Skip booklet index and go to page content

2012-2013 Annual Report to Parliament - Privacy Act

Policies, Guidelines and Procedures

Publicly Accessible Information and Inquiry Points

Info Source is a series of publications containing information on the Government of Canada and on the government’s data collection activities. Info Source is intended to help the public access government information and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act and Access to Information Act.

Each year, the ATIP Secretariat prepares updates on Environment Canada’s activities and information holdings for publication in Info Source. During 2012–2013, Environment Canada continued to revise its Info Source chapter based on the Department’s program activity architecture. Environment Canada also participated in the Treasury Board Secretariat’s Decentralized Publishing Project and, as a result, published its Info Source chapter on its website in September 2012.

Environment Canada’s comprehensive website provides information on the Department’s policies, its organizational structure and the means to contact Department officials. In accordance with the federal government’s policy of proactive disclosure, the Department’s website also allows access to internal evaluations and audits, as well as information on hospitality expenses, contracts and grants.

Environment Canada has an Access to Information and Privacy Web Page that provides background information on both the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It also contains a Frequently Asked Questions section and links to access to information request forms, personal information request forms and summaries of completed access to information requests.

Environment Canada’s privacy policy framework was approved in November 2012. The ATIP Secretariat is continuing to develop additional procedural guidance documents to assist departmental employees in managing personal information. Once completed, the internal guidance documents will be made accessible to all Environment Canada employees through an ECollab site that was developed during the 2012–2013 fiscal year to share Environment Canada’s privacy policy framework documents.

In order to facilitate public access to information and to comply with the Act, the Environment Canada Library has been designated a public reading room. The Library is located on the 6th floor of the Place Vincent Massey Annex, 351 St. Joseph Boulevard, Gatineau, Quebec.

Data Sharing Activities

The Department did not undertake any new internal or external data sharing activities in 2012–2013.

Exempt Personal Information Banks

Environment Canada has no exempt Personal Information Banks.

Privacy Impact Assessments

To fulfill its mandate, some of Environment Canada’s responsibilities require the collection, use and disclosure of personal information. As a trusted custodian of this information, the Department uses Privacy Impact Assessments (PIAs) in accordance with Treasury Board policy, as a risk management tool. Although Environment Canada did not initiate any Privacy Impact Assessments during the reporting period, the ATIP Secretariat, regularly provides advice to departmental employees on privacy matters.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

2012-2013 – Rapport annuel au Parlement – Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Politiques, lignes directrices et procédures

Centres d'information et de demande de renseignements accessibles au public

Info Source est une série de publications contenant de l'information sur le gouvernement du Canada et sur ses activités de collecte de données. Info Source a pour but d’aider le grand public à accéder à l’information gouvernementale et à exercer les droits que lui confèrent la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Chaque année, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP prépare des mises à jour des activités et des fonds de renseignements d’Environnement Canada et les publie dans Info Source. En 2012-2013, Environnement Canada a poursuivi la révision de son chapitre Info Source en fonction de l’architecture des activités de programmes du Ministère. Environnement Canada a également pris part au projet de publication décentralisée du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, ce qui lui a permis de publier son chapitre Info Source sur son site Web en septembre 2012.

Sur son site Web, Environnement Canada présente des renseignements exhaustifs sur ses politiques et sa structure organisationnelle ainsi que sur les moyens de communiquer avec ses représentants. En accord avec la politique du gouvernement fédéral sur la divulgation proactive, le site Web du Ministère donne également accès aux évaluations et aux vérifications internes ainsi qu'aux renseignements sur les frais d'accueil, les contrats et les subventions.

Environnement Canada dispose, sur son site Web, d’une page sur l’accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels, où sont présentés des renseignements généraux sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Elle contient également une foire aux questions et des liens vers les formulaires de demande d’accès à l'information, les formulaires de demande de renseignements personnels et un résumé des demandes d’accès à l’information traitées.

La politique de protection des renseignements personnels d’Environnement Canada a été approuvée en novembre 2012. Le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP est en train d’élaborer de nouveaux documents de procédure pour aider les employés du Ministère à gérer les renseignements personnels.  Lorsque ces lignes directrices internes seront prêtes, elles seront mises à la disposition de tous les employés d’Environnement Canada sur un site ECollab qui a été mis au point au cours de l’exercice 2012‑2013 afin de partager tous les documents se rapportant à la politique de protection des renseignements personnels d’Environnement Canada.

Pour faciliter l’accès du public à l’information et pour respecter les dispositions de la loi, la bibliothèque d’Environnement Canada a été désignée comme salle de lecture publique. La bibliothèque est située au deuxième étage de l'immeuble Place Vincent-Massey, au 351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, Gatineau (Québec).

Activités de partage de données

En 2012-2013, le Ministère n'a entrepris aucune nouvelle activité de partage de données, ni à l'interne ni à l'externe.

Fichiers de renseignements personnels inconsultables

Environnement Canada ne détient pas de fichiers de renseignements personnels inconsultables.

Évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Pour s’acquitter de son mandat, Environnement Canada doit exercer certaines responsabilités qui nécessitent la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication de renseignements personnels. À  titre de gardien de ces renseignements, le Ministère utilise les évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée comme instrument de gestion des risques, conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor. Même si Environnement Canada n’a pas effectué d’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée pendant la période de référence, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP fournit régulièrement des conseils aux employés en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

Date de modification :