This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Case Studies: Flood Control on the Red, Assiniboine and Fraser Rivers

Most flood control structures across the country are smaller versions of the structures used on the Red or Fraser rivers. For this reason, we offer detailed information regarding flood control on the Red and Assiniboine River in Manitoba and the Fraser River in British Columbia.


Flood Control on the Red and Assiniboine Rivers in Manitoba

The earliest flood control structures built in the Red River basin were a series of dykes along the Assiniboine River between Portage la Prairie and Winnipeg. Deposition of stream sediment along parts of this stretch of the Assiniboine River has resulted in the river bottom being higher than the surrounding land surface. Dyking began along the Assiniboine before the 1900s but did not become more widespread until after the floods of 1922 and 1923. In addition to dyking, cutoffs were made through sharp river bends. The dykes were generally low and could not contain a major flood.

Prior to the construction of the dykes, flooding was a severe problem. When riverbanks were overtopped, many square kilometres of agricultural land would be flooded, often without the possibility of the water returning to the river when floodwaters receded.

Subsequent to the Red River flood in 1950, a large scale structural approach was planned and implemented for protection against future flood damages by the Red and Assiniboine rivers. The Greater Winnipeg Dyking Board was established to construct a system of dykes to provide a degree of protection for the city against floods. In low areas, boulevard type dykes were constructed and pumping stations installed to lift storm and sanitary sewage into the rivers. In addition, "borrow" areas were established from which material could be obtained to raise dykes during flood emergencies. Approximately 110 kilometres of dykes and 31 pumping stations were built.

In 1958, a Royal Commission on Flood Cost Benefit reported on a major study to investigate structural solutions to the flooding problems on the Red and Assiniboine rivers. As a result, three projects were constructed between 1962 and 1972:

  • a floodway to divert 1700 cubic metres per second from the Red River south of Winnipeg to the east of the city, discharging back into the Red River at Lockport (completed in 1968);
  • a 700 cubic metre per second capacity diversion channel to convey floodwaters from the Assiniboine River just upstream from Portage la Prairie, northward to Lake Manitoba (completed in 1970);
  • the Shellmouth Dam in the upper reaches of the Assiniboine River just north of Russell (completed in 1972) to store flood waters and reduce peaks downstream.

The Red River Floodway

Construction of the Red River Floodway was started in 1962 and completed in 1968. The floodway consists of four components: the floodway channel, the inlet control structure, the dykes, and the outlet structure.

The floodway channel is approximately 48 kilometres long, with a drop of 5 metres between the inlet and outlet and a designed depth of flow in the channel of 8 metres. The width at the top of the channel varies from 213 metres to 305 metres. Material excavated from the channel was deposited along the side of the channel to form an embankment 6 metres high.

Photo - Red River floodway
Red River floodway

The entrance to the floodway is located in the eastern bank of the Red River near St. Norbert. An earth-fill weir at the entrance ensures that flows below flood level continue down the Red River.

The inlet control structure is located on the Red River just downstream from the floodway inlet. The purpose of the control structure is to regulate the flow between the natural channel of the Red River and the floodway channel, during the period of high water levels. The gates of the control structure are normally in a submerged position with about 1.8 metres of water over them in the summer months.

To prevent floodwaters from bypassing the inlet control structure, dykes have been constructed on either side. On the east side of the Red River, the dyke is incorporated into the floodway embankment. To the west of the Red River, the dyke extends for 34 kilometres from the inlet control structure to a point where the natural ground is above the design flood elevation. During the 1997 flood, the dyke was raised and extended an additional 25 km to prevent flood waters from bypassing the structure and entering the city.

The drop over the entire reach of the floodway is 5 metres, but the corresponding drop of the Red River is 10 metres. The purpose of the outlet structure is to dissipate the energy in the water at its point of re-entry to the Red River near Lockport, thereby preventing damage and erosion in the river.

The Portage Diversion

The Portage Diversion is a 29-kilometre channel designed to carry up to 700 cubic metres per second of flood flow from the Assiniboine River just upstream from Portage la Prairie northward to Lake Manitoba. Construction of the project began in 1965 and was completed in 1970.

A dam was constructed across the Assiniboine River, creating a reservoir covering 652 hectares with a storage capacity of 18 000 000 cubic metres. The dam allows flow down the river under normal conditions and is used to help regulate flow down the diversion channel, particularly during high river levels. An inlet control structure regulates the flow to the diversion channel itself. The diversion channel enters Lake Manitoba through the Delta Marsh.

The Shellmouth Dam

The third major structure in the flood control system is the Shellmouth Dam, located about 19 kilometres northwest of Russell in an area where the valley of the Assiniboine is wide and deep. Construction was initiated in 1964 and completed in 1972. The dam is an earth-fill structure with gravel and rock riprap for slope protection and a reinforced concrete spillway. The reservoir created by the dam is approximately 56 kilometres long with a gross storage capacity of nearly 500 000 000 cubic metres. The protection afforded by the reservoir extends along the Assiniboine from the dam site to its confluence with the Red River. Cities benefiting from its flood protection and low flow augmentation include Brandon, Portage la Prairie, and Winnipeg.

Other Manitoba flood mitigation projects

Subsequent to the 1966 flooding, the federal and Manitoba governments agreed to provide protection to communities along the Red River south of Winnipeg. Permanent dykes were constructed around seven communities. In addition, farmsteads were protected either by dykes or by raising the foundations of the farm buildings. The dyking projects, constructed to the 1950 flood levels, were built between 1967 and 1972. Following a major flood in 1979, ring dykes around the seven communities were raised to the 100-year level and one additional community was dyked. Following the 1997 flood, these dykes were further raised to the 1997 level plus freeboard, and additional communities are being considered for dyke protection.

Performance of flood control works

Flood control works on the Red and Assiniboine rivers have been extensively used since their completion. Floods occurred on the Red River in 1969, 1970, 1974, 1979, 1987 and 1997. The 1979 flood was similar in magnitude to the devastating flood of 1950, which was the catalyst for the construction of these works. In 1997, a flood surpassed only by the 1826 flood of record occurred on the Red River. This event served to demonstrate yet again the enormous value of the flood control works to the City of Winnipeg and, at the same time, to emphasize the likelihood that a flood of even greater magnitude could occur. A record flood occurred on the Assiniboine River in 1976.

An example of the benefits from such flood control works has been the City of Winnipeg, where serious flooding has been avoided since control works went into operation. Potential damages prevented during the 1969 to 1991 period are in excess of $1.1 billion (in 1998 dollars) in Winnipeg alone. The damages prevented in 1997 are significant. In the absence of these works, a large area of the City would have been inundated, some 150 000 people or more would have been evacuated, and the economic centre of Manitoba would have been completely paralyzed. The cost of the Red River Floodway, Portage Diversion and Shellmouth Reservoir totalled $94 million when constructed, or about $416.6 million in 1998 dollars. It is clear that these flood control works have been extremely cost effective.


Flood Control on the Fraser in British Columbia

In British Columbia, the structural approach is relied upon to protect Fraser River floodplain development from flood damages, particularly in the lower Fraser Valley. Dyke construction together with associated works has been the historic method of containing floods. Also, the Nechako River diversion assists flood control. The storage capacity of reservoirs for hydroelectric developments on the Bridge and Stave rivers provides further limited protection when operated for flood control purposes during the onset and occurrence of extremely high spring freshet.

Initial flood prevention efforts in the lower Fraser Valley protected agricultural lands. Early settlers constructed dykes in 1864 on Lulu Island, and by 1878, dykes were found in the Chilliwack, Surnas and Matsqui prairie areas.

By 1960, these first efforts had grown to some 375 kilometres of river and sea dykes from Agassiz to Steveston, protecting nearly 65 000 hectares of a total of 75 000 hectares of valley floodplains and tide-lands. Along with the increase in area came a change in the type of land protected. A major shift had occurred to prevent flood damage to the continually encroaching residential, industrial and commercial properties.

Photo - Fraser River dyking
Fraser River dyking

Following the disastrous flood of 1948, more than 260 kilometres of the dykes were repaired or rebuilt by the Fraser River Dyking Board. Most of the work was completed prior to the 1950 spring freshet, when the peak water level at Mission was less than 0.3 metres below the 1948 level. However, because of the haste required to restore the dykes, time did not permit the design and development of more permanent structures, nor the use of higher quality materials other than those immediately available. As a result, dykes deteriorated during subsequent high river stages. More emergency repairs allowed the dykes to withstand the high freshet levels of 1964 and 1967.

On May 24, 1968, the federal and provincial governments entered into an agreement to undertake a massive program of dyke extension and improvement. The agreement provides for the Fraser River Flood Control Program to rehabilitate and improve river and sea dykes, and to provide bank protection to ensure the safety of the dykes against erosion. Over the past 24 years, the Program has established a system of dykes that protects most of the Fraser Valley floodplain. In some areas, the Program has also provided pumping capacity and main drains to prevent flooding behind dykes as a result of local runoff. This system will protect against the highest floods of record resulting from spring snowmelt runoff. The river dykes completed under the Program have successfully withstood the 1972 freshet (which exceeded the levels of the 1964 and 1967) and the sea dykes have endured the record high sea levels of 1982.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Études de cas : régularisation des crues sur les rivières Rouge et Assiniboine et sur le fleuve Fraser

La plupart des ouvrages de régularisation au Canada sont des versions réduites de ceux que l'on trouve sur la rivière Rouge et le fleuve Fraser. C'est pourquoi nous offrons des renseignements détaillés concernant la régularisation des crues sur les rivières Rouge et Assiniboine au Manitoba et le fleuve Fraser en Colombie-Britannique.


Régularisation des crues sur les rivières Rouge et Assiniboine au Manitoba

Les premiers ouvrages de régularisation construits dans le bassin de la rivière Rouge furent une série de digues le long de la rivière Assiniboine, entre Portage la Prairie et Winnipeg. Dans ce tronçon de la rivière Assiniboine, la sédimentation avait fini par faire monter le fond de la rivière plus haut que les terres basses adjacentes. La construction des digues débuta au siècle dernier, mais se généralisa seulement après les inondations de 1922 et 1923. Par ailleurs, on creusa de nouveaux lits dans les méandres prononcés des rivières. Les digues étaient en général assez basses et ne pouvaient pas contrer une crue majeure.

Avant la construction des digues, les crues présentaient un sérieux problème. Lorsque l'eau débordait les berges des rivières, de nombreux kilomètres carrés de terres agricoles étaient inondées, et souvent sans que l'eau ne retourne à la rivière après la décrue.

Après la crue de la rivière Rouge de 1950, on planifia et mit en oeuvre un programme à grande échelle d'ouvrages de protection, afin de prévenir d'autres dégâts lors de la crue des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine. Le Greater Winnipeg Dyking Board fut alors créé et chargé de la construction d'un réseau de digues devant protéger la ville contre les inondations. Dans les secteurs bas, on construisit des digues de type boulevard, ainsi que des postes de pompage pour canaliser les eaux pluviales et les eaux d'égout dans les rivières. De plus, on établit des zones d'« emprunt » où l'on pouvait prendre des matériaux pour rehausser les digues en situations d'urgence lors des inondations. On construisit de la sorte environ 110 kilomètres de digues et 31 postes de pompage.

En 1958, une commission royale d'enquête sur les coûts des inondations demanda que l'on entreprenne une étude majeure sur les problèmes d'inondation le long des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine. À la suite de cette étude, on mit en chantier trois projets entre 1962 et 1972 :

  • un canal de dérivation sur la rivière Rouge, qui achemine un débit de 1 700 mètres cubes par seconde entre la prise d'eau située au sud-est de Winnipeg et la sortie à la hauteur de Lockport (travaux terminés en 1968);
  • un autre canal de dérivation d'un débit de 700 mètres qui achemine les eaux de crue de la rivière Assiniboine en un point juste en aval de Portage la Prairie, vers le nord, en direction du lac Manitoba (travaux terminés en 1970);
  • le barrage Shellmouth sur le tronçon supérieur de la rivière Assiniboine, juste au nord de Russell (travaux terminés en 1972), qui permet de stocker les eaux de crue et de réduire les débits de pointe en aval.

Le canal de dérivation de la rivière Rouge

La construction du canal de dérivation de la rivière Rouge débuta en 1962 et se termina en 1968. Le canal comporte quatre éléments : le canal proprement dit, le régulateur de la prise d'eau, les digues et l'exutoire.

Le canal a une longueur d'environ 48 kilomètres, avec une dénivellation de 5 mètres entre la prise d'eau et l'exutoire; la hauteur nominale d'écoulement est de 8 mètres dans le canal. La largeur à la surface du canal varie de 213 à 305 mètres. Les matériaux excavés du canal furent déposés sur les berges, pour former des talus de 6 mètres de haut.

Photo - Canal de dérivation de la rivière Rouge
Canal de dérivation de la rivière Rouge.

L'entrée du canal est située sur la rive est de la rivière Rouge, près de St. Norbert. Un déversoir en terre à l'entrée du canal assure l'écoulement de l'eau dans la rivière Rouge lorsque son niveau est inférieur au niveau de crue.

Le régulateur d'eau est situé sur la rivière Rouge juste en aval de la prise d'eau. Comme son nom l'indique, cette structure régularise le débit entre le lit naturel de la rivière Rouge et le canal, pendant les périodes de crue. Les vannes du régulateur sont normalement en position immergée, et elles sont recouvertes d'environ 1,8 mètre d'eau pendant les mois d'été.

On a érigé des digues de chaque côté du canal afin que les eaux de crue ne contournent pas le régulateur de la prise d'eau. Du côté est de la rivière Rouge, les digues sont incorporées au talus du canal. Sur la rive ouest de la rivière Rouge, les digues s'étendent sur 34 kilomètres à partir du régulateur jusqu'à un point où les terres sont plus hautes que le niveau de la crue nominale. Durant l'inondation de 1997, les digues ont été rehaussées et prolongées de 25 kilomètres pour empêcher les eaux de crue de franchiér l'ouvrage et d'entrer dans la ville.

La dénivellation sur toute la longueur du canal est de 5 mètres, mais la dénivellation correspondante de la rivière Rouge est de 10 mètres. Quant à l'ouvrage de sortie, il sert à disperser l'énergie dans l'eau en son point de retour à la rivière Rouge près de Lockport, afin d'empêcher les dégâts et l'érosion dans la rivière.

Le canal Portage

Le canal Portage a une longueur de 29 kilomètres et peut transporter les eaux de crue à raison de 700 mètres cubes par seconde entre la rivière Assiniboine et jusqu'en un point juste en aval de Portage la Prairie, vers le nord, en direction du lac Manitoba. Mis en chantier en 1965, le projet fut terminé en 1970.

Un réservoir fut construit sur la rivière Assiniboine; il couvre 652 hectares et a une capacité de stockage de 18 000 000 mètres cubes. Dans les conditions normales, le réservoir laisse couler la rivière et il régularise le débit en aval du canal de dérivation, notamment pendant les périodes de crue. Le débit du canal est fixé par un ouvrage de régularisation à l'entrée du canal. Celui-ci se déverse dans le lac Manitoba, en passant par les marais du Delta.

Le barrage Shellmouth

Le troisième ouvrage de ce réseau de régularisation est le barrage Shellmouth, situé à environ 19 kilomètres au nord-ouest de Russell, dans une région où la vallée de l'Assiniboine est large et profonde. Les travaux débutèrent en 1964 et se terminèrent en 1972. Le barrage est une structure en terre avec un enrochement de gravier et pierres qui protège la pente du barrage, et un déversoir en béton armé. Le réservoir créé par le barrage a environ 56 kilomètres de long, et une capacité brute de près de 500 000 000 mètres cubes. Le barrage protège la région sise le long de la rivière Assiniboine entre le barrage et le confluent de l'Assiniboine avec la rivière Rouge. Brandon, Portage la Prairie et Winnipeg comptent parmi les villes protégées par cet ouvrage, qui assure une augmentation lente du niveau de l'eau.

Autres projets de réduction des inondations au Manitoba

Après l'inondation de 1966, le gouvernement fédéral et celui du Manitoba convinrent de protéger les localités le long de la rivière Rouge, au sud de Winnipeg. On construisit des digues permanentes autour de sept localités. De plus, afin de protéger les exploitations agricoles, on installa des digues en certains endroits et ailleurs on rehaussa les fondations des bâtiments agricoles. Les digues furent construites entre 1967 et 1972, à une hauteur correspondant au niveau de la crue de 1950. Après une inondation importante en 1979, les digues périphériques installées autour des sept localités furent rehaussées pour atteindre le niveau de la crue centenaire et une nouvelle localité fut protégée par des digues. À la suite de l'inondation de 1997, ces digues ont été rehaussées de nouveau au niveau atteint cette année-là plus la revanche. De plus, on envisage la construction de digues pour protéger d'autres collectivités.

Rendement des ouvrages de régularisation des crues

On s'est largement servi des ouvrages de régularisation des crues sur les rivières Rouge et Assiniboine depuis l'achèvement des travaux. Des inondations se sont produites sur la rivière Rouge en 1969, 1970, 1974, 1979, 1987 et 1997. L'inondation de 1979 était comparable en importance à l'inondation dévastatrice de 1950, qui a joué un rôle catalyseur dans la construction de ces ouvrages. En 1997, une inondation que seule la crue record de 1826 a réussi à dépasser s'est produite sur la rivière Rouge. Cet événement a servi à démontrer une fois de plus la grande valeur que revêtent les ouvrages de protection contre les crues pour la ville de Winnipeg et, en même temps, la possibilité que survienne une inondation d'une plus grande importance. Une crue record s'est produite sur la rivière Assiniboine en 1976.

Le principal bénéficiaire des ouvrages de régularisation des crues a été la ville de Winnipeg qui, depuis l'installation des ouvrages, n'a pas connu de graves inondations. On a établi à plus de 1,1 milliard de dollars (dollars de 1998) le montant des dégâts potentiels qui ont pu être évités à Winnipeg seulement au cours des années 1969 à 1991. Quant aux dégâts qui ont pu être évités en 1997 relativement à la crue, ils sont importants. Sans ces ouvrages, une grande partie de la ville aurait été inondée, quelque 150 000 personnes auraient été évacuées et le centre économique de Manitoba aurait été paralysé. Il en a coûté 94 millions de dollars (environ 416,6 millions de dollars de 1998) pour la construction du canal de dérivation de la rivière Rouge, du canal Portage et du barrage Shellmouth. Il est évident que ces ouvrages de protection contre les crues ont été extrêmement rentables.


Régularisation des crues sur le fleuve Fraser en Colombie-Britannique

En Colombie-Britannique, on a eu recours à l'approche structurale afin de protéger les aménagements dans la plaine inondable du fleuve Fraser, et notamment dans la vallée inférieure du Fraser. Depuis longtemps on utilise les digues et les structures connexes pour contenir les eaux de crue. L'ouvrage de dérivation de la rivière Nechako contribue aussi à la régularisation des crues. Les barrages hydroélectriques sur les rivières Bridge et Stave fournissent, grâce à la capacité de leurs réservoirs, une protection limitée additionnelle s'ils sont utilisés à des fins de régularisation au début des crues nivales au printemps et pendant celles-ci, lorsqu'elles sont extrêmement prononcées.

Les premiers travaux de prévention dans la vallée inférieure du Fraser visaient à protéger les terres agricoles. Les premiers colons construisirent des digues sur l'île Lulu en 1864. En 1878, on trouvait des digues dans les prairies de Chilliwack, Sumas et Matsqui.

En 1960, les digues marines et fluviales avaient atteint une longueur de quelque 375 kilomètres entre Agassiz et Steveston, protégeant près de 65 000 hectares sur un total de 75 000 hectares de plaines inondables et de terres inondées à marée haute. À mesure que la superficie des terres augmentait, on assistait à une modification du type de terres protégées. En effet, on chercha davantage à protéger les propriétés résidentielles, industrielles et commerciales.

Photo - Digues longeant le Fraser.
Digues longeant le Fraser.

Après l'inondation désastreuse de 1948, les digues furent réparées ou reconstruites sur plus de 260 kilomètres, par le Fraser River Dyking Board. La plupart des travaux avaient été réalisés lorsque survint la crue nivale de 1950, à l'occasion de laquelle le niveau de l'eau maximal à Mission fut de seulement 0,3 mètre moins élevé que celui enregistré en 1948. Toutefois, en raison de la hâte avec laquelle on répara les digues, on n'eut pas le temps de concevoir des structures plus permanentes, ni d'utiliser des matériaux de meilleure qualité autres que ceux qui étaient immédiatement disponibles. Par conséquent, les digues se détériorèrent lors des montées subséquentes de l'eau. D'autres réparations faites de toute urgence permirent aux digues de résister aux fortes crues nivales de 1964 et de 1967.

Le 24 mai 1968, les gouvernements fédéral et provincial conclurent un accord prévoyant un programme massif d'extension et d'amélioration des digues. Cet accord devait permettre au Programme de lutte contre les inondations du fleuve Fraser d'assurer la remise en état et l'amélioration des digues marines et fluviales, ainsi que la protection des berges afin de soustraire les digues à l'érosion. Au cours des 24 dernières années, le Programme a établi un réseau de digues qui protège la majeure partie du Fraser. Dans certaines régions, le Programme a permis aussi la construction de postes de pompage et de drains collecteurs afin d'empêcher que le ruissellement local ne provoque des inondations derrière les digues. Les digues fluviales construites dans le cadre du Programme ont résisté avec succès à la crue nivale de 1972 (qui fut supérieure aux crues de 1964 et de 1967) et les digues marines ont constitué une bonne défense contre les crues records marines de 1982.

Date de modification :