Skip booklet index and go to page content

2013-2014 - Annual Report to Parliament - Access to Information Act

Interpretation of the Statistical Report

Environment Canada’s Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act is included in Appendix A of this report.

Between April 1, 2013 and March 31, 2014, Environment Canada received 1459 requests under the Access to Information Act. There were 188 requests carried forward from the 2012–2013 reporting period, for a total of 1647 active requests in the 2013–2014 reporting period. In 2013–2014, a total of 1424 requests were completed, and 223 were carried forward to the next reporting period.

The following is a percentage breakdown of the sources of access to information requests received in 2013–2014:
SourceNumberPercentage
Academia161%
Business87560%
Media19113%
Organization14510%
Public23216%
Total1,459100%

Sources of Access to Information Requests

Long Description of Figure 1

Sources of Access to Information Requests – 2013-2014

  • Academia – 1%
  • Business – 60%
  • Media – 13%
  • Organization – 10%
  • Public –16%

Top of Page


During the 2013–2014 reporting period, 193 requests were abandoned by applicants for various reasons, including the requirement to pay additional fees.

There were 791 requests for information for which there was no record. Environment Canada receives a number of requests each year for documents pertaining to the environmental compliance of properties. Most of these no-record requests consisted of environmental compliance requests where no records were located concerning the properties in question.

In 2013–2014, Environment Canada received 1459 requests under the Access to Information Act. This represents a 20% decrease over the previous reporting period. With a decrease in the number of requests received during the reporting period, there was a corresponding decrease in the number of requests completed. Although the number of requests processed during the reporting period decreased, the volume of responsive records associated with the processing of those requests has significantly increased.

The following graph displays the number of access to information requests that were received by the ATIP Secretariat from 2008–2009 to 2013–2014.

Access Requests Received

Long Description of Figure 2

Access Requests Received – 2008-2014

  • 2008-2009 – 892 requests
  • 2009-2010 – 890 requests
  • 2010-2011 – 1,128 requests
  • 2011-2012 – 1,421 requests
  • 2012-2013 – 1,827 requests
  • 2013-2014 – 1,459 requests

Top of Page


This next graph displays the number of access to information requests that were closed by the ATIP Secretariat from 2008–2009 to 2013–2014.

Access Requests Closed

Long Description of Figure 3

Access Requests Closed – 2008-2014

  • 2008-2009 – 914 requests
  • 2009-2010 – 929 requests
  • 2010-2011 – 1,171 requests
  • 2011-2012 – 1,425 requests
  • 2012-2013 – 1,810 requests
  • 2013-2014 – 1,424 requests

Top of Page


In the 2013–2014 reporting period, 185,385 pages of records were retrieved in response to Access to Information requests. This represents an increase of 54% over the 2012–2013 reporting period.

The following graph displays the number of pages processed by the ATIP Secretariat in processing access to information requests under the Access to Information Act from 2008–2009 to 2013–2014.

Pages Processed for Access Requests

Long Description of Figure 4

Pages Processed for Access Requests – 2008-2014

  • 2008-2009 – 134,078 pages
  • 2009-2010 – 169,241 pages
  • 2010-2011 – 163,273 pages
  • 2011-2012 – 164,777 pages
  • 2012-2013 – 120,741 pages
  • 2013-2014 – 185,385 pages

Top of Page


Exemptions and Exclusions

The Access to Information Act prescribes a number of exemptions and exclusions that allow or require the Department to refuse to disclose certain types of information. The two most common exemptions invoked by Environment Canada in 2013–2014 were for personal information (section 19) and government operations (section 21). In 2013–2014, exemptions and/or exclusions were cited in 21% of the completed requests.

Top of Page


Time Limitations

During the 2013–2014 reporting period, 1074 (75%) of the completed requests were processed within the initial 30-day period. This included 824 requests completed in the first 15 days, and 250 requests completed between 16 and 30 days.

The following graph displays the breakdown of completion times for requests completed during the 2013–2014 reporting period.

Completion Time for Access Requests

Long Description of Figure 5

Completion Time for Access Requests – 2013-2014

  • 1-15 Days – 58%
  • 16-30 Days – 18%
  • 31-60 Days – 5%
  • 61-120 Days – 7%
  • 121-180 Days – 4%
  • 181-365 Days – 6%
  • 365+ Days – 2%

Top of Page


A total of 176 requests were completed beyond the legislated deadline. Of the 176 late requests, 74 requests were late as a result of the need to conduct external consultations.

In 2013-2014, Environment Canada undertook 39 consultations to confirm cabinet confidence exclusions.

Twenty-three (23) consultations were conducted with the Privy Council Office, Legislation and House Planning to confirm the exclusion of cabinet confidences.

As a result of changes to procedures for the confirmation of cabinet confidence exclusions, Environment Canada’s Legal Services Unit began providing advice on the exclusion of cabinet confidences in July 2013. 16 consultations were conducted with Environment Canada’s Legal Services during the reporting period.

Top of Page


Extension of Time Limits

Section 9 of the Access to Information Act allows government institutions to extend the deadline for responding to a request if the request requires the institution to search a large number of records, to consult with other government institutions, or to communicate with third parties.

In 2013–2014, 185 requests required extensions of 30 days or less, 192 required an extension of between 31 and 60 days, 94 required an extension of between 61 to 120 days, and 5 required an extension of 121 to 180 days. No extensions of more than 180 days were taken. In total, 476 requests required an extension past the original deadline of 30 days. The main reason for extensions was due to the volume of records involved in completing requests or the need to conduct a large search.

Top of Page


Complexity of Files

A number of files were considered complex for various reasons. Of the 1424 requests closed during the 2013–2014 reporting period, 313 were considered to be complex. There were 244 requests that were complex due to the need to conduct consultations, 54 requests were considered complex due to the assessment of fees, 7 requests required legal advice, and 8 requests were classified in the “other” category. The “other” category consists of files containing high-profile subject matter, records held in a region or another country, or records that are in a language other than French or English.

Top of Page


Consultations

As an integral part of departmental processing procedures, other government institutions are consulted if access requests contain issues of interest to them. Although formal consultations are undertaken in writing, additional discussions between ATIP offices are initiated as required in order to facilitate the completion of each case. Consultations are also regularly undertaken with third parties and other levels of government.

In 2013–2014, Environment Canada received 175 access to information consultations from other federal government institutions and 16 consultations from other organizations for a total of 191 consultations received. This constitutes a 29% decrease relative to the previous reporting period. There were 26 access consultations outstanding from the previous reporting period. During the 2013–2014 reporting period, 204 access consultations were completed which is a decrease of 20% compared with the previous reporting period. Thirteen (13) access consultations were carried forward to the 2014-2015 reporting period.

The following graph displays the number of access to information consultations that were received by the ATIP Secretariat from 2008–2009 to 2013–2014.

Access Consultations Received

Long Description of Figure 6

Access Consultations Received – 2008-2014

  • 2008-2009 – 186 requests
  • 2009-2010 – 117 requests
  • 2010-2011 – 159 requests
  • 2011-2012 – 227 requests
  • 2012-2013 – 270 requests
  • 2013-2014 – 191 requests

Top of Page


This next graph displays the number of access to information consultations that were closed by the ATIP Secretariat from 2008–2009 to 2013–2014.

Access Consultations Closed

Long Description of Figure 7

Access Consultations Closed – 2008-2014

  • 2008-2009 – 209 requests
  • 2009-2010 – 134 requests
  • 2010-2011 – 158 requests
  • 2011-2012 – 219 requests
  • 2012-2013 – 256 requests
  • 2013-2014 – 204 requests

Top of Page


The number of pages processed in response to access to information consultations during the 2013–2014 reporting period decreased over the 2012–2013 reporting period: 10,584 pages were processed for consultations compared to 14,768 pages during the previous period. This is a decrease of 28%.

The following graph displays the number of pages processed by the ATIP Secretariat in response to access to information consultations received from 2008–2009 to 2013–2014.

Pages Processed for Access Consultations

Long Description of Figure 8

Pages Processed for Access Consultations – 2008-2014

  • 2008-2009 – 6,959 pages
  • 2009-2010 – 7,563 pages
  • 2010-2011 – 6,367 pages
  • 2011-2012 – 12,671 pages
  • 2012-2013 – 14,768 pages
  • 2013-2014 – 10,584 pages

During the 2013–2014 reporting period, 105 (51%) of the completed access consultations were processed within the initial 30-day period. This included 54 completed in the first 15 days, and 51 completed between 16 and 30 days.

Top of Page


Informal Requests

Throughout the year, the ATIP Secretariat provides advice to departmental staff with respect to informal requests, parliamentary questions and the review of draft audit and evaluation reports.

A summary list of completed Access to Information requests is published on Environment Canada’s website on a monthly basis. Between April 1, 2013 and March 31, 2014, Environment Canada received 61 informal Access to Information requests for previously released Access to Information packages. In addition, Environment Canada completed 5 informal requests carried forward from the 2012–2013 reporting period, for a total of 66 informal requests processed. Four (4) informal requests were carried forward to 2014-2015.

Top of Page


Fees

In the 2013–2014 reporting period, total fees of $9,075 were collected for the processing of 1422 requests. This consisted of search fees in the amount of $1,780 and application fees totalling $7,295. No other fees were charged for production, preparation or reproduction.

In accordance with Treasury Board Secretariat guidelines, Environment Canada waived fees that individually amounted to $25 or less, although no waiver is granted for the initial $5 application fee.

Top of Page


Costs

The costs involved in administering the Access to Information Act were $1,067,150 for salaries and overtime and $251,736 for goods and services ($186,408 for professional service contracts and $65,328 for other costs). This brings the total costs to $1,318,886.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

2013-2014 Rapport annuel au Parlement - Loi sur l’accès à l'information

Interprétation du rapport statistique

Le rapport statistique d’Environnement Canada concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information figure à l’annexe A du présent rapport.

Entre le 1er avril 2013 et le 31 mars 2014, Environnement Canada a reçu 1 459 demandes en vertu de Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Puisque 188 demandes avaient été reportées de la période de référence 2012-2013, un total de 1 647 demandes étaient actives au cours de la période de référence 2013-2014. En 2013-2014, un total de 1 424 demandes a été traité et 223 demandes ont été reportées à la période de référence suivante.

Le tableau suivant indique la répartition en pourcentage, selon la source, des demandes d’accès à l’information reçues en 2013-2014 :
SourceNombrePourcentage
Universités161 %
Entreprises87560 %
Médias19113 %
Organisations14510 %
Public23216 %
Total1 459100 %

Demandes reçues en 2013-2014, selon la source

Description longue de la figure 1

Demandes reçues en 2013-2014, selon la source

  • Universités – 1 %
  • Entreprises – 6 0%
  • Médias – 13 %
  • Organisations – 10 %
  • Public –16 %

Haut de la page


Pendant la période de référence 2013-2014, 193 demandes ont été abandonnées par les demandeurs pour diverses raisons, dont l'exigence d'acquitter des frais supplémentaires.

On dénombre 791 demandes concernant des renseignements pour lesquels il n'existait pas de document. Chaque année, Environnement Canada reçoit un certain nombre de demandes portant sur la conformité environnementale de propriétés. La plupart des demandes pour lesquelles il n’existait pas de document concernaient des demandes sur la conformité environnementale de propriétés, à l’égard desquelles aucun document n’aété trouvé relativement aux propriétés en question.

En 2013-2014, Environnement Canada a reçu 1 459 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cela représente une diminution de 20 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. Avec cette diminution du nombre de demandes reçues pendant la période visée par le rapport, il y a eu une diminution correspondante du nombre de demandes traitées. Bien que le nombre de demandes traitées durant la période visée par le rapport ait diminué, le volume de documents pertinents au traitement de ces demandes a augmenté considérablement.

Le graphique suivant présente le nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été reçues par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre 2008-2009 et 2013-2014.

Demandes reçues

Description longue de la figure 2

Demandes reçues de 2008 à 2014

  • 2008-2009 – 892 demandes
  • 2009-2010 – 890 demandes
  • 2010-2011 – 1 128 demandes
  • 2011-2012 – 1 421 demandes
  • 2012-2013 – 1 827 demandes
  • 2013-2014 – 1 459 demandes

Haut de la page


Le graphique qui suit illustre le nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été complétées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre 2008-2009 et 2013-2014.

Demandes complétées

Description longue de la figure 3

Demandes complétées de 2008 à 2014

  • 2008-2009 – 914 demandes
  • 2009-2010 – 929 demandes
  • 2010-2011 – 1 171 demandes
  • 2011-2012 – 1 425 demandes
  • 2012-2013 – 1 810 demandes
  • 2013-2014 – 1 424 demandes

Haut de la page


Au cours de la périodede référence 2013-2014, 185 385 pages de documents ont été extraites à la suite de demandes d’accès à d’information. Cela représente une augmentation de 54 % par rapport à la périodede référence 2012-2013.

Le graphique qui suit indique le nombre de pages traitées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP aux fins du traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information relatives à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, entre 2008-2009 et 2013-2014.

Pages traitées

Description longue de la figure 4

Pages traitées de 2008 à 2014

  • 2008-2009 – 134 078 pages
  • 2009-2010 – 169 241 pages
  • 2010-2011 – 163 273 pages
  • 2011-2012 – 164 777 pages
  • 2012-2013 – 120 741 pages
  • 2013-2014 – 185 385 pages

Haut de la page


Exceptions et exclusions

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information prévoit un certain nombre d'exceptions et d'exclusions en vertu desquelles le Ministère peut refuser, ou est tenu de refuser, la communication de certains types de renseignements. Les deux exceptions les plus couramment invoquées par Environnement Canada en 2013-2014 concernaient des renseignements personnels (article 19) et les activités du gouvernement (article 21). En 2013-2014, des exceptions ou des exclusionsont été invoquées ou citées dans 21 % des demandes traitées.

Haut de la page


Restrictions liées aux délais prescrits

Durant la période de référence 2013-2014, 1 074 (75 %) des demandes traitées l’ont été durant la période initiale de 30 jours, dont 824 au cours des 15 premiers jours et 250 entre 16 et 30 jours.

Le graphique ci-dessous illustre la répartition du délai de traitement des demandes pendant la période de référence 2013-2014.

Délai de traitement des demandes d’accès

Description longue de la figure 5

Délai de traitement des demandes d’accès en 2013-2014

  • 1-15 jours – 58 %
  • 16-30 jours – 18 %
  • 31-60 jours – 5 %
  • 61-120 jours – 7 %
  • 121-180 jours – 4 %
  • 181-365 jours – 6 %
  • Plus de 365 jours – 2 %

Haut de la page


Dans l'ensemble, le délai de traitement prévu par la loi a été dépassé dans le cas de 176 demandes. De ce nombre, 74 ont été traitées en retard parce qu’il a fallu consulter des tiers.

En 2013-2014, Environnement Canada a entrepris 39 consultations pour confirmer les exclusions liées aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet.

Vingt-trois (23) consultations ont été soumises au Secrétariat de la législation et de la planification parlementaire du Bureau du Conseil privé pour confirmer l’exclusion des documents confidentiels du Cabinet.

À la suite des changements apportés aux procédures pour la confirmation des exclusions liées aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet, l’unité des services juridiques d’Environnement Canada a commencé à fournir des conseils à l’égard de l’exclusion des documents confidentiels du Cabinet en juillet 2013. Un total de 16 consultations ont été soumises aux services juridiques d’Environnement Canada durant la période de référence.

Haut de la page


Prorogation de délai

L’article 9 dela Loi sur l’accès à l’information permet aux institutions gouvernementales de proroger le délai prévu pour répondre à une demande si l’institution doit faire des recherches dans un grand nombre de documents, consulter d’autres institutions gouvernementales ou communiquer avec des tiers.

En 2013-2014, 185 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 30 jours ou moins, 192 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 31 à 60 jours, 94 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 61 à 120 jours et 5 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 121 jours à 180 jours. Aucune prorogation de plus de 180 jours n’a été prise. Au total, 476 demandes ont donc requis une extension au-delà du délai original de 30 jours. Les raisons principales des prorogations étaient le volume de documents nécessitant une consultation et la nécessité d’effectuer une vaste recherche.

Haut de la page


Complexité des dossiers

Un certain nombre de dossiers sont jugés complexes pour différentes raisons. Sur les 1 424 demandes traitées pendant la période de référence 2013-2014, 313 ont été qualifiées de complexes. Parmi elles, 244 l'ont été à cause de la nécessitéde consulter des tiers, 54 à cause de l'évaluation des frais, 7 ont nécessité des avis juridiques et 8 ont été classées dans la catégorie « autre ». Cette dernière se compose des dossiers qui portent sur un sujet à haute visibilité, des dossiers conservés dans une région ou un autre pays, ou des dossiers dans une autre langue que le français ou l’anglais.

Haut de la page


Consultations

Dans le cadre des procédures ministérielles du traitement des demandes, le Ministère consulte d’autres institutions gouvernementales lorsque des demandes d’accès à l’information comprennent des aspects qui les concernent. Bien que les consultations officielles soient effectuées par écrit, des discussions supplémentaires entre les bureaux de l’AIPRP ont lieu afin de faciliter le traitement de chaque cas, si nécessaire. Des consultations sont aussi menées régulièrement avec des tiers et d’autres ordres de gouvernement.

En 2013-2014, Environnement Canada a reçu 175 demandes de consultation liées à l’accès à l’information provenant d’autres institutions du gouvernement fédéral et 16 demandes de consultation d’autres organismes, soit un total de 191 demandes de consultation reçues. Il s’agit d’une diminution de 29 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. Au total, 26 demandes de consultation provenaient dela période de référence précédente. En outre, 204 consultations liées à des demandes d'accès à l'information ont été traitées au cours de la période de référence 2013-2014, soit une diminution de 20 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. Treize (13) consultations liées à des demandes d’accès à l’information ont été reportées à la prochaine périodede référence.

Le graphique qui suit illustre le nombre de demandes de consultation liées à l'accès à l'information reçues par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre 2008-2009 et 2013-2014.

Consultations reçues liées à l’accès à l’information

Description longue de la figure 6

Consultations reçues liées à l’accès à l’information – 2008-2014

  • 2008-2009 – 186 demandes
  • 2009-2010 – 117 demandes
  • 2010-2011 – 159 demandes
  • 2011-2012 – 227 demandes
  • 2012-2013 – 270 demandes
  • 2013-2014 – 191 demandes

Haut de la page


Le graphique suivant présente le nombre de consultations liées aux demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été complétées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre 2008-2009 et 2013-2014.

Consultations complétées liées à l’accès à l’information

Description longue de la figure 7

Consultations complétées liées à l’accès à l’information – 2008-2014

  • 2008-2009 – 209 demandes
  • 2009-2010 – 134 demandes
  • 2010-2011 – 158 demandes
  • 2011-2012 – 219 demandes
  • 2012-2013 – 256 demandes
  • 2013-2014 – 204 demandes

Haut de la page


Le nombre de pages traitées en réponse aux demandes de consultation liées à l'accès à l'information pendant la période de référence 2013-2014 a diminué par rapport à la période de 2012-2013 : 10 584 pages ont été traitées aux fins des consultations, comparativement à 14 768 pendant la période précédente, soit une diminution de 28 %.

Le graphique qui suit montre le nombre de pages traitées parle Secrétariat de l'AIPRP en réponse aux demandes de consultations liées à l'accès à l'information reçues entre 2008-2009 et 2013-2014.

Pages traitées pour les consultations liées à l’accès à l’information

Description longue de la figure 8

Pages traitées pour les consultations liées à l’accès à l’information de 2008 à 2014

  • 2008-2009 – 6 959 pages
  • 2009-2010 – 7 563 pages
  • 2010-2011 – 6 367 pages
  • 2011-2012 – 12 671 pages
  • 2012-2013 – 14 768 pages
  • 2013-2014 – 10 584 pages

Pendant la période de référence 2013-2014, 105 (51 %) des consultations complétées l’ont été pendant la période initiale de 30 jours, dont 54 au cours des 15 premiers jours et 51 entre 16 et 30 jours.

Haut de la page


Demandes informelles

Tout au long de l’année, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP offre des conseils au personnel du Ministère quant aux demandes informelles, aux questions du Parlement et à l’examen des rapports préliminaires de vérification et d’évaluation.

Une liste sommaire des demandes d’accès à l’information traitées est publiée sur le site Web d’Environnement Canada chaque mois. Entre le 1er avril 2013 et le 31 mars 2014, Environnement Canada a reçu 61 demandes informelles d’accès à l’information pour des documents déjà divulgués en vertu de la Loi. En outre, Environnement Canada a traité cinq demandes informelles reportées de la période de référence de 2012-2013, soit un total de 66 demandes informelles traitées. Quatre demandes informelles ont été reportées à la périodede 2014-2015.

Haut de la page


Frais

Au cours de la période de référence 2013-2014, des frais s'élevant à 9 075 $ ont été perçus pour le traitement de 1 422 demandes. Ce montant comprend des frais de recherche de 1 780 $ et des frais de demande de 7 295 $. Il n’ya pas eu d’autres frais pour la production, la préparation ou la reproduction.

En conformité avec les lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Environnement Canada a renoncé à facturer les frais qui n'excédaient pas 25 $, mais aucune dispense n'est accordée pour les frais de demande initiaux de 5 $.

Haut de la page


Coûts

Les coûts d’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ont été de 1 067 150 $ pour les salaires et les heures supplémentaires et de 251 736 $ pour les biens et services (186 408 $ pour les marchés de services professionnels et 65 328 $ pour les autres frais), soit un total de 1 318 886 $.

Date de modification :