This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Reducing impacts of harmful substances in water

Target 3.12: Chemicals management – Reduce risks to Canadians and impacts on the environment posed by harmful substances as a result of decreased environmental concentrations and human exposure to such substances.

From 2007–2010, levels of polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) in fish and sediments were below the Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines in the majority of drainage regions in Canada.

Exceedances in fish have occurred; mainly for pentaBDEs in most drainage regions and for tetraBDE in one drainage region.

Exceedances in sediment have occurred for pentaBDE and decaBDE in 4 out of 10 sample drainage regions.

 

The amount of mercury, cadmium and lead released to water was lower in 2010 than in 2003.

Since 2006, Canada has worked closely with health and environmental groups, consumer groups and industry through the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP) to reduce risks to Canadians and the environment by setting clear priorities for the assessment and management of hundreds of chemicals.

The CMP has made Canada a world leader in chemicals management. One key initiative resulted in the prohibition of the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale and import of products containing harmful substances used in foams for firefighting and in some textiles. The CMP has also implemented requirements for pollution prevention for 4 substances that are used in industrial processes, and has added 22 substances to the Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist.

In October 2011, the government announced more than $506 million in funding over 5 years for the next phase of the CMP, which includes improving product safety, chemical research and completing assessments of 500 substances including those used in plastics. Integrated monitoring is another important aspect of the CMP that over time will yield important information on progress.

In addition, from 2005 to 2011, the government made significant progress in remediating contaminated sites during Phase I of the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan. From an original inventory of 6,200 sites and other sites identified in Phase I, remedial actions were taken on 1400 sites. Contaminated water and soil were treated and hazardous wastes destroyed.

In 2012, the governments of Canada and Alberta announced the Joint Canada-Alberta Implementation Plan for Oil Sands Monitoring, a scientifically rigorous, comprehensive, integrated and transparent environmental monitoring program for the oil sands region. It outlines the path forward to enhance the monitoring of water, air, land and biodiversity that will result in improved knowledge of the state of the region's environment and enhanced understanding of cumulative effects and environmental change. These methods and results will be made public to allow independent scientific assessments and evaluations. The announcement built on monitoring plans released in 2011.

In 1991, the Northern Contaminants Program was established to reduce contaminants in country foods harvested in the North. Since then, global management and monitoring has led to a 40% decrease on average of persistent organic pollutants in northern fish and wildlife. The decrease in these contaminants in fish and wildlife, together with dietary changes, has contributed to an approximately 60% decrease in contaminant exposure among northern populations.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following websites: Environment Canada, Health Canada, and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Progress towards Target 3.12: Concentrations of selected substances (PFOS and PBDE) in water

Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) are a group of chemicals used as flame retardants that are considered dangerous for wildlife. PBDEs are persistent organic pollutants (POPs) such that they build up in living organisms, remain in the environment for long periods after their release and are capable of long-range transport.

PBDEs are considered high-priority chemicals under the CMP. Currently, the use of PBDEs in Canada is declining because most commercial mixtures containing these chemicals have either been voluntarily phased out by manufacturers or are subject to restrictions in Canada. In addition, Canada is also engaged in two international agreements that restrict and ultimately target the elimination of the production, use, trade, release and storage of PBDEs.

Despite these efforts, long-range transport of PBDEs to Canada, potential presence in imported products, widespread use in the past and slow breakdown following release mean that PBDEs still remain in the Canadian environment.

Indicators have been developed to report on PBDEs. The PBDEs in Fish and Sediment indicators report on the occurrence of PBDE concentrations above or below Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines (FEQGs) in both fish tissue and sediment. FEQGs are numerical limits established under the CMP to protect aquatic life. Concentrations below the guidelines are not of concern, while concentrations above guidelines indicate that further evaluation may be required.

From 2007–2010, levels of PBDEs in fish and sediments were below the FEQGs in the majority of drainage regions in Canada. Exceedances in fish have occurred; mainly for pentaBDEs in most drainage regions and for tetraBDE in one drainage region. Exceedances in sediment have occurred for pentaBDE and decaBDE in 4 out of 10 sample drainage regions.

Top of page

PBDEs in fish

Between 2008 and 2010, the government conducted fish sampling in 11 drainage regions, and analysed PBDEs concentrations in fish tissue of 4 sub-groups for which guidelines have been set: triBDE, tetraBDE, pentaBDE and hexaBDE. The analysis found that concentrations of triBDE, tetraBDE and hexaBDE in most drainage regions were below the guidelines. However, levels of tetraBDE in the Great Lakes and pentaBDE in almost all the drainage regions exceeded the guidelines levels.

PBDEs in sediment

Between 2007 and 2010, the government conducted sediment sampling in 10 drainage regions, and analysed sediment concentrations for 6 subgroups of PBDEs that have guidelines. The analysis found that sediment samples from the Pacific coastal, the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence drainage regions had pentaBDE and decaBDE concentrations above FEQGs. Sediment from the Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson drainage region had only total pentaBDE above guideline levels. All other subgroups of PBDEs were below the guidelines for all regions where sampling occurred.

Overall, concentrations of PBDEs show evidence of a decline in environmental media such as fish and sediment. However, due to their persistent nature, susceptibility to long-range transport and presence in imported products, it will take some time to eliminate PBDEs from the Canadian environment.

Through comparison to the FEQGs for PBDEs, data suggest that concentrations of most forms in most regions of Canada present a low potential for adverse effects on the organisms examined in this monitoring program. These results provide an important piece of information to be used by the Government of Canada in evaluating its risk management strategy for PBDEs.

For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Progress towards Target 3.12: Mercury, cadmium and lead released to water

Mercury, cadmium and lead are naturally occurring metals; however, they can also be released directly to water from human activities such as sewage treatment, production of pulp and paper, and processing of metals for products or industrial uses.

As shown in figures 3.12, 3.13, and 3.14, in Canada the amount of mercury, cadmium and lead released to water was lower in 2010 than in 2003. In 2010, the amount released was reduced from 2003 levels by 29% or 112 kg for mercury, by 22% or 5,453 kg for lead and by 46% or 2,275 kg for cadmium.

For the most up-to-date information on these indicator, please visit CESI (Mercury, Cadmium, Lead).

Figure 3.12: Mercury release to water, 2003 to 2010

Mercury release to water, 2003 to 2010

Long description

The line chart shows the amount of mercury released to water in Canada between 2003 and 2010. In 2010, 269 kilograms of mercury was released to water, a decrease of 22%, or 76 kilograms from 2009. Mercury releases in 2010 were 29% (or 112 kilograms) lower than in 2003. The chart also shows a spike in the amount of mercury released to water in 2005, which can be attributed to an unusually high amount reported to have been released by a single wastewater treatment plant.

 

Figure 3.13: Cadmium release to water, 2003 to 2010

Cadmium release to water, 2003 to 2010

Long description

The line chart shows the amount of cadmium released to water in Canada between 2003 and 2010. In 2010, 2,670 kilograms of cadmium was released to water, a decrease of 14% (or 543 kilograms) from the 2009 level. Cadmium releases in 2010 were 46% or 2,275 kilograms lower than in 2003.

Figure 3.14: Lead release to water, 2003 to 2010

Lead release to water, 2003 to 2010

Long description

The line chart shows the amount of lead released to water in Canada between 2003 and 2010. In 2010, the amount of lead released to water was 18,886 kilograms, an increase of 15% or 2,424 kilograms above the 2009 release level. The amount of lead released in 2010 was 22% or 5,453 kilograms lower than in 2003.

 

 


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réduire les effets des substances nocives dans l'eau

Cible 3.12 : Gestion des produits chimiques – Réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et les incidences sur l'environnement que peuvent avoir les substances toxiques sur l'environnement à la suite d'une réduction des concentrations dans l'environnement et de l'exposition humaine à de telles substances.

De 2007 à 2010, les concentrations de polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE) présentes dans les poissons et les sédiments étaient inférieures aux Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement dans la majorité des régions de drainage au Canada.

Des dépassements des Recommandations dans les poissons se sont produits principalement pour le pentaBDE dans la plupart des régions de drainage et dans une région de drainage pour le tétraBDE.

Des dépassements des Recommandations pour les sédiments se sont produits dans le cas du pentaBDE et du décaBDE dans 4 des 10 régions de drainage échantillonnées.

 

La quantité de mercure, de cadmium et de plomb rejetée dans l'eau était plus faible en 2010 qu'en 2003.

Depuis 2006, le Canada a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des groupes de défense de l'environnement et de la santé, avec des groupes de consommateurs et avec l'industrie dans le cadre du Plan la gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC) afin de réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et pour l'environnement en établissant des priorités claires pour l'évaluation et la gestion de centaines de produits chimiques.

Le PGPC a fait du Canada un chef de file mondial en matière de gestion des produits chimiques. Une initiative clé a entraîné l'interdiction de la fabrication, de l'utilisation, de la vente, de la mise en vente et de l'importation de produits qui contiennent des substances nocives utilisées dans les mousses servant à lutter contre les incendies et dans certains textiles. Le PGPC a également mis en œuvre des exigences en matière de prévention de la pollution pour quatre substances qui sont utilisées dans les procédés industriels, et a ajouté 22 substances à la Liste critique des ingrédients dont l'utilisation est restreinte ou interdite dans les cosmétiques.

En octobre 2011, le gouvernement a annoncé un financement de plus de 506 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour la prochaine phase du PGPC, qui comprend notamment l'amélioration de la sécurité des produits, la recherche sur les produits chimiques et l'achèvement des évaluations de 500 substances, y compris celles qui sont utilisées dans les plastiques. La surveillance intégrée est un autre aspect important du PGPC qui, au fil du temps, donnera des renseignements importants sur les progrès réalisés.

En outre, de 2005 à 2011, le gouvernement a fait d'importants progrès en matière d'assainissement des sites contaminés au cours de la phase I du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux. À partir d'un inventaire initial de 6 200 sites et d'autres sites identifiés dans à la phase I, des mesures correctives ont été appliquées sur 1 400 sites. L'eau et le sol contaminés ont été traités et les déchets dangereux détruits.

En 2012, les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Alberta ont annoncé le plan conjoint de mise en œuvre Canada-Alberta de la surveillance des sables bitumineux, un programme de surveillance environnementale rigoureux sur le plan scientifique, exhaustif, intégré et transparent pour la région des sables bitumineux. Il définit la marche à suivre afin d'améliorer la surveillance de la qualité de l'eau, de l'air, de la terre et de la biodiversité qui se traduira par une amélioration des connaissances de l'état de l'environnement dans la région et une meilleure compréhension des effets cumulatifs et des changements environnementaux. Ces méthodes et résultats seront rendus publics afin de pouvoir réaliser des évaluations scientifiques indépendantes. L'annonce concernant les plans de surveillance a été publiée en 2011.

En 1991, le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord a été mis sur pied afin de réduire les contaminants dans les aliments traditionnels récoltés dans le Nord. Depuis, la gestion et la surveillance mondiale ont entraîné une baisse de 40% en moyenne des polluants organiques persistants (POP) dans le poisson et la faune du Nord. La baisse de ces contaminants dans les tissus des poissons et de la faune, ainsi que les changements d'alimentation, a contribué à diminuer d'environ 60% l'exposition aux contaminants chez les populations du Nord.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants : Environnement Canada, Santé Canada et Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 3.12 : Concentrations de certaines substances (sulfonate de perfluorooctane et de polybromodiphényléthers) dans l'eau

Les polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE), un groupe de produits chimiques utilisés en tant qu'ignifugeants, sont considérés comme dangereux pour la faune. Les PBDE sont des polluants organiques persistants (POP) tels qu'ils s'accumulent dans les organismes vivants, restent dans l'environnement pendant de longues périodes après leur rejet et sont capables d'être transportés sur de grandes distances.

Les PBDE constituent une priorité absolue dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC). À l'heure actuelle, l'utilisation des PBDE diminue, car la plupart des mélanges commerciaux contenant ces produits chimiques ont été soit volontairement abandonnés par les fabricants, soit soumis à des restrictions au Canada. En outre, le Canada a également conclu deux ententes internationales qui limitent la production, l'utilisation, le stockage, le commerce et les rejets de PBDE et qui en visent finalement l'élimination.

Malgré ces efforts, le transport à grande distance de PBDE vers le Canada, la présence potentielle de la substance dans les produits importés, l'utilisation répandue de ces substances par le passé et leur lente dégradation après un rejet sont autant de raisons expliquant que les PBDE demeurent encore dans l'environnement canadien.

Des indicateurs ont été élaborés pour rendre compte des PBDE. Les indicateurs de PBDE dans les poissons et les sédiments signalent des concentrations de PBDE supérieures ou inférieures aux Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement (RFQE) dans les tissus des poissons et les sédiments. Ces recommandations sont des limites numériques établies en vertu du PGPC pour protéger la vie aquatique. Les concentrations inférieures aux lignes directrices ne sont pas une source de préoccupation, tandis que les concentrations supérieures aux lignes directrices indiquent qu'une évaluation supplémentaire peut être nécessaire.

De 2007-2010, les concentrations de PBDE dans les poissons et les sédiments étaient inférieures aux Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement dans la majorité des régions de drainage au Canada. Des dépassements ont eu lieu chez les poissons, surtout pour le pentaBDE dans la plupart des régions de drainage et pour le tétraBDE dans une région de drainage. Les dépassements dans les sédiments ont eu lieu pour le pentaBDE et le décaBDE dans 4 régions de drainage sur les 10.

PBDE dans les poissons

Entre 2008 et 2010, le gouvernement a effectué un échantillonnage de poissons dans 11 régions de drainage et analysé les concentrations dans les tissus des poissons de quatre sous-groupes de PBDE pour lesquels des les lignes directrices avaient été établies (triBDE, tétraBDE, pentaBDE et hexaBDE). Les analyses ont montré que, dans la plupart des régions de drainage, les concentrations de triBDE, de tétraBDE et d'hexaBDE étaient inférieures aux recommandations. Toutefois, les niveaux de tétraBDE dans les Grands Lacs et de pentaBDE dans presque toutes les régions de drainage dépassaient les recommandations.

PBDE dans les sédiments

Entre 2007 et 2010, le gouvernement a effectué un échantillonnage de sédiments dans 10 régions de drainage et analysé les concentrations dans les sédiments de six sous-groupes de PBDE qui suivent des lignes directrices. Les analyses ont révélé que les échantillons de sédiments provenant des régions de drainage des zones côtières du Pacifique, des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent, comportaient des concentrations en pentaBDE et en décaBDE supérieures aux Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement. Les sédiments prélevés dans la région de drainage du bas Saskatchewan-Nelson n'étaient supérieurs aux niveaux recommandés que pour les pentaBDE. Tous les autres sous-groupes de PBDE étaient inférieurs aux recommandations pour l'ensemble des régions où l'échantillonnage a été effectué.

Dans l'ensemble, les concentrations de PBDE indiquent un déclin dans les milieux naturels, comme les poissons et les sédiments. Toutefois, en raison de leur nature persistante, de leur sensibilité au transport à grande distance et de leur présence dans les produits importés, il faudra du temps avant d'éliminer les PBDE de l'environnement canadien.

Grâce à des comparaisons avec les recommandations pour les PBDE, les données laissent entendre que les concentrations de la plupart des formes dans la plupart des régions du Canada présentent un faible potentiel d'effets nocifs sur les organismes examinés dans le cadre de ce programme de surveillance. Ces résultats offrent d'importants renseignements que le gouvernement du Canada peut utiliser pour évaluer sa stratégie de gestion du risque pour les PBDE.

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 3.12 : Quantité de mercure, de cadmium et plomb rejetée dans l'eau

Le mercure, le cadmium et le plomb sont des métaux d'origine naturelle; toutefois, ils peuvent aussi être rejetés directement dans l'eau provenant des activités humaines telles que les usines de traitement des eaux usées, la production de pâtes et papiers et la transformation des métaux pour les produits ou les utilisations industrielles.

Tel qu'il est illustré aux figures 3.12, 3.13, 3.14, au Canada, la quantité de mercure, de cadmium et de plomb rejetée dans l'eau était plus faible en 2010 qu'en 2003. En 2010, la quantité rejetée avait diminué de 29 % (soit 112 kg) par rapport aux niveaux de 2003 pour le mercure, de 22 % (soit 5 453 kg) pour le plomb et de 46 % (soit 2 275 kg) pour le cadmium.

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.(mercure, cadmium, plomb).

Figure 3.12 : Rejets de mercure dans l'eau, Canada, 2003 à 2010

Rejets de mercure dans l'eau, Canada, 2003 à 2010

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire simple indique que la quantité de mercure rejetée dans l'eau au Canada entre 2003 et 2010. En 2010, 269 kilogrammes de mercure ont été rejetés dans l'eau, soit une baisse de 22 %, ou de 76 kilogrammes, par rapport à 2009. Les rejets de mercure de 2010 étaient inférieurs à 2003 de 29 %, ou de 112 kilogrammes. Le graphique montre également une augmentation de la quantité de mercure rejetée dans l'eau en 2005, laquelle peut être attribuée à la quantité exceptionnellement importante de rejets déclarés par une seule usine de traitement des eaux usées.

 

Figure 3.13 : Rejets de cadmium dans l'eau, Canada, 2003 à 2010

Rejets de cadmium dans l'eau, Canada, 2003 à 2010

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire simple indique que la quantité de cadmium rejetée dans l'eau au Canada entre 2003 et 2010. En 2010, 2 670 kilogrammes de cadmium ont été rejetés dans l'eau, soit une diminution de 14 % (543 kilogrammes) par rapport à 2009. Les rejets de cadmium en 2010 étaient inférieurs à ceux de 2003 de 46 % ou de 2 275 kilogrammes.

Figure 3.14 : Rejets de plomb dans l'eau, Canada, 2003 à 2010

Rejets de plomb dans l'eau, Canada, 2003 à 2010

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire simple indique que la quantité de plomb rejetée dans l'eau au Canada entre 2003 et 2010. En 2010, la quantité de Pb rejetée dans l'eau était de 18 886 kilogrammes, soit une augmentation de 15 % ou de 2 424 kilogrammes par rapport aux rejets de 2009. La quantité de plomb rejetée dans l'eau en 2010 était inférieure à celle de 2003 de 22 % ou de 5 453 kilogrammes.

 


Date de modification :