Skip booklet index and go to page content

2012-2013 - Annual Report to Parliament - Access to Information Act

Interpretation of the Statistical Report

Environment Canada’s Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act is included in Appendix A.

Between April 1, 2012, and March 31, 2013, Environment Canada received 1827 requests under the Access to Information Act. There were 168 requests carried forward from the 2011–2012 reporting period, for a total of 1995 active requests in the 2012–2013 reporting period. In 2012–2013, a total of 1810 requests were completed, and 185 were carried forward to the next reporting period.

The following is a percentage breakdown of the sources of access to information requests received in 2011–2012:

SourceNumberPercentage
Academia60.33%
Business115663.27%
Media41522.72%
Organization1176.40%
Public1337.28%
Total1827100%

Sources of Access to Information Requests 2012-2013

Text Description

The pie chart provides a visual representation of the percentage breakdown of the sources of access to information requests received in 2012–2013. 63.27% of access requests came from businesses, 22.72% from the media, 6.4% from organizations, 7.28% from the public and 0.33% from academia.

During the 2012–2013 reporting period, 80 requests were abandoned by applicants for various reasons, including the requirement to pay additional fees. In addition to the abandoned requests, 7 requests were received by Environment Canada for records under the control of other departments, and they were transferred to the organizations concerned.

There were 1013 requests for information for which there was no record. Environment Canada receives a number of requests each year for documents pertaining to the environmental compliance of properties. Most of these no-record requests consisted of environmental compliance requests where no records were located concerning the properties in question.

In 2012–2013, there was a substantial increase in the number of access to information requests received by Environment Canada. The 1827 access to information requests received in the 2012–2013 reporting period represent a 22.2% increase over the previous reporting period. In addition, the number of access requests completed during the 2012–2013 fiscal year increased by 21.3% compared with the previous reporting period.

The following graph displays the number of access to information requests that were received by the ATIP Secretariat from 2007–2008 to 2012–2013.

Access Requests Received Access to Information Act 2007-2013

Text Description

The bar chart provides a visual representation of the number of access requests that were received by the ATIP Secretariat from the 2007-2008 fiscal year to the 2012-2013 fiscal year. During the 2007-2008 period, 659 requests were received; in 2008-2009, 892 requests were received; in 2009-2010, 890 requests were received; in 2010-2011, 1,128 requests were received; in 2011-2012, 1,421 requests were received; and in 2012-2013, 1,827 requests were received.

This next graph displays the number of access to information requests that were closed by the ATIP Secretariat from 2007–2008 to 2012–2013.

Access Requests Closed Access to Info Act - 2007-2013

Text Description

The bar chart provides a visual representation of the number of access requests that were closed by the ATIP Secretariat from the 2007-2008 fiscal year to the 2012-2013 fiscal year. During the 2007-2008 period, 580 requests were closed; in 2008-2009, 914 requests were closed; in 2009-2010, 929 requests were closed; in 2010-2011, 1171 requests were closed; in 2011-2012, 1,425 requests were closed; and in 2012-2013, 1,810 requests were closed.

The number of pages processed in response to access to information requests during the 2012–2013 reporting period was lower than in the 2011–2012 reporting period: 120741 pages processed compared with 164777 pages during the previous period. This is a decrease of 26.7%.

This decrease can be attributed in part to the work undertaken by the ATIP Secretariat to consult with applicants in order to clarify the scope of requests to ensure applicants receive information of interest.

The following graph displays the number of pages processed by the ATIP Secretariat in processing access to information requests under the Access to Information Act from 2007–2008 to 2012–2013.

Pages Process for Access Consulatations Access to Information Act 2007-2013

Text Description

The bar chart provides a visual representation of the number of pages processed by the ATIP Secretariat in processing access to information requests under the Access to Information Act from the 2007-2008 fiscal year to the 2012-2013 fiscal year. During the 2007-2008 period, 120,681 pages were processed; in 2008-2009, 134,078 pages were processed; in 2009-2010, 169,241 pages were processed; in 2010-2011, 163,273 pages were processed; in 2011-2012, 164,777 pages were processed; and in 2012-2013, 120,741 pages were processed.

Exemptions and Exclusions

The Access to Information Act prescribes a number of exemptions and exclusions that allow or require the Department to refuse to disclose certain types of information. The two most common exemptions invoked by Environment Canada in 2012–2013 were for personal information (section 19) and government operations (section 21). In 2012–2013, exemptions and/or exclusions were cited in 27.2% of the completed requests.

Time Limitations

During the 2012–2013 reporting period, 1193 (65.9%) of the completed requests were processed within the initial 30-day period. This included 799 completed in the first 15 days, and 394 completed between 16 and 30 days.

The following graph displays the breakdown of completion times for requests completed during the 2012–2013 reporting period.

Completion Time for Access Requests 2012-2013

Text Description

The pie chart displays the breakdown of completion times for requests completed during the 2012–2013 reporting period. EC’s ATIP Secretariat closed 44.1% of requests in 1 to 15 days, 21.8% in 16 to 30 days, 10.7% in 31 to 60 days, 14.8% in 61 to 120 days, 4.4% in 121 to 180 days, 2.9% in 181 to 365 days and 1.3% in more than 365 days.

A total of 208 requests were completed beyond the legislated deadline. Of the 208 late requests, 69 requests were late as a result of the need to conduct external consultations.

Extension of Time Limits

Section 9 of the Access to Information Act allows government institutions to extend the deadline for responding to a request if the request requires the institution to search a large number of records, to consult with other government institutions, or to communicate with third parties.

In 2012–2013, 269 requests required extensions of 30 days or less, 290 required an extension of between 31 and 60 days, 156 required an extension of between 61 to 120 days, and one required an extension of 121 days or more. In total, 716 requests required an extension past the original deadline of 30 days. The main reason for extensions was due to the volume of records involved in completing requests or the need to conduct a large search.

Complexity of Files

A number of files were considered complex for various reasons. Out of the 1810 requests closed during the 2012–2013 reporting period, 481 were considered to be complex. There were 411 requests that were complex due to the need to conduct consultations, 54 requests were considered complex due to the assessment of fees, 4 requests required legal advice, and 12 requests were classified in the “other” category. The “other” category consists of files containing high-profile subject matter, records held in a region or another country, or records that are in a language other than French or English.

Consultations

As an integral part of departmental processing procedures, other government institutions are consulted if access requests contain issues of interest to them. Although formal consultations are undertaken in writing, additional discussions between ATIP offices are initiated as required in order to facilitate the completion of each case. Consultations are also regularly undertaken with third parties and other levels of government.

In 2012–2013, Environment Canada received 270 access to information consultations from other federal government institutions. This constitutes a 15.9% increase relative to the previous reporting period. In addition, 256 access consultations were completed during the 2012–2013 reporting period, an increase of 14.5% compared with the previous reporting period. There were 12 access consultations outstanding from the previous reporting period, and 26 access consultations were carried forward to the next reporting period.

The following graph displays the number of access to information consultations that were received by the ATIP Secretariat from 2007–2008 to 2012–2013.

Access Consultations Received Access to Info Act 2007-2013

Text Description

The bar chart provides a visual representation of the number of access to information consultations that were received by the ATIP Secretariat from the 2007–2008 fiscal year to the 2012–2013 fiscal year. During the 2007-2008 period, 200 requests were received; in 2008-2009, 186 requests were received; in 2009-2010, 117 requests were received; in 2010-2011, 159 requests were received; in 2011-2012, 227 requests were received; and in 2012-2013, 270 requests were received.

This next graph displays the number of access to information consultations that were closed by the ATIP Secretariat from 2007–2008 to 2012–2013.

Access Consultations Closed Access to Information Act 2007-2013

Text Description

The bar chart provides a visual representation of the number of access to information consultations that were closed by the ATIP Secretariat from the 2007–2008 fiscal year to the 2012–2013 fiscal year. During the 2007-2008 period, 216 requests were closed; in 2008-2009, 209 requests were closed; in 2009-2010, 134 requests were closed; in 2010-2011, 158 requests were closed; in 2011-2012, 219 requests were closed; and in 2012-2013, 256 requests were closed.

The number of pages processed in response to access to information consultations during the 2012–2013 reporting period increased over the 2011–2012 reporting period: 14768 pages were processed for consultations compared to 12671 pages during the previous period. This is an increase of 14.2%.

The following graph displays the number of pages processed by the ATIP Secretariat in response to access to information consultations received from 2007–2008 to 2012–2013.

Pages Processed for Access Consultatoins Access to Information Act 2007-2013

Text Description

The bar chart provides a visual representation of the number of pages processed by the ATIP Secretariat in processing access to information consultations under the Access to Information Act from the 2007–2008 fiscal year to the 2012–2013 fiscal year. During the 2007-2008 period, 12,185 pages were processed; in 2008-2009, 6,959 pages were processed; in 2009-2010, 7,563 pages were processed; in 2010-2011, 6,367 pages were processed; in 2011-2012, 12,671 pages were processed; and in 2012-2013, 14,768 pages were processed.

During the 2012–2013 reporting period, 174 (68%) of the completed access consultations were processed within the initial 30-day period. This included 78 completed in the first 15 days, and 96 completed between 16 and 30 days.

Environment Canada undertook 46 consultations with Privy Council Office, Legislation and House Planning in 2012–2013. 40 responses in 2012–2013 were received after the deadline. This resulted in delays of as many as 365 days or more to complete the processing of a request.

Informal Requests

Between April 1, 2012, and March 31, 2013, Environment Canada received 66 informal access to information requests. There were 14 informal requests carried forward from the 2011–2012 reporting period, for a total of 80 active informal requests in the 2012–2013 reporting period. In 2012–2013, a total of 76 informal requests were completed, and 4 were carried forward to the next reporting period.

This represents a decrease in the number of informal requests received compared to the 2011–2012 reporting period when 155 informal requests were received.

Fees

In the 2012–2013 reporting period, total fees of $10,835 were collected for the processing of 1729 requests. This consisted of search fees in the amount of $1,940 and application fees totalling $8,895. In addition, $1,575 in search fees was collected for ongoing files which have carried over to the 2013-2014 period. No other fees were charged for production, preparation or reproduction.

In accordance with Treasury Board Secretariat guidelines, Environment Canada waived fees that individually amounted to $25 or less, although no waiver is granted for the initial $5 application fee.

Costs

The cost involved in administering the Access to Information Act was $814,915 for salary and $574,493 for goods and services ($503,329 for professional service contracts and $71,164 for other costs). This brings the total cost to $1,389,408.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

2012-2013 Rapport annuel au Parlement - Loi sur l’accès à l'information

Interprétation du rapport statistique

Le rapport statistique d’Environnement Canada concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information figure à l’annexe A.

Entre le 1er avril 2012 et le 31 mars 2013, Environnement Canada a reçu 1 827 demandes en vertu de Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Puisque 168 demandes avaient été reportées de la période de référence 2011-2012, un total de 1 995 demandes étaient actives au cours de la période de référence 2012-2013. En 2012-2013, un total de 1 810 demandes a été traité et 185 demandes ont été reportées à la période de référence suivante.

Le tableau suivant indique la répartition en pourcentage, selon la source, des demandes d’accès à l’information reçues en 2012-2013:

SourceNombrePourcentage
Universités60,33%
Entreprises115663,27%
Médias41522,72%
Organisations1176,40%
Public1337,28%
Total1827100%

Demandes reçues en 2012-2013, selon la source

Description textuelle

Le diagramme circulaire offre une représentation visuelle de la répartition en pourcentage, selon la source, des demandes d’accès à l’information reçues en 2012-2013. 63.27% des demandes ont été reçues des entreprises, 22.72% des medias, 6.4% des organisations, 7.28% du public et 0.33% des universités.

Pendant la période de référence 2012-2013, 80 demandes ont été abandonnées par les demandeurs pour diverses raisons, dont l'exigence d'acquitter des frais supplémentaires. Outre les demandes abandonnées, sept demandes de documents présentées à Environnement Canada et relevant d'autres ministères ont été transférées aux organisations concernées.

On dénombre 1 013 demandes concernant des renseignements pour lesquels il n'existait pas de document. Chaque année, Environnement Canada reçoit un certain nombre de demandes portant sur la conformité environnementale des biens. La plupart des demandes pour lesquels il n’existait pas de document concernaient des demandes sur la conformité environnementale de biens, à l’égard desquelles aucun document n’a été trouvé relativement aux propriétés en question.

En 2012-2013, le nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information reçues par Environnement Canada s'est accru considérablement. Les 1 827 demandes d'accès à l'information reçues au cours de la période de référence 2012-2013 représentent une hausse de 22,2 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. De plus, le nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information réglées au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013 a augmenté de 21,3 % comparativement à la période de référence précédente.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information Demandes reçues de 2007 à 2013

Description textuelle

Le graphique à barres offre une représentation visuelle du nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été reçues par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre l’année fiscale 2007-2008 et l’année fiscale 2012-2013. Au cours de la période 2007-2008, 659 demandes ont été reçues; en 2008-2009, 892 demandes ont été reçues; en 2009-2010, 890 demandes ont été reçues; en 2010-2011, 1 128 demandes ont été reçues; en 2011-2012, 1 421 demandes ont été reçus, et en 2012-2013, 1 827 demandes ont été reçues.

Le graphique qui suit illustre le nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été réglées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre 2007-2008 et 2012-2013.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information Demandes réglées de 2007 à 2913

Description textuelle

Le graphique à barres offre une représentation visuelle du nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été complétées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre l’année fiscale 2007-2008 et l’année fiscale 2012-2013. Au cours de la période 2007-2008, 580 demandes ont été fermées; en 2008-2009, 914 demandes ont été fermées; en 2009-2010, 929 demandes ont été fermés; en 2010-2011, 1 171 demandes ont été fermés; en 2011-2012, 1 425 demandes ont été fermés; et en 2012-2013, 1 810 demandes ont été fermées.

Le graphique suivant présente le nombre de consultations liées aux demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été réglées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre 2007 2008 et 2012 2013.

Le nombre de pages traitées à la suite des demandes d'accès à l'information en 2012-2013 a diminué par rapport à la période de référence 2011-2012 : 120 741 pages comparativement aux 164 777 pages de la période de référence précédente, ce qui représente une diminution de 26,7 %.

Cette diminution peut être attribuée en partie au travail effectué par le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP, qui a consulté les demandeurs afin de préciser la portée de leurs demandes et d’assurer ainsi qu’ils reçoivent de l’information qui les intéresse.

Le graphique qui suit indique le nombre de pages traitées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP aux fins du traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information relatives à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, entre 2007-2008 et 2012-2013.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information Pages traitées de 2007 à 2013

Description textuelle

Le graphique à barres offre une représentation visuelle du nombre de pages traitées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRPaux fins du traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information relatives à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, entre l'année fiscale 2007-2008 et l'année fiscale 2012-2013. Au cours de la période 2007-2008, 120 681 pages ont été traitées; en 2008-2009, 134 078 pages ont été traitées; en 2009-2010, 169 241 pages ont été traitées; en 2010-2011, 163 273 pages ont été traitées; en 2011-2012, 164 777 pages ont été traitées; et en 2012-2013, 120 741 pages ont été traitées.

Exceptions et exclusions

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information prévoit un certain nombre d'exceptions et d'exclusions en vertu desquelles le Ministère peut refuser, ou est tenu de refuser, la communication de certains types de renseignements. Les deux exceptions les plus couramment invoquées par Environnement Canada en 2012-2013 concernaient des renseignements personnels (article 19) et les activités du gouvernement (article 21). En 2012-2013, des exceptions ou des exclusions ont été invoquées ou citées dans 27,2 % des demandes traitées.

Restrictions liées aux délais prescrits

Durant la période de référence 2012-2013, 1 193 (65,9 %) des demandes réglées l’ont été durant la période initiale de 30 jours, dont 799 au cours des 15 premiers jours et 394 entre 16 et 30 jours.

Le graphique ci-dessous illustre la répartition du délai de traitement des demandes pendant la période de référence 2012-2013.

Délai de traitement des demandes d'accès en 2012-2013

Description textuelle

Le diagramme circulaire offre une représentation visuelle de la répartition du délai de traitement des demandes pendant la période de référence 2012-2013. Nous avons complété 44,1% des demandes en 1 à 15 jours, 21,8% en 16 à 30 jours, de 10,7% en 31 à 60 jours, 14,8% en 61 à 120 jours, 4,4% dans 121 à 180 jours, 2,9% en 181 à 365 jours et 1,3% en plus de 365 jours.

Dans l'ensemble, le délai de traitement prévu par la loi a été dépassé dans le cas de 208 demandes. De ce nombre, 69 ont été traitées en retard parce qu’il a fallu consulter des tiers.

Prorogation de délai

L’article 9 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information permet aux institutions gouvernementales de proroger le délai prévu pour répondre à une demande, si l’institution doit faire des recherches dans un grand nombre de documents, consulter d’autres institutions gouvernementales ou communiquer avec des tiers.

En 2012-2013, 269 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 30 jours ou moins, 290 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 30 à 60 jours, 156 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 61 à 120 jours et une demande a nécessité une prorogation de 121 jours ou plus. Au total, 716 demandes ont donc dépassé le délai original de 30 jours. La raison principale des prorogations était le volume de dossiers à consulter pour répondre à la demande, ou la nécessité d’effectuer une vaste recherche.

Complexité des dossiers

Un certain nombre de dossiers sont jugés complexes pour différentes raisons. Sur les 1 810 demandes réglées pendant la période de référence 2012-2013, 481 ont été qualifiées de complexes. Parmi elles, 411 l'ont été à cause de la nécessité de consulter des tiers, 54 à cause de l'évaluation des frais, quatre ont nécessité des avis juridiques et 12 ont été classées dans la catégorie « autre ». Cette dernière se compose des dossiers qui portent sur un sujet à haute visibilité, des dossiers conservés dans une région ou un autre pays, ou des dossiers dans une autre langue que le français ou l’anglais.

Consultations

Dans le cadre des procédures ministérielles du traitement des demandes, le Ministère consulte d’autres institutions gouvernementales lorsque des demandes d’accès à l’information comprennent des aspects qui les concernent. Bien que les consultations officielles soient effectuées par écrit, des discussions supplémentaires entre les bureaux de l’AIPRP ont lieu afin de faciliter le traitement de chaque cas, si nécessaire. Des consultations sont aussi menées régulièrement avec des tiers et d’autres ordres de gouvernement.

En 2012-2013, Environnement Canada a reçu 270 demandes de consultation en matière d'accès à l'information provenant d'autres institutions du gouvernement fédéral. Il s’agit d’une hausse de 15,9 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. En outre, 256 consultations liées à des demandes d'accès à l'information ont été traitées au cours de la période de référence 2012-2013, soit une hausse de 14,5 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. Douze consultations liées à des demandes d'accès à l'information avaient été reportées de la période de référence précédente, et 26 consultations liées à des demandes d’accès à l’information ont été reportées à la prochaine période de référence.

Le graphique qui suit illustre le nombre de demandes de consultation liées à l'accès à l'information reçues par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre 2007-2008 et 2012-2013.

Consultations reçues liées à l'accès à l'information 2007-2013

Description textuelle

Le graphique à barres offre une représentation visuelle du nombre de demandes de consultation liées à l'accès à l'information reçues par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre l’année fiscale 2007-2008 et l’année fiscale 2012-2013. Au cours de la période 2007-2008, 200 demandes ont été reçues; en 2008-2009, 186 demandes ont été reçues; en 2009-2010, 117 demandes ont été reçues; en 2010-2011, 159 demandes ont été reçues; en 2011-2012, 227 demandes ont été reçues et en 2012-2013, 270 demandes ont été reçues.

Le graphique suivant présente le nombre de consultations liées aux demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été réglées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre 2007-2008 et 2012-2013.

Consultations reglées liées à l'accès à l'information 2007-2013

Description textuelle

Le graphique à barres offre une représentation visuelle du nombre de consultations liées aux demandes d'accès à l'information qui ont été complétées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre l’année fiscale 2007-2008 et l’année fiscale 2012-2013. Au cours de la période 2007-2008, 216 demandes ont été fermées; en 2008-2009, 209 demandes ont été fermées; en 2009-2010, 134 demandes ont été fermés; en 2010-2011, 158 demandes ont été fermés; en 2011-2012, 219 demandes ont été fermés; et en 2012-2013, 256 demandes ont été fermées.

Le nombre de pages traitées en réponse aux demandes de consultation liées à l'accès à l'information pendant la période de référence 2012-2013 a augmenté par rapport à la période de 2011-2012 : 14 768 pages ont été traitées aux fins des consultations, comparativement à 12 671 pendant la période précédente, soit une augmentation de 14,2 %.

Le graphique qui suit montre le nombre de pages traitées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP en réponse aux demandes de consultations liées à l'accès à l'information reçues entre 2007-2008 et 2012-2013.

Pages traitées pour les consultations liées à l'accès à l'information de 2007 à 2013

Description textuelle

Le graphique à barres offre une représentation visuelle du nombre de pages traitées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP en réponse aux demandes de consultations liées à l'accès à l'information reçues entre l’année fiscale 2007-2008 et l’année fiscale 2012-2013. Au cours de la période 2007-2008, 12 185 pages ont été traitées; en 2008-2009, 6 959 pages ont été traitées; en 2009-2010, 7 563 pages ont été traitées; en 2010-2011, 6 367 pages ont été traitées; en 2011-2012, 12 671 pages ont été traité; et en 2012-2013, 14 768 pages ont été traitées.

Pendant la période de référence 2012-2013, 174 (68 %) des consultations réglées l’ont été pendant la période initiale de 30 jours, dont 78 au cours des 15 premiers jours et 96 entre 16 et 30 jours.

Environnement Canada a entrepris 46 consultations auprès du Secrétariat de la législation et de la planification parlementaire du Bureau du Conseil privé en 2012-2013. Quarante (40) réponses reçues en 2012-2013 l’ont été après la date limite, ce qui a entraîné des retards de plus de 365 jours pour le traitement des demandes.

Demandes informelles

Entre le 1er avril 2012 et le 31 mars 2013, Environnement Canada a reçu 66 demandes informelles d'accès à l'information. Quatorze de ces demandes étaient reportées de la période de référence 2011-2012, ce qui représente un total de 80 demandes informelles actives pour la période de référence 2012-2013. Au cours de l'année 2012-2013, un total de 76 demandes informelles a été traité et quatre demandes ont été reportées à la période de référence suivante.

Cela représente une diminution du nombre de demandes informelles reçues comparativement à la période de référence 2011-2012, alors que le Ministère avait reçu 155 demandes informelles.

Frais

Au cours de la période de référence 2012-2013, des frais s'élevant à 10 835 $ ont été perçus pour le traitement de 1 729 demandes. Ce montant comprend des frais de recherche de 1 940 $ et des frais de demande de 8 895 $. De plus, des frais de recherche de 1 575 $ ont été perçus pour des dossiers dont le traitement se poursuivra en 2013-2014. Il n’y a pas eu d’autres frais pour la production, la préparation ou la reproduction.

En conformité avec les lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Environnement Canada a renoncé à facturer les frais qui n'excédaient pas 25 $, mais aucune dispense n'est accordée pour les frais de demande initiaux de 5 $.

Coûts

Les coûts d’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ont été de 814 915 $ pour les salaires et de 574 493 $ pour les biens et services (503 329 $ pour les marchés de services professionnels et 71 164 $ pour les autres frais), soit un total de 1 389 408 $.

Date de modification :