Who to Call in an Emergency

In the event of an emergency pollution incident , such as an oil or chemical spill, federal and provincial/territorial authorities need to be notified in order to coordinate an adequate oversight of the response. Since emergency pollution incidents are often local in nature and, in order to reduce notification burden Environment Canada’s  environmental notification system uses the following federal-provincial/territorial 24-hour authorities as the first point of contact. In turn, these authorities inform Environment Canada of the notifications. In the event of an environmental emergency or occurrence, please call the 24-hour telephone number below for the region in which the event occurred.

Province / Territory

iTelephone number accessible only within the respective province

Alberta
Alberta Ministry of Environment
Telephone: 780-422-4505 or 1-800-222-6514i

British Columbia
Emergency Management British Columbia
Ministry of Justice
Telephone: 1-800-663-3456

Manitoba
Manitoba Department of Conservation
Telephone: 204-944-4888 (collect calls accepted within province)

New Brunswick
Maritimes Regional Office
Canadian Coast Guard
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Telephone: 902-426-6030 or 1-800-565-1633

Newfoundland and Labrador
Newfoundland and Labrador Regional Office
Canadian Coast Guard
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Telephone: 709-772-2083 or 1-800-563-9089

Northwest Territories
Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Government of the Northwest Territories
Telephone: 867-920-8130

Nova Scotia
Maritimes Regional Office
Canadian Coast Guard
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Telephone: 902-426-6030 or 1-800-565-1633

Nunavut
Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Government of the Northwest Territories
Telephone: 867-920-8130

Ontario
Spills Action Centre
Ontario Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change
Telephone: 416-325-3000 or 1-800-268-6060

Prince Edward Island
Maritimes Regional Office
Canadian Coast Guard
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Telephone: 902-426-6030 or 1-800-565-1633

Quebec
National Environmental Emergencies Center
Environment Canada
Telephone: 514-283-2333 or 1-866-283-2333

Saskatchewan
Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment
Telephone: 1-800-667-7525

Yukon
Yukon Department of Environment
Telephone: 867-667-7244


Environmental occurrence

Environmental occurrence includes: the release, or the likelihood of a release, of a substance into the environment in contravention of regulations referred to in section 95, 169, 179 or 212 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999), an environmental emergency under section 201 of CEPA, 1999, or an unauthorized deposit of a deleterious substance, in water frequented by fish,or a serious and imminent danger of such an occurrence under subsection 38(5) of the Fisheries Act.


Notification requirements in the event of an environmental emergency or occurrence

1. Notification requirements under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999)

The following persons are required to notify the appropriate 24-hour authority listed above or an enforcement officer, as soon as possible in the circumstances, in the event of a release of a substance, or the likelihood of such a release into the environment, which is in contravention of a regulation referred to in section 95, 169, 179 or 212 of CEPA, 1999, or in the event of an environmental emergency under section 201 of CEPA, 1999:

  • any person who owns or has the charge, management or control of a regulated substance immediately before its release or the likelihood of its release into the environment;
  • any person who causes or contributes to the release or increases the likelihood of the release;
  • any person who owns or has the charge, management or control of a substance immediately before an environmental emergency;
  • any person who causes or contributes to an environmental emergency.

The Release and Environmental Emergency Notification Regulations (“Notification Regulations”) under CEPA, 1999, provide the regulated community and the public with the name and telephone number of the 24-hour authorities operating for the respective province or territory to which notifications are to be made.

In the case of the master of a vessel, the authorized representative of a Canadian vessel, the owner of any other vessel or the operator of an oil handling facility the owner of any other vessel or the operator of an oil handling facility (to whom the Vessel Pollution and Dangerous Chemicals Regulations (VPDCR) under the Canada Shipping Act, 2001 apply), the Notification Regulations designate the marine safety inspector or the marine communications and traffic services officer referred to in the VPDCR to receive notification under CEPA, 1999 on behalf of Environment Canada. This reduces the duplicate reporting obligation for these persons. Notification procedures to the marine safety inspector or the marine communications and traffic services officer can be found in Transport Canada’s Guidelines for Reporting Incidents Involving Dangerous Goods, Harmful Substances and/or Marine Pollutants.

 2. Notification requirements under the Fisheries Act

Subsection 38(5) of the Fisheries Act stipulates:

If  there occurs a deposit of a deleterious substance in water frequented by fish that is not authorized under this Act, or if there is a serious and imminent danger of such an occurrence , and detriment to fish habitat or fish or to the use by humans of fish results or may reasonably be expected to result from the occurrence, then every person shall without delay notify an inspector, a fishery officer or an authority prescribed by the regulations if the person at any material time

(a) owns or has the charge, management or control of,

  • (i) the deleterious substance, or
  • (ii) the work, undertaking or activity that resulted in the deposit or the danger of the deposit; or

(b) causes or contributes to the occurrence or the danger of the occurrence.

Such deposits are:

  • those prohibited under subsection 36(3) of the Fisheries Act(the “general prohibition” clause); or,
  • those in contravention of a regulation made under subsection 36(5).

The appropriate 24-hour authorities listed above or an inspector or fishery officer shall be notified without delay of these deposits pursuant to the requirements of the Fisheries Act.  The Deposit Out of the Normal Course of Events Notification Regulations (“Notification Regulations”) under the Fisheries Act, provide the regulated community and the public with the name and telephone number of the 24-hour authorities operating for the respective province or territory to which notifications are to be made.

In the case of the master of a vessel, the authorized representative of a Canadian vessel, the owner of any other vessel or the operator of an oil handling facility the owner of any other vessel or the operator of an oil handling facility (to whom the Vessel Pollution and Dangerous Chemicals Regulations (VPDCR) under the Canada Shipping Act, 2001 apply), the Notification Regulations designate the marine safety inspector or the marine communications and traffic services officer referred to in the VPDCR to receive notification under CEPA, 1999 on behalf of Environment Canada. This reduces the duplicate reporting obligation for these persons. Notification procedures to the marine safety inspector or the marine communications and traffic services officer can be found in Transport Canada’s Guidelines for Reporting Incidents Involving Dangerous Goods, Harmful Substances and/or Marine Pollutants.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Qui appeler en cas d'urgence

En cas d’une urgence ou d’un événement environnemental, tel un déversement de produits pétroliers ou chimiques, les autorités fédérales et provinciales/territoriales doivent être avisées afin de coordonner une surveillance appropriée des interventions. Étant donné que les urgences ou événements environnementaux sont souvent à l'échelle locale et afin de minimiser le dédoublement d’efforts, le système canadien d’avis environnemental utilise les autorités fédérales-provinciales/territoriales ci-dessous opérant 24 heures sur 24 comme premier point de contact. Ces autorités avisent ensuite Environnement Canada de la situation. En cas d’une urgence ou d’un événement environnemental, veuillez composer le numéro de téléphone 24 heures sur 24 ci-dessous pour la région où a lieu l’événement :

Province / Territoire

iEn service seulement à l'intérieur de la province

Alberta
Alberta Ministry of Environment
Téléphone: 780-422-4505 ou 1-800-222-6514i

Colombie-Britannique
Emergency Management British Columbia
Ministry of Justice
Téléphone: 1-800-663-3456

Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Bureau régional des Maritimes
Garde côtière canadienne
Pêches et Océans Canada
Téléphone: 902-426-6030 ou 1-800-565-1633

Manitoba
Ministère de la Conservation du Manitoba
Téléphone: 204-944-4888 (frais virés acceptés à l’intérieur de la province)

Nouveau-Brunswick
Bureau régional des Maritimes
Garde côtière canadienne
Pêches et Océans Canada
Téléphone: 902-426-6030 ou 1-800-565-1633

Nouvelle-Écosse
Bureau régional des Maritimes
Garde côtière canadienne
Pêches et Océans Canada
Téléphone: 902-426-6030 ou 1-800-565-1633

Nunavut
Ministère de l’Environnement et des Ressources naturelles
Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Téléphone: 867-920-8130

Ontario
Centre d’intervention en cas de déversement
Ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario
Téléphone: 416-325-3000 ou 1-800-268-6060

Québec
Centre national des urgences environnemental
Environnement Canada
Téléphone: 514-283-2333 ou 1-866-283-2333

Saskatchewan
Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment
Téléphone: 1-800-667-7525

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Bureau régional de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Garde côtière canadienne
Pêches et Océans Canada
Téléphone: 709-772-2083 ou 1-800-563-9089

Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Ministère de l’Environnement et des Ressources naturelles
Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Téléphone: 867-920-8130

Yukon
Ministère de l’Environnement du Yukon
Téléphone: 867-667-7244


Événement environnemental

Événement environnemental: inclut un rejet – effectif ou probable – d’une substance dans l’environnement en violation d’un règlement mentionné à l’article 95, 169, 179 ou 212 de la LCPE (1999), une urgence environnementale en vertu de l’article 201 de la LCPE (1999), ou un rejet ou une immersion – effectif, ou fort probable et imminent – d’une substance nocive dans des eaux où vivent des poissons qui n’est pas autorisé, en vertu du paragraphe 38(5) de la Loi sur les pêches.


Exigences d’avis en cas d’une urgence ou d’un événement environnemental

1. Exigences d'avis en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]

Les personnes suivantes doivent aviser l’autorité appropriée opérant 24 heures sur 24 présentée ci-haut ou un agent de l’autorité, dans les meilleurs délais possible, en cas de rejet – effectif ou probable – d’une substance dans l’environnement en violation d’un règlement mentionné à l’article 95, 169, 179, ou 212 de la LCPE (1999), ou en cas d’urgence environnementale, selon l’article 201 de la LCPE (1999) :

  • toute personne qui est propriétaire d’une substance réglementée, ou qui a toute autorité sur elle, avant son rejet – effectif ou probable – dans l’environnement;
  • toute personne qui cause le rejet ou y contribue, ou encore en augmente la probabilité;
  • toute personne qui est propriétaire de la substance en question – ou qui a toute autorité sur elle, avant l’urgence environnementale;
  • toute personne qui cause une urgence environnementale ou y contribue.

Le Règlement sur les avis de rejet ou d’urgence environnementale (« Règlement sur les avis ») en vertu de la LCPE (1999) procure à la communauté réglementée et au public, le nom et le numéro de téléphone des autorités opérant 24 heures sur 24 qui doivent être avisées pour la province ou le territoire touché.

En ce qui a trait au capitaine d’un bâtiment, au représentant autorisé d’un bâtiment canadien, au propriétaire de tout autre bâtiment ou à l’exploitant d’une installation de manutention d’hydrocarbures (à qui le Règlement sur la pollution par les bâtiments et sur les produits chimiques dangereux (RPBPCD) en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada s’applique), les Règlements sur les avis désignent l’inspecteur de la sécurité maritime ou le fonctionnaire chargé des services de communications et de trafic maritimes lui permettant de recevoir les avis en vertu de la LCPE (1999) au nom d’Environnement Canada. Cela minimise le dédoublement des exigences d’avis pour ces personnes. Les procédures d'avis à un inspecteur de la sécurité maritime ou à un fonctionnaire chargé des services de communications et de trafic maritimes se trouvent dans les Lignes directrices concernant la notification des incidents mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses, des substances nuisibles et/ou des polluants marins de Transports Canada.

2. Exigences d'avis en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Le paragraphe 38(5) de la Loi sur les pêches stipule que ;

« En cas de rejet ou d’immersion -  effectif, ou fort probable et imminent  -  d’une substance nocive dans des eaux où vivent des poissons qui n’est pas autorisé sous le régime de la présente loi et qui nuit – ou risque de nuire – aux poissons ou à leur habitat ou  à  l’utilisation du poisson par l’homme, , les personnes mentionnées  aux alinéas a) et b) avisent sans délai un inspecteur, un agent des pêches ou toute autre autorité désignée par règlement.

Les personnes visées se répartissent en deux catégories :

a) celles qui  sont responsables à titre de propriétaires ou autrement, selon le cas, de la substance nocive ou de l’ouvrage, de l’entreprise ou de l’activité à l’origine du rejet ou de l’immersion ;  

b) celles qui sont à l’origine du rejet ou de l’immersion, ou y contribuent.. »

Les rejets ou immersions sont:

  • Ceux prohibés aux termes du paragraphe 36(3) de la Loi sur les pêches (la « disposition d’interdiction générale »); ou,
  • Ceux contrevenant à un règlement pris en vertu du paragraphe 36(5).

L’autorité appropriée opérant 24 heures sur 24 présentée ci-haut ou un inspecteur ou  agent des pêches doit être avisé sans délai de tels rejets ou immersions  aux termes de la Loi sur les pêches.  Le Règlement sur les avis de rejet ou d’immersion irréguliers (« Règlement sur les avis ») en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, procure à la communauté réglementée et au public, le nom et le numéro de téléphone des autorités opérant 24 heures sur 24 qui doivent être avisées pour la province ou le territoire touché.

En ce qui a trait au capitaine d’un bâtiment, au représentant autorisé d’un bâtiment canadien, au propriétaire de tout autre bâtiment ou à l’exploitant d’une installation de manutention d’hydrocarbures (à qui le Règlement sur la pollution par les bâtiments et sur les produits chimiques dangereux (RPBPCD) en vertu de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada s’applique), les Règlements sur les avis désignent l’inspecteur de la sécurité maritime ou le fonctionnaire chargé des services de communications et de trafic maritimes lui permettant de recevoir les avis en vertu de la LCPE (1999) au nom d’Environnement Canada. Cela minimise le dédoublement des exigences d’avis pour ces personnes. Les procédures d'avis à un inspecteur de la sécurité maritime ou à un fonctionnaire chargé des services de communications et de trafic maritimes se trouvent dans les Lignes directrices concernant la notification des incidents mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses, des substances nuisibles et/ou des polluants marins de Transports Canada.