International River Improvements Act
Annual Report for 2015

PDF Version - 167 KB

The goal of the International River Improvements Act is to ensure that Canada’s water resources in international river basins are developed and used in the best national interest.

The International River Improvements Act (the Act) has been in force since July 11, 1955, and the responsibility for administering the Act has been with the Minister of the Environment since June 1971.

Section 51 of the Act requires that a report on operations under the Act be laid before Parliament after the end of each calendar year. This present annual report covers activities under the Act during the 2015 calendar year.

The Act states that no person shall construct, operate or maintain an “international river improvement” unless the person holds a valid licence under the Act. An “international river” is defined as “water flowing from any place in Canada to any place outside Canada.” The major international rivers and their corresponding watersheds are situated in the western provinces. There are also some small rivers and streams along the Canada–United States boundary in Quebec and New Brunswick that are categorized as international rivers. The Act provides for the licensing of “international river improvements,” which are identified as dams, obstructions, canals, reservoirs, pipelines or other works that alter the flow of an international river into the United States. The licences can be issued for a period not exceeding 50 years. The Act ensures that Canada can meet its obligations under the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909.

The Act does not apply to international river improvements built under the authority of another act of the Parliament of Canada, or situated within “boundary waters” as defined in the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909, or to works constructed, operated or maintained solely for domestic, sanitary or irrigation purposes.

There is one set of regulations under the International River Improvements Act, namely the International River Improvements Regulations (the Regulations), which were passed by order-in-council in 1955, and amended in 1987 and 1993.

The Regulationsallow for exceptions to the application of the Act under two conditions: if there are insignificant effects on river flows or levels at the Canada–United States boundary (i.e., effects on levels of less than 3 cm, or effects on flows of less than 0.3 cubic metres per second), or if the improvement is temporary and will not be in operation for more than two years. For a project that is subject to those exceptions, the proponent is nonetheless required to notify the Minister in writing and include specific information as required under the Regulations.

Activity in 2015

During 2015, one application for a new licence was received, four licences were issued under the Regulations, and one project was confirmed to be an exception.

The Minister received one application for a licence in early January for the construction, operation and maintenance of a water storage facility and ancillary water works for the KSM (Kerr-Sulphurets-Mitchell) Project in British Columbia. The proponent, Seabridge Gold Incorporated, proposes to develop a gold, copper, silver and molybdenum mine partly on tributaries of the Unuk River, which crosses the Alaska-Canada boundary north of Stewart, British Columbia. Following the environmental assessment decision of December 19, 2014, by the Minister, the responsible authorities (Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Natural Resources Canada, and Environment Canada) under the former Canadian Environmental Assessment Act determined that they may issue any licences or authorizations or perform other duties with respect to the project. The licensing process for this application under the International River Improvements Act will continue in 2016.

In April 2015, the Minister issued a licence to the Saskatchewan Power Corporation for the continued operation and maintenance of the Morrison Dam and Cookson Reservoir. These works, which have been licensed under the Act since 1975, are located on the East Poplar River, and provide the principal source of cooling water for the Poplar River Power Station (630 MW) near the town of Coronach, Saskatchewan. The licence is for a term of two years, and the conditions pertaining to river levels and flows are identical to those of the former licence. Environment and Climate Change Canada will consider issuing a longer-term licence upon receipt of the information required on the long-term effects of the improvement, as required under section 6 of the Regulations.

Three other licences, effective August 1, 2015, were issued to the British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority (BC Hydro) for the continued operation and maintenance of the Mica, Hugh Keenleyside (Arrow Lakes) and Duncan dams and their associated water storage reservoirs within the Columbia River basin in British Columbia. These works, licensed under the Act since 1965, are an important part of British Columbia’s provincial hydroelectrical generating system.

These licences require compliance with the 1964 Columbia River Treaty (the Treaty). They were issued for a term of 50 years. The licences include a condition that the term will end 50 years after they are issued, or upon the termination of the Treaty, whichever is earlier. As of September 2014, either Canada or the United States can terminate the Treaty at any time by giving a minimum of 10 years of notice. In this event, new licences would be required once the termination notice period has expired.

On July 30, 2015, the Minister issued a positive decision statement under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 for the Brucejack Gold Mine Project in British Columbia. This project is to be located partly on Brucejack Lake and Brucejack Creek, which flow into Sulphurets Creek, a tributary of the Unuk River, which crosses the international boundary north of the town of Stewart. The project, as proposed by Pretium Resources Inc., was subsequently confirmed to be excepted from the application of the International River Improvements Act because its effects on water flows and levels will be less than 0.3 cubic metres per second and 3 centimetres, respectively, at the Canada–United States boundary.

Date modified:

Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux
Rapport annuel pour 2015

Version PDF - 167 Ko

La Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux a pour but de veiller à ce que les ressources en eau du Canada dans les bassins des cours d’eau internationaux soient aménagées et utilisées dans le meilleur intérêt national.

La Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux (la Loi) est entrée en vigueur le 11 juillet 1955 et le ministre de l’Environnement est chargé de son administration depuis juin 1971.

L’article 51 de la Loi exige le dépôt au Parlement d’un rapport sur l’application de la Loi à la fin de chaque année civile. Le présent rapport annuel couvre les activités menées en application de la Loi au cours de l’année civile 2015.

La Loi stipule que nul ne peut construire, mettre en service ou entretenir un « ouvrage destiné à l’amélioration d’un cours d’eau international » à moins de détenir un permis valide en vertu de la Loi. Un « cours d’eau international » est défini comme des « eaux qui coulent d’un endroit du Canada à un endroit situé hors du Canada ». Les principaux cours d’eau internationaux et leurs bassins versants correspondants sont situés dans les provinces de l’Ouest. On trouve également de petites rivières et des ruisseaux le long de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick qui sont classés comme des cours d’eau internationaux. La Loi prévoit la délivrance de permis pour des « ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration d’un cours d’eau international » qui peuvent être des barrages, des obstacles, des canaux, des bassins de retenue, des pipelines ou tout autre ouvrage qui modifie le débit d’un cours d’eau international hors du Canada. Les permis peuvent être délivrés pour une période d’au plus 50 ans. La Loi permet au Canada de respecter ses obligations en vertu du Traité des eaux limitrophes de 1909.

La Loi ne s’applique pas aux ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration d’un cours d’eau international construits sous le régime d’une autre loi fédérale ou situés dans les « eaux limitrophes » selon la définition du Traité des eaux limitrophes de 1909, ni aux ouvrages construits, mis en service et entretenus uniquement à des fins domestiques, sanitaires ou d’irrigation.

Il existe un règlement découlant de la Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux, à savoir le Règlement sur l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux (le Règlement), adopté par décret en 1955 et modifié en 1987 et en 1993.

Le Règlement prévoit des exclusions à l’application de la Loi dans l’un des cas suivants : si l’effet sur les débits ou les niveaux des cours d’eau à la frontière Canada–États-Unis est négligeable (c.-à-d. un effet de moins de 3 cm sur le niveau d’eau ou un effet de moins de 0,3 mètre cube par seconde sur le débit), ou si l’ouvrage est temporaire et que son utilisation ne dépassera pas une période de deux ans. Pour un projet visé par ces exclusions, le promoteur doit néanmoins aviser le ministre par écrit et inclure les renseignements précis requis en vertu du Règlement.

Activité en 2015

En 2015, une demande de permis a été reçue, quatre permis ont été délivrés conformément au Règlement et il a été confirmé qu’un projet était exclu de l’application de la Loi.

Début janvier, la Ministre a reçu une demande de permis pour la construction, la mise en service et l’entretien d’une installation comprenant un barrage et un réservoir de retenue et ouvrages connexes aux fins du projet KSM (Kerr-Sulphurets-Mitchell), en Colombie-Britannique. Le promoteur, Seabridge Gold Incorporated, propose d’aménager une mine d’or, de cuivre, d’argent et de molybdène en partie dans les affluents de la rivière Unuk, qui traverse la frontière canado-américaine entre l’Alaska et la Colombie-Britannique, au nord de Stewart. Après la décision prise par la Ministre, le 19 décembre 2014, au sujet de l’évaluation environnementale, les autorités responsables (Pêches et Océans Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada et Environnement Canada) sous le régime de l’ancienne Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale ont établi qu’elles peuvent délivrer des permis ou autorisations ou exercer d’autres attributions à l’égard du projet. Le traitement de cette demande de permis en application de la Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux se poursuivra en 2016.

En avril 2015, la Ministre a délivré un permis à la Saskatchewan Power Corporation pour la poursuite de l’exploitation et de l’entretien du barrage Morrison et du réservoir Cookson. Les ouvrages, qui font l’objet d’un permis conformément à la Loi depuis 1975, se situent dans la rivière Poplar Est. Ils fournissent la principale source d’eau de refroidissement à la centrale de la rivière Poplar (630 MW) près de la municipalité de Coronach, en Saskatchewan. Le permis est valide pour deux ans, et les conditions relatives aux niveaux et débits fluviaux sont identiques à celles du permis antérieur. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada envisagera de délivrer un permis de plus longue durée quand il aura reçu les renseignements requis sur les effets à long terme des ouvrages d’amélioration, comme le prévoit l’article 6 du Règlement.

Trois autres permis, qui ont pris effet le 1er août 2015, ont été délivrés à la British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority (BC Hydro) pour la poursuite de l’exploitation et de l’entretien des barrages Mica, Hugh Keenleyside (lacs Arrow) et Duncan, et des réservoirs de retenue qui s’y rattachent, dans le bassin du fleuve Columbia en Colombie-Britannique. Ces ouvrages, qui font l’objet d’un permis conformément à la Loi depuis 1965, constituent un élément important du réseau provincial de production d’électricité en Colombie-Britannique.

Les permis exigent le respect du Traité du fleuve Columbia de 1964 (site web disponible en anglais seulement). Ils ont été établis pour 50 ans, et renferment la condition qu’ils prendront fin 50 ans après avoir été délivrés ou à l’extinction du Traité, selon la date qui survient la première. Depuis septembre 2014, le Canada ou les États-Unis peuvent mettre fin au Traité à tout moment, en donnant un préavis d’au moins 10 ans. Dans ce cas-là, il faudrait délivrer de nouveaux permis au terme du délai de préavis.

Le 30 juillet 2015, la Ministre a rendu une décision favorable, en application de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), à l’égard du projet de mine d’or Brucejack en Colombie-Britannique. Le projet doit être réalisé en partie sur le lac Brucejack et le ruisseau Brucejack, qui se jettent dans le ruisseau Sulphurets, affluent de la rivière Unuk, laquelle traverse la frontière canado-américaine au nord de la municipalité de Stewart. Il a par la suite été confirmé que le projet, proposé par Pretium Resources Inc., était exclu de l’application de la Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l’amélioration des cours d’eau internationaux, parce qu’il fera varier le niveau de moins de 3 centimètres et le débit de moins de 0,3 mètre cube par seconde à la frontière.

Date de modification :