Substance Risk Evaluation for Determining Environmental Emergency Planning under the Environmental Emergency Regulations Set under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999)

Phosphoric acid, tributyl ester
(CAS No. 126-73-8)

Risk Evaluation Conclusion:

  • Threshold quantity of 4.5 tonnes (minimum concentration 10%) due to aquatic toxicity
  • Is a candidate for the Environmental Emergency Regulations

1.0 Introduction

The Environmental Emergency Regulations, developed under Part 8 of the CEPA 1999 (Government of Canada, 2011), establish a list of substances for which fixed facilities must notify Environment Canada that they store or use the substance on-site, by providing notices to Environment Canada, reporting when the substance is released into the environment, and developing an environmental emergency plan (E2 plan) for each substance stored or used at a fixed facility at or above specified threshold quantities. 

To determine if a substance is a candidate to be added to the Environmental Emergency Regulations, Environment Canada developed a risk evaluation methodology based on the following hazard categories:

  • Physical: flammable and combustible or oxidizing substances, or those having a potential to cause vapour cloud explosions or pool fires.
  • Human Health: substances that are toxic by inhalation, are carcinogenic, or are corrosive.
  • Environmental Health: substances that are: corrosive, persistent, bioaccumulative, or aquatically toxic.

For more information on the methodology for setting threshold quantities in the Environmental Emergency Regulations, please refer to Environment Canada (2015).

Phosphoric acid, tributyl ester (CAS No. 126-73-8) was selected for risk evaluation because it is a substance (under the Government of Canada’s Chemicals Management Plan) that, if spilled, could be immediately harmful to humans and/or the environment.

Following the risk evaluation, Environment Canada recommends that this substance be proposed for addition to Schedule 1 of the Environmental Emergency Regulations at a threshold quantity of 4.5 tonnes with a minimum concentration of 10%.

2.0 Summary of the Risk Evaluation

2.1 Physical Hazard: Flammable, Combustible or Oxidizing Substances

Because phosphoric acid, tributyl ester has a flash point of 146°C (CHEMINFO, 2006) and has a boiling point of 289°C (HSDB, 2006; Government of Canada, 2009), this substance does not have the possibility of a vapour cloud explosion.

Therefore, no threshold is set for this substance as a result of its potential for flammability or combustibility.

2.2 Physical Hazard: Potential for Pool Fires

Phosphoric acid, tributyl ester has not been modeled for pool fire risks. Therefore, it is not known whether it is capable of causing a pool fire.

2.3 Human Health Hazard: Inhalation Toxicity

Because phosphoric acid, tributyl ester does not have a vapour pressure greater than 10 mmHg (1.33 kPa) at 25°C (Genium, 2006), the substance does not have sufficient volatility to constitute an inhalation danger.

Therefore, no threshold is set for the inhalation toxicity to humans.

2.4 Human Health Hazard: Carcinogenicity

Because phosphoric acid, tributyl ester is not classified in any group of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC, 2014) or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA, 2005), and because the substance does not have a half-life longer than five years in any medium, no threshold is set for the carcinogenicity of this substance.

2.5 Human and Environmental Health Hazard: Corrosive Substances

The measured pH is greater than 2 and less than 11.5, therefore the substance is not considered corrosive and there is no associated threshold with this category.

2.6 Environmental Health Hazard: Persistent, Bioaccumulative, or Aquatically Toxic

Lethal concentration

The acute (short-term) aquatic toxicity for phosphoric acid, tributyl ester has been determined to be moderately toxic based on studies of the most sensitive species, Fathead minnow (Pimephales promelas), with a concentration (LC50 96 hours) of 8.18 mg/L (Geiger et al., 1986).

Persistence

Environment Canada determined that phosphoric acid, tributyl ester is practically non-persistent in water according to our risk evaluation methodology (Environment Canada, 2015).

Bioaccumulation

Environment Canada determined that phosphoric acid, tributyl ester is slightly bioaccumulative according to our risk evaluation methodology (Environment Canada, 2015).

Threshold

Following the evaluation of the aquatic toxicity, the threshold is set at 4.5 tonnes.

2.7 Assigned Concentration

Phosphoric acid, tributyl ester is subject to the Environmental Emergency Regulations for aquatic toxicity. The minimum concentration assigned in the category for aquatic toxicity is either 10% (not a carcinogen) or 1% (a carcinogen). Since phosphoric acid, tributyl ester is not carcinogenic, then the minimum concentration set for phosphoric acid, tributyl ester is 10% (Environment Canada, 2015).

2.8 Assigned Threshold

Following the risk evaluation methodology developed under section 200 of CEPA 1999, the categories (flammability, combustibility, oxidizers, inhalation toxicity, aquatic toxicity, carcinogenicity, corrosiveness, pool fires) having the lowest scientific threshold will be compared against other risk management considerations. For example, the threshold will be compared to other provincial and federal legislation or voluntary programs that may already provide adequate management of the risk from an environmental emergency. Proposed thresholds may also be modified based on policy and other considerations as assessed during the public consultation period. For more information regarding the determination of thresholds, please refer to the Implementation Guidelines for the Environmental Emergency Regulations 2011 (Environment Canada, 2011).

Other Considerations

At this time, there are no other considerations to take into account for this substance that would result in an increase or a decrease in the calculated threshold quantity.

Findings

A proposed threshold of 4.5 tonnes with a minimum concentration of 10% is assigned for phosphoric acid, tributyl ester based on its assessed aquatic toxicity. The threshold quantity and its respective concentration will not be finalized until after public consultation.

3.0 Conclusion

Information concerning the quantities of phosphoric acid, tributyl ester (CAS No. 126-73-8) in use in Canada indicates that the substance exists in commerce. Following the risk evaluation and policy considerations of phosphoric acid, tributyl ester and taking into consideration the quantities in use in Canada, Environment Canada recommends that this substance be proposed for addition to Schedule 1 of the Environmental Emergency Regulations under CEPA 1999 at a threshold quantity of 4.5 tonnes at a minimum concentration of 10%.

Even if the quantity of a substance in use is below the threshold quantity indicated in the Environmental Emergency Regulations, Environment Canada recommends that emergency planning be applied to this substance in order to minimize, or prevent, any impacts on humans or the environment in the event of a release of the substance.

4.0 References

CHEMINFO Database. 2006. Phosphoric Acid, Tributyl Ester. Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety.

Environment Canada. 2011. Implementation Guidelines for the Environmental Emergency Regulations 2011.

Environment Canada. 2015. Summary of Risk Evaluation Framework for Determining Quantity Thresholds and Concentrations for Substances under the Environmental Emergency Regulations Set under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Environment Canada.

Genium Group Inc. 2006. Material Safety Data Sheet Collection. Tributyl Phosphate. Genium Group., Amsterdam NY, U.S. TRI1720.

Geiger, DL, SH Poirier, LT Brooke, and DJ Call. 1986. Acute Toxicities of Organic Chemicals to Fatheaded Minnows (Pimephales promelas). Volume III. Ctr. for Lake Superior Environ. Stud., Univ. of Wisconsin-Superior, Superior, WI :328

Government of Canada. 2009. Environment Canada, Health Canada. Screening Assessment for the Challenge Phosphoric Acid, Tributyl Ester (CAS RN 126-73-8).

Government of Canada. 2011. Environmental Emergency Regulations, Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. Environment Canada. Registered on December 8, 2011

HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank). 2006. Phosphoric Acid, Tributyl Ester (CAS#126-73-8). National Library of Medicine. Toxnet Home.

IARC (International Agency for Research on Cancer). 2014. IARC Monographs Database on Cancer Risks to Humans. International Agency for Research on Cancer, World Health Organization.

U.S. EPA (United States Environmental Protection Agency). 2005. Guidelines for Carcinogenic Risk Assessment.

5.0 Further Reading

Ketcheson K, Shrives J. 2010. Comparison of Threshold Quantities for Substances with Final AEGL-2 and IDLH Values under CEPA’s Environmental Emergency Regulations. In: Proceedings of the Thirty-third Arctic and Marine Oilspill Program Technical Seminar on Environmental Contamination and Response. Environment Canada: Ottawa (ON). pp. 843-861.

U.S. EPA (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency). 1994. List of Regulated Toxic and Flammable Substances and Thresholds for Accidental Release Prevention. Federal Register, 59(20). Document Number 94-1556. 31. Washington (DC).

Current as of June 21st, 2016

Date modified:

Évaluation du risque d'une substance visant à déterminer un plan d'urgence environnementale aux termes du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales pris en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]

Phosphate de tributyle
(No CAS 126-73-8)

Conclusion de l'évaluation du risque

  • Quantité seuil de 4,5 tonnes (concentration minimale de 10%) en raison d'une toxicité en milieu aquatique
  • Est une substance candidate devant être ajoutée au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales

1.0 Introduction

Le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, créé en vertu de la partie 8 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (gouvernement du Canada, 2011), dresse une liste des substances pour lesquelles les installations fixes doivent aviser Environnement Canada du fait qu'elles les entreposent ou les utilisent sur les lieux, et ce, en transmettant des avis au Ministère qui précisent le moment où la substance est rejetée dans l'environnement et en établissant un plan d'urgence environnementale (plan UE) pour chaque substance entreposée ou utilisée dans une installation fixe qui atteint ou dépasse la quantité seuil précisée.

Pour déterminer si une substance devrait faire l'objet d'un ajout au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, Environnement Canada a élaboré une méthode d'évaluation du risque en se fondant sur les catégories de danger suivantes :

  • Physique : substances inflammables et combustibles ou comburantes, ou celles pouvant causer une explosion de nuages de vapeur ou des feux en nappe.
  • Santé humaine : substances dont l'inhalation est toxique, substances cancérogènes ou corrosives.
  • Santé environnementale : substances corrosives, persistantes, bioaccumulables ou toxiques pour le milieu aquatique.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la méthode d'établissement des quantités seuils dans le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, veuillez consulter Environnement Canada (2015).

Le phosphate de tributyle (No CAS 126-73-8) fera l'objet d'une évaluation du risque, car il s'agit d'une substance (dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques du gouvernement du Canada) pouvant avoir un effet nocif immédiat sur les humains ou l'environnement dans le cas d'un déversement.

À la suite de l'évaluation du risque, Environnement Canada recommande que cette substance soit ajoutée à l'annexe 1 du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales à une quantité seuil de 4,5 tonnes à une concentration minimale de 10%.

2.0 Résumé de l'évaluation du risque

2.1 Danger physique : inflammabilité et combustibilité ou comburants

Étant donné que le phosphate de tributyle présente un point éclair de 146°C (CHEMINFO, 2006) et présente un point d'ébullition de 289°C (HSDB, 2006; Gouvernement du Canada; 2009), cette substance ne peut pas provoquer une explosion de nuages de vapeur.

Par conséquent, aucune quantité seuil n'est établie pour cette substance en raison de son potentiel d'inflammabilité ou de combustibilité.

2.2 Danger physique : potentiel de feux en nappe

Le phosphate de tributyle n’a pas été modélisé pour les feux en nappe et, par conséquent, il est inconnu si cette substance est en mesure de provoquer un feu en nappe.

2.3 Danger pour la santé humaine : toxicité par inhalation

Étant donné que le phosphate de tributyle ne possède pas une pression de vapeur supérieure à 10 mm Hg (1,33 kPa) à une température de 25°C (Genium, 2006), la volatilité de la substance n'est pas suffisante pour représenter un danger par inhalation.

Par conséquent, aucun seuil n'est fixé pour la toxicité par inhalation chez les humains.

2.4 Danger pour la santé humaine : cancérogénicité

Étant donné que le phosphate de tributyle n'est pas classé dans un groupe du Centre international de recherche sur le cancer (CIRC, 2014) et de l'U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA, 2005) et puisque la substance n'a pas une demi-vie supérieure à cinq ans dans tout milieu, aucun seuil n’est fixé pour la cancérogénicité de cette substance.

2.5 Danger pour la santé humaine et l'environnement : substances corrosives

Le pH mesuré est supérieur à 2 et moins de 11,5 et, par conséquent, la substance n'est pas considérée comme étant corrosive et aucun seuil n'est associé à cette catégorie.

2.6 Danger pour la santé environnementale : substances persistantes, bioaccumulables ou toxiques pour le milieu aquatique

Concentration létale

Il a été déterminé que la toxicité en milieu aquatique aiguë (à court terme) pour le phosphate de tributyle est moyennement toxique en se fondant sur les études sur l'espèce la plus sensible, le tête-de-boule (Pimephales promelas), avec une concentration létale (CL50 de 96 heures) de 8,18 mg/L (Geiger et al., 1986).

Persistance

Le phosphate de tributyle est classé comme étant une substance pratiquement non persistante dans l'eau selon notre méthode d’évaluation du risque (Environnement Canada, 2015).

Bioaccumulations

Le phosphate de tributyle est considéré comme étant légèrement bioaccumulable selon notre méthode d’évaluation du risque (Environnement Canada, 2015).

Seuil

À la suite de l'évaluation de la toxicité en milieu aquatique, le seuil est fixé à 4,5 tonnes.

2.7 Concentration assignée

Le phosphate de tributyle est sous réserve du règlement sur les urgences environnementales concernant la toxicité en milieu aquatique aiguë (à court terme). La concentration minimale attribuée dans la catégorie de toxicité aquatique est de 10% (n’est pas un cancérogène) ou 1% (est un cancérogène). Étant donné que le phosphate de tributyle n’est pas cancérogène, alors la concentration minimale pour le phosphate de tributyle est de 10% (Environnement Canada, 2015).

2.8 Seuil attribué

Suivant la méthode d'évaluation du risque élaborée en vertu de l'article 200 de la LCPE (1999), les catégories (inflammabilité, combustibilité, comburants, toxicité par inhalation, toxicité en milieu aquatique, cancérogénicité, corrosivité, feux en nappe) présentant le seuil scientifique le plus faible seront comparées à d'autres facteurs de la gestion du risque. Par exemple, le seuil sera comparé à d'autres lois provinciales et fédérales ou initiatives bénévoles offrant déjà une gestion adéquate du risque découlant d'une urgence environnementale. Les seuils proposés pourraient aussi faire l'objet de modifications selon les politiques et d'autres facteurs. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant la détermination des seuils, se référer aux Lignes directrices pour la mise en application du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales 2011 (Environnement Canada, 2011).

Autres considérations

Pour l'instant, aucun autre facteur à considérer pour cette substance n'entraînerait une augmentation ou une diminution de la quantité seuil calculée.

Constatations

Un seuil proposé de 4,5 tonnes à une concentration minimale de 10% est établi pour le phosphate de tributyle en fonction de sa toxicité pour les organismes aquatiques. La quantité seuil et sa concentration respective seront uniquement mises au point une fois que la consultation publique aura eu lieu.

3.0 Conclusion

Des renseignements sur les quantités de phosphate de tributyle (No CAS 126-73-8) utilisées au Canada révèlent que la substance est commercialisée. À la suite de l'évaluation du risque, et compte tenu des facteurs stratégiques du phosphate de tributyle et des quantités utilisées au Canada, Environnement Canada recommande que cette substance soit ajoutée à l'annexe 1 du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales en vertu de la LCPE (1999) à une quantité seuil de 4,5 tonnes à une concentration minimale de 10%.

Même si la quantité d'une substance utilisée est inférieure au seuil indiqué dans le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, Environnement Canada recommande que le plan d'urgence soit appliqué à cette substance afin de réduire au minimum ou de prévenir toute répercussion sur les humains ou l'environnement en cas de rejet de la substance.

4.0 Références

CHEMINFO Database. 2006. Phosphoric Acid, Tributyl Ester. Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety.

CIRC (Centre international de recherche sur le cancer). 2014. Monographies du CIRC sur l’Évaluation des Risques de Cancérogénicité pour l’Homme. International Agency for Research on Cancer, World Health Organization.

Environnement Canada. 2011. Lignes directrices pour la mise en application du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales 2011.

Environnement Canada. 2015. Résumé du cadre d'évaluation des risques pour la détermination des seuils de quantité et les concentrations pour les substances conformément au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales établi en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] Environnement Canada.

Genium Group Inc. 2006. Material Safety Data Sheet Collection. Tributyl Phosphate. Genium Group., Amsterdam NY, U.S. TRI1720.

Geiger, DL, SH Poirier, LT Brooke, and DJ Call. 1986. Acute Toxicities of Organic Chemicals to Fatheaded Minnows (Pimephales promelas). Volume III. Ctr. for Lake Superior Environ. Stud., Univ. of Wisconsin-Superior, Superior, WI :328

Gouvernement du Canada. 2009. Environnement Canada, Santé Canada. Évaluation préalable finale pour phosphate de tributyle (CAS RN 126-73-8).

Gouvernement du Canada. 2011. Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999. Environnement Canada. Accédé le 8 Décembre 2011.

HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank). 2006. Phosphoric Acid, Tributyl Ester (CAS#126-73-8). National Library of Medicine –US (NLM). 2006.

U.S. EPA (United States Environmental Protection Agency). 2005. Guidelines for Carcinogenic Risk Assessment.

5.0 Lectures complémentaires

Ketcheson, K, Shrives, J. 2010. Comparison of Threshold Quantities for Substances with Final AEGL-2 and IDLH Values under CEPA's Environmental Emergency Regulations. In: Proceedings of the Thirty-third Arctic and Marine Oilspill Program Technical Seminar on Environmental Contamination and Response. Ottawa (Ont.) : Environnement Canada. p. 843-861.

U.S. EPA (Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis). 1994. List of Regulated Toxic and Flammable Substances and Thresholds for Accidental Release Prevention. Federal Register 59(20). Document Number 94-1556. 31. Washington (DC).

À jour en date du 21 juin 2016

Date de modification :