Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Environmental Emergency Regulations

Emergencies poster picture collage of various emergency situations

The objectives of the Environmental Emergency Regulations (E2 Regulations) under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) are to reduce the frequency and consequences of uncontrolled, unplanned or accidental releases of hazardous substances into the environment.  The objective is obtained through proper environmental emergency planning so that companies are able to prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from an environmental emergency. 

Schedule 1 of the E2 Regulations contains a list of substances that, if they enter the environment as a result of an environmental emergency, (i) have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity, (ii) constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which human life depends, or (iii) constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health.

The substances that are already listed on the regulations and the substances that have been added as a result of the 2011 amendments have been identified as having at least one emergency hazard characteristic (explosive, flammable, inhalation toxic, aquatic toxic or carcinogenic). These substances have been determined to pose a credible risk to the environment and human health if stored or handled on facilities at or above the regulated threshold quantities,

The E2 Regulations may require persons who own or manage specified toxic and hazardous substances at or above the specified thresholds to provide required information on the substance(s) and their quantities and to prepare and implement environmental emergency plans (E2 plans).

In December 2011, the Regulations Amending the Environmental Emergency Regulations (the Amendments) were published in the Canada Gazette.

The Amendments enhance the existing protection provided by the Regulations for specified substances that are flammable or hazardous. In addition, the Amendments clarify some existing provisions and provide exceptions from the requirements of the Regulations. Finally, the Amendments are supportive of, and are linked to, the federal government’s overall policies for public safety and emergency preparedness.

Full text of the Environmental Emergency Regulations, last amended December 8, 2011, can be viewed at the following;


Additional Information Resources:

Historic Information Related to the Environmental Emergency Regulations:

Le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales

Affiche montrant diverses photos relatives aux urgences

Selon la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement [LCPE (1999)], les objectifs du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales (le Règlement) sont de réduire la fréquence et les conséquences des rejets non contrôlés, imprévus ou accidentels de substances dangereuses dans l’environnement. L’objectif est atteint grâce à une bonne planification des urgences environnementales, de sorte que les entreprises sont en mesure de prévenir une urgence environnementale, de s’y préparer, d’y répondre et de se rétablir à l’issue de celle-ci.

L’annexe 1 du Règlement comporte une liste de substances qui, si elles pénètrent dans l’environnement à la suite d’une urgence environnementale, i) ont ou peuvent avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l’environnement ou sur la diversité biologique, ii) constituent ou peuvent constituer un danger pour l’environnement essentiel pour la vie humaine ou iii) constituent ou peuvent constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaines.

Les substances qui sont déjà inscrites dans le Règlement et les substances qui y ont été ajoutées à la suite des modifications de 2011 ont été définies comme ayant au moins une caractéristique de nature dangereuse liée à une urgence (elles sont explosives, inflammables, toxiques par inhalation, toxiques pour les organismes aquatiques ou cancérogènes). Il a été déterminé que ces substances présentent un risque crédible pour l’environnement et la santé humaine si elles sont stockées ou manipulées dans des installations en une quantité égale ou supérieure au seuil réglementé.

Le Règlement peut exiger des personnes qui possèdent ou gèrent une quantité égale ou supérieure aux seuils établis de certaines substances dangereuses et toxiques qu’elles fournissent les renseignements requis sur ces substances et sur leur quantité, et qu’elles élaborent et mettent en œuvre un plan d’urgence environnementale.

En décembre 2011, le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales (les Modifications) a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada.

Les Modifications renforcent la protection actuelle offerte par le Règlement pour les substances indiquées qui sont inflammables ou dangereuses. De plus, les Modifications éclaircissent certaines clauses existantes et fournissent des exceptions aux exigences du Règlement. Enfin, les Modifications sont liées aux politiques générales de sécurité publique et de préparation aux situations d’urgence du gouvernement fédéral, en plus de les appuyer.

Le texte intégral du Règlement sur les Urgences Environnementales, modifié le 8 Décembre, 2011 peut être consulté à l'adresse suivante :


Informations Supplémentaires:

Information Historique relatives au règlement sur les urgences environnementales: