Skip booklet index and go to page content

2013-2014 - Annual Report to Parliament - Access to Information Act

Complaints, Investigations and Federal Court Cases

During the 2013–2014 reporting period, 30 complaints were filed with the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada against Environment Canada. Seven (7) of these complaints as well as 5 complaints from previous reporting periods were completed in 2013–2014. Twenty-three (23) complaints received in this reporting period and 19 complaints from previous years remain outstanding.

The following table provides a breakdown of the reasons for and results of the complaints that were completed in 2013–2014.

Results of Investigations
Reason for ComplaintNumber of DecisionsWell founded, resolved without recommendationsWell founded, with recommendations – resolvedWell founded, with recommendations – not resolvedNot well foundedDiscontinuedSettled
Delay3200001
Exemptions/
Exclusions
4200002
Extensions2000200
Fees0000000
Miscellaneous0000000
Refusal – s.692100010
Refusal – General1000100
Total12500313

Top of Page


Explanation of the Results of Investigations

  • Well founded – The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) found evidence of the complainant’s rights being denied under the Access to Information Act. It was necessary for the OIC to report the finding of the investigation and provide recommendations where appropriate.
    • Well founded, resolved without recommendations– The institution took remedial action to the satisfaction of the OIC during the course of the investigation. The OIC did not need to provide a recommendation to the head of the institution.
    • Well founded, with recommendations – resolved – If the head of the institution accepted the OIC recommendations and remedial action was taken by the institution to the satisfaction of the OIC, the matter is considered resolved and no further action by the OIC is necessary.
    • Well founded, with recommendations – not resolved – If the head of the institution did not accept the recommendations of the OIC, or if the remedial action was not to the satisfaction of the OIC, the complainant will be informed that the matter is not resolved and the complainant, or the OIC with the complainant’s consent, can pursue the matter in court, where the matter relates to a refusal.
  • Not well founded – As a result of the investigation, the OIC found that the institution applied the Access to Information Act correctly.
  • Discontinued – The complaint was withdrawn or abandoned by the complainant before allegations were fully investigated.
  • Settled – In the case of a minor error, the complaint was settled to the satisfaction of the OIC without the need for the OIC to make a finding

Top of Page


Applications/Appeals to the Federal Court or Federal Court of Appeal

T-828-12 Sheldon Blank v. Minister of the Environment – The application filed pursuant to section 41 of the Access to Information Act in March 2012 was still before the Federal Court of Canada at the end of the reporting period.

T-1423-12 Patrick Whitty v. Minister of Environment– An application was filed pursuant to section 41 of the Access to Information Act in July 2012. On June 4, 2013, the Federal Court determined that the application did not meet the statutory pre-conditions for bringing an application to Court. On February 3, 2014, the Federal Court of Appeal agreed with the Federal Court’s decision.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

2013-2014 Rapport annuel au Parlement - Loi sur l’accès à l'information

Plaintes, enquêtes et affaires judiciaires

Au cours de la période de référence 2013-2014, 30 plaintes contre Environnement Canada ont été déposées auprès du Commissariat à l’information du Canada. Sept (7) de ces plaintes ainsi que 5 plaintes déposées aucours de périodes de référence antérieures ont été traitées en 2013-2014. Vingt-trois (23) plaintes reçues au cours de la période de référence visée par le présent rapport et 19 plaintes reçues au cours d’années antérieures n’ont pas encore été réglées.

Le tableau qui suit montre la répartition des motifs des plaintes traitées en 2013-2014 et les résultats des enquêtes.

Résultats des enquêtes
Raison de la plainteNombre de décisionsFondée, réglée, sans recommandationsFondées avec recommandations – régléesFondées avec recommandations – non régléesNon fondéeAbandonnéesRéglees
Retards3200001
Exemptions et exclusions4200002
Prolongations2000200
Frais0000000
Divers0000000
Refus – art. 692100010
Refus – Général1000100
Total12500313

Haut de la page


Explication des résultats des enquêtes

  • Fondée - Le Commissariat a obtenu des éléments de preuve selon lesquels les droits du plaignant n’ont pas été respectés en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le Commissariat a dû faire rapport des conclusions de l’enquête au responsable de l’institution et faire les recommandations appropriées.
    • Fondée, réglée sans recommandation - L’institution a pris des mesures correctives pendant l’enquête, à la satisfaction du Commissariat. Celui-ci n’a pas eu à présenter de recommandations à l’administrateur général de l’institution.
    • Fondée, réglée avec recommandation - Si l'administrateur général de l'institution a accepté les recommandations du Commissariat et que l'organisation a pris des mesures satisfaisantes, l'affaire est considérée comme réglée, et le Commissariat n'a pas à intervenir davantage.
    • Fondée, avec recommandation – non réglée - Si l'administrateur général de l'institution n'a pas accepté les recommandations du Commissariat ou si les mesures correctrices ne satisfont pas celui-ci, le plaignant est informé du fait que la plainte n'est pas réglée ou, s'il y a refus d'accès, le Commissariat peut, avec l'accord du plaignant, porter l'affaire devant un tribunal.
  • Non fondée - Après enquête, le Commissariat à l'information conclut que l'institution a bien appliqué la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.
  • Abandonnée - Le plaignant retire ou abandonnes a plainte avant quel’examen approfondi des allégations soit terminé.
  • Résolue – Dans le cas d’une erreur mineure, la plainte a été résolue à la satisfaction du Commissariat sans la nécessité de formuler des conclusions.

Haut de la page


Requêtes et appels à la Cour fédérale ou à la Cour d'appel fédérale

T-828-12 Sheldon Blank c. Ministrede l’Environnement – Cette requête, présentée en mars 2012 en vertu de l’article 41 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, était toujours devant la Cour fédérale du Canada à la fin de la période de référence.

T-1423-12 Patrick Whitty c. Ministre de l’Environnement -Cette requête a été présentée en juillet 2012 en vertu de l’article 41 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le 4 juin 2013, la Cour fédérale a déterminé que la requête ne rencontrait pas les conditions préalables à une demande de contrôle judiciaire. Le 3 février 2014, la Cour d’appel fédérale a appuyé la décision de la cour fédérale.

Date de modification :