Skip booklet index and go to page content

2011-2012 - Annual Report to Parliament - Access to Information Act

Interpretation of the Statistical Report

Environment Canada’s Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act is included in Appendix A.

Due to the changes in the reporting requirements for the statistical and annual reports, Environment Canada used a combination of electronic and manual reporting this fiscal year to ensure compliance with the new requirements and that all data submitted was accurate. To compile statistics, the ATIP Secretariat used a combination of electronic reports generated by the ATIP systems, self-reporting by analysts, and manual research.

Between April 1, 2011 and March 31, 2012, Environment Canada received 1,421 requests under the Access to Information Act. There were 172 requests carried forward from the 2010-2011 reporting period, for a total of 1,593 active requests in the 2011-2012 reporting period. In 2011-2012, a total of 1,425 requests were completed and 168 were carried forward to the next reporting period.

The following is a percentage breakdown of the sources of access to information requests received in 2011-2012:

SourceNumberPercentage
Academia60.5%
Business93266.0%
Media24517.0%
Organization17812.5%
Public604.0%
Total1,421100%

Sources of Access to Information Requests 2011-2012

During the 2011-2012 reporting period 183 requests were abandoned by applicants for various reasons, including the requirement to pay additional fees. In addition to the abandoned requests, two requests were received by Environment Canada for records under the control of other departments and they were transferred to the organizations concerned.

There were 812 requests for information for which there was no record. Environment Canada receives a number of requests each year for documents pertaining to the environmental compliance of properties. Most of these no-record requests consisted of environmental compliance requests where no records were located concerning the properties in question.

In 2011-2012, there was a substantial increase in the number of access to information requests received by Environment Canada. The 1,421 access to information requests received in the 2011-2012 reporting period represents a 26% increase over the previous reporting period. In addition, the number of access requests completed during the 2011-2012 fiscal year increased by 22% compared with the previous reporting period.

The following graph displays the number of access to information requests that were received by the ATIP Secretariat from 2006-2007 to 2011-2012:

Access Requests Received Access to Information Act 2006 - 2012

This next graph displays the number of access to information requests that were closed by the ATIP Secretariat from 2006-2007 to 2011-2012:

Access Requests Closed Access to Information Act 2006 - 2012

The number of pages processed in response to access to information requests during the 2011-2012 reporting period was slightly higher than in the 2010-2011 reporting period: 164,777 pages processed compared with 163,273 pages during the previous period. This is an increase of 1%.

The following graph displays the number of pages processed by the ATIP Secretariat in processing access to information requests under the Access to Information Act from 2006-2007 to 2011-2012:

Pages Processed for Access Requests Access to Information Act 2006 - 2012

Exemptions and Exclusions

The Access to Information Act prescribes a number of exemptions and exclusions which allow or require the Department to refuse to disclose certain types of information. The two most common exemptions invoked by Environment Canada in 2011-2012 were for personal information (section 19) and government operations (section 21). In 2011-2012, exemptions and/or exclusions were cited in 20% of the completed requests.

Time Limitations

During the 2011-2012 reporting period, 1,095 (77%) of the completed requests were processed within the initial 30-day period. This included 883 completed in the first 15 days, and 212 completed between 16 and 30 days.

The following graph displays the breakdown of completion times for requests completed during the 2011-2012 reporting period:

Completion Time for Access Requests 2011 - 2012

A total of 125 requests were completed beyond the legislated deadline. Of the 125 late requests, 77 requests were late as a result of the need to conduct external consultations.

Extension of Time Limits

Section 9 of the Access to Information Act allows government institutions to extend the deadline for responding to a request if the request requires the institution to search a large number of records, to consult with other government institutions, or to communicate with third parties.

In 2011-2012, 51 requests required extensions of 30 days or less, 148 required an extension of between 31 and 60 days, 129 required an extension of between 61 to 120 days, and 14 required an extension of 121 days or more. In total, 342 requests required an extension past the original deadline of 30 days. The main reason for extensions was due to the large volume of records involved in completing requests.

Complexity of Files

A number of files were considered complex for various reasons. Out of the 1,425 requests closed during the 2011-2012 reporting period, 234 were considered to be complex.  One hundred and ninety-two (192) requests were complex due to the need to conduct consultations, 17 requests were considered complex due to the assessment of fees, nine requests required legal advice, and 16 requests were classified in the “other” category. The “other” category consists of files containing high-profile subject matter, records held in a region or another country, or records that are in a language other than French or English.

Consultations

As an integral part of departmental processing procedures, other government institutions are consulted if access requests contain issues of interest to them. Although formal consultations are undertaken in writing, additional discussions between ATIP offices are initiated as required in order to facilitate the completion of each case. Consultations are also regularly undertaken with third parties and other levels of government.

In 2011-2012, Environment Canada received 227 access to information consultations from other federal government institutions. This constitutes a 43% increase relative to the previous reporting period. In addition, 219 access consultations were completed during the 2011-2012 reporting period, an increase of 39% compared with the previous reporting period. There were four access consultations outstanding from the previous reporting period and 12 access consultations were carried forward to the next reporting period.

The following graph displays the number of access to information consultations that were received by the ATIP Secretariat from 2006-2007 to 2011-2012:

Access Consultations Received Access to Information Act 2006 - 2012

This next graph displays the number of access to information consultations that were closed by the ATIP Secretariat from 2006-2007 to 2011-2012:

Access Consultations Closed Access to Information Act 2006 - 2012

The number of pages processed in response to access to information consultations during the 2011-2012 reporting period increased significantly over the 2010-2011 reporting period: 12,671 pages were processed for consultations compared to 6,367 pages during the previous period. This is an increase of 99%.

The following graph displays the number of pages processed by the ATIP Secretariat in response to access to information consultations received from 2006-2007 to 2011-2012:

Pages Processed for Access Consultations Access to Information Act 2006 - 2012

During the 2011-2012 reporting period, 186 (89%) of the completed access consultations were processed within the initial 30-day period. This included 95 completed in the first 15 days, and 91 completed between 16 and 30 days.

Environment Canada undertook 79 consultations with Privy Council Office, Legislation and House Planning in 2011-2012. Fifty-Nine (59) responses received in 2011-2012 were received past the deadline. This resulted in delays of up to more than 365 days to complete the processing of a request.

Informal Requests

Between April 1, 2011 and March 31, 2012, Environment Canada received 155 informal access to information requests. There were two informal requests carried forward from the 2010-2011 reporting period, for a total of 157 active informal requests in the 2011-2012 reporting period. In 2011-2012, a total of 143 informal requests were completed and 14 were carried forward to the next reporting period.

This represents a significant increase in the number of informal requests received compared to the 2010-2011 reporting period when only 30 informal requests were received. This increase resulted from Environment Canada’s publication of completed access to information request summaries on the Department’s external website which began in January 2012.

Fees

In the 2011-2012 reporting period, total fees of $12,818 were collected for the processing of 1,422 requests. This consisted of search fees in the amount of $5,883 and application fees totaling $6,935. No other fees were charged for production, preparation or reproduction.

In accordance with Treasury Board Secretariat guidelines, Environment Canada waived fees which individually amounted to $25 or less, although no waiver is granted for the initial $5 application fee.

Costs

The cost involved in administering the Access to Information Act was $737,200 for salary and $370,000 for goods and services ($300,000 for professional service contracts, and $70,000 for other costs). This brings the total cost to $1,107,200.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

2011-2012 - Rapport annuel au Parlement - Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Interprétation du rapport statistique

Le rapport statistique d’Environnement Canada concernant de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information figure à l’annexe A.

En raison des changements apportés aux exigences relatives aux rapports annuels et statistiques, Environnement Canada a eu recours à une combinaison de rapports manuels et électroniques, durant l’exercice visé, pour s’assurer de bien respecter les nouvelles exigences et veiller à ce que toutes les données présentées soient exactes. Afin de compiler des statistiques, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP a fait appel à une combinaison de rapports électroniques produits par les systèmes de l’AIPRP, à l’autodéclaration par les analystes et à des recherches manuelles.

Entre le 1er avril 2011 et le 31 mars 2012, Environnement Canada a reçu 1 421 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Puisque 172 demandes avaient été reportées de la période de référence 2010-2011, un total de 1 593 demandes étaient actives au cours de la période de référence 2011-2012. En 2011-2012, 1 425 demandes ont été traitées et 168 ont été reportées à la période de référence suivante.

Le tableau suivant indique la répartition en pourcentage, selon la source, des demandes d’accès à l’information reçues en 2011-2012.

SourceNombrePourcentage
Universités60,5 %
Entreprises93266,0 %
Organisations24517,0 %
Médias17812,5 %
Public604,0 %
Total1 421100 %

Demandes recues en 2011-2012

Pendant la période de référence de 2011-2012, 183 demandes ont été abandonnées par les demandeurs pour diverses raisons, dont l’exigence d’acquitter des frais supplémentaires. Outre les demandes abandonnées, deux demandes de documents présentées à Environnement Canada et relevant d’autres ministères ont été transférées aux organisations concernées.

On dénombre 812 demandes concernant des renseignements pour lesquels il n’existait pas de document. Chaque année, Environnement Canada reçoit un certain nombre de demandes portant sur la conformité environnementale des biens. La plupart des demandes pour lesquels il n’existait pas de document concernaient des demandes sur la conformité environnementale de biens, à l’égard desquelles aucun document n’a été trouvé relativement aux propriétés en question.

En 2011-2012, le nombre de demandes d’accès à l’information reçues par Environnement Canada s’est accru considérablement. Les 1 421 demandes d’accès à l’information reçues au cours de la période de référence 2011-2012 représentent une hausse de 26 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. De plus, le nombre de demandes d’accès à l’information remplies au cours de l’exercice 2011-2012 a augmenté de 22 % comparativement à la période de référence précédente.

Le graphique suivant présente le nombre de demandes d’accès à l’information qui ont été reçues par le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP entre 2006-2007 et 2011-2012.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information demandes reçues de 2006 à 2012

Le graphique qui suit illustre le nombre de demandes d’accès à l’information qui ont été réglées par le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP entre 2006-2007 et 2011-2012.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information demandes réglées de 2006 à 2012

Le nombre de pages traitées à la suite des demandes d’accès à l’information en 2011-2012 a légèrement augmenté par rapport à la période de référence de 2010-2011 : 164 777 pages comparativement aux 163 273 pages de la période de référence précédente, ce qui représente une hausse de 1 %.

Le graphique qui suit indique le nombre de pages traitées par le secrétariat de l’AIPRP aux fins du traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information relatives à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, entre 2006-2007 à 2011-2012.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information demandes traitées de 2006 à 2012

Exceptions et exclusions

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information prévoit un certain nombre d’exceptions et d’exclusions en vertu desquelles le Ministère peut refuser, ou est tenu de refuser, la communication de certains types de renseignements. Les deux exceptions les plus couramment invoquées par Environnement Canada en 2011-2012 concernaient des renseignements personnels (article 19) et les activités du gouvernement (article 21). En 2011-2012, des exceptions ou des exclusions ont été invoquées ou citées dans 20 % des demandes traitées

Délai de traitement

Au cours de la période de référence de 2011-2012, 1 095 (77 %) des demandes traitées l’ont été au cours de la période initiale de 30 jours, dont 883 au cours des 15 premiers jours et 212, entre 16 et 30 jours.

Le graphique ci-dessous illustre la répartition du délai de traitement des demandes pendant la période de référence de 2011-2012.

Délai de traitement des demandes 2011-2012

Dans l’ensemble, le délai de traitement prévu par la loi a été dépassé dans le cas de 125 demandes. De ce nombre, 77 ont été traitées en retard à cause de la nécessité de consulter des tiers.

Prorogation du délai

L’article 9 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information permet aux institutions gouvernementales de proroger le délai prévu pour répondre à une demande, si l’institution doit faire des recherches dans un grand nombre de documents, consulter d’autres institutions gouvernementales ou communiquer avec des tiers.

En 2011-2012, 51 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 30 jours ou moins, 148 demandes ont nécessité une prorogation de 30 à 60 jours, 129, une prorogation de 61 à 120 jours et 14, une prorogation de 121 jours ou plus. Au total, 342 demandes ont donc dépassé le délai original de 30 jours. La principale raison de ces dépassements a été le grand volume de documents à traiter pour répondre à ces demandes.

Complexité des dossiers

Un certain nombre de dossiers sont jugés complexes pour différentes raisons. Sur les 1 425 demandes réglées pendant la période de référence de 2011-2012, 234 ont été qualifiées de complexes. Parmi elles, 192 l’ont été à cause de la nécessité de consulter des tiers, 17, à cause de l’évaluation des frais, neuf ont nécessité des avis juridiques et 16 ont été classées dans la catégorie « autre ». Cette dernière se compose des dossiers qui portent sur un sujet à haute visibilité, des dossiers conservés dans une région ou un autre pays, ou des dossiers dans une autre langue que le français ou l’anglais.

Consultations

Dans le cadre des procédures ministérielles du traitement des demandes, le Ministère consulte d’autres institutions gouvernementales lorsque des demandes d’accès à l’information comprennent des aspects qui les concernent. Bien que les consultations officielles soient effectuées par écrit, des discussions supplémentaires entre les bureaux de l’AIPRP ont lieu afin de faciliter le traitement de chaque cas, si nécessaire. Des consultations sont aussi menées régulièrement avec des tiers et d’autres niveaux de gouvernement.

En 2011-2012, Environnement Canada a reçu 227 demandes de consultation en matière d’accès à l’information provenant d’autres institutions du gouvernement fédéral. Ceci représente une hausse de 43 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. En outre, 219 consultations liées à des demandes d’accès à l’information ont été traitées au cours de la période de référence de 2011-2012, soit une hausse de 39 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. Quatre consultations liées à des demandes d’accès à l’information ont été reportées à la prochaine période de référence.

Le graphique qui suit illustre le nombre de demandes de consultation liées à l’accès à l’information reçues par le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP, entre 2006-2007 et 2011-2012.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information Demandes de consultation reçues de 2006 à 2012

Le graphique suivant présente le nombre de consultations liées aux demandes d’accès à l’information qui ont été réglées par le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP, entre 2006-2007 et 2011-2012.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information Consultations liées à l'accès à l'information réglées, de 2006 à 2012

Le nombre de pages traitées en réponse aux demandes de consultation liées à l’accès à l’information pendant la période de référence de 2011-2012 a augmenté largement par rapport à la période de 2010-2011 : 12 671 pages ont été traitées aux fins des consultations, comparativement à 6 367 pendant la période précédente, soit une hausse de 99 %.

Le graphique qui suit montre le nombre de pages traitées par le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP en réponse aux demandes de consultations liées à l’accès à l’information reçues entre 2006-2007 et 2011-2012.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information Pages traitées pour les consultations liées à l'accès à l'information de 2006 à 2012

Pendant la période de référence 2011-2012, 186 (89 %) des consultations réglées l’ont été pendant la période initiale de 30 jours, dont 95 au cours des 15 premiers jours et 91, entre 16 et 30 jours.

Environnement Canada a entrepris 79 consultations auprès du Secrétariat de la législation et de la planification parlementaire du Bureau du Conseil privé en 2011-2012. Cinquante-neuf (59) réponses reçues en 2011-2012 l’ont été après la date limite, ce qui a entraîné des retards de plus de 365 jours, dans certains cas, pour le traitement des demandes.

Demandes informelles

Entre le 1er avril 2011 et le 31 mars 2012, Environnement Canada a reçu 155 demandes informelles d’accès à l’information. Deux de ces demandes étaient reportées de la période de référence de 2010-2011, formant un total de 157 demandes informelles actives pour la période de référence de 2011-2012. Au cours de l’année 2011-2012, 143 demandes informelles ont été traitées au total et 14 ont été reportées à l’année de référence suivante.

Cela représente une importante hausse du nombre de demandes informelles reçues comparativement à la période de référence de 2010-2011, alors que seulement 30 demandes informelles avaient été reçues. Cette augmentation fait suite à la publication par Environnement Canada des résumés des demandes d’accès à l’information traitées sur le site Web externe du Ministère, à partir de janvier 2012.

Frais

Au cours de la période de référence 2011-2012, des frais s’élevant à 12 818 $ ont été recueillis pour le traitement de 1 422 demandes. Ce montant comprend des frais de recherche de 5 883 $ et des frais de demande de 6 935 $. Il n’y a pas eu d’autres frais pour la production, la préparation ou la reproduction.

En conformité avec les lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Environnement Canada a renoncé à facturer les frais qui n’excédaient pas individuellement 25 $, mais aucune dispense n’est accordée pour les frais de demande initiaux de 5 $.

Coûts

Les coûts d’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ont été de 737 200 $ pour les salaires et de 370 000 $ pour les biens et services (300 000 $ pour les marchés de services professionnels et 70 000 $ pour les autres frais), soit un total de 1 107 200 $.

Date de modification :