Overview of Freshwater Quality Monitoring and Surveillance

Environment and Climate change Canada (ECCC) monitors freshwater quality on:

  • federal lands
  • transboundary watersheds
  • inland waters

The Freshwater Quality Monitoring and Surveillance (FWQMS) program activities are accomplished in collaboration with provincial and territorial governments, and in conformity with the Canada Water Act.


Long-term physical-chemical water quality monitoring

Samples collected at over 350 sites to assess status and trends

Longterm water quality monitoring sites in Canada as of 2016 and their classification (Federal, Federal-Provincial, Federal Great Lakes Program, Boundary Waters, or Prairie Provinces Water Board)

More information on long-term physical-chemical water quality monitoring map.

The map shows the active water quality monitoring stations in Canada in 2015. The Pacific Ocean watershed numbers approximately 10 % of stations; the Arctic Ocean watershed numbers 7 % of stations; the Hudson Bay watershed regroups 12 % of stations and finally, the Atlantic Ocean watershed numbers 73 % of stations. View data from long-term physical-chemical water quality monitoring 

Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network (CABIN)

Biological monitoring to assess conditions of aquatic habitats

Cabin biological monitoring sites in Canada as of 2016 and what year they were sampled (2009-2016 or 1983-2008)

More information on Canadian aquatic biomonitoring network map.

This map shows all the sampling sites (over 8000) in the Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network (CABIN). These sites were sampled between 1983 and 2016. The sites are non-uniformly distributed across Canada. The sites are displayed in 2 groups: all sites sampled between 1983 and 2008 and all sites sampled between 2009 and 2016. View interactive Canadian aquatic biomonitoring network map.

Automated water quality monitoring

Samples collected at 19 sites in order to continuously measure specific parameters, such as temperature, conductivity and pH

Automated water quality monitoring sites in Canada as of 2016 and their classification (Federal, Federal-Provincial/Territorial, or Transboundary)

More information on automated water quality monitoring map.

In 2015, there are 22 automated water quality monitoring sites in the Canada. Two transboundary sites exist in British Columbia: one federal and one federal-provincial. In Alberta, there are three federal sites of which one is a transboundary site. In Manitoba, there is one transboundary federal site. In Ontario, there are seven federal sites of which five are transboundary sites. In Quebec, there is one transboundary federal site. New Brunswick has four transboundary federal sites. One federal-provincial site is found in Prince Edward Island. Nova Scotia has two federal sites of which one is a transboundary site. One federal-territorial site is found in Yukon. View data from automated water quality monitoring 

Site or issue-specific surveillance Programs

There are more than 60 water quality surveillance sites associated to the Chemical Management Plan

Surveillance program water quality monitoring sites in Canada as of 2016 and their specific program classification (Chemicals Management Plan (CMP)

More information on site or issue-specific surveillance programs map.

The map shows the active water quality surveillance sites associated to the Chemical Management Plan (CMP) in Canada in 2015. The Pacific Ocean watershed numbers six sites. The Arctic Ocean watershed numbers only two sites, while the Hudson Bay watershed shows 11 sites. Finally, the Atlantic Ocean watershed numbers 44 sites.  View data from site or issue-specific surveillance programs 

A risk-based adaptive management framework

ECCC conducts the monitoring and surveillance activities based on the level of risk to water quality in a watershed. The risk is assessed regarding the stress determined by:

  • the nature
  • the probability
  • the frequency
  • the severity

Through the risk-based adaptive management framework, ECCC optimizes its activities so as to reach results more targeted and better adapted to the needs of users and those of the Canadian population.

The risk-based basin analysis (RBBA)

The risk-based basin analysis (RBBA) is a spatial analysis tool used to quantify the relative risk to water quality in Canada’s 1,138 sub-sub-drainage areas (SSDA’s). The RBBA tool aggregates stress from 16 human activities and classifies basins on a relative risk scale.

Map of Canada showing the sub-sub-drainage areas classified according to their risk factors that can threaten the water quality. The main risk factors are the presence of road networks, pipelines, urban discharges and contaminants, dams and agriculture.

More information on risk based basin analysis map.

The map of Canada showing the sub-sub-drainage areas classified according to their risk factors that can threaten the water quality. The main risk factors are the presence of road networks, pipelines, urban discharges and contaminants, dams and agriculture. A color scale going from light yellow to dark brown shows the intensity of risk, the highest of which is of dark color. The sub-sub-drainage areas associated with the highest risk are concentrated in the Prairies, the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence River and the Maritimes. Green dots and pink triangles representing the federal sampling sites and the water sampling sites in the lakes, respectively, are spread over the territory.  

In support to resource management initiatives

  • Reports on national and ecosystem-based indicators under the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy
  • Surveillance studies under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, including the Chemicals Management Plan
  • Monitoring and assessment of Government of Canada priority ecosystems and programs, like the Great Lakes, St. Lawrence River Basin, Lake Winnipeg, and northeastern British Columbia, and through participation in initiatives such as the Canada-Alberta Joint Oil Sands Monitoring Program
  • Development of the freshwater quality indicator (WQI) for the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI). The WQI measures the ability of freshwater bodies to support aquatic life at selected monitoring stations across Canada.
Date modified:

Aperçu du suivi et de la surveillance de la qualité des eaux douces

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) surveille la qualité des eaux douces :

  • des terres fédérales
  • des bassins versants transfrontaliers
  • des eaux intérieures

Les activités du Programme de monitoring et de surveillance des eaux douces (PMSED) sont réalisées en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi qu’en conformité à la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada. .


Sites de monitoring à long terme

Suivi à long terme de la qualité physico-chimique de l’eau à plus de 350 sites afin d’évaluer la qualité de l’eau et les tendances

Sites de suivi de la qualité de l’eau à long terme au Canada en 2016 et leur classification (fédéral, fédéral-provincial, Programme fédéral des Grands Lacs, eaux transfrontalières, ou Prairie Provinces Water Board)

Plus d'information sur la carte du suivi long terme de la qualité physico-chimique de l'eau.

La carte illustre les stations de monitoring de la qualité de l’eau actives au Canada en 2015. Le bassin versant de l’océan Pacifique compte environ 10 % des stations; le bassin versant de l’océan Arctique compte 7 % des stations; le bassin versant de la baie d’Hudson regroupe 12 % des stations et enfin le bassin versant de l’océan Atlantique compte 73 % des stations.  Données sur le suivi long terme de la qualité physico-chimique de l'eau 

Réseau canadien de biosurveillance aquatique (CABIN)

La surveillance biologique évalue les conditions des habitats aquatiques

Sites de biomonitoring RCBA au Canada en 2011 et leur année d’échantillonnage (2009-2011 ou 1983-2016)

Plus d'information sur la carte réseau canadien de biosurveillance aquatique

Cette carte illustre tous les sites d’échantillonnage (plus de 8000) du Réseau Canadien de Biosurveillance Aquatique (RCBA). Ces sites ont été échantillonnés entre 1983 et 2016. La distribution des sites n’est pas uniforme à travers le Canada. Les sites sont affichés en 2 groupes : tous les sites échantillonnés entre 1983 et 2008, et tous les sites échantillonnés entre 2009 et 2016. Carte interactive du Réseau canadien de biomonitoring aquatique

Sites du réseau national de monitoring automatisés de la qualité de l’eau

Échantillons prélevés régulièrement à 19 sites afin de mesurer des paramètres spécifiques tels que la température, la conductivité et le pH

Sites de suivi de la qualité de l’eau automatisés au Canada en 2016 et leur classification (fédéral, fédéral-provincial/territorial, ou transfrontalière)

Plus d'information sur la carte du réseau national de monitoring automatisé de la qualité de l’eau.

En 2015, 22 sites de suivi de la qualité de l’eau automatisés sont dénombrés sur le territoire canadien. Deux sites transfrontaliers sont présents en Colombie-Britannique : un fédéral et un fédéral-provincial. En Alberta, trois sites fédéraux dont un transfrontalier sont présents. Au Manitoba, il y a un site fédéral transfrontalier. En Ontario, sept sites fédéraux dont cinq transfrontaliers sont présents. Au Québec, il y a un site fédéral transfrontalier. Le Nouveau-Brunswick compte quatre sites fédéraux transfrontaliers. Un site fédéral-provincial est présent à l’Île-du-Prince-Edouard. La Nouvelle-Écosse compte deux sites fédéraux dont un transfrontalier. Un site fédéral-territorial se trouve au Yukon.Données sur le réseau national de monitoring automatisés de la qualité de l’eau  

Sites des programmes de surveillance

Plus de 60 sites de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau associés au Plan de gestion des substances chimiques.

Sites de suivi de la qualité de l’eau du programme de surveillance au Canada en 2016 et leur programme spécifique (Plan de gestion des produits chimique ou programme)

Plus d'information sur la carte des programmes de surveillance

La carte montre les sites de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau associés au Plan de gestion des substances chimiques en opération en 2015. Le bassin de l’océan Pacifique compte six sites. Le bassin de l’océan Arctique compte seulement deux sites, alors que celui de la Baie d’Hudson en compte 11. Enfin, le bassin de l’océan Atlantique compte 44 sites.  Données sur le suivi des programmes de surveillance 

Cadre de gestion adaptative fondé sur le risque

ECCC mène ses activités de suivi et de surveillance selon le niveau de risque présent dans un bassin hydrographique, pouvant nuire à la qualité de l’eau. Le risque est évalué en fonction des facteurs de stress définis par leur :

  • nature
  • probabilité
  • fréquence
  • gravité

Grâce au cadre de gestion adaptative sur le risque, ECCC optimise ses activités de manière à atteindre des résultats plus ciblés et mieux adaptés aux besoins de ses usagers et ceux de la population canadienne.

Analyse des bassins axée sur le risque (ABAR)

L’analyse des bassins axée sur le risque (ABAR) est un outil d’analyse spatiale qui a permis d’évaluer 1 138 sous-sous-aires de drainage au Canada. Cet outil cumule les facteurs de stress découlant de 16 activités humaines et classe les bassins selon une échelle du risque relatif.

Carte du Canada montrant les sous-sous-aires de drainage classées selon leurs facteurs de risque pouvant menacer la qualité de l’eau. Les principaux facteurs de risques sont la présence de réseaux routiers, de pipelines, de rejets urbains et de contaminants, de barrages et d’agriculture.

Plus d'information sur la carte du Cadre de gestion adaptative fondé sur le risque.

Carte du Canada montrant les sous-sous-aires de drainage classées selon leurs facteurs de risque pouvant menacer la qualité de l’eau. Les principaux facteurs de risques sont la présence de réseaux routiers, de pipelines, de rejets urbains et de contaminants, de barrages et d’agriculture. Une échelle de couleur allant du jaune pâle au brun foncé montre l’intensité du risque dont la plus élevée est de couleur foncée. Les sous-sous-aires de drainage dont le risque est le plus élevé se concentrent dans les Prairies, les Grands Lacs, le fleuve Saint-Laurent et les maritimes. Des points verts et des triangles roses représentant respectivement les sites d’échantillonnage fédéraux et les sites d’échantillonnage de l’eau dans des lacs sont répartis sur le territoire.  

En appui aux initiatives de gestion des ressources en eau

  • rapports sur des indicateurs nationaux et écosystémiques dans le cadre de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable
  • études de surveillance en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, notamment le Plan de gestion des produits chimiques
  • suivi et évaluation des écosystèmes et des programmes prioritaires du gouvernement du Canada, notamment dans les Grands Lacs, le fleuve Saint-Laurent, le lac Winnipeg et le Nord-Est de la Colombie-Britannique, et participation au Programme conjoint de surveillance des sables bitumineux Canada-Alberta
  • élaboration de l’indicateur de qualité de l’eau douce (IQED) dans le cadre des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement (ICDE)
Date de modification :