Legal Community

Tall grass surrounding watershed with Rocky Mountains and white clouds in the distanceThe Environmental Damages Fund (EDF) gives courts a way to ensure money received as compensation for environmental infractions is directly invested to benefit our natural environment. This section of the website will benefit both public and private sector lawyers.

To learn how contributions may be directed to the fund, what groups and project types are eligible to receive funding, or search for relevant legislation, legal precedents and examples of funded projects, select one of the following links:

Program Information

  1. About the Environmental Damages Fund
  2. Eligible Projects
  3. Eligible and Ineligible Organizations
  4. Funded Projects
  5. Environmental Damages Fund Factsheets

Federal Environmental Legislation

  1. About the new Environmental Enforcement Act
  2. Legal Precedents (fines, court awards directed to the EDF)
  3. Environment Canada Acts, Regulations and Agreements
  4. Federal Acts and Regulations

Directing Funds to the Environmental Damages Fund

  1. Recommending the Environmental Damages Fund
  2. How funds are directed
  3. About court orders
  4. About Environmental Protection Alternative Measures Agreement (EPAM)
  5. How court restrictions are used to direct specific contributions 

Program Information

1.  About the Environmental Damages Fund

The EDF is a specified purpose account created by the Government of Canada in 1995 and administered by Environment Canada to provide a mechanism for directing funds received as a result of fines, court orders, and voluntary payments to priority projects that will benefit our natural environment. A specified purpose account is one maintained separately from the general revenues of the Government of Canada. Environment Canada solicits project proposals from eligible groups to undertake environmental remediation projects and ensures funded projects are carried out in a cost-effective, technically feasible and scientifically sound manner.

Recent improvements to the administration of the program will ensure funds are disbursed promptly to recipients capable of delivering projects that demonstrate strong environmental results.

Monetary awards are used to fund projects that focus on 1) environmental restoration, 2) environmental quality improvement, 3) research and development, and 4) education and awareness in accordance with EDF program criteria.

Funds are disbursed in the geographic region (local area, region, province or territory) where the incident occurred. Priority is given to projects that restore the natural environment and conserve wildlife in the geographic region where the original incident occurred.

For examples of recently funded projects visit our funded projects page.

2. Eligible Projects

To be eligible projects must address one or more of the following categories:


1. Restoration (highest funding priority)

Natural environments affected by environmental damage are restored, for example:

  • Restore same type of natural resources lost, of the same quality and value in the locale in which the incident occurred.
  • Restore same type of natural resources lost, of the same quality and value in another locale.
  • Restore same type of natural resource, but of different quality in the locale where the incident occurred.


2. Environmental Quality Improvement

Environmental quality is improved in areas where environmental damage or harm to wildlife has occurred, for example:

  • Improve or enhance different natural resources in the locale in which the incident occurred.
  • Improve or enhance different natural resources in a different locale.
  • Improve or enhance environments previously degraded by pollutant discharges or other human induced alterations (e.g. tidal barriers, dike lands).


3. Research and Development

Knowledge of long-term and/or cumulative impacts of environmental damage or harm to wildlife is increased, for example:

  • Undertake the assessment or research of environmental damage in support of restoration planning including the long-term effects and cumulative impacts of pollutant discharges or for increased understanding of limiting factors for migratory birds populations.
  • Develop environmental damage assessment and restoration methods including techniques for the valuation of damage; restoration alternatives (e.g. environmental management plans).

4. Education and Awareness

Awareness and understanding related to environmental damage restoration or compliance with environmental regulations is increased, for example:

  • Promote education related to environmental damage restoration including training for the assessment and restoration of damage, or for increased awareness and compliance with environmental regulations.
  • Promote community capacity building and environmental stewardship in support of environmental damage restoration.

Funding priority is given to projects that will help to restore the natural environment and conserve wildlife in the geographic region (local area, region or province) most affected by the original incident.

In instances where fines are directed to the EDF when no environmental damage or harm to wildlife has occurred, consideration will be given to all types of projects under the four project categories (research and development or education and awareness projects related to environmental restoration and compliance with regulations).

3. Eligible and Non-eligible Organizations

Environment Canada actively seeks project proposals from both large and small organizations requesting financial support for projects that meet the EDF program criteria.

1. Eligible organizations include:

  • Non-governmental organizations
  • Universities and academic institutions
  • Aboriginal groups
  • Provincial, territorial and municipal governments

2. Ineligible organizations are encouraged to partner with eligible groups to apply for funding. Non-eligible organizations include:

  • Individuals
  • Businesses
  • Federal governments and agencies

3. Offenders are not eligible to apply directly, or to partner with eligible organizations, for fines or monetary payments they have made that have been directed to the EDF.

4. Funded Projects



Featured Project

Rehabilitation Project to Construct Nesting Shelters

Two Ducks Unlimited workers with nesting boxesDucks Unlimited Canada received $14,565 to install nesting shelters to improve feeding and breeding rates of the eider bird population on islands located in Main Brook and Roddickton, Newfoundland and Labrador, and to hold education sessions to rebuild stewardship capacity amongst local youth. Fines received in violation of the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994.
Total project value: $42,085

Select a link to read about successfully completed EDF funded projects in your region:

Atlantic Region

  1. Rehabilitation Project to Construct Nesting Shelters
  2. Research Project to Monitor Seabird Populations for Oil Spill Preparedness

Quebec Region

  1. Restoration and Awareness Project on watercourses degradation
  2. Restoration Project in the Témiscamingue Region

Ontario Region

  1. Shoreline Restoration Project
  2. Rehabilitation Project

Prairie and Northern Region

  1. Research and Development Project to Monitor Contaminants in Arctic Landfills
  2. Project to Solve Illegal Hunting Cases

Pacific and Yukon Region

  1. Restoration and Education Project to Improve Water Quality
  2. Restoration and Habitat Recovery of Burrard Inlet

Federal Environmental Legislation

1. About the New Environmental Enforcement Act

The Environmental Enforcement Act came into force in 2010. It amended the following nine statutes so that they will require that fines levied be directed to the EDF:

  1. Antarctic Environmental Protection Act
  2. Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act
  3. Canada National Parks Act
  4. Canada Wildlife Act
  5. Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999
  6. International River Improvements Act
  7. Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994
  8. Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park Act
  9. Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act

2. Legal Precedents (fines, court awards directed to the EDF)

Environment Canada's Enforcement Notifications contain information on successful environmental prosecutions across Canada.  Listed among these are prosecutions that resulted in monetary payments or levied fines being directed to the EDF.

For information relating solely to those prosecutions that resulted in monetary payments or fines being directed to the EDF, visit our Legal Precedents page.

3. Environment Canada Acts, Regulations and Agreements

Environment Canada administers dozens of acts either in whole or in part, as well as regulations and agreements to fulfil its mandate. It also assists with the administration of many others.

Environment Canada uses regulations to place strict controls on areas governed by these acts. It enters into agreements with individual or multiple parties to define mutual commitments, roles and actions on specific environmental issues.

Search Environment Canada's Acts, Regulations and Agreements

4. Federal Acts and Regulations 

Department of Justice provides legal advice to the Government and all federal government departments and agencies, represents the Crown in civil litigation and before administrative tribunals, drafts legislation, and responds to the other legal needs of federal departments and agencies.

You may wish to search Justice Canada's Consolidated Statutes and Regulations to access the full text of federal acts and regulations as well as updates.

Directing Funds to the Environmental Damages Fund

1. Recommending the Environmental Damages Fund

Role of Enforcement

Environmental and Wildlife enforcement officers from Environment Canada, Transport Canada, Fisheries and Oceans and Parks Canada perform a variety of activities including inspections, investigations and intelligence gathering.

In consultation with subject matter experts, enforcement officers formulate recommendations regarding the most appropriate legal mechanism to be used and write up case files to be presented to the prosecutors. Enforcement officers will remind prosecutors of the availability of the EDF at the time of the referral of charges for prosecution. When preparing their briefs to prosecutors enforcement officers may include a regionally specific factsheet about the EDF which includes two EDF funded projects.

Role of Prosecutors

Prosecutors make the determination on how to proceed with the case. When appropriate they may choose to recommend the EDF as a mechanism for directing funds to priority projects that will restore environmental damage or harm to wildlife. They may also choose to dispel any misunderstandings so that the courts learn about the value of the EDF prior to making a final ruling.

2. How Funds Are Directed

1) Fines and Court Orders

The majority of funds are directed to the EDF through statutory fines and court-ordered payments. A number of federal statutes authorize discretionary court orders that have been used to direct monies to the EDF1, for example:

  • Canada Shipping Act, 2001
  • Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 19992
  • Criminal Code3
  • Fisheries Act
  • Species at Risk Act

All fines collected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 must be directed to the EDF, by virtue of subsection 13(6) of the Act.

2) Voluntary payments or Payments from International funds

In some cases contributions to the EDF can also arise from outside the judicial system.  These include negotiated settlements (for example, Environmental Protection Alternative Measures, or EPAMs under Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999), voluntary payments, or payments from international funds such as the Ship Source Oil Pollution Fund or the International Oil Pollution Funds

3. About Court orders

Court-ordered contributions to the EDF can be made in the form of civil or criminal, court ordered payments to the Crown.  Civil awards are made by the civil courts in the context of civil litigation.  Court ordered fines are payments, including also made by the criminal courts in the context of prosecutions. Such prosecutions are considered to be prosecutions of regulatory offences.  Court ordered payments are generally a discretionary court order directing a specific contribution to the EDF.

Generally, fines paid to the Crown, are deposited in the Consolidated Revenue Fund. However, a statute can direct that fines be paid to the EDF instead, as is the case with the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 subsection 13(6) of the Act. When the Environmental Enforcement Act (EEA) comes into force, fines collected under the nine amended statutes will also be directed to the EDF.

4. About Environmental Protection Alternative Measures Agreement (EPAM)

Payment into the EDF can also be a term of an EPAM under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, or alternative measures under the Species at Risk Act. EPAMs are negotiated between the Attorney General of Canada and a person charged with an offence who qualifies4. In most instances, these payment options are discussed between the prosecutor working on the case and the accused party or counsel of the accused.

5. How court restrictions are used to direct specific contributions?

When authorized by law, a court may use its discretionary power to direct a specific contribution to the EDF. When directing a specific contribution, the court has the authority to include conditions regarding how the funding is applied to eligible EDF projects. In these instances, the court may choose to identify the 1) recipient, 2) location and 3) scope of an EDF project.

Where a court has recommended a particular recipient to undertake the project in accordance with the Environmental Enforcement Act, priority will be given to direct EDF funds to that recipient provided they are 1) eligible to receive funding by the EDF 2) capable of undertaking a project that will generate strong environmental results and 3) will meet all program reporting requirements. Generally, the Minister of the Environment will follow recommendation of the court


Quick Fact - EDF Program Criteria

The EDF program funds both large and small eligible groups in the geographic region (local area, region or province) where the original incident occurred. Funding priority is given to projects that will restore the natural environment and conserve wildlife.



References

1. See for example, Fisheries Act, 2001para. 79. 2(f), Canada Shipping Act, 2001, para 193 (d).

2. For example, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 1999 para. 291(m) can be relied on if the funds are allocated to the Canada Revenue Fund in trust to the EDF.

3. For Acts that do not contain specific provisions for remedial court orders, a probation order under the Criminal Code para. 731 may be considered.

4. See Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 para. 298 (1), and Species at Risk Act s. 109.

Date modified:

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Communauté juridique

Grande herbe entourant le bassin versant avec comme fond les Montagnes Rocheuses et des nuages blancsLe Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement (FDE) permet aux tribunaux de s'assurer que les compensations financières reçues au titre de dommages à l'environnement sont directement investies dans notre environnement naturel. Cette section du site web profitera autant aux avocats des secteurs publics et privés.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la façon dont les contributions peuvent être attribuées au Fonds, sur les groupes et les types de projets admissibles au financement, ou pour rechercher des lois, des précédents jurisprudentiels et des exemples pertinents de projets financés, sélectionnez un des liens suivants :

Renseignements sur le programme

  1. À propos du Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement
  2. Projets admissibles
  3. Organisations admissibles et non admissibles
  4. Projets financés
  5. Fiches d'information sur le Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement

Lois environnementales fédérales

  1. À propos de la nouvelle Loi sur le contrôle d'application de loisenvironnementales
  2. Précédents jurisprudentiels (amendes, montants adjugés au Fonds par des tribunaux)
  3. Lois, règlements et accords d'Environnement Canada
  4. Lois et règlements fédéraux

Attribution des montants au Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement

  1. Recommandation du Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement
  2. Comment les fonds sont-ils attribués?
  3. À propos des ordonnances de tribunaux
  4. À propos de l'accord sur les mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement (MRMPE)
  5. Comment les restrictions des tribunaux sont-elles appliquées aux contributions directes particulières? 

Renseignements sur le programme

1. À propos du Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement

Le FDE est un compte à fins déterminées créé par le gouvernement du Canada en 1995 et administré par Environnement Canada. Il permet d'attribuer les fonds provenant d'amendes, d'ordonnances de tribunaux et de contributions volontaires à des projets prioritaires dédiés à notre environnement naturel. Un compte à fins déterminées est un compte géré séparément des revenus généraux du gouvernement du Canada. Environnement Canada sollicite des propositions de projet auprès de groupes admissibles pour mettre en œuvre des projets de réparation des dommages environnementaux et s'assure que les projets financés sont techniquement réalisables, rigoureusement scientifiques et rentables.

Les améliorations récentes apportées à l'administration du programme permettront de s'assurer que les fonds sont versés rapidement aux bénéficiaires en mesure de mettre en œuvre des projets qui fournissent d'excellents résultats environnementaux.

Les montants adjugés sont utilisés pour financer des projets 1) de restauration de l'environnement, 2) d'amélioration de la qualité de l'environnement, 3) de recherche et de développement, et 4) d'éducation et de sensibilisation, conformément aux critères du programme du Fonds.

Les fonds sont déboursés dans la région géographique (zone locale, région, province ou territoire) où l'incident a eu lieu. On accorde la priorité aux projets de restauration du milieu naturel et la conservation des espèces sauvages qui prennent en compte les dommages causés par l'incident original.

Pour découvrir des exemples de projets financés récemment, visitez notre page consacrée aux projets financés.

2. Projets admissibles

Pour être admissibles, les projets doivent entrer dans une ou plusieurs des catégories suivantes :



1. Restauration (priorité de financement la plus élevée)

Restauration de dommages causés à l'environnement naturel, par exemple :

  • Restauration du même type de ressources naturelles affectées, de la même qualité et de la même valeur dans la région où l'incident a eu lieu.
  • Restauration du même type de ressources naturelles affectées, de la même qualité et de la même valeur dans une autre région.
  • Restauration du même type de ressources naturelles, de qualité différente dans la région où l'incident a eu lieu.

2. Amélioration de la qualité de l'environnement

La qualité de l'environnement est améliorée dans les régions où les dommages à l'environnement ou les nuisances à la faune sont survenus, par exemple :

  • Amélioration de différentes ressources naturelles dans la région où l'incident a eu lieu.
  • Amélioration de différentes ressources naturelles dans une région différente.
  • Amélioration d'environnements contaminés par des rejets de polluants ou affectés par d'autres modifications d'origine humaine (p. ex., des barrages à marée, des polders).

3. Recherche et développement

Amélioration des connaissances relatives aux impacts cumulatifs ou à long terme causés par des dommages environnementaux ou des nuisances à la faune, par exemple :

  • Mise en œuvre d'évaluations ou de recherches sur les dommages environnementaux pour planifier les restaurations, notamment sur les effets à long terme et les impacts cumulatifs des rejets de polluants, ou pour mieux cerner les facteurs limitatifs des populations d'oiseaux migrateurs.
  • Élaboration de méthodes de restauration et d'évaluation des dommages environnementaux, notamment de techniques d'évaluation des dommages et de plans alternatifs de restauration (p. ex., des plans de gestion de l'environnement).

4. Éducation et sensibilisation

Amélioration de la sensibilisation et des connaissances relatives à la restauration des dommages environnementaux ou à la conformité à la réglementation environnementale, par exemple :

  • Promotion de l'éducation à la restauration des dommages environnementaux, notamment des formations relatives à l'évaluation et à la restauration des dommages ou à la sensibilisation et à la conformité à la réglementation environnementale.
  • Promotion de l'intendance environnementale et renforcement des capacités communautaires en faveur de la restauration des dommages environnementaux.

Les priorités de financement sont accordées aux projets portant sur la restauration de la région géographique (zone locale, région ou province) la plus affectée par l'incident d'origine.

Lorsque des amendes sont attribuées au Fonds sans présence de dommage à l'environnement ou de nuisance à la faune, tous les types de projets des quatre catégories définies sont examinés (projets de recherche et de développement ou d'éducation et de sensibilisation liés à la restauration de l'environnement et à la conformité aux règlements).

3. Organisations admissibles et non admissibles

Environnement Canada recherche activement des propositions de projet de divers organisations sollicitant un soutien financier en faveur de projets qui répondent aux critères du programme du Fonds.

1. Exemples de organisations admissibles :

  • les organisations non gouvernementales
  • les universités et les établissements d'enseignement
  • les groupes autochtones
  • les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux

2. Les organisations non admissibles sont encouragés à établir des partenariats avec les groupes admissibles pour déposer une demande de financement. Exemple de groupes non admissibles :

  • les individus
  • les entreprises
  • les agences et les ministères fédéraux

3. Les contrevenants ne peuvent pas déposer directement de demande de financement ou être partenaires d'organisations admissibles dans le but de bénéficier du montant des amendes ou des contributions qu'ils ont versés au titre du Fonds.

4. Projets financés


Exemple de projet

Projet de restauration pour construire des nichoirs  

Two Ducks Unlimited men with nesting boxCanards Illimités Canada a reçu un montant de 14 565 $ pour installer des nichoirs en vue d'améliorer les taux d'alimentation et de reproduction de la population des eiders dans les îles situées à Main Brook et Roddickton, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et d'organiser des séances d'éducation visant à rebâtir la capacité d'intendance des jeunes dans la communauté. Des amendes ont été imposées à la suite d'une violation de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs.
Financement total du projet : 42 085 $

Sélectionnez un lien pour en savoir plus sur un exemple de projet financé par le Fonds qui a été réalisé avec succès dans votre région :

Région Atlantique

1. Projet de restauration pour construire des nichoirs
2. Projet de recherche pour la surveillance des populations d'oiseaux de mer pour la préparation en cas de déversement d'hydrocarbures

Région de Québec

1. Projet de restauration et sensibilisation sur la dégadation des cours d'eau
2. Projet de restauration dans la région du Témiscamingue

Région de l'Ontario

1. Projet de restauration afin d'améliorer la qualité de l'eau
2. Projet de restauration axé sur l'amélioration de l'habitat du poisson

Région des Prairies et du Nord

1. Projet axé sur la recherche et développement pour la surveillance des contaminants dans les sites d'enfouissement de l'Arctique
2. Projet visant à résoudre les cas de chasse illégale

Région du Pacifique et du Yukon

1. Projet de restauration et d'éducation pour améliorer la qualité de l'eau
2. Restauration et rétablissement d'habitats de Burrard Inlet

Lois environnementales fédérales

1. À propos de la nouvelle Loi sur le contrôle d'application de lois environnementales

La Loi sur le contrôle d'application de lois environnementales est entrée en vigueur en 2010. Elle apporte des modifications aux neuf lois suivantes qui exigeront l'attribution des amendes au Fonds :

  1. Loi sur la protection de l’environnement en Antarctique
  2. Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada
  3. Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada
  4. Loi sur les espèces sauvages au Canada
  5. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)
  6. Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l'amélioration des cours d'eau internationaux
  7. Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (1994)
  8. Loi sur le parc marin du Saguenay – Saint-Laurent
  9. Loi sur la protection d'espèces animales ou végétales sauvages et la réglementation de leur commerce international et interprovincial

2. Précédents jurisprudentiels (amendes, montants adjugés au Fonds par des tribunaux)

Les Notifications d'application de la loi d'Environnement Canada contient des renseignements sur les poursuites fructueuses relatives à l'environnement à travers le Canada. Parmi celles-ci on retrouve les poursuites qui ont résultées en paiements monétaires ou amendes imposées qui ont été attribués au Fonds.

Pour de plus ample information portant exclusivement sur les poursuites qui ont résultées en paiements monétaires ou amendes imposées attribués directement au Fonds, veuillez visiter la page des Précédents jurisprudentiels.

3. Lois, règlements et accords d'Environnement Canada

Environnement Canada s'appuie sur plusieurs lois, règlements et accords pour remplir son mandat. Actuellement, le Ministère applique, en totalité ou en partie, près des douzaines de lois. Il contribue aussi à l'application de plusieurs autres lois.

Environnement Canada utilise des règlements pour imposer de rigoureux contrôles sur les domaines régis par ces lois. Il conclut également des accords avec une ou plusieurs parties pour définir des engagements, des rôles et des mesures mutuels à propos d'enjeux environnementaux précis.

Vous pouvez effectuer une recherche sur la page des lois, règlements et accords d'Environnement Canada.

4. Lois et règlements fédéraux

Le ministère de la Justice fournit des avis juridiques au gouvernement et à l'ensemble des ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral, représente la Couronne dans les contentieux des affaires civiles et devant les tribunaux administratifs, rédige des textes législatifs et répond aux autres besoins juridiques des ministères et organismes fédéraux.

Vous pouvez effectuer une recherche sur la page des lois et règlements codifiés de Justice Canada pour accéder au texte complet des lois et règlements fédéraux ainsi qu'aux mises à jour.

Attribution des montants au Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement

1. Recommandation du Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement

Rôle d'application de la loi

Les agents d'application des lois sur l'environnement et sur la faune d'Environnement Canada, de Pêches et Océans Canada, de Transports Canada et de Parcs Canada réalisent diverses activités, notamment des inspections, des enquêtes et des collectes de renseignements.

En consultation avec les experts en la matière, les agents d'application des lois formulent des recommandations relatives au mécanisme légal le plus approprié à utiliser et rédigent des dossiers à présenter aux procureurs. Ils rappellent aux procureurs qu'ils peuvent solliciter le Fonds au moment du renvoi des accusations. Lors de la préparation des dossiers pour les procureurs, les agents d'application des lois peuvent ajouter une fiche d'information régionale sur le Fonds comprenant deux projets financés par le Fonds.

Rôle des poursuivants

Les procureurs définissent la façon dont ils souhaitent que l'affaire soit poursuivie. Le cas échéant, ils peuvent choisir de recommander le Fonds comme mécanisme d'attribution de financements à des projets prioritaires qui restaureront les dommages environnementaux ou les nuisances causés à la faune. Ils peuvent également décider de dissiper les malentendus pour que les tribunaux puissent en apprendre davantage sur l'intérêt du Fonds avant de prendre une décision définitive.

2. Comment les fonds sont-ils attribués?

1) Amendes et ordonnances

La majorité des montants attribués au Fonds provient d'amendes et de montants adjugés par des tribunaux. Plusieurs lois fédérales autorisent les tribunaux à rendre des ordonnances discrétionnaires pour verser les montants au Fonds1. Il s'agit, par exemple, des lois suivantes :

  • Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada (2001)
  • Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)2
  • Code criminel3
  • Loi sur les pêches
  • Loi sur les espèces en péril

Toutes les amendes collectées en vertu de la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (1994) doivent être attribuées au Fonds, conformément aux dispositions du paragraphe 13(6) de cette loi.

2) Contributions volontaires ou de fonds internationaux

Dans certains cas, l'origine de ces contributions peut être extérieure au système judiciaire. Il peut s'agir d'ententes convenues entre des parties (par exemple, les mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l’environnement sous le règne de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999), de contributions volontaires ou de contributions de fonds internationaux telles que la Caisse d'indemnisation des dommages dus à la pollution par les hydrocarbures causée par les navires ou les Fonds internationaux d'indemnisation pour les dommages dus à la pollution par les hydrocarbures.

3. À propos des ordonnances de tribunaux

Les contributions adjugées au Fonds par des ordonnances de tribunaux peuvent être versées à la couronne sous forme d'indemnités accordées dans des affaires civiles ou criminelles. Les indemnités accordées dans des affaires civiles sont accordés par des tribunaux civils dans le cadre d'un procès civil. Les montants adjugés par des tribunaux incluant les amendes, peuvent également être accordés par des tribunaux pénaux dans le cadre de poursuites judiciaires. Ces poursuites sont intentées pour infraction réglementaire. Les montants adjugés par des tribunaux sont généralement des ordonnances discrétionnaires de contribution propres au Fonds.

En général, les amendes à la Couronne sont versées au Trésor. Toutefois, une loi peut exiger que les amendes soient versées au Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement, comme la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (1994). Lorsque la Loi sur le contrôle d'application de lois environnementales entrera en vigueur, les amendes collectées en vertu des neuf lois modifiées seront également attribuées au Fonds.

4. À propos de l'accord sur les mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l’environnement (MRMPE)

Le montant attribué au Fonds peut également être accordé dans le cadre d'une mesure de rechange en matière de protection de l’environnement de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) ou d'autres mesures de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Comme vous le savez, les mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l’environnement sont négociées entre le procureur général du Canada et un individu qui a commis une infraction soumise à la législation4. Dans la plupart des cas, ces conditions relatives au paiement sont établies entre le procureur chargé de l'affaire et la partie de l'accusation ou le conseiller du contrevenant.

5. Comment les restrictions des tribunaux sont-elles appliquées aux contributions directes particulières?

Lorsque la loi l'autorise, les tribunaux peuvent utiliser leur pouvoir discrétionnaire pour attribuer une contribution propre au Fonds. Lors de l'attribution d'une contribution particulière, les tribunaux ont le pouvoir d'inclure des conditions relatives aux critères d'attribution du Fonds aux projets admissibles. Le cas échéant, les tribunaux peuvent décider de désigner 1) le bénéficiaire, 2) le lieu et 3) la portée du projet du Fonds.

Lorsqu'un tribunal a émis une recommandation à propos d'un bénéficiaire particulier pour mettre en œuvre le projet (Conformément à la loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (1994)), une priorité d'attribution du Fonds est accordée à ce bénéficiaire à condition 1) qu'il réponde aux critères d'attribution du Fonds, 2) qu'il soit en mesure de mettre en œuvre un projet qui donne d'excellents résultats environnementaux et 3) que ce projet réponde à toutes les exigences de production de rapports du programme. généralement, le Ministre de l'Environnement suivra la recommandation du tribunal.


En bref - Critères du programme du Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement

Le programme finance les petits et les grands groupes admissibles dans la région géographique (zone locale, région ou province) où l'incident a eu lieu. La priorité est accordée aux projets de restauration naturel et la conservation des espèces sauvages.


Références

1. Consultez, par exemple, la Loi sur les pêches (2001), alinéa 79. 2(f) et la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada (2001), alinéa 193 (d).

2. Par exemple, il est possible de s'appuyer sur la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), alinéa 291(1)m), si les fonds attribués au Trésor sont versés en fiducie au FDE

3. Pour les lois qui n'ont pas de dispositions précises relatives aux ordonnances de compensation adjugées par des tribunaux, il est possible de prononcer une ordonnance de probation en vertu du Code criminel, article 731.

4. Consultez la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), paragraphe 298 (1) et la Loi sur les espèces en péril, article 109.