Skip booklet index and go to page content

2013-2014 - Annual Report to Parliament - Access to Information Act

Policies, Guidelines, Procedures and Initiative

Policy Framework

Environment Canada’s access to information policy framework was approved in November 2012. The ATIP Secretariat is continuing to develop additional procedural guidance documents to assist departmental employees in responding to requests under the Access to Information Act.

In 2013-2014, Environment Canada developed an Internal Procedure for the Suspected Obstruction of the Right of Access. The internal guidance documents are accessible to all Environment Canada employees through the Department’s ECollab site.

As a result of the Treasury Board Secretariat recent updates to the ATIP Policy Suite, Environment Canada will initiate a review of its policy documents.


Top of Page

Publicly Accessible Information and Inquiry Points

Info Source is a series of publications containing information on the Government of Canada and on the government’s data collection activities. Info Source is intended to help the public access government information and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act and Access to Information Act.

Each year, the ATIP Secretariat prepares updates on Environment Canada’s activities and information holdings for publication in Info Source which is published on the Department’s website. During 2013–2014, Environment Canada continued to revise its Info Source chapter based on the Department’s Program Activity Architecture.

Environment Canada’s comprehensive website provides information on the Department’s policies, its organizational structure and the means to contact Department officials. In accordance with the federal government’s policy of proactive disclosure, the Department’s website also allows access to internal evaluations and audits, as well as information on hospitality expenses, contracts and grants.

Environment Canada’s website also has an Access to Information and Privacy webpage that provides background information on both the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It also contains a Frequently Asked Questions section and links to access to information request forms, personal information request forms and summaries of completed access to information requests.

In order to facilitate public access to information and to comply with the Act, the Environment Canada Library has been designated a public reading room. The Library is located on the 1st floor of the Place Vincent Massey Annex, 351 St. Joseph Boulevard, Gatineau, Quebec.


Top of Page

Online Request Service

During the 2013-2014 reporting period, Environment Canada joined the Treasury Board Secretariat Online Request Service Pilot Project. This initiative aims to make the process of requesting government records simpler and more convenient by enabling Canadians to submit their ATIP requests and application fees online. The department is scheduled to begin receiving online requests in April 2014.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

2013-2014 Rapport annuel au Parlement - Loi sur l’accès à l'information

Politiques, lignes directrices, procédures et initiatives

Cadre de politiques

La politique sur l’accès à l’information d’Environnement Canada a été approuvée en novembre 2012. Le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP continue d’élaborer des guides de procédure supplémentaires pour aider les employés du Ministère à répondre aux demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

En 2013-2014, Environnement Canada a élaboré des procédures internes en cas d’entrave présumée au droit d’accès à l’information. Tous les employés d’Environnement Canada peuvent consulter ces guides internes sur le site ECollab du Ministère.

À la suite des mises à jour récentes à l’ensemble des politiques de l’AIPRP du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Environnement Canada amorcera un examen de ses documents de politiques.


Haut de la page

Renseignements accessibles au public et centres d'information

Info Source est une série de publications contenant de l'information sur le gouvernement du Canada et sur ses activités de collecte de données. Info Source a pour but d’aider le grand public à accéder à l’information gouvernementale et à exercer les droits que lui confèrent laLoi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Chaque année, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP prépare des mises à jour des activités et des fonds de renseignements d’Environnement Canada et les publie dans Info Source. En 2013-2014, Environnement Canada a poursuivi la révision de son chapitre Info Source en fonction de l’architecture des activités de programmes du Ministère.

Sur son site Web, Environnement Canada présente des renseignements exhaustifs sur ses politiques et sa structure organisationnelle ainsi que sur les moyens de communiquer avec ses représentants. En accord avec la politique du gouvernement fédéral sur la divulgation proactive, le site Web du Ministère donne également accès aux évaluations et aux vérifications internes ainsi qu'aux renseignements sur les frais d'accueil, les contrats et les subventions.

Environnement Canada dispose, sur son site Web, d’une page sur l’accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels, où sont présentés des renseignements généraux sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Elle contient également une foire aux questions et des liens vers les formulaires de demande d’accès à l'information, les formulaires de demande de renseignements personnels et un résumé des demandes d’accès à l’information traitées.

Pour faciliter l’accès du public à l’information et pour respecter les dispositions de la loi, la bibliothèque d’Environnement Canada a été désignée comme salle de lecture publique. La bibliothèque est située au 1er étage de l’annexe de la Place Vincent Massey, au 351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, Gatineau (Québec).

Haut de la page


Service de demande en ligne

Durant la période de référence de 2013-2014, Environnement Canada s’est joint au projet pilote du service de demande en ligne du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Cette initiative vise à créer un moyen plus simple et plus pratique pour demander des documents gouvernement aux en permettant aux Canadiens de soumettre leurs demandes d’accès à l’information ou de renseignements personnels, ainsi que les frais connexes, en ligne. Il est prévu que le Ministère commencera à recevoir les demandes en ligne en avril 2014.

Date de modification :