Privacy Act

Previous Page | ToC | Next page

Policies, Guidelines and Procedures

The ATIP Secretariat directs all activities within Environment Canada relating to the administration, application, and promotion of the Privacy Act and the Access to Information Act. It provides advice to senior management on the implementation of the statutes and prepares reports to Parliament, the Treasury Board Secretariat, and senior management. The ATIP Secretariat represents the Department in complaints and investigations conducted by the Privacy Commissioner and in any Federal Court applications arising from ATIP matters.

Publically Accessible Information and Inquiry Points

Info Source is a series of publications containing information on the Government of Canada and its data collection activities. Info Source is intended to help the public access government information and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act and Access to Information Act.

Each year, the ATIP Secretariat submits updates on Environment Canada's activities and information holdings to the Treasury Board Secretariat for publication in Info Source. During 2010-2011 Environment Canada continued to revise its Info Source chapter based on Environment Canada's program activity architecture.

Environment Canada's comprehensive website provides information on the Department's policies, its organizational structure, and the means to contact Department officials. In accordance with the federal government's policy of proactive disclosure, the Department website also allows access to internal evaluations and audits, as well as information on hospitality expenses, contracts, and grants.

A new Environment Canada Access to Information and Privacy web page was created in March 2011. This page provides background information on both the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It also contains a Frequently Asked Questions section and links to access to information request forms and personal information request forms.

In order to facilitate public access to information, the Environment Canada Library has been designated a public reading room. The Library is located on the second floor of the Place Vincent Massey building, 351 St. Joseph Boulevard, Gatineau, Quebec.

Policy Development

During the 2010–2011 reporting period, the Department drafted a new suite of departmental access and privacy policies and directives in accordance with Treasury Board Secretariat requirements. Development of departmental procedures will continue in the coming year.

Data Sharing Activities

The Department did not undertake any new internal or external data sharing activities in 2010–2011.

Exempt Personal Information Banks

Environment Canada has no exempt Personal Information Banks.

Privacy Impact Assessments

To fulfill its mandate, some of Environment Canada's responsibilities require the collection, use and disclosure of personal information. As a trusted custodian of this information, the Department uses Privacy Impact Assessments (PIAs) in accordance with Treasury Board policy, as a risk management tool. During the reporting period, Environment Canada initiated one Privacy Impact Assessments. This PIA was still under development at the end of 2010–2011.

Personal Information Banks

During the 2008–2009 reporting period, the ATIP Secretariat began a review of personal information holdings obtained and collected through Departmental websites. This work has continued in the 2010–2011 period and involved the registration of 5 personal information banks with the Treasury Board Secretariat.

Previous Page | ToC | Next page

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Précédent | TdesM | Suivant

Politiques, directives et procédures

Le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP dirige toutes les activités du Ministère liées à l’administration, à l’application et à la promotion de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il conseille la haute direction au sujet de la mise en œuvre de ces lois et il rédige des rapports destinés au Parlement, au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et à la haute direction. Le secrétariat de l’AIPRP représente le Ministère relativement aux plaintes portées auprès du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada, aux enquêtes menées par ces commissaires et à toute demande d’un tribunal fédéral en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels.

Centres d’information et de demande de renseignements accessibles au public

Info Source consiste en une série de publications contenant de l’information sur le gouvernement du Canada et sur ses activités de collecte de données. Info Source a pour but d’aider le public à accéder à l’information gouvernementale et à exercer les droits que lui confèrent la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Chaque année, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP présente au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor des mises à jour sur les activités et les fonds de renseignements d’Environnement Canada, à des fins de publication dans Info Source. Au cours de la période de référence 2010–2011, Environnement Canada a continué de réviser le chapitre d’Info Source en fonction de l’architecture des activités de programmes d’Environnement Canada.

Sur son site Web, Environnement Canada présente des renseignements exhaustifs sur ses politiques et sa structure organisationnelle ainsi que sur les moyens de communiquer avec ses représentants. En accord avec la politique du gouvernement fédéral sur la divulgation proactive, le site Web du Ministère donne également accès aux évaluations et aux vérifications internes ainsi qu’aux renseignements sur les frais d’accueil, sur les contrats et sur les subventions.

En mars 2011, on a créé une nouvelle page Web sur l’accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels sur le site d’Environnement Canada. Cette page offre des renseignements généraux sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Elle contient également une Foire aux questions et des liens vers les formulaires de demande d’accès à l'information et les formulaires de demande de renseignements personnels.

Pour faciliter l’accès du public à l’information, la bibliothèque d’Environnement Canada a été désignée comme salle de lecture publique. La bibliothèque est située au deuxième étage de l’immeuble Place Vincent-Massey, au 351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, Gatineau (Québec).

Élaboration de politiques

Au cours de la période de référence 2010–2011, le Ministère a élaboré une nouvelle série de politiques et de directives relatives à l’accès à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels, conformément aux exigences du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. L’élaboration de procédures ministérielles se poursuivra au cours de la prochaine année.

Activités de partage de données

En 2010–2011, le Ministère n’a entrepris aucune nouvelle activité de partage de données, ni à l’interne ni à l’externe.

Fichiers de renseignements personnels inconsultables

Environnement Canada ne détient pas de fichiers de renseignements personnels inconsultables.

Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Pour accomplir son mandat, Environnement Canada doit exercer certaines responsabilités qui nécessitent la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication de renseignements personnels. À titre de gardien de ces renseignements, le Ministère utilise les évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée comme instrument de gestion des risques, conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor. Au cours de la période de référence, Environnement Canada a initié une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée. Cette évaluation était toujours en cours d'élaboration à la fin de l’année fiscale 2010–2011.

Fichiers de renseignements personnels

Au cours de la période de référence 2008–2009, le secrétariat de l’AIPRP a entrepris l’examen des fonds de renseignements personnels recueillis sur les sites Web du Ministère. Cet examen, qui s’est poursuivi en 2010–2011, a inclus l’enregistrement de 5 fichiers de renseignements personnels au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor

Précédent | TdesM | Suivant