Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

The Environmental Emergencies (E2) Substance Evaluations

The Environmental Emergencies (E2) Program has performed a hazard evaluation on 65 substances to determine which substances should be added to the Environmental Emergency Regulations. As a result of the hazard evaluation, 33 substances and classes of substances (a total of 41 substances) were found to have the potential to create environmental emergencies due to their significant risk to the environment and human life in the case of accidents, vandalism or terrorist acts. Based on this conclusion, these substances are being added to Schedule 1 of the Environmental Emergency Regulations through the 2011 Amendments to these Regulations. Short reports for the 41 substances have been written and published on the E2 website. Some of the substances have been grouped under one report due to their similar chemical properties. 

As part of Environment Canada’s mandate to protect Canadians and the environment, the E2 Program will continue to evaluate future substances that are added to Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999. The Program will also evaluate other substances of concern such as substances assessed under the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP)in order to determine the risk they pose from an environmental emergency perspective. Future amendments to the Environmental Emergency Regulations may result in other substances being proposed for addition to the E2 Regulations or thresholds being adjusted when warranted by new scientific evidence.

The summary documents are in Adobe PDF format.  However, to read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer system. You can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page at: http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/alternate.html.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe at: http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/access_onlinetools.html.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Évaluation des substances dans le cadre du Programme des urgences environnementales

Le Programme des urgences environnementales a réalisé une évaluation des risques liés à 65 substances afin de déterminer quelles substances doivent être ajoutées au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales (le Règlement). À l’issue de l’évaluation des risques, il s’est avéré que 33 substances et catégories de substances (41 substances au total) pouvaient potentiellement créer des urgences environnementales en raison du risque significatif qu’elles représentent pour l’environnement et la santé humaine en cas d’accident, de vandalisme ou d’acte terroriste. Sur la base de cette conclusion, ces substances sont ajoutées à l’annexe 1 du Règlement par l’entremise des modifications apportées au Règlement en 2011. Des rapports sommaires pour les 41 substances ont été rédigés et publiés sur le site Web des urgences environnementales. Certaines de ces substances ont été regroupées en un seul rapport, en raison de leurs propriétés chimiques semblables.

Dans le cadre du mandat d’Environnement Canada qui vise la protection de la population canadienne et de son environnement, le Programme des urgences environnementales continuera d’évaluer les substances qui seront ajoutées à l’annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999). Ce programme évaluera également d’autres substances préoccupantes telles que les substances évaluées en vertu du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques afin de déterminer les risques qu’elles représentent du point de vue des urgences environnementales. D’autres modifications du Règlement pourront entraîner une proposition d’ajout d’autres substances au Règlement ou l’ajustement des seuils lorsque de nouvelles preuves scientifiques le justifient.

Les documents de synthèse sont en format Adobe PDF.Toutefois pour lire la version PDF, vous avez besoin d’Adobe Acrobat Reader sur votre ordinateur. Vous pouvez télécharger Acrobat Reader en accédant à l’adresse suivante : http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/alternate.html.

Si vous décidez de ne pas utiliser Acrobat Reader, vous pouvez convertir le fichier PDF en fichier HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l’un des services de conversion offerts par Adobe à l’adresse suivante : http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/access_onlinetools.html.