Response

When it comes to environmental emergencies, no single organization can do it all. Effective emergency response requires teamwork among governments, industry, communities and local organizations. These partnerships are best formed during non-emergency periods.

When an emergency occurs, the responsible party is required to take all reasonable measures to contain and stop the release and  notify authorities for which they are regulated.  In line with the polluter pays principle, the responsible party is required to assume all costs related to response and recovery of the affected environment.  The lead agency with primary jurisdiction for the spill oversees and monitors response and recovery efforts by the responsible party and further, may request that Environment Canada provide scientific and technical advice to inform response actions that will reduce the environmental impact of the spill. Additionally, Environment Canada has legislative responsibility to address pollution incidents that impact federally managed resources such as fish and wildlife under the Fisheries Act and the Migratory Birds Convention Act, as well as hazardous substances regulated by the Environmental Emergency Regulations. Environment Canada may issue directions under its legislative mandate if the environment is not being adequately protected and, when warranted take over the lead agency role.

In the event of a polluting incident that requires Environment Canada’s involvement, the National Environmental Emergencies Centre (NEEC) is Environment Canada’s focal point for the provision of scientific advice, such as weather forecast, contaminant dispersion and trajectory modelling, fate and behaviour of hazardous substances, the establishment of clean-up priorities and techniques, as well as the protection of sensitive ecosystems and wildlife such as migratory birds and fish. Environment Canada's Emergency officers have Hazardous Materials (HAZMAT) expertise which enables response in the event of spills involving hazardous materials.

The NEEC responds to spills by assessing the impact and damage to the environment resulting from an environmental emergency and supporting, recommending or directing actions to reduce the consequences on the environment and human life or health.

Environment Canada's expertise in the areas of environmental emergencies science and meteorological forecasting play a key role in delivery of the program domestically and internationally. NEEC, backed by scientific support and expertise from Emergencies Science and Technology Section, the Meteorological Service of Canada and the Canadian Wildlife Service, provides advice and support on:

  • the physical and chemical properties of various substances known to be toxic and/or harmful to the environment;
  • the environmental components of the receiving environment that may be affected;
  • the possible consequences of interactions when components of the environment are affected by these substances;
  • the provision of weather forecasts and warnings; atmospheric and hydrologic trajectory and dispersion modeling; and other hydro-meteorological related services (e.g., ice and iceberg charts) and;
  • the biology and protection of migratory birds.

Emergencies Science and Technology Section (ESTS)

Scientists at the Emergencies Science and Technology Section (ESTS) carry out internationally recognized research and development in the field of environmental emergencies. ESTS undertakes research on the characteristics of hazardous materials, the effectiveness and environmental benefits of spill clean-up techniques. Research and development is also carried out on techniques for measuring contamination in air, water, and soil at spill sites and on technologies for airborne remote sensing of spills.

Meteorological Service of Canada (MSC)

The Meteorological Service of Canada provides timely observations, forecasts and warnings of weather conditions, ice, sea-state and other physical phenomena. MSC's activities provide crucial modeling support for the determination of dispersion and trajectories for nuclear, oil and chemical releases.

Canadian Wildlife Service

The Canadian Wildlife Service administers and implements Environment Canada’s mandate for migratory birds and other wildlife and habitat. It provides data on migratory birds and species at risk and areas to be protected; conducts surveys of affected or potentially affected areas and the migratory birds populations; coordinates the rescue, triage and treatment of affected migratory birds and endangered species; provides guidance to other agencies and volunteers on the clean-up of migratory birds and endangered species; samples and analyzes oiled and affected wildlife for possible prosecution of the responsible party; assesses the damage to migratory birds and species at risk (and their populations); provides documentation for future cost recovery from the responsible party; and studies affected population to determine the status of recovery and that of the critical habitat.

Enforcement

The Enforcement Branch, in collaboration with several Environment Canada programs and other provincial, national and international partners, works to ensure that companies and individuals comply with environmental and wildlife acts and regulations.  EC’s enforcement officers conduct formal inspections to verify compliance with the environmental and wildlife acts and regulations. If there are reasonable grounds to believe non-compliance with the legislation has occurred, an investigation is initiated for the purposes of gathering evidence and takes appropriate enforcement measures against alleged offenders.

Science Table

During the response to an environmental emergency requiring multi-agency cooperation, the Environmental Emergencies Science Table (the “Science Table”) can be convened to provide advice to the lead agency. The Science Table brings together relevant experts in the field of environmental protection such as response agencies, all levels of government, Aboriginal representatives, local communities, industries, environmental non-government organizations, and academic institutions. 

The Science Table of experts is able to develop consensus on protection and clean-up priorities, bring the right expertise, adapt the scale of response to a particular environmental emergency, and provide a forum for rapidly moving information to minimize damage to human life or health, or the environment while maximizing the use of limited response resources.  These discussions can occur on-site, or by telephone or videoconference.

Intervention

Une organisation ne peut à elle seule répondre aux situations d’urgence environnementale. Pour que les interventions d’urgence soient efficaces, les gouvernements, l’industrie, les collectivités et les organisations locales doivent collaborer, et c’est la période pendant laquelle il n’y a pas de situations d’urgence qui est la plus propice à la création de partenariats.

En cas d’urgence, la partie responsable est tenue de prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour maîtriser voire arrêter les déversements et informer les autorités en vertu desquelles elles sont réglementées. Conformément au principe du pollueur-payeur, elle est tenue d’assumer tous les coûts liés à intervention et au rétablissement de l’environnement touché. L’organisme responsable au premier chef des déversements supervise et surveille les activités d’intervention et de rétablissement par la partie responsable et peut solliciter des conseils scientifiques et techniques d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada pour agir de façon à réduire les effets des déversements sur l’environnement. En outre, il est, de par la loi, responsable des incidents de pollution ayant des effets sur les ressources gérées par le gouvernement fédéral, telles que les poissons et la faune visés par la Loi sur les poissons et la Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, ainsi que des substances dangereuses réglementées en vertu du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada peut donner des directives si l’environnement n’est pas protégé convenablement et assumer le rôle d’organisme responsable lorsque les circonstances le justifient.

En cas d’incident de pollution nécessitant l’intervention d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, le Centre national des urgences environnementales (CNUE) agit à titre de point de liaison d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada chargé de fournir des avis scientifiques sur des questions, telles que les prévisions météorologiques, la dispersion et la modélisation des trajectoires des contaminants, le devenir et le comportement des substances dangereuses, l’établissement des priorités et techniques de nettoyage et la protection des écosystèmes et de la faune vulnérables comme les oiseaux migrateurs et les poissons. Les agents d’urgence d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada possèdent une expertise des matières dangereuses (HAZMAT) qui leur permet d’intervenir en cas de déversements de matières dangereuses.

Le CNUE réagit aux déversements en évaluant les effets et les dommages sur l’environnement résultant de l’urgence environnementale et en fournissant de l’aide, des recommandations ou en dirigeant les mesures visant à réduire les effets sur l’environnement, la vie ou la santé humaine.

L’expertise d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada dans les domaines des urgences environnementales et des prévisions météorologiques est essentielle dans l’exécution du programme à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Le CNUE, qui s’appuie sur le soutien et l’expertise scientifiques de la Section des urgences – science et technologie, du Service météorologique du Canada et du Service canadien de la faune, fournit des conseils et de l’aide sur les questions suivantes :

  • propriétés physiques et chimiques des diverses substances réputées toxiques et/ou nocives pour l’environnement;
  • composantes environnementales du milieu récepteur qui pourraient être touchées;
  • conséquences éventuelles des interactions lorsque les composantes environnementales sont touchées par ces substances;
  • prévisions et avertissements météorologiques; modélisation des trajectoires et de la dispersion atmosphérique et hydrologique et autres services hydrométéorologiques (p. ex. glaces et cartes d’icebergs);
  • biologie et protection des oiseaux migrateurs.

Section des urgences − science et technologie (SUST)

Les activités des scientifiques de la Section des urgences − science et technologie (SUST) sur le plan de la recherche et du développement dans le domaine des urgences environnementales sont reconnues internationalement. La SUST mène des recherches sur les caractéristiques des matières dangereuses, l’efficacité et les avantages environnementaux des techniques de nettoyage des déversements. Les activités de recherche et développement portent également sur des techniques de mesure de la contamination de l’air, l’eau et des sols des lieux de déversement et sur ​​les technologies de télédétection aérienne des déversements.

Service météorologique du Canada (SMC)

Le Service météorologique du Canada fournit en temps opportun des observations, des prévisions et des avertissements concernant les conditions météorologiques, la glace, l’état ​​de la mer et les autres phénomènes physiques. Les activités du SMC offrent un soutien essentiel en matière de modélisation, qui permet de déterminer la dispersion et la trajectoire de polluants radioactifs, d’hydrocarbures ou de substances chimiques lors de leur libération dans l’environnement.

Service canadien de la faune

Le Service canadien de la faune (SCF) administre et exécute le mandat d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada concernant les oiseaux migrateurs ainsi que d’autres animaux sauvages et leur habitat. Le SCF fournit des données sur les oiseaux migrateurs, les espèces en péril et les zones à protéger; il effectue des relevés dans les zones touchées ou susceptibles de l’être et sur les populations d’oiseaux migrateurs; il coordonne le sauvetage, le tri et le traitement des oiseaux migrateurs touchés et des espèces en péril; il donne des conseils à d’autres organismes et groupes bénévoles sur le nettoyage des oiseaux migrateurs et des espèces en péril; il prélève des échantillons et effectue des analyses de la faune touchée par un déversement de pétrole aux fins de poursuites éventuelles contre le pollueur responsable; il évalue les dommages causés aux populations d’oiseaux migrateurs et aux espèces en péril (ainsi qu’à leur population); il fournit au pollueur responsable des documents pour le recouvrement des coûts éventuels, et il étudie les populations touchées afin de déterminer l’état du rétablissement de ces espèces et de leur habitat essentiel.

Application de la loi

La Direction générale de l’application de la loi, en collaboration avec plusieurs programmes d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (EC) et d’autres partenaires provinciaux, nationaux et internationaux, veille à ce que les entreprises et les particuliers se conforment aux lois et règlements sur l’environnement et la faune. Les agents d’application de la loi d’EC effectuent des inspections officielles pour vérifier le respect des lois et règlements environnementaux et fauniques. S’il existe des motifs raisonnables de conclure à une violation de la législation, une enquête est ouverte pour recueillir les preuves et sévir contre les contrevenants présumés.

Réunion des experts scientifiques

Durant les interventions en cas d’urgence environnementale qui exigent une collaboration entre divers organismes, une réunion des experts scientifiques des urgences environnementales (« Réunion des scientifiques ») peut être convoquée pour fournir des conseils à l’organisme responsable. Cette rencontre réunit des experts compétents dans le domaine de la protection de l’environnement, tels que les organismes d’intervention, les ordres de gouvernement, les représentants autochtones, les collectivités locales, les industries, les organismes non gouvernementaux à vocation environnementale et les institutions universitaires. 

La réunion des experts scientifiques permet de parvenir à un consensus sur priorités de la protection et du nettoyage, de bénéficier de toute l’expertise requise, d’adapter le niveau des interventions aux différentes urgences environnementales et de fournir une tribune d’échange rapide de l’information pour réduire au minimum les dommages sur la vie ou la santé humaine et l’environnement tout en maximisant l’utilisation des ressources d’intervention limitées. Ces discussions peuvent avoir lieu sur place, par téléphone ou par vidéoconférence.

Date de modification :