ou bonne dans 41 % des stations, passable dans 39 % et médiocre dans 17 %.

Dans l'ensemble, l'indicateur de la qualité de l'eau douce est resté stable entre 2003 et 2009. Pour la période de 2007 à 2009, la qualité de l'eau douce dans les rivières dans des régions peuplées du Canada a reçu la cote « excellente » ou « bonne » dans 71 stations de surveillance (41 %), « passable » dans 67 stations (39 %), « médiocre » dans 30 stations (17 %) et « mauvaise » dans 5 stations (3 %). La figure 3.4 présente les cotes de qualité de l'eau douce pour la période de 2007 à 2009.

Figure 3.4: Indicateur national de la qualité de l’eau douce de 2007 à 2009, au Canada

Figure 3.4: Indicateur national de la qualité de l’eau douce de 2007 à 2009, au Canada

Description longue

Le diagramme à barres présente l’état de la qualité de l’eau douce pour la période de 2007 à 2009 à 173 stations de suivi des rivières choisies pour représenter les 16 régions de drainage au Canada avec la plus grande densité d’activités humaines. Le diagramme montre le nombre de stations où la qualité de l’eau douce pour la protection de la vie aquatique était cotée excellente (9), bonne (62), satisfaisante (67), douteuse (30) et mauvaise (5).

Parmi les facteurs ayant une incidence sur la qualité de l'eau douce se trouvent la quantité de pollution rejetée directement dans l'eau et la quantité de pollution de l'air et de la terre qui a atteint l'eau. Les activités humaines, comme la croissance urbaine, les activités agricoles et le développement industriel, changent la façon dont l'eau se déplace à travers le sol et peuvent également polluer l'eau directement. La qualité de l'eau douce est également touchée par les variations naturelles de la pluie et de la neige. Ces changements relatifs aux précipitations varient selon la quantité d'eaux de ruissellement provenant de la terre et de polluants transportés vers les rivières, les lacs et les réservoirs. Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Avertissements relatifs à l'eau potable

Le gouvernement s'est efforcé de favoriser l'adoption d'un système de surveillance et d'alertes sécuritaires en temps réel qui permet aux autorités d'effectuer le suivi des renseignements sur l'eau potable, notamment des avertissements de faire bouillir l'eau et leurs causes. Ce système est entièrement développé et continue de s'adapter pour répondre aux besoins des organismes de surveillance de l'eau potable. Les travaux continuent avec les juridictions canadiennes en vue de soutenir et d'améliorer son utilisation et de fournir une aide d'expert dans ce domaine. Ce système respecte la propriété juridictionnelle de l'information, mais il fournira des renseignements à l'échelle du Canada sur le contexte et le nombre d'avis concernant l'eau potable , et contribuera à déterminer les besoins des systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable et des collectivités touchées. Jusqu'à maintenant, six provinces/territoires et deux régions des Premières nations ont entièrement mis en œuvre le système ou sont en train de s'y préparer.

L'information relative à cet indicateur sera disponible sur le site Web des ICDE à une date ultérieure.


Date de modification :