This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

International River Improvements Act - Annual Report for 2011

The goal of the International River Improvements Act is to ensure that Canada’s water resources in international river basins are developed and used in the best national interest.

The International River Improvements Act has been in force since July 11, 1955, and the responsibility for administering the Act has been with the Minister of the Environment since June 1971.

Section 51 of the International River Improvements Act requires that a report on operations under the Act be laid before Parliament after the end of each calendar year. This annual report covers activities under the Act during the 2011 calendar year.

The Act states that no person shall construct, operate or maintain an “international river improvement” unless the person holds a valid licence under the Act. An “international river” is defined as “water flowing from any place in Canada to any place outside Canada.” The major international rivers and their corresponding watersheds are situated in the western provinces. There are also some small rivers and streams along the Canada–United States boundary in Quebec and New Brunswick that are in the category of international rivers. The Act provides for licensing of “river improvements,” which are identified as a dam, obstruction, canal, reservoir or other work that alters the flow of an international river into the United States. The licences can be issued for a period that does not exceed 50 years. The Act ensures that Canada can meet its obligations under the Boundary Waters Treaty of January 11, 1909.

The Act does not apply to international river improvements built under the authority of another Act of the Parliament of Canada, or situated within “boundary waters” as defined in the Boundary Waters Treaty, or those constructed, operated and maintained solely for domestic, sanitary or irrigation purposes.

There is one set of regulations under the Act, the International River Improvements Regulations, passed by Order-in-Council in 1955, and amended in 1987 and 1993.

The Regulations allow for exceptions to the application of the Act under two conditions: if there are insignificant effects on river flows and levels at the Canada–United States border (i.e., effects on levels of less than 3 centimetres and effects on flows of less than 0.3 cubic metres per second); or if the improvement is temporary and will not be in operation for more than two years. For a project that is exempted from the Act, the proponent is required to notify the Minister in writing and include specific information as required under the Regulations.

Activity 2011

During 2011, no licences were issued under the International River Improvements Regulations. The Minister received two formal notifications, with proper documentation as required under the Regulations, from AltaGas Renewable Energy Inc. that the McLymont Creek Project and the Volcano Creek Project are excepted from the application of the Act.

The McLymont Creek and Volcano Creek projects are run-of-the-river hydroelectric facilities to be built on McLymont Creek and Volcano Creek, respectively. The facilities are located in the drainage basin of the Iskut River, which is a major tributary of the Stikine River, an international river located in northwestern British Columbia. Each project consists of a small dam and diversion structure, and a powerhouse. The powerhouses have a capacity of approximately 66 and 18 megawatts, respectively, for the McLymont Creek and Volcano Creek projects. Neither project has significant storage potential associated with the dam, and therefore, the effect on flows and levels of the Stikine River at the Canada–United States border will be insignificant, as defined in the Regulations. In his reply to the proponent, the Minister acknowledged that the projects are excepted from the application of the Act.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux – Rapport annuel de 2011

La Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux vise à assurer que les ressources hydriques du Canada situées dans des bassins fluviaux internationaux sont aménagées et employées dans l’intérêt du pays.

La Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux est en vigueur depuis le 11 juillet 1955, et le ministre de l’Environnement est responsable de son application depuis juin 1971.

L’article 51 de la Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux exige qu’un rapport sur l’application de la Loi soit déposé devant le Parlement après la fin de chaque année civile. Le présent rapport annuel concerne les activités visées par la Loi pendant l’année civile 2011.

La Loi stipule qu’il est interdit à toute personne de construire, de mettre en service ou d’entretenir des « ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration d’un cours d’eau international », à moins qu’elle ne détienne un permis valide délivré à cet effet en vertu de cette Loi. Un « cours d’eau international » est défini comme étant « des eaux qui coulent d’un endroit du Canada vers un endroit situé hors du Canada ». Les principaux cours d’eau internationaux et leurs bassins hydrographiques se trouvent dans les provinces de l’Ouest. Certains petits cours d’eau et rivières faisant partie de la catégorie des cours d’eau internationaux longent aussi la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick. La Loi prévoit l’octroi de permis pour les « améliorations » suivantes : barrages, obstructions, canaux, bassins de retenue ou autres ouvrages qui modifient le débit d’un cours d’eau international s’écoulant vers les États-Unis. Les permis peuvent être octroyés pour une période maximale de 50 ans. La Loi permet au Canada de remplir ses obligations en vertu du Traité des eaux limitrophes du 11 janvier 1909.

La Loi ne s’applique ni aux ouvrages construits sur des cours d’eau internationaux aux termes d’une disposition d’une autre loi du Parlement du Canada, ni aux ouvrages situés dans les « eaux limitrophes » selon la définition du Traité des eaux limitrophes, ni aux ouvrages construits, mis en service et entretenus uniquement à des fins ménagères, sanitaires ou d’irrigation.

Il existe un règlement en vertu de la Loi, soit le Règlement sur l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux, adopté par décret en 1955 et modifié en 1987 ainsi qu’en 1993.

Le Règlement prévoit deux cas d’exclusion de l’application de la Loi : lorsque l’ouvrage entraîne des effets négligeables sur le débit et le niveau des cours d’eau à la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis, c’est-à-dire un effet de moins de trois centimètres sur le niveau d’eau et un effet de moins de 0,3 mètre cube par seconde sur le débit de l’eau, ou lorsque l’amélioration est de nature temporaire et que son utilisation ne dépassera pas une période de deux ans. Quand un projet est exclu de l’application de la Loi, le promoteur est tenu d’en informer le ministre par écrit et de lui fournir les renseignements précis exigés en vertu du Règlement.

Activité 2011

En 2011, aucun permis n’a été octroyé en vertu du Règlement sur l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux. Le Ministre a reçu deux avis officiels accompagnés des documents requis en vertu du Règlement, d’AltaGas Renewable Energy Inc., selon lesquels le projet McLymont Creek et le projet Volcano Creek sont exemptés de l’application de la Loi.

Les projets McLymont Creek et Volcano Creek sont des centrales hydroélectriques au fil de l’eau qui seront construites sur les ruisseaux McLymont et Volcano respectivement. Les centrales se situent dans le bassin hydrologique de la rivière Iskut, affluent principal de la rivière Stikine, rivière internationale située dans le nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Chacun des deux projets consiste en la construction d’un petit barrage et d’une structure de dérivation, en plus d’une centrale électrique. Les centrales électriques ont une capacité d’environ 66 et 18 mégawatts, respectivement, pour les projets McLymont Creek et Volcano Creek. Aucun des deux projets ne présente un grand potentiel de retenue découlant de son barrage; c’est pourquoi les répercussions sur les débits et les niveaux de la rivière Stikine seront négligeables à la frontière Canada–États-Unis, comme il est défini dans le Règlement. Dans sa réponse au promoteur, le Ministre a convenu d’exclure les projets de l’application de la Loi.

Date de modification :