Provincial/Territorial

For the most part, waters that lie solely within a province's boundaries fall within the constitutional authority of that province. As far as Canada's three territories are concerned, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) has, as one of its functions in the north, the mandate to manage water resources in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. On April 1, 2003, responsibility for the management of water resources in Yukon was transferred from the federal government to the Government of the Yukon

Provincial legislative powers include, but are not restricted to, areas of

  • flow regulation
  • authorization of water use development
  • water supply
  • pollution control
  • thermal and hydroelectric power development

The following are links to water-related policy and legislation in Canada's provinces and territories.

Some of the following hyperlinks are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

For information on provincial/territorial water policy and legislation available in French, see the French version of this page.

Map of Canada with the provinces and the territories indicatedYukon British Columbia Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Ontario Quebec New Brunswick Nova Scotia Prince Edward Island Newfoundland and Labrador Northwest Territories Nunavut

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Provinciales/Territoriales

En règle générale, les eaux qui se trouvent sur le territoire d'une province relèvent de l'autorité constitutionnelle de cette province. En ce qui concerne les trois territoires du Canada, la gestion des ressources hydriques des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut compte parmi les fonctions qu'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) exerce dans le Nord. Le 1er avril 2003, la responsabilité de la gestion des ressources hydriques du Yukon a été transférée au gouvernement du Yukon

Les provinces disposent de pouvoirs législatifs notamment dans les domaines suivants :

  • régularisation du débit;
  • habilitation en matière d'exploitation des eaux;
  • approvisionnement en eau;
  • lutte contre la pollution;
  • mise en valeur de l'énergie thermique et hydroélectrique.

Les liens suivants renvoient vers les politiques et les lois des provinces et territoires canadiens.

Certains de ces hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'un organisme qui n'est pas assujetti à la Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Pour obtenir de l'information sur les politiques, lois et réglements en matière d'eau d'autres provinces et territoires qui ne sont disponibles qu'en anglais, consulter la version anglaise de cette page.

Carte du Canada avec les provinces et les territoires indiqué. Yukon Colombie - Britannique Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Ontario Quebec NJouveau - Brunswick Nouvelle-Écosse Île-du-Prince-Édouard Terre - Neuve - et - Labrador Territoires du Nord - Ouest Nunavut


Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Politiques


Manitoba

Lois