This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Maintaining healthy bird populations

Target 5.2: Terrestrial and aquatic wildlife conservation target for proportion of migratory bird species whose population varies within acceptable bounds of the population goals will be established in 2011, once the Bird Status Database is complete.

On average, Canadian breeding bird populations declined by 12% between 1970 and 2010.

By 2010, bird species spending the entire year in Canada increased in population on average by 68% since 1970. Bird species migrating farther from home generally declined, and the birds migrating the farthest--to South America--showed the most severe declines, with populations declining by 53%. Birds migrating to the United States had 10% declines on average, while birds migrating to Central America declined by 14%.

In addition to SARA, the government administers other Acts of Parliament that support the conservation and protection of wildlife and their habitats. These include the Canada Wildlife Act, the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994, the Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act, and the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

Conservation plans and strategies for 25 Bird Conservation Regions across Canada are currently being developed. In total, 11 conservation strategies have been drafted. These strategies outline habitat requirements, set population objectives, identify threats and recommend actions in support of migratory bird conservation in Canada and internationally. Recommended conservation actions include: law and policy development; land and water management or protection; research and monitoring; education and awareness building; external capacity building; and other species management actions.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following website: Environment Canada.

Progress towards Target 5.2: Trends in Canada’s migratory bird populations (interim indicator)

On average, Canadian breeding bird populations declined by 12% between 1970 and 2010.

By 2010, bird species spending the entire year in Canada increased in population on average by 68% since 1970, as shown by Table 4.1. Bird species migrating farther from home generally declined, and the birds migrating the farthest--to South America--showed the most severe declines, with populations declining by 53%. Birds migrating to the United States had 10% declines on average, while birds migrating to Central America declined by 14%.

For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Table 4.1: Change in Canada's migratory bird population by primary wintering area, 1970–2010
Primary wintering areasPercent changes from 1970 to 2010
Canada+ 68 %
United States– 10 %
Central America– 14 %
South America– 53 %
All species combined–12 %

 


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Maintenir la santé des populations d'oiseaux

Cible 5.2 : Conservation de la faune terrestre et aquatique – Une cible pour la proportion d'espèces d'oiseaux migrateurs dont la population varie dans des limites acceptables des objectifs relatifs à la population sera établie en 2011 après que la base de données sur la situation des oiseaux sera terminée.

En moyenne, les populations d'oiseaux nicheurs canadiens ont diminué de 12 % entre 1970 et 2010.

En 2010, la population d'espèces d'oiseaux passant l'année entière au Canada a augmenté en moyenne de 68 % depuis 1970. La population d'espèces d'oiseaux migrant plus loin a généralement diminué, et les oiseaux migrant le plus loin – jusqu'en Amérique du Sud – présentent les plus importants déclins, leurs populations ayant diminué de 53 %. En moyenne, les oiseaux migrant vers les États-Unis ont diminué de 10 %, tandis que les oiseaux migrant vers l'Amérique centrale ont diminué de 14 %.

En plus de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le gouvernement gère d'autres lois du Parlement qui soutiennent la conservation et la protection d'espèces sauvages et de leurs habitats. Celles-ci comprennent la Loi sur les espèces sauvages au Canada, la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, la Loi sur la protection d'espèces animales ou végétales sauvages et la réglementation de leur commerce international et interprovincial et la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).

Les plans et stratégies de conservation pour les 25 régions de conservation des oiseaux dans tout le Canada sont en cours d'élaboration. Au total, 11 stratégies de conservation ont été rédigées. Ces stratégies donnent un aperçu des exigences en matière d'habitat, fixent des objectifs en matière de population, identifient les menaces, déterminent et recommandent des actions en faveur de la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs au Canada et à l'échelle internationale. Les mesures de conservation recommandées comprennent : l'élaboration de lois et de politiques; la gestion ou la protection des terres et des eaux; la recherche et la surveillance; l'éducation et la sensibilisation; le renforcement des capacités externes et d'autres activités de gestion des espèces.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter le site Web à l'adresse suivante :Environnement Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 5.2 : Tendances des populations d'oiseaux migrateurs au Canada [indicateur provisoire]

En moyenne, les populations d'oiseaux nicheurs canadiens ont diminué de 12 % entre 1970 et 2010.

En 2010, les populations des espèces d'oiseaux passant l'année entière au Canada ont augmenté en moyenne de 68 % depuis 1970, comme le montre la figure 4.3. Les espèces d'oiseaux qui migrent plus loin du pays ont généralement diminué, et les oiseaux qui migrent le plus loin (vers l'Amérique du Sud) présentent les déclins les plus importants, les populations diminuant de 53 %. En moyenne, les oiseaux migrant vers les États-Unis ont diminué de 10 %, tandis que les oiseaux migrant vers l'Amérique centrale ont diminué de 14 %.

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Tableau 4.1 : Changement aux populations d'oiseaux migrateurs du Canada par principale aire d'hivernage, 1970-2010
Principale aire d’hivernageChangement de pourcentage
Canada + 68 %
États-Unis - 10 %
L’Amérique central - 14 %
L’Amérique du Sud - 53 %
L ‘ensemble des oiseaux - 12 %

Date de modification :