This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

9: Reporting strategy

Planning on the Government of Canada’s sustainable development activities will occur through the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) and at the departmental level through the annual Reports on Plans and Priorities (RPPs). Reporting on the results achieved regarding the Government of Canada’s sustainable development activities will occur through the FSDS Progress Report for FSDS goals and targets and Departmental Performance Reports (DPR) for department-specific targets and implementation strategies. A report on the progress of the federal government in achieving the goals and targets is required to be presented to the Minister of the Environment at least once every three years. The minister will table the FSDS [FSDA, 10(2)], and the triennial progress report on the federal government’s progress in implementing the FSDS, in both Houses of Parliament [FSDA, 7(2)].

Table 3 provides an overview of the planning and reporting mechanisms for the FSDS.

Table 3: FSDS planning and reporting mechanisms
Planning and reporting mechanismFSDSFSDS progress reportsRPP, DPR and websites
TimingEvery three years (2010, 2013, 2016, etc.)Within 3 years of the Act enactment and at least every three years thereafterAnnual (starting 2011–2012 RPP)
Lead agencyEnvironment Canada, Sustainable Development Office (PWGSC for Theme IV)Environment Canada, Sustainable Development Office (PWGSC for Theme IV)Departments / agencies
Level of detail

Themes I–IV

  • Goals
  • Targets
  • Implementation strategies

Themes I–III

  • Headline indicators
  • Targets

Theme IV

  • GGO headline indicator
  • FSDS-wide "roll-up" target indicators

Themes I–IV

  • Targets
  • Implementation strategies

Theme IV

  • Targets
  • Indicators

 

9.1 Government-wide

FSDS Progress Report

The first progress report will be completed by June 2011 and will focus on the process and actions taken to implement the FSDS. Subsequent progress reports will track the implementation of the FSDS, the progress related to results achieved, the integration of sustainable development into core planning and reporting processes, and the achievement of results as they pertain to the logic model. To the extent that it is applicable, the SDO will refer to the Office of the Auditor General’s Criteria for the Assessment of the Fairness and Reliability of Performance Information while preparing the progress reports.

For the purpose of reporting in the FSDS Progress Report, performance measures and environmental indicators have been developed. As appropriate, those performance measures and CESI environment indicators described in Appendix 3 will be included in the progress report. One set of performance measures introduced in the Performance Measurement Framework in Appendix 4 measures results against the logic model while the second set of indicators highlighted in Appendix 3 measure progress of the FSDS. Both sets of measurement will tell an important story regarding the federal government’s progress related to sustainable development. Additional detail regarding indicators for goals and targets is outlined below.

9.2 Departmental

FSDS headline and target indicators

The following section provides additional detail regarding the indicators that will be used to measure progress of the FSDS.

Themes I–III

The Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) initiative will work with government departments to track progress of the targets for Themes I–III of the FSDS. Headline indicators will also provide a “state-of-the-environment” overview. Both the headline and target indicators are environmental-based indicators that measure changes in the state of the environment. Four criteria were considered in the selection of these indicators:

  • policy relevance: represents the FSDS goals and targets;
  • utility: meets the needs of decision-makers and the public;
  • soundness: provides consistent and solid methodology, comparable over time; and
  • data availability: uses existing high-quality data with adequate coverage.

CESI will report the results of the environmental indicators for the FSDS goals and targets at minimum once every three years through the progress reports.

Departmental performance measures will be used to track progress towards completion of their respective implementation strategies in Themes I–III.

Theme IV

For Theme IV, a new performance reporting framework (see Appendix 3) has been developed that establishes common performance measures that each FSDS department will report on in their Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports. This marks the first time that departments and agencies will publicly report in a consistent manner on greening government operations.

These standardized performance measures will allow for the aggregation of government-wide greening government operations efforts. 

To support departments and agencies, PWGSC has developed the Guideline to Reporting in the Greening Government Operations Supplementary Table, which provides guidance on the completion of the Greening Government Operations Supplementary Table in annual Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports.   

As some of the Theme IV targets require departments and agencies to develop departmental targets and performance measures, PWGSC has also developed a series of target-specific guidelines that relate to the establishment, scoping and implementation of departmental FSDS greening government operations targets. These guidelines will assist departments in developing targets that are specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and time bound.

9.3 Departmental sustainable development strategies (RPPs/DPRs/websites)

Departments are meeting the legal requirement to develop departmental sustainable development strategies by reporting sustainable development activities related to the FSDS in their RPPs and on departmental websites. Progress will be reported through DPRs and departmental websites. Departments may also choose to report on additional sustainable development activities not captured in the FSDS in their RPPs and DPRs.

  • Section I and II of the RPP / DPR will contain information at the strategic outcome, program activity and key sub activity levels
  • Section III of the RPP / DPR will contain information on Greening Government Operations activities (i.e. FSDS Theme IV, green procurement, purchase of GHG offset credits for major international events).  Specifically, the Greening Government Operations Supplementary Table contains standardized performance measures, as well as a traffic-light based self-assessment which will allow departments, in their DPRs, to summarize their overall progress on achieving each target.
  • Section IV of the RPP / DPR will highlight departmental activities pertaining to Strategic Environmental Assessments (SEAs) and sustainable development activities. If required, more information will be made available on a publicly-accessible departmental website.

The following graphic, used to illustrate FSDS reporting in the 2011–2012 RPP, further describes this breakdown.

Details can be found below.

Federal Sustainable Development Strategy reporting in the 2011–2012 Report on Plans and Priororities, click to enlarge

In support of this reporting approach, EC, TBS and PWGSC provide both written and verbal guidance to departments and agencies. 

  • The TBS releases guidance that is developed in collaboration with SDO and PWGSC regarding the RPP submission requirements.
  • PWGSC released the Guidelines for Reporting in the Greening Government Operations Supplementary Table.
  • EC developed a guidance document entitled Guidance for the department website component of Sustainable Development and Strategic Environmental Assessment reporting in the 2011–2012 RPP.

Each department’s RPP and DPR is housed on the TBS website.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

9 : Stratégie de production de rapports

La planification des activités de développement durable du gouvernement du Canada s’effectuera dans le cadre de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable et au niveau ministériel, dans le cadre de la préparation des rapports sur les plans et priorités annuels. Les résultats des activités de développement durable du gouvernement du Canada seront présentés de la façon suivante : les résultats quant aux objectifs et cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable seront présentés dans les rapports d’étape de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable et les résultats quant aux cibles et aux stratégies de mise en œuvre ministérielles, dans les rapports ministériels sur le rendement. Un rapport sur les progrès du gouvernement fédéral dans la réalisation des objectifs et des cibles doit être présenté au ministre de l'Environnement au moins une fois tous les trois ans. Le ministre doit déposer la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable [LFDD, 10(2)] et le rapport d’étape triennal sur les progrès dans la mise en œuvre de la SFDD devant les deux chambres du Parlement [LFDD, 7(2)].

Le tableau 3, ci-dessous offre un aperçu des mécanismes de planification et de compte rendu pour la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Tableaux 3 : Mécanismes de planification et de production de rapports
Mécanismes de planification et de production de rapportsSFDDRapports d’étape de la SFDDRPP, RMR et sites Web
CalendrierAu moins tous les trois ans (2010, 2013, 2016, etc.)Dans les trois ans qui suivent l’entrée en vigueur de la LFDD et au moins tous les trois ans par la suiteUne fois par année (à compter du RPP 2011-2012)
Organisme responsableEnvironnement Canada, Bureau du développement durable (TPSGC pour le thème IV)Bureau du développement durable d’Environnement Canada [TPSGC pour le thème IV]Ministères et organismes
Niveau de détail

Thèmes I à IV

  • Objectifs
  • Cibles
  • Stratégies de mise en œuvre

Thèmes I à III

  • Indicateurs thématiques
  • Cibles

Thème IV

  • Cibles

Thèmes I-IV

  • Cibles
  • Stratégies de mise en œuvre

Thème IV (thème IV seulement)

  • Cibles
  • Indicateurs

9.1 Stratégie pangouvernementale

Rapport d’étape de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable

Le premier rapport d’étape sera achevé en juin 2011; il mettra l’accent sur les processus utilisés et aux mesures prises pour mettre en œuvre la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. Les rapports d’étape ultérieurs feront le suivi de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie, des progrès dans l’obtention des résultats, de l’intégration du développement durable dans les principaux processus de planification et de production de rapports et dans l’obtention des résultats liés au modèle logique. Si possible, le BDD fera référence aux Critères pour l'évaluation de la justesse et de la fiabilité de l'information sur le rendement du Bureau du vérificateur général l’lors de la rédaction des rapports d’étape.

Des mesures du rendement et des indicateurs environnementaux ont été élaborés aux fins de la production du rapport d’étape de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. Les mesures du rendement et les indicateurs environnementaux ICDE décrits à l’annexe 3 seront au besoin inclus dans le rapport d’étape. Les deux ensembles de mesures fournissent d’importants renseignements au sujet des progrès réalisés par le gouvernement fédéral en matière de développement durable. D’autres renseignements sur les indicateurs des objectifs et cibles figurent ci-après.

9.2 Stratégie ministérielle

Indicateurs thématiques et indicateurs des cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable

La présente section contient d’autres renseignements sur les indicateurs qui seront utilisés pour mesurer les progrès de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Thèmes I à III

Le programme des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement (ICDE) collaborera avec les ministères du gouvernement pour suivre la progression des objectifs et cibles des Thèmes I à III de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. De plus, les indicateurs thématiques fourniront un aperçu de « l’état de l’environnement ». Les indicateurs thématiques et les indicateurs des cibles sont des indicateurs environnementaux qui mesurent les changements dans l’état de l’environnement. On a tenu compte de quatre critères dans le choix des indicateurs :

  • pertinence stratégique : représente les objectifs et cibles de la SFDD;
  • utilité : respecte les besoins des décideurs et du public;
  • intégrité : offre une méthodologie uniforme, solide et comparable au fil du temps;
  • disponibilité des données : utilise les données de haute qualité existantes avec une couverture adéquate.

Le programme des ICDE fera rapport des résultats des indicateurs environnementaux pour les objectifs et cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable au moins une fois aux trois ans par l’entremise du rapport d’étape.

Les ministères élaboreront des mesures de rendement qui serviront à faire le suivi du progrès de leurs stratégies de mise en œuvre respectives pour les Thèmes I à III.

Thème IV

Pour le thème IV, un nouveau cadre de production de rapports sur le rendement (voir l’annexe 3) a été élaboré; il établit des mesures de rendement communes dont chaque ministère participant à la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable rendra compte dans ses rapports sur les plans et priorités et ses rapports ministériels sur le rendement. Ce sera la première fois que les ministères et organismes feront rapport publiquement et de façon uniforme sur l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales.

Ces mesures du rendement uniformisées permettront le regroupement des efforts d’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales à l’échelle pangouvernementale.           

Pour aider les ministères et organismes, TPSGC a élaboré les Lignes directrices concernant la façon de remplir le tableau supplémentaire sur l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales. Ces lignes directrices fournissent une orientation sur la préparation du tableau supplémentaire sur l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales que contiennent les rapports annuels sur les plans et priorités et les rapports ministériels sur le rendement.

Puisque pour atteindre certaines cibles du thème IV, les ministères et organismes doivent établir des cibles ministérielles et des mesures du rendement, TPSGC a également élaboré pour chaque cible une série de lignes directrices qui portent sur l’établissement, la définition de la portée et la mise en œuvre de cibles ministérielles pour l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales dans le cadre de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. Ces lignes directrices aideront les ministères à se fixer des cibles spécifiques, mesurables, atteignables, réalistes et temporelles.

9.3 Stratégies ministérielles de développement durable (RPP et RMR/ site Web)

Les ministères doivent respecter les exigences légales d'élaboration de stratégies ministérielles de développement durable par la production de rapports en matière d'activités pour le développement durable, liées à la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable dans leurs Rapports sur les plans et les priorités, sur leur site Web ministériel. Les progrès feront l'objet de rapports par l'entremise du Rapport ministériel sur le rendement et le site Web ministériel. Les ministères peuvent également choisir de faire rapport d’activités de développement durable additionnelles qui ne sont pas couvertes par la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable dans leurs RPP et leurs RMR.

  • Les sections I et II du RPP et du RMR contiendront de l’information aux niveaux des résultats stratégiques, des activités de programme et des principales sous activités.
  • La section III du RPP et du RMR contiendra de l’information sur les activités d’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales (p. ex. le thème IV de la SFDD, les achats écologiques, l’achat de crédits compensatoires pour les gaz à effet de serre pour de grands événements internationaux). Plus particulièrement, le tableau supplémentaire sur l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales contient des mesures du rendement normalisées ainsi qu’une auto-évaluation axée sur des indicateurs de feux de circulation qui permet aux ministères de résumer dans leurs RMR leurs progrès généraux dans l’atteinte de chaque cible.
  • L’article IV du RPP et du RMR soulignera les activités ministérielles liées aux évaluations environnementales stratégiques (EES) et les activités de développement durable. Au besoin, d’autres données seront communiquées sur un site Web ministériel accessible au public.

Le graphique suivant, utilisé pour illustrer le processus de production de rapports de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable dans le RPP 2011-2012, montre cette fragmentation des comptes rendus.

Vous trouverez des informations détaillées ci-dessous.

Le graphique illustrer le processus de production de rapports de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable dans le RPP 2011-2012, montre cette fragmentation des comptes rendus

EC, le SCT et TPSGC fournissent aux ministères et organismes des lignes directrices écrites et verbales à l’appui de cette méthode de production de rapports.

  • Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor publie des lignes directrices rédigées en collaboration avec le BDD et TPSGC au sujet des exigences en matière de présentation du RPP.
  • TPSGC a publié les Lignes directrices concernant la façon de remplir le tableau supplémentaire sur l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales.
  • EC a élaboré des directives sur le volet site Web ministériel du processus de communication de données sur le développement durable et l’évaluation environnementale stratégique dans le RPP 2011-2012.

Le RPP et le RMR de chaque ministère sont hébergés sur le site Web du SCT.

Date de modification :