2011 Regulation Amendments

The Environmental Emergency Regulations came into force on November 18, 2003. That same year, based on consultations with non-profit stakeholders, Environment Canada committed to evaluate 49 additional substances for their potential to create environmental emergencies. In addition, stakeholders that are involved with acetic acid, styrene and ammonium nitrate requested that these three additional substances also be assessed. As an example of the hazards associated with styrene, an explosion that occurred in the province of Quebec in 1966 resulted in 11 deaths, 7 injuries and significant property loss. Of the 52 substances evaluated, 33 substances and classes of these substances (a total of 41 substances) were found to have the potential to create environmental emergencies due to their significant risk to the environment and human life in the case of accidents, vandalism or terrorist acts. Based on this conclusion, these substances are being added to Schedule 1 of the Environmental Emergency Regulations (the Regulations).  

The fundamental objective of the Regulations Amending the Environmental Emergency Regulations (the Amendments) is to require that effective environmental emergency plans are in place to protect the environment and the health of Canadians by preventing, preparing for, responding to and recovering from an environmental emergency. The Amendments are supportive of, and are linked to, the federal government’s overall policies for public safety and emergency preparedness.

The Amendments enhance the existing protection provided by the Regulations for specified substances that are flammable or hazardous. In addition, the Amendments clarify some existing provisions and provide exceptions from the requirements of the Regulations. These modifications include:

  • Addition of 33 substances and classes of substances representing different forms of the core 33 substances (a total of 41 individual substances) to Schedule 1 of the Regulations
  • Exceptions to the calculation of quantities for certain solids, anhydrous ammonia and ammonia solution, and propane;
  • Provisions for closed or decommissioned facilities;
  • Exclusions from the List of Substances in Schedule 1 of the Regulations;
  • Modifications to Schedule 1 of the Regulations to include substances that are aquatically toxic, carcinogenic, persistent or bioaccumulative;
  • Revision to the reporting requirements of the Regulations; and
  • Miscellaneous changes.

Effective environmental emergency planning is essential to reduce the frequency and consequences of environmental emergencies involving the unplanned, uncontrolled or accidental release of hazardous substances.

Full text of the Environmental Emergency Regulations, last amended December 8, 2011, can be viewed at the following;


News Release


Implementation Guidelines

These guidelines are intended for the use of any person or class of persons who owns or has the charge, management, or control of a substance that may be required to have environmental emergency planning.


Date modified:

Modifications au Règlement (2011)

Le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales est entré en vigueur le 18 novembre 2003. La même année, à la suite de consultations avec des intervenants sans but lucratif, Environnement Canada s'est engagé à évaluer 49 autres substances afin d'établir leur potentiel en matière de création d'urgences environnementales. De plus, les intervenants concernés par l'utilisation d'acide acétique, de styrène et de nitrate d'ammonium ont demandé à ce que ces trois substances supplémentaires soient également évaluées. À titre d'exemple du danger associé au styrène, on peut citer une explosion qui a eu lieu dans la province de Québec en 1966, qui a tué 11 personnes et qui en a blessé 7. Elle a aussi provoqué d'importants dégâts matériels. Parmi les 52 substances évaluées, 33 substances et catégories de ces substances (un total de 41 substances) peuvent créer des urgences environnementales en raison de leur risque important pour l'environnement et la vie humaine en cas d'accident, de vandalisme ou d'acte terroriste. À la suite de cette conclusion, ces substances sont ajoutées à l'annexe 1 du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales (le Règlement).

L'objectif fondamental du Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales (les Modifications) consiste à exiger que des plans d'urgence environnementale efficaces soient mis en place pour protéger l'environnement et la santé des Canadiens en prévenant les urgences environnementales, en s'y préparant, en y répondant et en se rétablissant à la suite de celles-ci. Les Modifications sont liées aux politiques générales de sécurité publique et de préparation aux situations d'urgence du gouvernement fédéral, en plus de les appuyer.

Les Modifications renforcent la protection actuelle offerte par le Règlement pour les substances indiquées qui sont inflammables ou dangereuses. De plus, les Modifications éclaircissent certaines clauses existantes et fournissent des exceptions aux exigences du Règlement. Parmi ces modifications, on retrouve :

  • L'ajout de 33 substances et catégories de substances qui représentent différentes formes de la base des 33 substances (un total de 41 substances) à l'annexe 1 du Règlement.
  • Des exceptions au calcul de quantités de certains solides, d'ammoniac anhydre, de solution ammoniacale et de propane.
  • Des clauses pour les installations fermées ou mises hors service.
  • Des exclusions de la liste des substances à l'annexe 1 du Règlement.
  • Des modifications à l'annexe 1 du Règlement pour y inclure les substances toxiques, cancérogènes, persistantes ou bioaccumulatives sur le plan aquatique.
  • La révision des exigences du Règlement en matière de production de rapports.
  • Divers changements.

Une planification efficace en matière d'urgences environnementales est essentielle afin de réduire la fréquence et les conséquences des urgences environnementales impliquant des rejets non prévus, non contrôlés ou accidentels de substances dangereuses.

Le texte intégral du Règlement sur les Urgences Environnementales, modifié le 8 Décembre, 2011 peut être consulté à l'adresse suivante :


Communiqué de presse


Lignes Directrices

Les présentes lignes directrices sont destinées à toute personne ou catégorie de personnes possédant une substance susceptible de faire l’objet d’une planification d’urgence environnementale, ou ayant toute autorité sur cette substance.